We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to give it four stars but...”
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wanted to give it four stars but...”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I was really prepared to give this hotel four stars but by the end of our long weekend stay there were just too many problems. First of all, as stated in so many other reviews, if you want to have an Ocean view you really need to ask for Ocean Front. Otherwise you are placed in a building that is almost perpendicular to the water so that you can only see the water from your balcony at an angle. That said, we really didn't care. The view was pretty enough and although the hotel had plenty of rooms we didn't feel like changing. The room was very lovely, clean and well appointed, with a kitchen and washer/dryer which is great for long stays, and even for a short one like ours. I like having my own breakfast on my terrace.
The beach is gorgeous, and the pool is large and clean. The hotel is a bit smaller than the usual huge resort which was pleasant. However, some amenities were missing or misrepresented. For example, there was no snorkeling equipment, and only two single person kayaks despite the fact that they advertise water activities available. One has to go to another hotel for those things, which isn't a problem but misleading. The same with internet. They claim that it is available all over the property but it actually isn't. Some buildings have none and some rooms have dead spots.
None of these things would have mattered by themselves but the little things kept adding up. Then on the second night, we found that the a/c , although it continued to run, stopped cooling at night. It did, however, come on again during the day. When we spoke to the desk the next day they said they were having some electrical problems. The next night we had a total loss of electricity from about 8pm until the middle of the night...no a/c, no fan. When the power was restored we still had no cooling from the a/c. So, this might have just been bad luck but it made it hard to give more the 3 stars.

Room Tip: If you want ocean view you must ask for Ocean Front. What they call Ocean View is not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeBee386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraResort, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for your visit and your feedback from your stay at The Alexandra Resort. We take all comments seriously, so we wanted to respond to a few points in your review. We are sorry to hear that the water sport equipment was not available. We do offer snorkeling equipment, kayaks, paddle boats and other items, but they must have been signed out by other guests. We do our best to have equipment available for all that want it (we have 30 sets of snorkel gear), but this is our busiest season. The area did in fact lose power during your stay due to a serious problem with the cabling system. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that this issue caused. We do very much hope you will return to see us again and have a true Alexandra experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    561
    114
    41
    33
See reviews for
415
908
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Pack your bags and escape to the Alexandra Resort on the Turks and Caicos Island. Everyone speaks English, the staff is friendly, the pool is delightful, fun snorkeling nearby, and an incredible beach. Did I mention that the beach is gorgeous? Powdery white sand and a blue Caribbean Sea that you can watch for days and never grow bored. The restaurant is on Graced Bay with great views of the sunset. The hotel is clean and feels new. If mellowing out is your goal, the Alexandra Resort is your destination.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IndieGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed at the Alexandra for 3 nights in early February 2012. Both of us are experienced travelers and have stayed at some of the more "luxury" resorts across the Caribbean.

We booked the Alexandra given past reviews and the perceived value relative to other resorts along Grace Bay. The Alexandra certainly exceeded our expectations. The location of the property is supurb, and is on one of the better stretches of beach and walkable to other beach-side resorts. The beach and ocean, by the way, are phenominal - certainly the best Caribbean beach we have been to.

The Alexandra staff were all very nice and helpful, check in/check out were a breeze, and the room was great. We did not have an "oceanfront" room (rather 'Oceanview'), but we spent the majority of our time by the beach, so it was not an issue for us. Despite the fact we arrived well before check-in time, our room was ready within an hour. The rooms themselves all have microwaves/toasters/silverware, which is nice. We went to the grocery story (Alexandra operates a shuttle daily) which is recommended; although prices are high, its nice having your own food for breakfast, etc. Some of the past reviews have critisized the rooms - we have zero complaints. I believe the rooms were cleaned everyday (hard to tell since i am not at all messy and we were never in the room), but at the least we had fresh towels & trash removal daily, and the room was never anything but clean.

We only ate at Mango Reef once for lunch. The food was good (not bad, not great - however we ordered a pizza), although others we met on the island praised their dinner. The bar is alongside the beach and was convenient - although there is not "poolside service" that you may expect from luxury hotels, someone came around a few times per day offering drinks and food.

Although the Alexandra may not the pizzaz or "sleekness" of some of the newer/more high-end resorts along Grace Bay (which can be more than 2x the cost and carry mixed reviews), it was perfect for what we wanted (and this is coming from someone that typically prefers luxury hotels). It was clean, convenient, and had an exceptional staff. Reviews can be summarized with the question "Will you return? and the answer from us is an overwhelming "yes."

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
199 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Let me start by saying this is a nice resort. It is very clean, and well maintained.
One thing they could improve on is their concierge services. Do not rely on them for your reservations, they always have excuses, like something is wrong with the phone lines, the restaurant does not open until later (they don't follow up, even after you remind them). We went on our own to certain restaurants they could not reach and were seated right away.
The best part of the stay is the staff at the Mango Reef! This restaurant has great people working for them(Alexis, Mae, Rodelio, and Nadia, the rest are great too!!) the food was very good for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ate most of our meals here as the view was wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank italian4560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I dont know who is writing these reviews, oh, obviously guests,who have not paid for the luxury oceanfront studio. What a joke. Arrived Tuesday, that night the band may have just as well played on our balcony. Second floor, music was good, but the acoustics, overwhelming. The music stopped at 10 pm but after an all day travel, not appreciated. Complained that night , told the resort was full, told this with a straight face! The resort was at most 30% full. The building we were in had lights on in the studio above and below us. No other lights in any of the units. We were offered a studio at opposite end of building, nice if you don't mind spending really big bucks on ocean front and end up with dune front. We were shown two more units, one was in an older building and had a real crummy bathroom, with the bedroom at the back of the unit facing an outdoor corridor, the bedroom was like a tomb. The next unit was better, but the view? You would need a telescope to see this "ocean view". We were totally over this place when we found out you get daily towels but no cleaning, although they did make the bed, with lots of sand in it too. No cleaning whatsoever, but they empty trash a couple of times a week we were told. We were paying guests, not owners. Management needs revamp their advertising policy, this is deceptive.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank golflegend50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraResort, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent visit to the Alexandra Resort. We are very concerned that you did not have a pleasant vacation since most of our guests do, as evident from the mostly positive reviews we receive on Tripadvisor.

We do wish to clarify a few of the claims that have been made regarding your stay. I did receive a complaint from you regarding the music that was playing at the beachfront Mango Reef Restaurant. I immediately offered to move you to either a one bedroom unit in our oceanfront building, The Chelsea, or a third floor unit in our Marilyn building, which offers ocean views and is also located a bit further back from the restaurant. I did inform you that the music would end by 10:00pm at the latest, and that the musicians only perform on Tuesday and Friday evenings. By the time the new room options were toured, it was close to 11:00pm, so it was difficult to see how good the views were from the two units that you were shown. I did follow up the next day with you and I was informed that "everything was fine." Accordingly, it is difficult to see a review like this published when options were immediately presented to resolve the problem, and I was told everything was fine the next day.

Finally, all of our guests receive twice daily cleaning. Only our timeshare owners receive a different cleaning schedule.

We do hope you will visit the Alexandra resort again in the future and we thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We spent 5 nights in an oceanfront studio in the Lady Rose building. You can't get any closer to the beach! The kingsize bed was very comfortable and the decor, tasteful, and everything was spotless. The kitchenette was well-equipped with fridge, full-size microwave, blender and toaster. We had our breakfast on the balcony. The staff - Joe, Emily and Tania were all very pleasant and helpful. Monday evenings there is a manager's welcome by the pool with rum punch and appetizers and at Mango Reef (the resort's restaurant), there is live music (great duo, Nadine and Daniel) and dancing on Tuesday and Friday nights. The Beach bar is great too. The Alexandra is located on the nicest part of Grace Bay and within walking distance (on the sand!) to good restaurants: Bay Bistro (good for lunch and dinner), Hemingway's (breakfast/lunch) and Somewhere Cafe at Coral Gardens. We liked the relaxed, friendly, and casual feel of the Alexandra and plan to return next year!

Room Tip: Stay in an oceanfront studio or oceanfront one-bedroom in the Lady Rose building. There's a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeachRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We spent 10 days at the Alexandra. We had a beachfront, delux studio with kitchenette. The room was spacious for being a studio. However, it lacked a usable table and chairs for 2 in the room. There was a larger "table" on the patio that did have 2 chairs. The room was recently updated and fresh with bathroom amenities, microwave, small stove top, refrigerator, and usable pots, pans, plates, etc. The room service was daily and not intrusive.

The beach area of the Alexandra had enough umbrellas and lounge chairs for those that wanted to spend time on the beach. Incredible soft sand and rockless and seaweedless (most of the time) beckoned the most timid to the most advances waterphile. A staff member assigned to the beach area set up umbrellas, lounges and tables for the guests should those already situated not be in a location that one preferred. In addition, at least 2-3 times a day another member (probably from the bar, or restaurant) made the trek around the beach/pool areas taking drink, or food orders to be brought to those requesting the service.

The pool area (where one was able to get the daily clean towels for pool or beach) while rather small was well maintained, had lounge chairs, umbrellas, meandering water passages under 2 small walkways and a small swim up bar adjacent to the restaurant.

Concierge services was provided by a well manned, well informed staff. Checking-in was efficient, welcoming (with fruit punch/rum punch) and easy. For those not wanting to rent cars, a constant supply of taxis was available for grocery store runs daily and drives to area restaurants...though walking was certainly doable to most Grace Bay stores, shops (though not too many) and restaurants night, or day.

Location, location, location...mantra is certainly appropriate for this resort whether walking on the beach, or on the mostly sidewalk areas of Grace Bay. The Alexandra is far enough from the airport to avoid the noise and traffic; close enough to avoid traffic issues and costly fares ($22 for 2 to the Alexandra one way).

The on property restaurant is Mangos rated in the top restaurants of the area. The food was fresh, served in a timely fashion by attentive waitstaff and with the M-Thu special menu for dinner was a very good deal considering the costs associated with an all importing island. The restaurant boasted its live music entertainment at the outdoor deck area of the restaurant several nights each week with varied talented musicians. The noise level was acceptable for the most part since, afterall, people were there to relax, regenerate, and enjoy their vacations. Generally, the complex was back to the sound of sea and wind by 11 PM.

Our only complaint (if one could call it that) was the lack of sound barriers between the rooms by the door areas of adjoining rooms. However, perhaps a simple addition of sound acoustical panels on the inside of those doors (facing each other) probably would solve the problem.

We definitely would return to the Alexandra (we are not owners, associated with it, or any of the people there as some have suggested in previous posts) because... quite frankly it was worth our time and money and exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank boocarolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.1 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
2,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
410 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
1,531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
1.9 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#22 of 45 in Providenciales
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Property: Alexandra Resort
Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#13 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, and amazing oceanfront dining. Guest can also take our complimentary dining shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their restaurants facilities. The Alexandra provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including complimentary non motorized water sports, tennis courts, free use of pedal bikes, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing