We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food .... just wanted more!”
Review of Kitchen 218

Kitchen 218
Ranked #13 of 147 Restaurants in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beach House Restaurant on Providenciales in Turks and Caicos is now Kitchen 218, featuring a new menu, enhanced decor and a culinary club. The restaurant is known for its creative cuisine with a twist of Turks and Caicos. The Beach House Chef will wow you with fresh ingredients bringing extraordinary flavors to you. Ask for the Chef's Table for a truly memorable experience. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served daily plus Brunch on Saturdays and Sundays.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We had the New Years menu- regular and vegetarian. Everything was absolutely wonderful: perfectly seasoned, beautiful presentation, prepared expertly. The only thing we did not enjoy was the scallop gel (?) that wasis with the wilted spinach. Portions were very small as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alivia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseTCI, Manager at Kitchen 218, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you for this positive review.
I hope that it was because the food was so delicious that you wanted more.
Wishing you a very happy New Year!
JS Richer
Dir. of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

666 - 670 of 726 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

As if the Beach House Hotel wasn't awesome enough on its own, the restaurant there is absolutely fantastic! While a bit pricey, the ambiance, meal, friendly and attentive staff were well worth the money. The day we checked in (Wed Dec 12, 2012) they were literally putting the last brushes of paint on the newly remodeled outdoor/covered restaurant. That night we treated ourselves to a very perfect dining experience. The dress code was definitely "island nice casual" so my best tropical shirt, bermuda shorts, and dress sandals :)
The food was not only fresh and delicious, the the presentation was creative and beautiful.
We returned for 3 additional dinning experiences even after we had checked out of the hotel and moved to other accommodations on Middle Caicos.
Most highly recommend this beautiful and amazing tropical paradise restaurant!
I know we will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseTCI, Manager at Kitchen 218, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

We are thrilled you enjoyed our restaurant so much.
We like to think of ourselves as “Upscale without the Uptight”, so "island nice casual" works!
Thank you for your recommendation and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Warm regards,
JS Richer
Dir. of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have been eating dinner at a different place each night this week--Baci, Coyaba, Bay Bistro, Magnolia, Hemingways, and then tonight at Beach House--where we were hoping, given the reviews and the prices, to at least match the best of the others. Sadly, that did not happen. The conch extravaganza appetizer was very good, worth the price. Breads were good. For the main course my wife had the chicken, which was good, not spectacular. I had the mahi-mahi with fried basmati rice and lobster tempura....while the fish was very good, there was way too much rice for the amount of fish provided, and not 2 small lobster tempura. Had there been less rice and more fish, or lower price for what was served, that could have been acceptable. During the entire meal, hotel guests would wander through the restaurant, in between diner tables, which was distracting--couldn't the restaurant have a sign for guests to walk around the dining area and go by the poolside?. I had just commented on it to my wife when 3 guests who had been through 2x already again came through, only now the son proceeded to throw up several times right by our table and several others. Someone came out to mop, but it ruined the atmosphere for dessert...and no one from the restaurant staff asked the diners nearby if they were ok...then when we got our desserts, my wife had ordered a pear almond crumble primarily for the salt caramel ice cream that was supposed to go with it per the menu...but when she took a bite, she exclaimed it was the wrong ice cream. I tried it, and could not figure out what it was. Eventually a staff person checked for us, said the kitchen did not have the caramel ice cream and subbed in a nugatene ice cream which was not very good. At upscale restaurants like this one, that should never have happened without telling the diner first; and once the error was uncovered, no one apologized or offered to make any amends ie a small discount on the dish price, or a serving of something else. So what started out as a special meal turned sour by the end. We found Coyaba and Bay Bistro's food and service to be worth the higher prices and effort.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JTYarmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseTCI, Manager at Kitchen 218, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

I am sorry to hear your experience with us didn't meet your expectations.
Just so you know, we have already ordered new signage to redirect guests around the restaurant seating area. As our restaurant just added a pergola to expand the covered seating, we had no need for this until recently.
To my recollection, the staff dealt with the sick child incident as discretely as possible.
And thank you for letting us know about the ice cream switch. We will try to handle this differently in the future.
Hope to have you as guests again one day,
JS Richer
Dir. of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our meal began with a wonderful amuse-bouche. Followed by some homemade bread.
For appetizers we got rabbit risotto and for entrees, I got the lamb and my husband got the Indonesian lobster. The lamb was so tender, the best I have ever had. My husband couldn't get over his lobster. He had already had lobster several times on the island and simply loved it. The flavors were truly incredible and like nothing we had every tasted.
Some of the wait staff appeared to be a little bit confused at first, but the service turned out great throughout the night.
We stayed next door at West Bay Club, so we walked home from dinner. If you are closeby, you should walk on the beach there. I felt sorry for the cab driver who brought us there. No one told us it was next door and he didn't want to charge us for the cab.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank l8krgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseTCI, Manager at Kitchen 218, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

It sounds like we introduced you both to some new flavors that you loved.
What a nice compliment.
Maybe the next time you visit Turks and Caicos, you can stay with us. Then you won’t have to take a cab to dine with us ;)
Kindest regards,
JS Richer
Dir. of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The dishes here are thought out and prepared perfectly. The monk fish was one of the best dishes- and the conch sampler should not be missed!
The staff were all very informative and friendly. Thank you for our great end of summer feast!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wanderlustfamily17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseTCI, Manager at Kitchen 218, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

You are most welcome! It is our pleasure to make people like yourself happy.
Love the photo of the monk fish,
Kindest regards,
JS Richer
Dir. of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchen 218 also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Kitchen 218? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing