We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Condo for the price!”
Review of Island Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Club
Certificate of Excellence
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Condo for the price!”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The condo was spotless when we arrived. It had all the amenities that we needed. The only thing we were missing was a can opener. We asked a neighbor, and they let us use theirs! The people who work there are very courteous. The grounds are very deceiving. On the outside it looks like a two story compound, but once you see the grounds on the inside, it is very lush, and clean with a nice pool. The only way on to the grounds is to have a condo, which is nice, because we pretty much had the grounds to ourselves. Each condo has two balconies, and a Patio with full patio furniture, plus a barbecue grill. I would highly recommend Island Club to anyone. For the price, you just cannot go wrong. The walk to the beach takes 5 to 10 minutes. The shopping, food, and bars are all within a couple of minutes walk. Grocery store is about a 10 to 15 minute walk. Car rental is a 5 minute walk

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kjsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    35
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
49
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port au Prince, Haiti
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Our flights were delayed and the office was closed when we arrived. However, the manager arrived within 10mins of us calling and was very hospitable.
The appartments are very nicely laid out and clean. The garden surrounding the pool is beautifully landscaped and well maintained. It was also incredibly quiet and peaceful which was just what we were looking for. The rates were very reasonable and it is five minutes from the main beach.
All in all a very restful stay in an incredibly beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our 2 month stay. Great location ... can walk to many great restaurants. Clean, well - equipped condo. Lovely landscaping around the pool. Short walk ... approx. 10 min. ... to beautiful Grace Bay Beach. GREAT management ... special thanks to Colin, Earlene, and Nicola for their friendly, accommodating'above and beyond' helpfulness. Really appreciated your warm hospitality!
Tip: Cab drivers seem to know Island Club by its former name - White Rock.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canada1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Management was slow to respond and it some cases outright rude. It was hard to get the basics, like a room key. The accomodations were shabby and outdated. The mattresses were hard and sheets stiff. There were only 2 half used rolls of toilet paper in the whole place. Towels were cheap and abrasive. The coffee burner was rusted out and the powdered creamy was as solid as a rock. Directions/instructions in the room weren't updated so they were confusing or misleading. Chairs were supposed to be available on the beach, but I couldn't find them. Many people on the island were rude and unfriendly. Most of the shops were closed and much of the retail space completely empty or taken up by realty offices. Everything was difficult from getting cell phone minutes to getting from one place to another. I won't go back. Ever.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Icysiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, TX
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

This place was just perfect for us. We had a two bedroom two story condo for the week. Unit had all of the amenities....Full fridge and freezer, washing machine (they are getting the washer dryer units installed soon) blender, tea and coffee pot, big screen TV with DVD player, free WIFI, a great BBQ grill on the back porch and plenty of room. The grounds are really nice with flowers and palm trees. The pool was great and we never shared it with anyone all week. Colin and his staff were very accomodating and we saw them each day. They even have a large stash of movies you can check out to watch if you run out. Walk to the beach was not bad at all. Maybe ten minutes. The beach access where they have their chairs is between some properties and we had the whole stretch to ourselves for the week. Very conveniant to the shopping and restaurants on Grace Bay Road as we didn't even need to rent a car. IGA groceery store is a 15 minute walk up the road.

If you are looking for a place to stay that isn't a cramped hotel room that is clean, well managed with a nice pool and grounds, this is the place. If you can deal with not being right on the beach and don't mind a nice stroll, you just can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bash123k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stayed at the Island Club Grace Bay may 17 thru may 24. This was our first time on Turks so we did not know what to expect.
Our stay at Island club was great. The property is located right next to the Saltmills, which is like the center of town. It is literally right next door , maybe a 2 minute walk. It is closer to the salt mills than any of the other large resorts or hotels.

The property is condo-style with full kitchen, 2 floors, 2 bedrooms and 1.5 bathroom. There is a living room and a patio on both the first and 2nd floor. There is a large grill that you can use if you go to the local supermarket. Also, there is a common area, with a decent sized pool. The grounds flourish with brightly colored flowers and plants. On the inside, it is very beautiful and private. On the outside, the building does not do the establishment justice. Don’t be fooled by the exterior. The rooms were so clean and so was the bathroom. Everything was pretty much spotless and I am super picky and easily skeeved by hotels.

Mel is the hostess and Colin is the owner of the establishment. We dealt mostly with Mel and she was very friendly and polite. We had a late arrival and she was waiting for us to check in. Whenever we had questions, she was always very helpful. I had to check my email several times for work and she was very accomodating - letting me use the front desk computer. Also, she had recommendations of places to eat and go. On our last day, she arranged for a taxi to take us to the airport. If you are looking, however, for concierge to wait on you hand and foot as in a large resort, this is probably not for you. I really liked the fact that it was private. There were not a lot of loud families and kids. We were able to relax and have privacy to enjoy our vacation.

We ate out almost every day for every meal. The food and groceries on the island are super expensive. They are much more expensive than some places in the US in my opinion. On our first night, since we got in late, we ate at Yoshi's , right in the salt mills. The food was okay. We had chicken teriyaki and a conch roll. The roll wasn’t very good. It was quite bland. The setting was nice, but the service was nothing to write home about.
We had breakfast at Hemingways on one of the days… beautiful views, great service and good food. It is your standard breakfast, though. Nothing very "island" like. You could get this in the US anywhere. Of course the view is what you are probably going there for. The service was great though. On all the other days that we were there , we ate at the salt mills café, which just opened. This place was really good food. Great fruit bowl and yogurt… it seems like all the locals go there. The only thing is that the service, although friendly, is just really slow. Everytime we were there, it took about 15 minutes just to get a breakfast sandwich.
We ate lunch at the Caribbean Delight almost every day except one day. If you care for Jamaican food, this is the place to go. Friendly service, casual atmosphere and great food. IT is located about 10 min walk from salt mills, maybe 5 minute drive from Island club. The inside was small, but there is nice private seating on the side of the restaurant. The jerk pork / jerk chicken and oxtail were regular things we ordered. Simply superb. We tried another Jamaican place - Hole in the wall - which was supposedly the best Jamaican food on the island. It was okay compared to the Caribbean delight. It looked really dark and dirty on the inside of the restaurant. There is outdoor seating available.
We had an elegant dinner at Grace's Cottage. This place is a little hard to find… its tucked way back behind Point Grace hotel area. The service was absolutely impeccable and the food --- Delicious! I loved our dinner there. It was very romantic setting, located in what appears to be a house, with tables on the patio and strings of lights. We both had the duck… mmm. Delicious! We also had dessert - but now I cant recall what we had! The conch marinara appetizer was also a delight.
Our last night, we had dinner at Caicos café. The owners were so nice and so was our waitress. The food was so good - we ate it super fast. The setting is casual, but elegant. IT is outdoor basically on a large deck. Not as romantic as Grace's but the friendly staff was so nice.

The locals, also know as the "belongers" are friendly for the most part, but in market type scenarios (where you buy stuff), they are quite pushy. Almost rude pushy. I guess tourism has not hit the grand large scale like Aruba, but most of the locals don’t know where a lot of thhings are or at least are not very forthcoming with the info. For instance, we asked everywhere where we can buy stampes to send post cards. Noone knew. Also, we didn’t see one gheko (bus service) while we were there, so maybe they don’t have it in the off season. But this was not mentioned in any of the travel books we bought (frommers) or even on the chamber of commerce travel site.

Blue Hills and the Craft area was kind of a disappointment. The town was rather run down and the food shacks looked so dingy and dirty, I would never eat food from there. The craft store was very small. They advertise more than 60 local artisians, but there was like literally nothing intersting to buy. The beaches are gorgeous. There are lots of private beaches where there is just you and your honey. Very fun times!

We rented bikes for three days. It was so much fun to ride the bikes and go off the beaten track. If you do not want to be a tourist, I highly recommend renting a bike and obtaining a map to go where your heart desires. We rode our bikes to turtle cove and had some beach time on smith beach. Beautiful.
We rode horses through Provo horses. The owner seems a little distracted and all over the place on the phone, but she runs a good business. The horses are all rescue horses and look to be in good heatlh. We did the one hour and thirty minute ride. IT was a little scary for me and I probably wouldn’t do it again, but the experience was a good one.
I hope this review has been helpful :)

  • Liked — privacy, not alot of kids
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank cocochanel022877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2006

My adult son & I stayed here for a week over Thanksgiving and couldn't have been happier with our choice. True it is not right on the beach but only a couple of blocks away.....right next to Salt Mills and within walking distance of Calico Jack's & Bambooz. We had 2 bdrms, 2 baths, a full kitchen [including micro & blender], washing machine, pool that is not accessible to outsiders, patio & deck.....and to top it off they gave us a cell phone to use. For all of this we paid only $800 and that included all taxes.....it's a great deal!!!!!!

  • Liked — Space, privacy, cleanliness, amenities, staff
  • Disliked — Not on beach....but that's ok
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank shariej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.4 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,041 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#16 of 44 in Providenciales
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,974 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#22 of 44 in Providenciales
1,741 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Club

Property: Island Club
Address: 375 Grace Bay Road, 10001, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Club 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hidden Oasis in the Heart of Grace Bay...If you want to be just minutes to the beach, walking distance to restaurants and shops, but want to avoid all the hub-bub (and cost) of a big resort, then you have found your next vacation destination! Our resort is a cozy enclave of 24 2-bedroom townhouses that all have private patios and balconies overlooking a beautiful inner courtyard which features palm trees, lush tropical vegetation and flowers and a beautiful pool - it is truly an amazing spot to just escape! Since Island Club is really so close to everything, you really don't need to rent a car, but if you did want to explore outside some of the other amazing beaches and attractions of Providenciales, there are several options available for car, scooter, bicycle or boat rentals all within walking distance of Island Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Island Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Club Hotel Providenciales
Island Club Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing