We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Alexandra Resort(Grace Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Somerset on Grace Bay(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsong Resort(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sibonne Beach Hotel(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sands at Grace Bay(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Bay Club(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Point Grace(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (11,126)
Filter reviews
11,126 results
Traveler rating
7,470
2,300
752
308
296
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,470
2,300
752
308
296
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parkitalian villagekey west villageitalian poolle petit chateaubutler servicesesame streetjerk shackbobby deessurf simulatorbella napolicookie monsterdeparture loungetrundle bediguana poolcharacter breakfastkids camp
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,309 - 6,314 of 11,126 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I have been staying regularly at Sandals resorts across the Caribbean for more than 10 years. This was our first trip to Beaches and without doubt we were hesitant because we have no kids ourselves. Does that make us a little intolerant of a child that is still up at 10pm and grizzly with tiredness when its parents should have had them in bed hours earlier? I guess so - sorry! That said, the bulk of children we well behaved and there are pools where you hardly see any. If you are a family then the Italian Village is definitely for you! Even if you are not staying around it a five minute walk and you're there.

The Good

We came for the scuba diving which was excellent. I'm a PADI Instructor and it provided more than enough variety (and depth) to keep me interested for the duration of our stay. We never had a problem getting on board each day and unlike other Sandals resorts you can book your diving up to a week ahead. The roster opens mid afternoon each Saturday and looks forward a full week - perfect. There are night dives for an additional $80 per person and on a Thursday they run a trip to West Caicos which is great for seeing sharks and larger marine animals like turtles. Both dives need a minimum number of divers to run and in our second week the West Caicos trip didn't go which was a shame because if it had we'd have gone again. We brought all our gear so only needed tanks/weights but if you use the resort's kit it is in good condition. You'll need a wetsuit though at this time of year which you can rent each day - you're better off buying a full length suit before you arrive.

Food was also great. If you are expecting 5* dining like you see in the travel agent brochure then you'll be disappointed but based on our experience of all the other Sandals resorts we've been to (all across St Lucia, Antigua, Bahamas, Jamaica and Cuba - yes there is one in Cuba) the food here is the best we have had. Barefoot By The Sea is great for breakfast - it opens in time for a proper chow down before the dive boat leaves at 8:15 - and also gets our vote for dinner too. They have fresh fish on the menu that you can choose how to have it cooked (fried, blackened, grilled, etc.). The Cricketers Pub is good for fish and chips along with seafood curry in the evening. The staff there are great too - thanks to Simone, Sasha, Lex and Maxwell. Arizona's is also good for lunch with a BBQ each day and in the evening it does great steak. I could go on but frankly there isn't any need - usually we find on restaurant with poor quality food or poor service but not here.

Drinks - All premium brand IF YOU ASK FOR IT! Ask for a 'rum and coke' and you'll get local alcohol. Ask for an 'Appleton and coke' or a 'Johnny Walker Black Label' and you'll get exactly what you asked for. Beer is local 'Turks', Miller Lite or Budweiser with Bass and Guinness in The Cricketer's Pub.

The Staff - they really do try and go the extra mile. A good example was one of the beach attendants who was asked by a mother who had her hands full with two kids where the towels were. He promptly jogged off down the beach to get her some. Great service!

Cleanliness - you may have read other reviews about the resort having to close a while back for a week to eradicate an outbreak of Norovirus. The staff make no excuses here and don't hide the fact it happened but frankly this comes from poor hygiene on the part of guests as far as I'm concerned. The staff here are paranoid about cleanliness - I've never seen so many people sweeping, wiping, hoovering and the resort has a Disney clean feeling about it. You can help yourself though by not letting your kids eat food that has touched tables (or floors!), make sure everyone washes their hands properly when they have been to the bathroom, use an alcohol based hand gel cleanser periodically throughout the day and little things like pushing elevator buttons with your elbow and not running your hands down banister rails. These are all precautions and I don't want to worry anyone. The hotel is fine now and as I said cleanliness is top of staff agenda's but we can all help keep it that way!

The Bad

We stayed in a suite in the Italian part of the hotel. The air conditioning in our room only went down to 72 Fahrenheit (22 Celsius) which is madness! The hotel have clearly put a block on running it cooler to save a few dollars which is no good to anyone at 2am when you wake up in what feels like an oven. Was our unit faulty - it seems not having spoken to other guests so prepare yourself!

Beach vendors are very prevalent. Banana Boat! Parasailing! Banana Boat! Parasailing! To be fair to the hotel the beach is public so they can't stop them. They aren't too bad if you are firm with them but it would be nice to be offered something other than a Banana Boat or Parasailing that if used would invalidate the medical part of your travel insurance!

The Shopping Trip run by the hotel into the capital is a waste of $20 per person for two hours. Either turn right and walk down the beach for 20 minutes and ask a local to point you in the direction of the Grace Bay shops or grab a cab. It is cheaper and you can choose how long you want to stay! If you are expecting masses of shops you'll be disappointed - the recession is biting here too.

The Ugly

Check in was a total pain in the a@@e. We had emailed the hotel 3 weeks before (and had a reply) just asking for a high floor room.....no upgrade, no butler, no sea view, no jacuzzi tub.....just a high floor room. After a day travelling from the UK what did we find? A room with a patio rather than a balcony which is no use when you want to dry wet dive gear! We were asked to take the room for a night and they would TRY and move us. All I can say is if you ask for the duty manager (and the hotel manager or even the general manager if you have no luck) and refuse the room they will move you. Despite what they say we reckon the resort is max 70% full - just look at all the empty balconies that are clearly not being used! Anyway an hour later we'd got a high (5th) floor room which was an upgrade. If their room administration team had done their job we'd have got what we paid for and this ugly comment wouldn't have been included!

Returning Guests Lunch - this was by far and away our biggest disappointment. With Sandals you get dinner whereas here it is a lunch which I can appreciate because it is a family resort. If you are expecting to see any management then like us you'll be amazed. General Manager? No. Hotel Manager? No. F&B Manager? No. Bars Manager? No. Operations Manager? Yes. Operations Manager! Come on guys! If you can't be bothered to attend a buffet (where usually the resort pushes the boat out on the food) then why should we? It struck us that you were having to put it on as part of the Sandals family but didn't really want to so adopted the approach of putting in minimum effort. We have lost track after 210 paid nights of how many of these events we have been to - this one was really embarrassing. We stayed for our entree and left - frankly if it doesn't improve then there is no point going. Pick your own food for lunch!

Returning Guests other stuff - We are diamond guests so are entitled to some extra perks. In room check in - this didn't happen. T-shirts have to be collected from the 'Soon Come Back' desk in the main hotel lobby when normally they are left in your room for arrival and you get no reminder/information on where to get them! Hydrotherapy spa treatment - no hydrotherapy spa! We did find out though that if you ask they'll give you a spa credit to use although we only found this out on our last day - great! We can usually dine with two staff one evening - again nothing. 10% off the Manager's wine list - no information. I hope you get the idea! Basically if you are expecting anything for being a returning guest you'll get nothing.

All in all therefore the bulk of the resort gets 5 stars but certainly not all, hence the 4 rating here. If they wanted top marks then sort out the bad and ugly items above that are within your power to change! It is though the best Sandals/Beaches resort we've been to and we will come back.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MikeAlisonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The resort is wonderful if you have children -so many pools, activities for the kiddies. The beach is beautiful and the water perfect. My only complaint about the place is check-in. Check-in time is supposed to be 3 p.m. but we waited almost an hour after the official time. An added bonus is the excellent food at the many restaurants. We didn't get to them all and almost missed Mario's which ended up being our favorite. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained. We didn't find a lot to do outside the resort and the tour entitled Tour of the Island (not part of the hotel I think) was a disappointment. The driver didn't say much and missed some of the more interesting sights that we found out about later. We also found the staff to be friendly and very helpful. If you got lost, they went out of their way to help.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

what can you say that has not already been said. breakfast in all restaurants are great lunch
is good go to arizonas where the patties and jerk chicken are to die for but anywhere is good.
evening meals are great anywhere you eat. only problem i found was that as an englishman
i expect more than 4 chips with my fish and chips although they were happy to supply more.
what can you say but WOW about the beach my wife does not usually swim in the sea but
even she could not resist.all pools great but italian gets very busy. stayed in caribean village
and could not find fault with it and could not see the point of staying in the french with is furthest
from the beach or the italian which is the most expensive.
as we were a couple there is not alot to do in the evening but drink and most places shut early
so enjoy the days on the beach and round the pools

Room Tip: stay in carribean unless your got loads of money
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

First my I apology for posting this review a year late.

I booked our vacation for 5 adults from Michael McHugh of Dream Makers Vacation Services. He was very informative and courteous and made our booking a breeze. He answered all of the questions I sent regarding the reservation/property promptly and addressed all of my concerns prior to the trip. Originally we had booked the Governor's one bedroom suite. We were surprised and delighted to learn upon arrival that we have been upgraded to the Piazza Walkout suite in the Italian Village (a 4 category upgrade!) due to our booking with Dream Makers Vacation Services. Thanks Michael for giving us a great start to our vacation.

The 2 bedroom suite in the Italian Village was on the ground floor which overlooks the swimming pool. The suite was very spacious with a sliding door in between the two rooms. There were water and soft drinks in the small refrigerator and various types of liquor in the top cabinet. The suite was impeccably cleaned and the soft drinks and water bottles replenished every day. The suite was maintained in good condition except for some moldings in the bathroom.

Kimonos is overrated. Not every chef is a singing chef. Ours was a silent one who occasionally shouted out something to accompany the lone singing chef at the next table. The food was OK not great. We liked Soy which is a small sushi restaurant located next to Kimonos. Their sushi was very good. We ordered practically everything from their menu. Our favorite was Le Petit Chateau. Good service, good food, quaint interior design. Desserts was the best among all of the restaurants. If you can't decide what to get, you can always get their sampler plate which has a variety of pastries including their fabulous ice cream. We had dinner there two nights in a row and on the third night we stopped by and asked if we can get the desserts only. They were so accomodating and graciously set out a table for us outside so we can enjoy our desserts under the stars. Get your pizzas to go at Dino's (Italian Village) or Bella Napoli (Carribean Village): Great places to get take out pizzas especially on your departure day. Arizona is good for lunch. The grilled steaks and fish were fabulous.

You can sign up for the free snorkel excursion about 5 min away by boat. I'd skip this since there is nothing to see. Instead go to your left as you face the ocean and walk to the protected reef and snorkel there. Be sure to stay out of the roped off area that's protecting the coral.
If you don't know how to sail you can ask one of the person working the catamarans to take you out for a 5 min sail on the catamaran.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have just returned from Beaches Turks and Caicos (April) and I wanted to provide some feedback as we originally had included TripAdvisor in our initial research.... and thought it appropriate to include what we thought was important to us.

This was the 3rd time we have travelled to Beaches TCI, and was surprised that the level of service actually improved again this year. We have travelled to many locations in the Carribbean (Bahamas, Jamaica, Dominican, Puerto Rico, Mexico, etc), and can say (easily) that Beaches TCI was far surperior for many reasons:

- resort is approx a 10 minute drive from airport on proper 4 lane highway (we were concerned about this aspect with small kids). We were in the pool within the hour of getting our bags at the airport, and the shuttle service provided was simple and easy.

- Very safe. Definitely not a Mexican, Jamaican or Dominican style security compund as there is no need for one. There IS security (they just don't make it obvious), but TCI has a low crime rate and (supposedly) a high conviction rate. They don't mess around. We felt very safe walking around. Not so much on other islands we have visited.

- you can drink the tap water, etc (my youngest is very sensitive to everything, and has not been sick yet in 3 yrs). Pretty much the only place that is the case.

- the Beach - best beach that I have been to (so far) in the world - my kids could walk in/out of the water on their own as their was negligible undertow and it was very flat/soft sand. 1/2 of the 12+ mile beach is undeveloped, so you can walk a very very very long way without being harassed by anyone. There is a section down beach that you can snorkel around a reef just by walking in the water. The sand is soft and the beach is fairly wide. Not a lot of seaweed or other floating objects and the water is clear reagardless of where you are on the beach.

- Camp Sesame has properly trained nannies, where they follow a proper security protocol with the kids (they also you a local cell phone as well while the kids are there) ... we felt comfortable with our (the first time) 18-mth old as each child was given significant attention. The staff remembered our kids from prior visits, and there are a number of nannies that have been there for the 3 years that we have been going there.

- they appropriately group the kids by age brackets ... and the characters show up for the younger ones at frequent intervals ... our children didn't want to leave Camp, and they have a properly shaded area for the kids to play in the water / play in sand with proper supervision

- every staff member engaged our kids as important individuals wherever we went

- the staff was engaging, polite and wanted to help us. I was made to feel that they were grateful that we came, and they wanted to help us enjoy our vacation

- the food/drink was superior for an all-inclusive resort ... and there was a large variety of restaurants/styles. We felt that the food quality was appropriate for the cost/level of resort, and the star-rating truly reflected the quality of the resort (vs. Cuba or Mexico for example, where you discount the star ratings a bit for what you are really getting). The drinks are premium, name brand and appropriately made with a high level of hygene maintained by the staff.

- the rooms and grounds were always clean and well-kempt ... public washrooms were kept spotless and thouroughly cleaned hourly (my wife remarked that this was the first time in a long time that she felt comfortable using a public washroom due to the cleanliness).

- the Camp has a day and a night program (included) which allowed us to have multiple adult dinners / daylight hours of "just us" time ... it really felt like everyone had a vacation

- I provided feedback afterwards to Beaches, and they responded very quickly, professionally and directly. It would appear that they set a very high bar for themselves which was reflected in the ever-improving standards.

- the waterpark is geared for each age group (there is a toddler area with Pirate ship, an intermediate slide area, and an adult slide area... plus a surf machine and lazy river. there was something for everyone.

- there are facilities/programs for each age group throughout the spectrum

Overall, we are cautious about anything invovling our children. I was uncertain about whether we should travel with our 1 1/2 yr old and 3 year old to the Carribbean the first time we went. After seeing how safe, secure, clean and well-run things were, we returned last year. This year, the service and food was even better (which I found surprising). If you want a vacation and have young children, this is the top choice in my opinion. It is also a strong option (based on the food/drink/facilities) if you do not have kids as long as you appreciate that there will be a number of families around. There are a number of adult-only restaurants, bars, etc thoughout the facility should you need/want that, or should you take advantage of the Night camp (6-10pm).

Room Tip: If you have very small kids, the French village is where the Sesame Stage show is at night - but there is little to no shade in the pool during the day. It is also a bit of a walk to the beach and the facilities at the resort. If you have 10+ yr olds, the Italian Village would be appropriate as there were a larger number of kids in that age group around the pool (it is also next to the waterpark). If you are not travelling with kids, the Carribbean Village appeared to have more adults than small kids
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike from Toron... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews