We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic snorkeling”
Review of Bight Reef

Bight Reef
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.99*
and up
Grand Turk Supreme Snorkeling Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An underwater paradise of coral reefs.
marlton
Level Contributor
186 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic snorkeling”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Bight Reef is easy to access off the Coral Gardens hotel. My husband called it "Discovery Cove but in real life". (Discovery Cove is a Sea World Park in Orlando that made an artifical reef and imported fish in.)

We saw turtles and tons of coral and fish. We didn't see the reef shark but heard he was around. We did see the Barracuda that hangs out there. He gave us the evil eye and then swam away.

It is on one of the travel magazines Top Places to Snorkel (#3). It was fantastic. We came back another day here because the snorkeling was so good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    342
    171
    37
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great beginner snorkel site”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A reef cordened off by buoys immediately off the beach makes this safe and highly accessible for snorkellers of any bravery level. I have spent a few hours on it today and will revisit tomorrow. I'm told turtles can be seen feeding on the left side at around 1 pm daily.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsboro, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bight Reef”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

It is roped off so far out that it is a waste of time. You are not able to swim over the coral. I guess people have damaged it so much and that is the reason for keeping you away.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasEunice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was my first timen snorkeling in deep water. Loved how you can swim out as far as you want and still see some fish. Took some pics with my disposable underwater camera, hope they come out. Saw a barracuda, parrot fish and some other fish. A few people near me saw a nurse shark in the reef and a turtle. I hear if you get there early in the morning you can see the turtles having breakfast in the grassy areas not too far out. Water is clear and calm.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sparkly96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to snorkel with children”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great area of Grace Bay. Clean beach and the snorkeling is great for beginners and kids. Spent the entire day there. Have a drink or munchies at "Somewhere". Can't wait to go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Koby1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bight Reef also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Bight Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing