We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dinner”
Review of Kitchen 218

Kitchen 218
Ranked #13 of 145 Restaurants in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beach House Restaurant on Providenciales in Turks and Caicos is now Kitchen 218, featuring a new menu, enhanced decor and a culinary club. The restaurant is known for its creative cuisine with a twist of Turks and Caicos. The Beach House Chef will wow you with fresh ingredients bringing extraordinary flavors to you. Ask for the Chef's Table for a truly memorable experience. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served daily plus Brunch on Saturdays and Sundays.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I dropped by earlier in the week for lunch and realized that the chef was on to something. We came back for dinner and had the lobster tasting menu with wine pairing and were not disappointed. The wine pairings were great and were mostly Australian. The only weird thing was a Sauvignon blanc served after a Chardonnay-- I don't know if that should work, but it actually did. The lobster gnocchi course was probably the biggest technical success-- the gnocchi were little cloud pillows of silky lobster and I've never had better. Surf and turf course was also a home run, with a pinot noir pairing that was terrific. The difference between lunch and dinner is that at dinner they have any army of staff who are extremely attentive. Lunch was not this way, but the food was still good. The only bad thing is that for some reason there were tons of mosquitos, which I have been lucky enough to avoid until tonight.

Helpful?
1 Thank Halstedjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseTCI, Manager at Kitchen 218, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for review. We really appreciate it and are glad that you enjoyed the dinner experience.

Please do come back and try our Chef Eric's tasting menu for another nuance of Eric's culinary vision.

Regards,
Your Beach House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    117
    69
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Tasting menu overrated”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Surprise tasting menu option is not as described in the menu. In fact it is not a "surprise" at all. It is just a selected sampling of the regular menu items and should be stated as such on the menu. Also the wine paring we good but the waiter who poured the wine had no idea what the wines were and could only read what was stated on the bottle label.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseTCI, Manager at Kitchen 218, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for coming to the Beach House for dinner!

The surprise tasting menu is always crafted based on the freshest and best ingredients available for Chef to source. Sometimes these may be items that are also available on the regular menu as we do not want to compromise on the quality.

Do let us know next time you reserve a table with us that you would specifically like something different for your tasting menu and we will prepare accordingly!

Best regards,
Your Beach House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Good But Not Deserving of the Prices”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

They didn't have any local fish on the menu, other than lobster, when we went. Prices are $40+ for the entrees. I had the filet, medium rare, which was very good. My wife's lobster, although a very good size, was not as tasty as you would expect for this type of restaurant. The service was impeccable. It has a nice ambience with the torches. Seating is basically outside. It doesn't have an ocean view. The food just wasn't up to snuff for the price, even for this island where food is priced like gold. There are better restaurants on this island for less money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMTurnbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseTCI, Manager at Kitchen 218, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

At Beach House we have a farm to table concept, meaning that the food items are of the freshest and highest quality. On a Caribbean island, this is not an easy concept to abide by, but we follow it meticulously. (we like to say that the only frozen items on our menu are ice subes and frozen drinks)

While some main courses on the dinner menu do exceed USD 40, we have a great selection of menu items below that like our roasted organic free range chicken for USD 29 or our delicious and widely popular Pork Iberico Bellota for USD 35.

Please do come back and try those selections.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Saturday Brunch”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We decided to leave all decision making up to Chef Eric and we went with the 5 course brunch tasting menu ($45). Need to preface with the food runner had no idea what he was serving us (kind of a bummer and I would have expected more) so we kind of had to make a guess on some things. First course was fresh fruit with homemade yogurt with a touch of mint. While I would usually say a fruit plate is a bit of a lazy way to start out, the homemade yogurt was so good I would want to come back just for that. Second course was a lobster salad with some of the best cocktail sauce I have ever had. It was almost like it was seasoned with something like Sriracha...definitely didn't have that horseradish type of kick. It had a warm flavor with a bite. The lobster was good...not great but the sauce made up for it...not sure about how the meat was prepared. Pieces varied from kind of mushy to firm. It had some really good heirloom cherry tomatoes that were juicy and sweet. Third course was some of the best soft scrambled eggs ever! They were perfectly cooked and had little bits of smoked salmon, chives and caviar throughout. I am still thinking about those eggs! They were served in the coolest Le Crueset dishes and I am determined to get a set when I get home. Fourth course was, again, a bit of a phone in, but was really good. It was a prosciutto flatbread. The dough was slightly chewy but the proscuitto and homemade sauce made up for what the dough lacked. There was nothing left. :) And finally, the desert course was a a trio of homemade sorbet. Tasted like strawberry, mango and grapefruit. (Not sure...like I said the food runner wasn't much help.) It was a great way to top off a very good meal.

Now for a few things for improvement....
- We took our time for the meal. Hey, we were on vacation, right? And during that time our servers changed three times and progressively got worse. The first lady was great. She had a great personality and was very attentive. The second lady was barely there but checked in every now and then. And finally, the third guy was terrible and even misrepresented what the service charge was. Kind of a downer on a great meal.
- I think it is a Chef's duty (especially in a high end restaurant) to have every person on the staff taste what is on the menu and get a full description or back story of the dish. This ensures that they can more accurately provide guidance to the customer and add unique insight. Ultimately that small step positively connects the staff to the customer and sets up a grand experience. I understand that might not be doable on a tasting menu since many items are improvisational, but there shouldn't be an issue with the regular menu. As much as we liked our first server, she didn't have much information and really could only share a personal experience that she had prior to working at Beach House. Since Chef Eric has a diverse background and the restaurant prides itself on providing natural, local, farm to table fare I think it would really add to the experience to hear a little more about the dishes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katfooddfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseTCI, Manager at Kitchen 218, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for trying our new brunch tasting menu! At the Beach House Restaurant we have a farm to table concept meaning that the food is always fresh and not frozen. This delights your palette with amazing tastes like the heirloom tomatoes and those delicious eggs.

As you can imagine, this is by no means an easy task on a Caribbean island. Therefore, Chef prepares his tasting menu based on the best ingredients he can source at that specific point in time creating amazing dishes that are not just smaller portions of items that are on the menu.

For a young establishment that is determined to deliver the best such as Beach House (we only opened middle of 2012) this does mean that some of the service staff may not know all tasting dishes whisked up by Chef Eric. We are continuously working on that of course.

Do come again and let Eric create some other dishes for you that you may remember for a long time thereafter.

Your Beach House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had dinner here during our stay and it was great. Service was amazing and attentive and the food delicious. A great place to have "that special dinner" while on island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseTCI, Manager at Kitchen 218, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
It is our pleasure to create "that special dinner" for you.
Thank you for the review.
Kindest regards,
Your Beach House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchen 218 also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Kitchen 218? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing