We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort - Great Guest Service Resort Ambassador!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Resort - Great Guest Service Resort Ambassador!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have been going to The Alexandra for years-and have always enjoyed each visit!
The resort is wonderful, the beach breathtaking - the resorts restaurant (Mango Reef) one of the best on the island -but the added bonus is Al Pinder the Guest Service Supervisor for the resort. Al knows the island inside and out - and will help you with any of your vacation plans.
If you're thinking of a trip to Turks and Caicos - The Alexandra is a great family resort and the location is fabulous!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBP4-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for paying us the ultimate compliment by returning each year to stay at the Alexandra Resort. We are indeed fortunate to have Al as our Resort Ambassador. We will share your kind feedback with him. We look forward to hosting your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    523
    109
    34
    28
See reviews for
381
861
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

First let me say I agree with pretty much everything else that other reviewers have said. I will focus on a few points I feel need emphasized or clarified that I didn't pick up on while I read other reviews.
When we first pulled up to the hotel we were a little worried that we picked the wrong place to stay. It is not at all an impressive entrance. Basically a sidewalk with a run down water fountain. We had arrived around noon time and told to check back around 230 to see if our room was ready. We grabbed a bite at the mango reef restaurant and returned at 230, room was still not ready until about 3pm. This was pretty much the norm for everyone and I believe check in isn't really until 3pm anyway so not a big deal. They have a room so you can change and hit the beach if you want. They will watch your bags.
Next, we got checked in and were given our keys. It seemed strange that we weren't offered help with our baggage or told it would be delivered so we took it ourselves. We have never been to a resort where we had to take our own baggage to the room. Not so much that we didn't want to but someone was always right there to take it for us to make a few dollars. So, off to the room with all of our luggage we went, circling through all the people around the pool.
The room...I compare it to be like a marriott residence inn. Not fancy, simple and nice one bedroom, full kitchen, 1 1/2 bath, all the utensils, dishes, blender, toaster, etc. The room was warm so we went to crank on the air conditioning. Uh oh. Air conditioning didn't work. At this point we felt we were done and would never return to this place. We called the front desk and they said they would send someone to fix it. Within about 2 hours the air conditioning was working awesome. On a side note here, we had booked directly through the hotel. If we had booked through VRBO or something similar, it would not have been the Alexandra's responsibility to fix it. You would have to contact the owner directly to get them to take care of it. Just be aware that things can happen and we were glad we booked directly with the hotel. All said, we were very pleased how quickly they fixed the air conditioning.
One more problem we had with the room was the bed. It was only a full size and very uncomfortable. For 2 adults you would think a queen size would be more acceptable. We both tossed and turned every night. It seems they tried to fix it once by placing a mattress pad on it but it was scrunching up on the mattress and made it worse. Maybe we should of mentioned it to the desk but we didn't.
Beach towels...this seemed to be an issue every day in that they ran out by about 11am every day and didn't get any new ones until about 3pm or later. This was almost every single day. We couldn't understand how this was even acceptable. Turnover for clean towels needs to be greatly improved.
Pool...I read a lot of people complaining the pool was dirty. The pool was clean for us every day with the one exception of a day that the winds blew a constant 20-30 mph all day long. You can not possibly keep the pool clean with that much stuff blowing around. Good job alexandra pool staff.
The rest I offer a few tidbits of info or advice. I think it's worth it to take the shuttle to get a few groceries to keep in the room. They are very expensive and probably don't save you that much really over eating out. If we go again we will bring some dry goods like cereal, coffee, snacks, etc from home. In general, lunch for two was around $50, dinner about $100.
The small town is about a 20min walk from the resort. Not sure if I misunderstood other people but you walk out of the resort and go left, come to the end of the road where you must go left or right and go LEFT, come to a roundabout and go right, next roundabout go left, then next go right until you get to the town. There are several souvenir stores and restaurants here, but one trip here is probably enough.
Snorkeling...caicos dream tours offers an awesome 1/2 day tour I highly recommend. If you want to go at it your own, grab your gear, including fins, and from the resort facing the ocean, go left. It takes about 10 mins just to get past the horrendous beaches resort (screaming kids and teannie boppers everywhere). Another 10 mins will get you down to Bight reef/ coral gardens. You must stay outside the circle of buoys. I don't know how people couldn't figure this out. You really need the fins to get out far enough to start seeing more impressive fish. If you want to go to smiths reef, it is about another 45 mins farther walking. We didn't do it. This reef was fine and somewhere cafe is right there so you can grab a casual lunch and don't even need to put your shoes on.

Would we go back? Maybe. The location is nice but might opt for something a little more updated. Everything here is so expensive. I think our food and hotel in bora bora were less than we paid in the turks and caicos.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank greyparrotowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your thorough review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to read that you did not care for our oceanfront reception centre. We are continuing to upgrade the resort's facilities and will take your suggestions to improve our reception area under advisement. We are also very concerned to read you did not receive assistance with your luggage, as we have several housemen on staff who are normally very quick to offer service. We will address the fact you did not receive service upon arrival with them immediately. The beds in our suites are queen size (with the exception of the beds in the Lady Rose building, which are king size in the master bedroom). We appreciated having the opportunity to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I think this hotel is a great way to be able to stay in Turks and Caicos. Quiet, clean and spacious rooms.Our room was taken care of by a wonderful lady, Bernadette. She took care of everything. It took 2 minutes to walk to the most beautiful beach in the world. There are many activities on the beach and food and beverage service. We had a great guy, Ashley who advised us on many activities and restaurants on the island. The restaurant Mango Reef at the Alexandra was one of the best restaurants on the island. We enjoyed Magnolia's and Bella Luna as well. We had a problem with Fire and Ice, they ran out of food! Most restaurants you can walk to via the beach. Everyone speaks english. Taxi's are very expensive, round tip for 3 to airport with tip..$100.00. Most restaurant's back and forth..30.00. The hotel's should offer free shuttles! So you might want to consider renting a car, however they drive on opposite sides of the road. Try to bring as much food as you can in your suitcase, the IGA ,grocery store is so expensive. Make sure you bring plenty of sunscreen, very intense sun, we wore 30 spf and still got some sun burn. All in all we had a great trip and will be returning next year! You can pay more for a more luxury hotel, but you won't want to be in your room long, it is too beautiful outside. We did priceline for 3 airfares and 3 in a one room suite, oceanview/poolview room for $6700.00 for six nights.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean an pool view at the Prima Donna. The balcony is so large, cool breezes and ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pattian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and we are delighted to read you will be staying with us again next year. We do offer a free dining shuttle to Beach House and Blue Haven Resort and Marina, and we hope you will take advantage of it next year, as well as the daily shuttle service we provide to the IGA grocery store. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Turks and Caicos for the first time and at the suggestion of our travel agent we stayed a week at the Alexandra. It was nothing short of perfect.
Our check in was smooth and although our room was not ready we had lunch at the Mango Reef restaurant located on site. It was a great introduction with a beautiful waterfront view, friendly and cordial staff and wonderful food.
Our room was ready after lunch and we were really wowed by our huge, gorgeous room. We were in room 2405 and would want that room when we go back. Great location, gorgeous huge waterfront balcony and a convenient full kitchen with stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops. We went to the grocery store on the free shuttle and loaded up on breakfast items, some beverages ;), and some snacks. We loved having coffee and a light breakfast on our balcony.
The beach is always clean, the water warm, and the lounges comfy. There were plenty of umbrellas to protect yourself from the sun.
We loved eating at Mango reef but also strolling the beach to get to another restaurant. We strolled to Somewhere at Coral Gardens which was casual, friendly, and had a wonderful lunch. We went to Bay Bistro once for lunch and twice for dinner. Best restaurant!! Fantastic food, nice people, and beautiful atmosphere.
Alexandra Resort has a very nice pool, swim up bar and beautiful grounds. They keep the grounds very clean.
If you are considering booking a hotel we would encourage you to look at Alexandra. We were pleasantly surprised and cannot wait to go back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We cannot wait for you to return and enjoy another fabulous vacation at the Alexandra Resort. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

the alexandra hotel is a wonderful spot for families and couples
Its location is perfect in terms of getting around the island
beach is very nice and men working there are so helpful in getting chairs, umbrellas etc
restaurant Mango's @ the hotel is amazing! great food and very good service
Dinner is wonderful and ask for a table on the beach.
Menu for all meals is quite extensive
rooms are clean, and maid service was wonderful. everyday a change of towels in the evening before bed. 1 bedroom suites were nice & spacious but if you are more then 2 people I suggest a cot bed. the couch was to small & that was the only thing in my room that needed update. also beds could be a bit larger.
bathrooms, kitchen area , outdoor terrace very clean.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for a unit that has been redecorated and def go for the partial or full ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lacey1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Alexandra Resort and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will share your positive comments with our team. All of our suites offer queen size beds in the master bedroom, with the exception of the suites in the Lady Rose building, which offer king size beds in the master bedroom. We continue to upgrade the resort's facilities and we appreciate your feedback on the sofa beds. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This resort turned out perfect for my wife and myself. The first day was a little rocky but the people and the style of the resort turned us around. At first "No rum drink"( ran out of rum) but they made good the next day. Also the first day they ran out of towels later in the day for the beach but this also changed. Jessica was the best hostess and did everything to make our vacation a beautiful success . Brought us extra water to the room and even send up a free bottle of wine for my wife's special birthday. All the people at the resort were extremely friendly.
One of the pluses is the Mango Reef. Service to the beach and lunches and dinner were great. Service and price were good. Several times we just did not want to go out for a big dinner and we would just have several of their appetizers and a glass of wine.
We visited most of the resorts on Grace Beach and feel that the Alexandra gave us a feel of the island the best .Beautiful pool area and nicely groomed. The lobby is not real impressive and if we own the resort this is the first place we would remodel.
Our Room was great-- one and half bathrooms-- big dinning area, stove, refrigerator micro-wave and all the things needed for a weeks stay and of course a big deck over looking the gardens. Two TV's but we never watch them. .
We have been to many , many islands in the Caribbean and the Turks and Caicos island is very expensive in terms of grocery foods, dinner and taxi. If you do not rent a car, be prepared for at least t a $20.00 taxi where ever you are going. Bikes are available but who wants to ride a bike at night.
All in all we loved our stay at the Alexandra Resort and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side of the gardens get a full sun in the afternoon. Rooms on the beach are the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We are pleased to read you had a wonderful vacation and a pleasant birthday celebration for your wife. On your next trip, please consider taking our free dining shuttle to Beach House and Blue Haven Resorts. Our concierge would also be happy to assist you with affordable car rentals, to reduce your vacation transportation costs on island. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our first impression of the resort was less than spectacular when we arrived. The lobby is very
plain and not overly impressive, but to our surprise the room was quite nice and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The pool area was very pretty especially at night with the lights. We
stayed because we read in the reviews that everyone raved about the hotel restaurant which
was so highly rated. We ate four evening meals there and we couldn't have been more pleased.

There was a nice swim up bar and plenty of chairs around the pool. We had very good service
at the resort, but it was sometimes on island time. Eg the maid forgot to leave towels or toilet paper. For the most part we very much enjoyed our stay and the island.

Room Tip: If you are not on the ocean, the newest building is near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Olddog1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The Alexandra Resort has one of the only oceanfront reception centres on Providenciales. Our lobby was designed to focus on the Grace Bay view as opposed to the interior of the building - we are sorry that it did not impress you, but we are glad that our guest accommodations did. We will follow up with our housekeeping team to remind them of the importance of providing timely and thorough guest services. We appreciate receiving your feedback on this matter, as it helps us continually improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.1 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#5 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#6 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
1.2 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Property: Alexandra Resort
Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#13 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, and amazing oceanfront dining. Guest can also take our complimentary dining shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their restaurants facilities. The Alexandra provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including complimentary non motorized water sports, tennis courts, free use of pedal bikes, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, West Indies and Jetsetter so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing