We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like quiet. This is the place”
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If you like quiet. This is the place”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have traveled all over the world and stayed at unique and very expensive hotels but this hotel is Unique. Quiet is the key nothing to do I was in pool played my iPhone very low and a lady came to me
And said please lower the music. I was dumbfounded and upset. The people that work in this hotel Are nice but I find the people that stay here are very stuffy. I ussualy stay at the Ritz or Hyatt Hotels. The food is ok but get ready to wait and pay . Very expensive for everything. Example bAsic breakfeast 110.00. For 4 people. We went to store first night a case of corona beer 90.00. A six pack 18.00. Don't rent a car nothing to see, cabs all over the place but make sure you don't pay what they tell u talk them down. Very quiet and very clean island. 46 miles long by 5 miles wide. Very. Very quiet. Enjoy it

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Alexandra Resort on your recent visit to Turks & Caicos. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope you will stay with us again. You are correct that some things are expensive here. We have just launched a value-priced bed and breakfast package with Mango Reef, which provides considerable savings on breakfast costs. We are sorry to read you paid $90 for a case of Corona. Beer is usually not that expensive here and our concierge is happy to direct guests to stores that offer fair prices and excellent service for food and beverage items. He will also help plan a driving itinerary to see a number of interesting areas and attractions on Provo, which is approximately 22 miles long. The island may be small in size, but it offers a big selection of great dining, spa and water based activities for visitors to enjoy. Thanks again for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    562
    114
    41
    33
See reviews for
414
909
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Went for a wedding at another hotel but stayed hear for the duration (4 days) Immediately we were greeted by very helpful and accommodating staff. Our rooms were very nice, clean and fully equipped with everything we needed. We reserve a Deluxe 2 Bedroom (has two masters) a were upgraded to a Luxury (5th floor). Fresh towels and maid service was provided promptly each morning. The restaurant has fine food and staff are very pleasant. As this is and island setting don't expect everything at a city's pace. They are a little slowed down down here! The Island as a whole: Food is pricy, cabs are a necessity where ever you go, the WI-FI was spotty but the whole trip was worth every penny!

Room Tip: Reserve through MyTurksandCaicos tell them you would like the best room possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markrjinlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Alexandra Resort. We will share your kind feedback with our team. We are working on improving the WIFI service at the resort and we realize it is an important service for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington, ma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Booked a getaway through Interval. Had a beautiful ocean front one bedroom suite in the Chelsea Bldg. Resort is very clean and well kept and unit had everything we needed. There was no washer dryer in unit but they do have one on site to use. Pull out sofa bed was very comfortable. The beach is incredible and the location of the resort is great. Worklers are the resort very friendly as we found with most people we met. Felt very safe walking dark streets at night. We did not rent a car and taxis are very expensive as is food at the supermarket. They will shuttle you for $9pp each day. Taxi fares from airport are supposed to by $11 but the driver we got charged us $13 for some reason! Each cab ride is pp and very expensive. Mango Reef was a good restaurant. Not much action on this island so if you are looking to party I would no pick T&C., at least when we were there in October. You can walk to shop in the little stands the locals set up which is behind Beaches. Definately recommend the snorkeling off the beach, about 15 min walk to Coral Reef. Somewhere in the Beach is a good place to have drinks, which is also about 10-15 walk down the beach. Other restaurants on the beach the other direction since the two resorts next door are all-inclusives.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDAVACC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing kind feedback about your recent visit to the Alexandra Resort. Provo is definitely a quiet destination compared to most other Caribbean islands and we are glad you enjoyed our special island. Taxi drivers here frequently charge a $2 per bag fee on top of the $11 per person fare. I am sorry to read that the driver did not explain this to you. We hope you will visit Turks & Caicos again, and thank you for your patronage on your recent visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burk's Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked this resort with interval international on there getaway program.We stayed for two weeks, Oct 27-Nov 10 2012.We rented a car for our 2 week stay. Finding the resort was fairly easy.Ckeck in was fast.We had asked the resort prior to arrival if staying in the same one bedroom unit for 2 weeks was possible.They promptly replied they would try.To our pleasure our request was made possible by Tanya. This for us is a wonderfull treat,as switching units after 1 week is a pain.All the staff from front desk to pool area,beach and mango reef staff where very pleasant and very helpfull.Our unit was a 1 bedroom ocean view in the Prima Dona building 3rd floor.Good view of ocean and pool area.Unit was well appointed with all nec items.The unit was cleaned and well stocked all of our stay.Our cleaning lady Bernadett was great, very friendly and always cheerfull.Our overall impression of this resort is good.The beach is long and great for walking ,swimming snorkelling or just relaxing on.This was our first visit to this island.We will come back again.Travelling around the island was fun.We visited many other beachs and ate out at only 3 times during our stay.All beachs and restaraunts where good.All in all a great island and resort to visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIKE53940856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and great feedback about our team. They work very hard to exceed guest expectations. I will pass on your compliments to them. We hope you will stay with us again on a future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I went to the Alexandra with several friends without much research into the place and found we lucked into an affordable resort, with the perfect location, and very nice amenities. As soon as we walked out of the airport, we were met by their driver Kelvin and whisked quickly to the hotel. $11/person seemed reasonable, especially for the insights we gained on the drive...where to go, where not to go...all of which proved right on.

Once we arrived, we were greeted with rum punch on their beautiful deck, a great way to start a vacation. There we first met Roland, the head concierge, who seemed to be everywhere during our visit...and who along with the rest of the staff was always ready, willing and able to help. They were accommodating to every request we had, and anticipated many before we asked. They arranged a Rum Cruise our first night...the perfect first night of an island vacation.

The rooms were spacious and modern, with a full kitchen, large bathroom, and a fantastic ocean view. With the kitchen in the room, a daily run arranged by the hotel to the grocery store -- along with two bars and a very good restaurant on-site -- you didn't really have to leave the property at all during your trip if you didn't want to. And despite the stories I had heard about how expensive everything was on the Island, I found the prices for food and alcohol very reasonable for a resort.

The pool with the swim up bar is right there as you step out of your room. The beach is past it, and is extremely well maintained, clean and the sand is unbelievably soft. Words will not do the water justice. It was extremely warm and clear...you could see down all the way to the bottom as far out as I was willing to venture. If you wanted to sit all day, great chairs and umbrellas were provided...complete with full wait service. If you got bored, the resort provided kayaks and paddle boards free of charge. Snorkeling on a live reef was just a 10 minute walk down the beach, and the gear was provided...just ask Roland. I had never snorkeled before so I was a little nervous, but it turned out to be the highlight of the trip. The reef is unbelievable...saw a four-foot barracuda amongst the other sea life!

The location is great...just a 15 minute walk down to the great shops, bars and restaurants downtown. Bikes would be great if they were available on-site, but the walk on the beach is just fine too. On the one rainy day we had, the group did an old-fashioned bar crawl down the beach...stopping at each hotel beach bar we came to...until we got to town. Took up the whole day, but was one of the best times we had.

I cannot recommend the Alexandra enough. It is a great bargain, and the next time we go back...and we will go back...there is no question where we will be staying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the terrific review! We look forward to your next visit and we hope your next visit will be even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

After researching different places we chose Turks and Caicos and do not regret it at all!! The beach is amazing and had the softest sand ever!! We stayed at the Alexandra and were not disappointed. Location is great, about a 15 min walk to town. The Mango Reef restaurant which is at the hotel has delicious food (loved the beef tenderloin). The only things disappointing about the hotel were that there is no hot tub or bikes. Besides that everything was great! We rented scooters from a car rental place right outside the hotel ($50 for 24 hours). We went to Tiki hut, Shark bite and Da Conch shack. All 3 places had good food. One of our scooters broke down at Da Conch Shack, the manager lent us jumper cables and while waiting we had someone offer to put the scooter in his pick up and give us a ride back to the rental place (everyone is very nice). After talking to him for a bit he told us he was the owner of Da Conch Shack. Lucky for us the scooter started but his offer was VERY much appreciated! Also loved Mikey (one of the bartenders at The Coral Reef)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louy504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I am pleased to read you chose the Alexandra Resort for your honeymoon, and that you had a wonderful experience. Congratulations on your recent nuptials and we hope to see you back at the resort on your first anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
192 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed in a Luxury Ocean View room for 4 nights.

Had a terrific time here. The room was very nice: spacious, well-decorated, clean and modern kitchenette (had a small fridge, sink, microwave, utensils, dishes, dish detergent/sponge), nice TV, comfortable king-size bed (actually two twins put together, but it was still comfortable), roomy and modern bathroom, and an in-room safe. Also, can't forget about the terrific view (technically not an "ocean front" room, but the view was fantastic). The room I stayed in had a roomy balcony with a great view of the ocean over the Mango Reef restaurant. I could see the "goings-on" at the resort (including some pleasant live music one night), but one drawback was that on a couple of nights, there was quite a bit of noise from guests/staff late at night that was easily audible in the room.

The service and staff was very nice, overall. Some staff members that stood out were Arnold (bellhop who had a very kind demeanor), Mikey (who worked the bar area at the Mango Reef and was very friendly and accommodating), and Ramon (waiter at the Mango Reef who was extremely nice). One negative to the service was the occasional lack of towels at the beach and pool. Another slight negative was the lack of enthusiasm/friendliness from some of the front desk staff. They were not unfriendly and did their jobs well, but they didn't give the impression that they were happy to help, and I even felt a tiny bit of disdain from them at times. Also, I didn't get new bottles of body lotion in the room for a couple of days and had to ask for replacements. Another slight drawback was the lack of free water in the room, beach, or pool area. I thought that at a resort of this caliber/price, there should at least be a water cooler by the pool/beach/front desk and possibly a couple of bottles of complimentary water in the room.

The beach the hotel was located on is fantastic: soft sand, calm water, not crowded, and with an adequate amount of beach chairs and umbrellas.

The restaurant at the hotel (Mango Reef) is supposedly one of the best on the beach. I ate there a few times and enjoyed the food. I didn't think it was amazing, but it was good. I especially liked the conch fritters and the lime pie. The view from the restaurant is terrific (beachfront).

The location of the resort was great. It had a wide beach area and it was a bit quieter than other parts of the beach (for example, it was quite busy/hectic at the Beaches resort). Also, the Alexandra is within walking distance to other resorts and good snorkeling (about a 20 min walk to the reef at Coral Gardens).

The grounds of the resort are relaxing, clean, and nicely landscaped. The pool was clean, mostly quiet, and shallow for a peaceful wade, swim, or sunbathing. There even appeared to be a very shallow "baby pool" on a small island in the pool where parents can keep close watch on their infants (I didn't see any infants when I was there, though). There is also a swim-up bar.

Other than Mango Reef, you can walk to a few other nearby restaurants. "Somewhere Cafe & Lounge" was a nice place right on the beach, about a 20 min walk from the hotel. About a 6 minute walk inland from the hotel is "Smokey's" which serves "authentic" Turks and Caicos cuisine (the location in a seedy-appearing motel slightly detracts from the appeal, though). The Cactus Bar & Grill is also not too far off (about a 15 min walk inland) and was recommended by the hotel, but I didn't get a chance to eat there.

Be sure to book a trip with Caicos Dream Tour (desk located at the hotel). They were professional and have a number of great tours available.

Would I stay here again? Yes. I very much liked this resort. What would make it a 5 star resort? Slightly more enthusiastic and "warm" front desk staff; having complimentary bottled water in the room; having a water cooler on the beach/pool area/lobby; more attentive service to replace towels on the beach and pool; more attention to replacing toiletries in the room.

Room Tip: Although the "ocean front" rooms do have fantastic views, the "ocean view" rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
happy to give you a left-hand driving lesson! We look forward to your next visit.
Thank you for posting such an in-depth revoew about your recent visit to The Alexandra. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with our hotel and that you had such wonderful experiences with the local excursions. I am sure your recommendations will come in very helpful to future visitors to the Turks & Caicos, again, thank you for sharing! Your suggestions for the resort were also excellent, and we will definitely bring these up at this week’s staff meeting. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.1 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
2,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
411 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
1,533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
1.9 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#22 of 45 in Providenciales
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Property: Alexandra Resort
Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#13 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, and amazing oceanfront dining. Guest can also take our complimentary dining shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their restaurants facilities. The Alexandra provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including complimentary non motorized water sports, tennis courts, free use of pedal bikes, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing