We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room.Beautiful beach.”
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley Heights,NJ
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tiny room.Beautiful beach.”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here on a last minute long weekend and they had many specials to offer. The hotel is directly on the beach and we were upgraded to an ocean view room. The studio is quite small. It's like a NYC hotel as far as space goes and it seemed as though the bed was a full size.The decor is lovely with an LCD tv and a small kitchenette. The kitchenette was limited with a small fridge and microwave.They did supply plates,etc but there is no stovetop so this equates to having to go out to eat.There's a large closet and safe and a nice size balcony to get you off of the bed.It was fine for 4 days.The resort itself is great. The pool is clean and they have bikes and pool floats for the ocean. Mango Reef is there and they serve on the beach,weather permitting.Plenty of towels and lounge chairs at the ocean. As stated,the staff was great.Overall,for the discounted price,we'd stay again. If it were a longer trip I'd get a one bedroom but on the island,that's expensive at any resort.They were able to accomodate a late checkout as well. Can't wait to return to the island!

Room Tip: Travel off season for a great deal. Must eat on the beach at Mango.If space is important,get a one b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L-DeL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Alexandra Resort and we hope you will stay with us again in the future. As you noted, we do offer one and two bedroom suites (which have full kitchen facilities) in addition to our studios. Our studios are approximately 460 square feet in size, and all of our studios have queen size beds. The studios in the Prima Donna building feature a two burner cooktop - the studios in the Marilyn and lady Rose buildings do not. However, all studios are equipped with a small refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and blender, so preparing light meals is possible. We appreciate your acknowledgments of the many positive aspects about staying at the Alexandra Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    574
    120
    44
    35
See reviews for
431
922
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed there with a friend from 10/20-10/26. We were in a one bedroom in the Prima Dona, room 3201...we even had a view of the ocean. I am glad I decided to go with the one bedroom since with two women, we needed the extra room! The bed was comfy, bathrooms big. Cleaned daily. The Alex is great. The ocean is beautiful. If I had to complain about anything, it would be that there are no towels at the pool and I'm not sure why. You had to go to the beach to get them...but that's not really a big problem. I would definitley stay there again. The food at Mango Reef was fabulous...Lobster Quesadillas..yum...fish tacos...yum...Open lobster ravioli....YUM...enough to save half for lunch the next day...and it was even better! The Pina Coladas are to die for....I could just go on. Also ate at Mr. Grouper's twice...really good food!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ngrinthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with the beach towel service. During your stay we were in the process of changing our beach towel distribution service. For added guest convenience, beach towels are now placed directly in guest rooms. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was our third stay at the Alexandra Resort and our 4th time visiting Turks & Caicos. Before coming to Provo, we island hopped across the Caribbean before finding the paradise that is Grace Bay. Since then, we have only wanted to return to Grace Bay and the Alexandra for our beach vacations. The best thing about this resort is that it's no fuss. For the last two visits, my husband and I have stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with our toddler son and his grandparents. You get a large fully equipped kitchen, large bathrooms that you don't have to share, and best of all a huge balcony with a view of the resort and the aquamarine Caribbean sea. The resort itself is clean, well maintained, and has wonderful landscaping. It has actually gotten better since we first started coming. They have the same great service with a smile, but the addition of Mango Reef and the drink service at the beach has really improved our vacation experience. We can't wait until our son is old enough for the Pelican Club. We have also booked an ocean tour with Caicos Dream Tours and loved it. While many people like all inclusive resorts, we like to travel independently and choose which restaurants to enjoy. Here we don't have to pay the all-inclusive price, which means more chances to come back. Our favorite Provo restaurants include Coyaba, Coco Bistro, Hemingway's, and Da Conch Shack. This is our happy place and we hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room on a higher floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingertea8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We very much appreciate your continued patronage and thank you for joining the growing number of families who have become repeat guests at the resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Alexandra from Oct 19-26, 2013. We had a one bedroom condo in the Chelsea buliding (Room 1304). We loved it! Of course, if you've read other reveiws, by now you know that grace bay beach is beyond compare, and it is so incredibly beautiful! We agree, but really want to make this review useful, so here goes:
My most favorite things about the Alexandra:
1) beach! A clean, gorgeous beach. I couldn't get enough time at the beach! They maintain it well, and the beach chair and umbrella are ample, and well kept.
2) Free use of water toys and bikes. This probably saved us at least $100 for our stay. We loved using the kayaks, paddle boards and bikes.
3) Okay...this may sound mean, and I'm sorry... but it was quiet. The kids seemed to all be in the kids club, or maybe they weren't there at all, but while I was laying under my umbrella, I never had to hear the squeal of children playing on the beach! It was wonderful!
4) Very satisfactory room! So, it's not new, there are the occasional marks on the wall or door, but I didn't care about that. The room was spotlessly clean, and every single thing that we needed from towels to dishes were provided.

Less awesome parts of the Alexandra:
1) the laundry is in a separate building at the far end of the complex. This was a little inconvenient, but the facilities themselves were clean, and best of all- free.
2) There was no late check out available for our building on Saturdays... so we had to kill some time in the lobby and at the airport, instead of getting a few extra, precious moments on the beach! This is totally understandable, and they were very polite about offering us any other options, like perhaps a shower room where we could get ready before the airport trip, if we had wanted that.

Bottom line:
We absolutely loved our time here, and would come back without hesitation!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelingschuhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
It was our pleasure to be of service during your stay and we are glad to read you had a wonderful vacation. The Chelsea building, where you stayed, is the only building on property that does not offer washers and dryers in all of the one and two bedroom suites. This is the one timeshare building on the property, and since all check-ins and check-outs take place on Saturdays, we do not have the flexibility to extend late check-outs in this building. We are sharing this feedback for the benefits of other readers who may be planning a trip. Please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My experience at the Alexandra was delightful. If you're looking for classic luxury this is not the hotel for you. If your looking for a nice above average very clean hotel, this is it. They offer the following free @ no charge: Wi-Fi, bikes that you can take out and explore the island on your own. Paddle boards, kayaks, snorkeling equipment & paddle boats. I was extremely pleased by the hospitality I received @ the Alexandra especially by a memorable young man named Arnold. He made our stay extra special. Very accommodating to any and all needs that we had. Rooms are clean & freshly decorated. All rooms come with a mini kitchenette everything in great condition n worked perfectly, no complaints. I come from NYC so dining prices were pretty much the same. If you go to the market which I recommend. Yes, the prices are twice as much as NYC bc everything is imported to this island. Nevertheless the entire island was full of such pleasant, calm, happy people. I felt extremely safe riding the bike in the early morning and at night along the roads by myself. I was truly in awe of the ZEN this island gave me. This is an island where water activities are the main attraction. This is not a place where there will be major partying going on like in Cancun, South Beach etc. Cons: satellite tv clarity was scarce but who the heck is watching tv in Turks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and acknowledging the excellent value that you received while staying with us. We are also pleased to read that you received excellent service, and we will pass along your kind comments to Arnold. It sounds like you discovered what makes Turks and Caicos so special and we hope you will stay with us again to enjoy more of this very magical island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks Kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

After three days of madness at a Miami wedding my wife and I arrived at the Alexandra resort. We were overlooking the beach and sea from a large third floor balcony of a superb apartment with kitchen-living room, bathroom and bedroom.
The quality of the building is excellent. The location is very difficult to beat. The food on the beach at the Mango Reef restaurant is superb. The beach itself is one of the best in the world. If you look at the color of the water and the sand you will see why.
This holiday week was an eye opener. Loved the place, the island and the people (even Anderson who might just be the funniest barman on the planet).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blessup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We are glad that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Alexandra Resort. You did indeed choose the right resort for location, quality and value. Please stay with us again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here from Oct 10 - 15th, 2013. It was a short, but very pleasant getaway from the Canadian Fall. Overall, a very good resort where we would stay again. It was pretty much dead when we were there so there was always plenty of loungers and room both at the pool and at the beach - not sure how crowded it can become during the busy season.

The Rooms:
We had a studio room in the Marilyn building overlooking the pool. The room is plenty big for two people sharing. It was clean (twice a day maid service!), modern and the bed was very comfortable. A/C worked well. Amazing water pressure. Plenty of fresh towels. Kitchen has the essentials including dishes, a toaster, a blender (for yummy drinks), coffee maker (with some coffee and sugar provided) and a decent-sized mini-fridge. There was also a washer/dryer which we didn't use but could be convenient. The balcony is quite large and pleasant for morning coffee or afternoon lounging.

The pool:
Fairly large, not heated but water plenty warm. Comfortable loungers all around. Could probably use a better filtration system but really not a big deal. The pool bar was never busy and the staff was quite nice (a special shout out to Reginald who always had an amazing smile).

The food:
The restaurant is quite good with lots of variety. Be warned, portions are enormous! Dinner for two with a drink each ran about 110$ which is on par with other restaurants around. You have got to try the Nutty Coladas - delicious!! Mixed drinks will run out 9$ a piece but they are good quality.

The Beach:
Good size, plenty of chairs and umbrellas. Lots of toys for kids and such available from what we could tell. Towels tended to run out during the day but I think this is because it's low season. You don't need towel cards or to even leave your room number - works on the honor system.

Places you should go close to the resort:

We took advantage of the free bikes on a daily basis. They provided you with a bike lock at the reception - nice touch! Be warned, we did take the bikes out for dinner one night but were later told by an employee that we shouldn't have because there are no lights on the bikes thus making it illegal (oops!!). We used our iphones for light but I can see why this would be dangerous. During the day, there is no concern whatsoever driving along Grace Bay road because there are sideways on either side - very safe.

1) Thursday Fish Fry - starts at 5 pm at Bight park. You can take a cab there (10$ for two people) but you can also walk safely along the beach. If facing the water, turn left and walk maybe 15-20 min (past Coral Gardens resort). You'll hear the music. Great atmosphere, wonderful food and very cheap (20$ pp for a meal). Definitely a must.

2) Coral Gardens Reef (Bight Reef) - again easy to walk to. Well outlined area. We saw some cool things there including a sea turtle and schools of tangs.

3) Salt Mills shopping - maybe a 5 min bike ride away (turn left off princess on Grace Bay Road). The duty free shop across the road from the shopping center has great prices (best on the island).

4) Smith's Reef: A bit further out in the other direction on Grace Bay Road (about 5 KM) but easy to bike (again, there are sidewalks - avoid biking on the main highway!). The reef itself is just beyond turtle cove marina. Beautiful reef (better than Bight) with lots of marine life! Worth the trip out.

5) Gourmet Graceway groceries: Worth getting some snacks, things to make drinks. It's maybe 1km further than salt mills (turn right on Allegro from Grace Bay Road). Very easy to get to with the bikes. Groceries are VERY expensive but less expensive than dining out all the time. We were diving two days so got things for breakfast and snacks. You can also take a shuttle (9$ pp, round trip) from the resort to the main IGA but we didn't feel the need to.

Places to eat nearby (other than Mango Reef which is really good):
1) Bay Bistro: Facing the water turn right on the beach. It's at Sibonné resort (3 down, 5 min max). We had breakfast there and it's very reasonably prices with large portions. Many people told us dinner here is very good. Great views.

2) Mr. Grouper's : VERY good. Maybe a 5 min walk from resort (turn right off Princess on Grace Bay Road). The coconut crusted grouper is to die for. The drinks are cheap and stiff. Well worth the visit.

3) Hemmingway's: At the Sands resort. Good service and good food. Reasonably priced.

We also ate the Coco Bistro (well worth the expense), Bella Luna (in the new pizza garden) and Jimmy's dive bar (5$ mijoto Mondays - do it!) but these are a bit further out. If you want starbucks coffee, you can get it a green bean café close to Turtle Cove.

Overall, this resort is on the small size compared to the HUGE Beaches but it was friendly, very clean and comfortable. It's well located and the bikes make it easier to get around. We had a bottle of wine waiting for us in our room which was a nice touch. We signed up for the newsletter prior to going and received a 50$ voucher to use (paid for some of our Nutty Coladas!).

We would recommend this resort without hesitation!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your thorough review. You shared some great travel advice with other TripAdvisor readers. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we hope you will stay with us again in the future. Even if you visit during peak season, you will always find plenty of space and a beach lounger at the Alexandra Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.1 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 44 in Providenciales
2,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
422 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 44 in Providenciales
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#7 of 44 in Providenciales
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Property: Alexandra Resort
Address: Princess Drive, Grace Bay | Turks and Caicos, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, Alexandra Resort offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, and amazing oceanfront dining with the option to book all-inclusive reservations. Guests can also take our complimentary dining shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their restaurants facilities. Alexandra Resort provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, bicycles, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing