We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the drive if you’re not staying here - but be prepared!”
Review of Amanyara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amanyara
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive if you’re not staying here – but be prepared!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

(Most of this review will be more relevant for people not staying at the Amanyara resort.)

LOGISTICS first…
If you are staying at any of the places in Grace Bay, then be prepared for $200+ in cab fares. Or rent you own car and ask 5 different people for directions: Amanyara is NOT easy to find but that is by design. The island doesn’t help in that road signs are scarce, so you will have to triangulate from multiple people’s directions. If you are on a dirt road for a few miles, then pass a small pack of local wild dogs who chase after you… don’t worry you are on the right track. Do not expect any road signs with comforting “Amanyara, 2 miles this direction” or the like. It isn’t going to happen. I was completely confident that we were totally lost, doomed to drive back to our own hotel and beg and plead for a burger for dinner. However we finally pulled up to a security gate, again there was absolutely no signage or any hint that we were in the right place. I had to ask the security guard “is this Amanyara?” Fortunately it was, and we were only 9 minutes late for our dinner reservation! Before he would even raise the gate, the security guard produced a bottle of hand sanitizer and told my wife and I that it was “property policy” that he give us each a squirt or two. He also told us not to take any pictures and to please leave our cameras in our cars as this was also a company policy. Ohhhh-kayyy… (?). In total allow for at least 40 minutes to drive here if you are coming from the Grace Bay area. And that is assuming you don't get lost. :)

We proceeded into the property, still with no signage and very very low lighting. We pulled into an entry circle where a greeter just said to pull into an unmarked lot and that he would help us find our way. He guided us into an entry foyer and…

(ATMOSPHERE/DÉCOR)
BAM. Instant atmosphere. Supremely peaceful, ultra relaxing hues of calming pale oranges, cedar woods, and mother of pearl tones… minimalist furniture, décor, and even personnel. Our security guide/bellman walked us through this foyer/registration area, and into the main restaurant. The main restaurant consists of three areas: open-air ocean-facing tables, and indoor air-conditioned area, and another open-air dining area that is in the “courtyard” area of the resort. The courtyards are in fact massive ponds with wooden walkways in between. The effect and night was stunning: throughout the ponds were small bordered planters with 40ft trees that were subtly lit, reflecting perfectly off of the amazingly still pond waters.

SERVICE
Very attentive. Unlike most Caribbean restaurants, we actually had a dedicated server and she was spot on, giving us the right amount of space and engaging in just the right amount of conversation. At the end of the night she actually took us on a small tour around the bar, the library, etc… and made sure we ended up back at the property entrance.

FOOD
Literally this was the best meal we have had on the island, our entire trip. For apps we had the simple beet salad and the nightly special cuttlefish, both of which were excellent. Then entrees were a sirloin strip, perfectly cooked and delicious, and a seared snapper, done perfectly. This was all so good that we chose to order dessert which is rare for us.. but an almond ice cream encrusted with granola was just fantastic. Regarding the wine list, you will be hard pressed to find anything under $100.

OVERALL
This place was fantastic. Worth the drive and the difficulty of finding it. If you are wine drinkers, be ready to spend over $400 for 2 people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GruboRyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    37
    21
    16
    5
See reviews for
56
250
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were so moved and inspired by our first stay at Amanyara, we returned 6 months later. Joshua, from the management team, insured we were secured in our favorite, Villa #1, and then it was all incredible until the moment we exited the property.

Our house staff was on top of everything...cocktails, comfort and amazing meals. They are all so finely tuned in to your wants and needs and deliver, most times without being asked.

Beyond the beauty of the resort, there's a feeling of peace, happiness and tranquility...without being too granola and stuffy. If you're in the need for time away to "drop out" and leave all the hard decisions behind you, Amanyara is the perfect place for you and those you love most.

Thanks, again, to our friend, Teody, for breaking away from another house to stage an unforgettable dinner under the tree.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elvis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport, ct
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This resort is hands down most beautiful place we stated in the Caribbean, perhaps world. The resort is intimate and service impeccable. We had an Ocean Pavilion with an incredible view. Spa, tennis, beach all. 5 stat

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Some background: I've stayed in quite a few Aman resorts around the world and this is by far the biggest we've stayed at. It was also Presidents weekend and was, according to the staff, completely full. It was the last 4 days of our 2 week honeymoon and we wanted some luxury and chose Amanyara over Parrot Cay based mainly on their websites and our previous experience of Aman resorts. Also, we stayed in a pavilion, not a villa, and had a pond, not ocean view.
So, first the good points:
The hotel is designed impeccably. I defy anyone not to be impressed by the entrance and main area, where the main restaurant, bar and reception are arranged around a lovely, peaceful pool of water. Our pavilion was also exceptional and very well designed, highly recommended. Nor could we see or hear any other pavilions or villas from our room. Anyone who has stayed at Aman before will recognise the room layout but what was great was the three sided glass walls which slid away to leave the room open to the elements.
The food is good quality, as you would expect. I've seen and heard comments about portion size, but these are standard normal portions for any restaurant in the world - outside of the USA. (If you want 36 oz steaks and salad bowls you hold with two hands, stay in Miami). From the beach and pool we were lucky enough to see humpback whales on 2 consecutive days, which was pretty special.
Despite the hotel being full we only felt it was 'too full' once, when the beachside restaurant was full for lunch due to people sat at the tables for a long while after finishing their lunch.
Some of the service, Saul in the beachside restaurant for example, was very good and friendly.

Now the less good points. This is an expensive hotel, so you expect GREAT service. It's not. Overall, (and agreeing with some other reviews here) it's a good chain hotel service - at best, which lets down the rest of the resort. It's nowhere near the standards of the other Amans we've stayed at, which is the benchmark for this review.
I do not expect to have to sit on a beach crammed in like a spanish package holiday from the 1970's. The beach is lovely and big but all the sun loungers are crammed into one small area. I asked if we could move to the empty area of the beach and was told no, that's for villas only. WRONG answer. Service on the beach (and overall) was patchy at best. Too often you were chasing the staff rather than them serving you. So, we went to the pool, where we had to hunt the pool guy to ask for towels. We went to the bar and had to wait for ages for someone to take our order. When we got served someone decided this was the moment for him to ask us all about ourselves and stuck around for too long. WRONG. We were in the middle of a conversation, we were on honeymoon, we were not there to entertain the staff. (To be clear this lack of service was not because it was busy, we were at a virtually empty pool and bar). The scuba diving is good but eye-wateringly priced, as they do not have their own dive school, which is crazy in this must-dive area. If a resort as small as Amanwana (and half the price of Amanyara) has their own equipment and boats, why doesn't this much, much bigger more expensive resort? You only dive a few hundred metres from the beach anyway, so why bring a boat from 30 minutes away to take you 30 seconds out to sea? Also, with all that water around be prepared for mosquitoes. (note to Aman - I'd seriously consider nets; what's the point of having these lovely open air rooms if you have to spend a lot of time de-bugging the room adn closing the doors in order to get a good nights sleep?)
So, overall, 4 out of 5. It is a lovely hotel, it's just not a great hotel. Which is a shame as it has most of the core elements in place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Aneil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Take the time to have lunch or dinner at Amanyara while you are in TCI. It is advised to call ahead to make a reservation. This is more for security reasons, than due to capacity concerns.
My husband & I did this with our friends in early February. Amanyara is definitely a 'Peaceful Place' as the name suggests. The grounds are breathtaking, with everything open to the elements. I just wanted to gaze upon the central reflection pond. We were seated by the infinity pool for some cocktails & beer. Just past that we gazed upon the turquoise water of the Caicos Passage. Apparently, whales were seen here the day before.
We all agree that all the staff were friendly & attentive. We were seated in another gorgeous area with ocean views for lunch. Our men ordered fish & chips & were disappointed to see two small pieces of fish & three wedges of fish. They were not very impressed. My quesadilla was very good, but overpriced.
We were offered either Sparkling or Fiji Water. We chose Fiji Water, as it sounded good. The next day my girlfriend was giggling as she informed me that the stubby bottle of Fiji Water was worth $8. We each enjoyed at least two. No wonder our server was pouring it like Champagne.
Our total bill for four adults, including drinks on the deck, amounted to $420, and not one celebrity siting. We will be talking about this for years.
I understand that for quests of the resort, there are only two restaurants. We recommend you try some of the best local cooking on Provo at The Three Queens Bar & Restaurant. It is located practically on your doorstep. You pass it on the way from the airport. Here, you will meet some of the friendliest locals in Provo. Dick Bain is the owner, and will ensure you enjoy yourself. Ms Martha is the cook, and whips up daily specials. Fresh lobster, conch or grouper is always on the menu. If you are too relaxed to leave Amanyara, why not call for takeout & ask one of the driver's to pick it up for you. Prices are extremely reasonable. Keep in mind that it is cash only, I believe.See more under my posting for Three Queens Bar & Restaurant - my name is lasechic.
Again, worth the trip to Amanyara. It was very beautiful, and a must see.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lasechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Amanyara is beautifully located in a remote part of the Turks & Caicos. The beach is pristine and water warm and gin clear. The resort itself is simple yet stylish in its architecture taking in breathtaking views of the ocean from all angles. We had a villa which was a five minute walk from the main part of he hotel and had a very tranquil view across the lagoon. My wife was concerned about mosquitos but we didnt have any problems with them. The room itself was well maintained and very comfortable. All up the hardware was great.
What really let the hotel down was the software. For a hotel group that prides itself on making guests feel like they are staying as a guest in someone's home we found the service impersonal and perfunctory. After staying at the hotel for 4 nights we had no idea who the general manager was and the staff called us by name only once the entire stay. In contrast when we stayed at Aman Dari in Bali the GM was a wonderful host and made sure your very need is been met and all the staff would greet you by name.
The food was a great disappointment. I don't mind paying $50 for a Pad Thai noodle but it has to be a lot better than my local takeaway where I pay $8.00. The servings are very small and presentation unimaginative. The pastrys are made the night before and taste quite stale the next morning. They ran out of English Breakfast tea and when the do have it it comes in a tea bag.
Maybe we are spoilt by the service you get in Asia but Amanyara has a lot of work to do to reach the service standards expected of an Aman hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rosserdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Amanyara is just a heavenly place! Grounds are beautiful, staff are extremely professional and it is a perfect place to relax. We had a private villa with our own lovely pool. All accommodations are private. As reviewed previously, it is a very expensive place to stay. Meal prices are very high, but food is excellent. Only 2 restaurants. We never left the property , but were only there for 4 days. Beach is gorgeous and hobie cats, kayaks, paddle boards, snorkel gear are available for no further charge. Very beautiful, quiet , relaxing trip! But not for those who love a night life----we like the quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Providenciales
9.8 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
411 reviews
10.7 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
2,370 reviews
8.9 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos
10.8 mi away
Grace Bay Club
Grace Bay Club
#7 of 45 in Providenciales
1,716 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#8 of 45 in Providenciales
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanyara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanyara

Property: Amanyara
Address: Northwest Point, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#19 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amanyara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanyara is a secluded beachside resort situated on the coast of Northwest Point on the beautiful Providenciales in the Turks & Caicos Islands. The resort borders the pristine reefs of Northwest Point Marine National Park, acclaimed for some of the world's best wall and reef diving. With a contemporary layout and design, the timber-shingled Guest Pavilions and Aman Villas are tucked along the coast or situated inland on the edge of tranquil ponds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amanyara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanyara Hotel Providenciales
Amanyara Resort Providenciales
Amanyara Turks Caicos
Amanyara Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing