We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach!”
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach!”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Alexandra. The resort had everything we needed and more. The location was perfect, The Alexandra is located in the center of Grace Bay. You have plenty of hotels and restaurants close by for dinner and drinks. The room was very comfortable with all the amenities that made our stay perfect. The balcony was huge and had a beautiful view of the ocean, pool and grounds. We had breakfast out there every morning. The kitchen had everything you needed and the washer and dryer where a great plus. The Wi-Fi was not working but the front desk was very accommodating and provided the DSL connection cables at no charge.

Places we enjoyed and recommend; Our best dinner was at the Coco Bistro. The place it self is very pretty and the food and service was excellent. Our second fave was the O'Soleil at the Somerset Hotel. The food was delish and the decor was sharp. The Anacaona at the Grace Bay Club was ok the best thing is the location. You are under the stars and hear the ocean as you dine.

We had a great time right next door at Marin located in the Veranda Resort. The drinks were great and the live music entertaining. The prices t TCI are very similar to dining and drinking in NYC so its not cheap but they don't disappoint either. We enjoyed our last evening at the Bagatelle Bistro & Beach Lounge located in the Gansevoort Hotel. It was a cool lounge and the music was decent its the only nightlife in the Island and its done by 1am very early for us but a little something is better than nothing. We also enjoyed lunch and dinner at Da Conch Shack it was the best ...very tasty. We also had lunch "Somewhere" at the Coral Gardens. If you go snorkeling by the fire reefs, right after the Beaches resort, you can enjoy a great lunch at Somewhere. The staff is friendly , the drinks are good and the food is tasty.

Places to see: We took the Dream tour and highly recommended it.They make three snorkeling stops. The first one we dove for conch. The best one is the 2nd stop where we enjoyed a large reef with magnificent sea life. They also stop at Iguana island and prepare a conch lunch with drinks. The third stop before heading to the hotel was to dive for sand dollars. It leaves around 9am and returns approx 1:30pm.

We enjoyed the reefs at the Coral Gardens. You can walk there from the resort about a 10 to 15 minute walk. We rented a car for our last two days and drove to several spots - very scenic Chalk Sound, The "Hole" which is very scary but amazing to see, Turtle Cove Marina, and Sapodilla Bay.

TCI has the most amazing beaches and The Alexandra is a great place with everything you need.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    562
    114
    41
    33
See reviews for
414
909
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo with 2-1/2 baths for 5 people. This wonderful condo had an oceanview with a to-die-for balcony with 3 chaise lounges and a 6 seat dining table. It was the full with of the condo. What a great addition to an exceptional lodging, which included a full kitchen with supplies, a laundry closet, tile floors throughout, and daily maid service to boot. The location on Grace Bay is between the Veranda and the Regent Palms, right about in the middle of Grace Bay. It has a lovely pool and beach with very comfortable lounge chairs and umbrellas available for no charge. Beach towels are always available by the pool. Although we were there in late August, I am told in season, you may have to reserve your chairs. We had only about 8 other couples renting in the entire complex! I felt like "the Donald"

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ratty_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caicos21
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

This resort is so much more than I had expected for the price I paid. The rooms are cleaned every day, and are immaculate. We had the most comfortable stay in a 2 bdrm unit in the Prima Donna Building. The rooms were a generous size, and the balcony's are very large with a great view of the pool,& ocean The grounds are beautiful, and well kept. Management was very helpful, and friendly,. The beach was very clean, had plenty of chairs and umbrellas for the guest use. I didn't have any compliants at all. The beach was to die for. Would stay here in a heartbeat again. Loved Richard the bartender very amusing, and Anette the manager, who made sure our stay was perfect. They have a tour desk on the beach Caicos Dream Tours, for snorkel excursions which was also a plus. The best excursion, ever.
Thank You Alexandra Resort for making our stay perfect.
Becky :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caicos21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Just returned from a very restful week in Providenciales. My husband and I both have somewhat stressful jobs so we were looking to decompress. The Alexandra Resort met all of our requirements. We had a beachfront studio with a small kitchenette on the 3rd floor overlooking the beach and bar/restaurant area. Our room appeared to be recently redone and was always very clean.

We had lunch at the Alexandra several times and it was always very good. Drinks were also reasonably priced and well made by Michelle. We had a car so we were able to shop at the nearby IGA for breakfast items.

On day one, we both had massages at the resort, Spa Sanay. Excellent, best massage that I had ever had and because we were guests of the resort there was a discount. This service is absolutely recommended. The hotel also is the host for Caicos Dream Tours. We did the half day snorkeling trip which I would also highly recommend. We left at 8:45 and returned around 1:30. We snorkeled at three different locations and had lunch on a very small island. We had a group of 16 which was nice, not a hugh crowd. The mate and captain did a nice job, very knowledgeable about the island and the waters.

Regarding night life, we found none. Our hotel advertised an evening of entertainment but there was none. I would say this is the biggest negative not only of this hotel but of the island itself. Someone said that it was because it was off season but in speaking with others who have been there at other times there is no nightlife. I think that someone could make a fortune if they opened a bar/restaurant with a DJ or some kind of music with a dance floor.

Restaurants: We loved the Tiki Hut, ate there twice, very reasonably priced. Baci for Italian was very good, located near Tiki in the marina. Yoshi's was excellent for Japanese and sushi. Coyaba is expensive but excellent. Our only disappointment was Parallel in the Regent Palm. It was extremely expensive and the food was awful. My husband ordered Prime Rib that appeared to be some kind of steak with fat. I had rissoto that was about two tablespoons, no other vegetable or anything else on the plate and was very dried out. We spent over $200 here including drinks, total waste of money.

If you stay at the Alexandra, I would recommend a car so that you can get to other restaurants and shopping. Also, bring bug spray, most of the restaurants are outside seating and it had rained almost every afternoon for a short time period so the mosquitos were a minor problem. Pack snokel equipment, you can walk down the beach past Beaches to a coral reef right off the beach. The most beautiful fish ever and no need for fins.

We will definitely go back to Providenciales, probably more in season and hope to find some kind of nightlife. As it was, we did lots of walking on the beach, snorkeled, and we both came back very rested and relaxed. One additional item, the people who live here are all very friendly and nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CinnaminNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, CT
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Alexandra Resort from May 17 – May 24. We found many aspects of the Alexandra very enjoyable, while others were aggravating enough to prevent us from recommending this particular property. First the good points.

The resort is situated on a beautiful section of Grace Bay. It is within easy walking distance of several restaurants as well as snorkeling at Coral Gardens. Even though we had a rental car for the week, it was nice to be able to walk to so many places (the exercise eased our guilt over all the great meals we had in TCI!)

The staff at the Alexandra was very friendly and helpful. The folks we dealt with at reception were helpful and efficient. We could always count on Ms. Beckford and her housekeeping staff to keep our unit in tip-top shape and to respond quickly to any issues we ran into. And Arnold and Jeffrey displayed a can-do attitude whenever we dealt with them.

The room itself was great. We had a one-bedroom unit in the Marilyn building. We appreciated its size and layout, especially the huge balcony overlooking the pool and grounds. The granite and stainless kitchen made meal and snack preparation a joy. The flat screen TVs in the living area and the bedroom were nice touches as was the large safe. We both thought the bed was comfortable, a good compromise between soft and firm. Even though the wifi didn’t work in our room, there was an Ethernet jack and the staff supplied us with a cable that did the trick.

In short, the basic ingredients for an excellent resort hotel are in place: a good physical plant, a terrific location and a friendly, helpful staff. Unfortunately the negatives we encountered offset these positive aspects of the resort.

The seaside Chelsea building is being renovated, and construction noise was not insignificant. At 7am each morning (except Sunday) we heard the beep-beep-beep of equipment being driven from its parking spot in the back of the property to the Chelsea building. We also heard clanging, hammering, yelling, circular saws and other equipment starting at 7am. We are early risers so these noises didn’t wake us up, but they did make a quiet breakfast on the balcony impossible. The sounds also could be heard at the beach on occasion, detracting from peaceful relaxation there. Even though there was no renovation work on Sunday, we were dismayed that a member of the grounds crew fired up his weed-whacker outside our room at 8am. And on other days we saw men at 8am mowing and using a leaf blower to clean sand off the pathways. In short, there was way too much noise around the resort, and management needs to do a better job controlling what noise it can. They should also post a construction warning on the resort’s website for the duration of this work.

Another area for improvement involves the beach scene. The Alexandra is one of the few resorts on Grace Bay that offers nothing in the way of beach toys. On our morning walks we would see other properties up and down the beach with Hobie Cats, sea kayaks, etc. The Alexandra should invest in some of these amenities for its guests.

Finally, there was one nit that said a lot to us about management’s attitude towards its guests. When we were shown our room on the first day, we were presented with an inventory of 211 “housekeeping items” ranging from a blender (replacement cost $120) to a dish towel ($10). You are asked to sign for this inventory, warned that it would be checked every day and that your credit card will be charged for any missing items. We didn’t come to TCI to steal a potholder ($10) and we let management know that we resented this particular “welcome.” If someone steals a toaster, charge them for it. But a broken wine glass or a lost plastic tumbler is simply a cost of doing business.

Our conclusion is that the Alexandra is a very nice property with good people and a great potential not currently realized by the property manager. Like the reviewer below, we also think that the RWI is a better buy in this class of resort.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank laslototh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARS101, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2010
Dear Reviewer

We would like to thank you for choosing The Alexandra Resort, for taking the time to write your review and for your candid comments.

We are thrilled that you found the location of the Alexandra on Grace Bay to be beautiful as well as we are also delighted that you were impressed by our staff and our contemporarily designed suites and that you enjoyed staying there.

The resort’s management and staff regret that your stay with us was compromised by our efforts to upgrade our property. Ordinarily the noise is contained within the building that is under renovation ( interior upgrade). However, at some intervals during your stay but for a minimal time, the loud noise level could not be avoided and was heard from other areas of the resort.

During the renovation process, the contractor agreed to facilitate our guests and compromise the working hours in order to satisfy the majority of our guests and owners alike. As a result, work begins later than the original scheduled time. Currently, the disruption is minimal, and we are happy to report that the renovation is nearing completion with a July completion date.

The Alexandra Resort is one of the few properties on the island that operates a water sports tour desk. We provide this service to other resorts, as well. Our water sports tour desk offers daily half and full day trips to other TCI islands and provides complimentary kayaks and paddle boats. Snorkel gears are also available.

The Alexandra is a mixed-use resort (i.e. condominium and vacation ownership). As you were advised, the condo in which you stayed is privately owned and as such, we are accountable to our owners. It is customary to have an inventory list. Our aim is not to be onerous or ambiguous. Please be assured that we will be evaluating our inventory process with a view of making it less arduous and time-consuming.

We apologize for your inconvenience during your stay at our resort, and we thank you and for taking time to help us in our improvement process. We look forward to the opportunity serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Alexandra and when comparing it to Royal West Indies, I think we both decided we like Royal West Indies better because the room is a little bit bigger.

But, the Alexandra was still very good. There was a bit of an ant problem and we called 2x to have them come spray for ants. The pool is great. Of course, the beach is great too.

We never ate out. We spent our $150 at the local IGA and ate every meal in. We used our money for scuba diving ... not food.

The front desk staff at the Alexandra was exceptional. We had rented a car from Avis upon arrival on Sunday. On Thursday, they had some torrential rains which flooded a lot of the island roads including the parking lot where we parked our little itty bitty car. We were out on a scuba boat drowning in the rain but no scuba diving. When we returned, our rental car was GONE. The resort had called Avis to come get the car before it flooded. Avis took 2+ hours to get there to rescue the car and it did get some water damage that Avis is now saying we need to pay for. We will take this up with Avis Corporate office b/c we do not feel the act of God and all the rain should fall solely on us as the renters of the car.

So, our trip was great. We used Dive Provo for scuba diving and they were ok. The Alexandra was also ok.

The room had a blender, coffee maker, mini fridge, toaster, sink, new sponge, microwave, paper towels and dish detergent. The room also had wi-fi but we found it hard to always get a connection to but they did have a business office where you could use a PC so that was good too.

They make the most outstanding MUDSLIDES at the pool bar. : )

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NC-Sunshine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Alexandra Resort for our honeymoon for a full week. I can't begin to say enough about the great time we had. We splurged and got an ocean front room which included 1.5 baths, a living room, a dining room, full kitchen, washer/dryer, and huge ocean front balcony with lounge chairs and dining table. The room was extremely clean and we were thrilled with our location. We slept like rocks and noise was never an issue even with one of the buildings undergoing construction while we were there. The grounds were immaculate and it was easy to find our way around.

We were walking distance to numerous restaurants, tours, and shopping. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Not one bad experience with the staff at this resort. The resort offers a cab to the local grocery store on Monday mornings for $10/person which we did....be prepared for VERY expensive groceries. We also ate at the resort on Monday night at their barbecue which is beach front and includes music and a few drinks...definitely recommend checking that out. We ate several times at the bar/restaurant at the resort and were very happy with the food and service. You can actually be served while sitting in the pool on seats that are right up to the bar itself...great way to unwind and stay cool at the same time. The only small complaint we had with this resort was that the internet was sporadic. Some days it was easily accesible and other days we couldn't get on at certain times.

Our stay at the Alexandra was one that would bring us back for sure. Be prepared for inflated food costs but overall a wonderful experience. The only bad thing we experienced on our trip (and no reflection whatsoever on the resort) was at the airport on our way out. We had our luggage randomly selected for inspection which was fine. We were hauled down a long hall into a small room where they went through all of our packed luggage without putting it all back as they found it. The officer was VERY rude and pushy and would not let me put my clothes back together in the luggage...she was basically on a power trip. They of course found nothing out of the ordinary and seemed disappointed to that fact. Very unfortunate way to end our wonderful honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank djwtarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.1 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
2,367 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
411 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
1,532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
1.9 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#22 of 45 in Providenciales
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Property: Alexandra Resort
Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#13 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, and amazing oceanfront dining. Guest can also take our complimentary dining shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their restaurants facilities. The Alexandra provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including complimentary non motorized water sports, tennis courts, free use of pedal bikes, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing