We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A perfect beach vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect beach vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Just returned from 10 days (5/16-5/26) at The Alexandra---the hotel exceeded our expectations. We chose it largely based on tripadvisor reviews but were unsure about the "condotel" idea and how it would compare to a full resort. We were delighted by what we found. We stayed in an ocean-view studio which was clean and had a large balcony with plentiful deck furniture. Our only slight disappointment about the room was a lack of stove--but that really was a minor complaint. We enjoyed the kitchenette--microwave/fridge--which allowed us to enjoy breakfasts/cocktail hours/snacks in the room. The service at The Alexandra was unfailingly hospitable. Mango Reef became our go-to restaurant for lunch and dinner with fresh seafood (ceviche, sashimi, all delicious), great variety and reasonable prices. Anderson and Emanuel stood out as incredibly warm and congenial staff, although everyone we encountered at The Alexandra was friendly. The absolute highlight of the place is the pristine beach. We've been to many islands (St. Barths, St. John, Anguilla, Aruba) and this beach was one of the nicest--with silky sand and clear turquoise ocean. The pool area at the hotel is very nice as well (swim up bar being a welcomed amenity) but the beach truly blew us away. In short, there are a myriad of gorgeous, luxury resorts on Grace Bay (notably the Regent Palms next door), but for those who are more budget-conscious, The Alexandra hit the spot.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymous77722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    466
    99
    32
    23
See reviews for
325
768
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Turks and Caicos for the first time to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We stayed at the Alexandra Resort and Spa located on Grace Bay Beach (Mon, May 23-Sat, May 28, 2011). We were greeted by a friendly staff and immediately made to feel welcome. We arrived several hours before check in and were encouraged to have a leisurely lunch with the promise that our room would be ready shortly. In the conversation we revealed the purpose for our trip and when we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of wine, a card, and flowers all over the bedroom of our villa. It really set the tone for our week.
We stayed in a one bedroom 1½ bath villa with a fully equipped kitchen. It was spacious, well-maintained, modestly decorated – perfect for the two of us. Housekeeping came in once a day to clean. Someone knocked on the door every evening to check to see if we needed towels.
We had lots of questions and needed lots of suggestions about where to go and what to do as this was our first time on the island, the staff and the concierge were very accomodating.
The property is well maintained; we are early risers and every morning we would enjoy breakfast on our 4th floor balcony and watch the maintenance staff hard at work manicuring the grounds and cleaning the pool.
Most nights we dined at the Mango Reef. This was unintentional but the restaurant has such an extensive menu and everything we tried was absolutely delicious. Their rum punch and pina coladas were the best I have every tasted. On two nights they had live music a male and female – both were pleasant and sang a variety of soft rock songs. It was a nice touch which made for a relaxing and romantic evening. Reservations are a must if you want a choice seat on the deck, overlooking the water. I thought it would have been nice to have one night of dancing to a live band as well.
The Alexandra is centrally located on Grace Bay Beach, in one of the best spots on the beach and is within walking distance to many of the local beachfront restaurants and resorts.
We unwittingly chose a very quiet week to vacation so there were a few toddler aged children and parents along with the many couples, but never much of a crowd anywhere, with the exception of the restaurant as we got closer to the weekend. There is no real nightlife after 10:00 pm (when the restaurant closes). Partying half the night was not our motivation this go round, we wanted to engage in a few watersports (which were booked for us by the concierge) and then kick back and relax other times. The Alexandra was the perfect place to do this.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ariesdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
224 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We have been coming here for close to 15 yrs so we know this island very well and we usualy stay at 2 hotels while here, just to know even more about various places. This happens to be a wonderful place, its not as upscale at The Regent Palm but the staff is excellent and goes the extra mile, the rooms are very clean . They change your towels twice a day and every person here is very accomodating. We liked staying in The Chelsea building which is beachfront and has a large studio. I can honestly say we had no complaints. The pool is lovely too.

Room Tip: splurge and get a beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELSUSHI921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We booked unit 3210 through Victoria Leadley Williams of Island Beach Rentals by way of VRBO, link to unit is here: http://www.vrbo.com/139243. Our communication was easy with the exception of my last email going unanswered. Ironically, I was inquiring about the presence if an in-room safe. I printed all of our correspondence and contract and brought it with us. We programmed the safe with no problems our first day and placed cash, credit cards, passports, etc inside. On our second afternoon it displayed an error code and would not open. After notifying the front desk we were told it would take maintenance some time and that they were making an exception doing the repair due to the fact that we were renters as opposed to guests who pay the resort directly. After two visits from maintenance we were told they couldn't open it without the master password from the owners who were unreachable. I emailed an urgent message to Victoria and finally called her from my cell phone to notify her of the problem. She said I should speak with Claudius, the unit's maintenance manager and asked me to reference my paperwork for his contact information where it was nowhere to be found.

After finally locating Claudius’ number and speaking we were informed that the unit recently changed ownership and the new owner did not have the master code and could not retrieve it from the previous owner as he was out of the country. Our only option was to have the safe drilled the next day. So, we cancelled our dinner reservations since we couldn't access our money. Then we contacted the fishing charter we had arranged for the morning to ensure we could pay him after we could access the safe. John Airey, the unit’s current owner then called and proceeded to ridicule us and suggest that we must have forgotten the code. We had in fact been told that the situation was unavoidable due to a malfunctioning battery. I told him that Claudius assured us the safe would be opened in the morning at no expense to us. He said either we would pay to open the safe or have wait until the master code was retrieved from the previous owners which could take several days. He was extremely rude and condescending with me and my husband.

Short of 24 hours later our safe was drilled open. I could never recommend unit 3210 to potential visitors. I'd be wary to book a condo through anyone but the resort due to the Alexandra's initial helplessness. We were overall happy with the Alexandra but are still stung from this unprofessional and insulting confrontation from owner John Airey. We spent one full day of waiting and fretting with no follow up or apology to date from the owner or Victoria Williams. Only Claudius and the Alexandra's maintenance staff were remotely helpful in this stressful situation.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank hhd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraResort, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
We sincerely regret the negative experience you encountered during your stay at The Alexandra Resort. As you correctly explained, the unit was rented from one of our condo owners, and not the resort's management company. We are happy to learn that you otherwise enjoyed your visit to The Alexandra and hope that we may be able to directly a unit to you on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

My husband and I just returned from 8 wonderful days at the Alexandra Resort in Turks and Caicos. It is a great place to stay, with friendly and helpful staff, on a beautiful beach. The resort was clean and attractive. We ate most of our lunches and/or dinners at Mango Reef, the restaurant right on site on the beach and enjoyed everything we ordered. The shuttle to the grocery store was very helpful and worth the cost ($18 for both of us) to buy basic things for our stay. We will definitely return to this resort in the future. The resort was quiet and relaxing, with plenty of chairs and umbrellas, both on the beach and at the pool. We do not have young children and never travel during vacation periods (February through April) and I think that makes all the difference.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darle97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Get a room with at least ocean view. Onsite restuarant is great...for sunsets and food. There is a disco less than a mile away that stays open until 5 a.m. with island music and you will not be able to sleep on nights they are playing!! Otherwise, this is a great place to stay. You will need a car to do things unless you love to walk a lot!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madison l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We just returned from a 7 night stay at the Alexandra. I was a little nervous after reading some recent reviews, but overall, the Alexandra exceeded our expectations.

We stayed in a luxury oceanfront one bedroom room. We primarily chose the Alexandra due to price, and because the oceanfront rooms seemed closer to the water than some of the other hotels, with a completely unobstructed view. We did not want to be far back from the beach or have to look over gardens or pools to see the beach and water. Our room was on the 3rd floor. We could hear the ocean from our room.

Room:
The room was spacious, modern, clean, and felt quite new. The stainless steel appliances and granite counters were very nice. The other furniture was attractive, but the couch was uncomfortable. The decorating was nice, but minimalist, which is how I like it. The deck overlooking the beach was amazing. It was spacious with a table with 4 chairs and one lounger. The bed was very comfortable. There was not enough drawer space in the bedroom. We never heard our neighbors.

In Room:
Nice Corelle dishes, bowls, cups. Plenty of tumblers, shot glasses, juice glasses, some wine glasses. Flatware. Baskets, bowls, beverage pitcher, ice cube trays, cooking utensils, measuring cups, can opener, corkscrew, blender, coffee maker, toaster. All of these were in good condition. Salt and pepper, coffee filters, paper towels. Shampoo, shower gel, conditioner, tiny soap. We had to ask for dish washing soap. There was dishwasher detergent, we had to ask for more of that. Plenty of nice towels, although we had to ask for them to replace dish towels.

Housekeeping:
Overall good. We kept running out of the tiny soaps that they leave you, and it was not automatically replaced. We had to leave a note. Same for a few other items. Some days the bed was more made than others. Sometimes the throw pillows were left on the floor, sometimes they were replaced on the bed. One day the comforter was left balled up on the couch, and the sheets were just pulled up. None of this bothered us very much.

Staff:
Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. I would even call some of the staff members “warm”. Every time we ran into a staff member on the grounds, they said hello and we made small talk. Check in was easy and friendly. We got rum punch, cool towels, a brief description of the grounds, and were brought up to our room for a quick tour. Check out was easy also. We did not use the concierge service. We met the manager, and she was lovely and so classy. She was around from first thing in the morning, until late at night. I must have thanked her a million times for our lovely stay. The sales person, Joe, was very friendly. We only visited the Mango Reef bar once, but the bartender working that day, Jim, was incredibly nice and he made the best pina colada I’ve ever had. The other staff at Mango reef were reasonably friendly.

Beach:
What can I say here? Grace Bay beach is everything I imagined and more. We really felt that the stretch where the Alexandra is is one of the best. It was wide, clean, and the water had a pretty gentle slope getting in. The sand is like powder, but amazingly, it didn’t seem to blow around, and we had some extremely windy days. I felt like the guests at the Alexandra were really “beach people”. When we walked to other areas, it seemed as if there were less people enjoying the beach, to the point that some beaches in front of enormous hotels looked a little desolate. But the Alex beach wasn’t crowded and like a zoo as Beaches seemed to be. It was just right. The chair reserving thing was happening, mostly at the beginning of our week. We’d look out at 8am and there would be towels over chairs but then no people on them for hours and hours. We only had to “compete” one day for a spot. The loungers are comfortable, and the umbrellas are pretty big, although several have rips in them and need to be replaced. But we just tipped the beach staff and got an umbrella without a hole. Only once on one day out of the whole week did we see any drink service on the beach. As noted previously, there are no watersports here, but there were noodles and a few floats for use.

Grounds/Pool:
The grounds are immaculately groomed, and there are always people working on them. The flowers and palm trees are lovely. I have no use for a pool when I am at the beach, so we didn’t visit it at all, but it looked OK. Perhaps not as clear as some of the other pools we saw at other hotels. The chairs around the pool looked nice.

Business center:
The business center is one tiny room. You can print things if you need to. I had been told that there were two computers, but there was only one. Amazingly, this did not cause any problems with so many guests, probably because everyone just wanted to check email for 5 seconds and get back to the beach! It served our purpose.

Restaurant:
We had one drink at Mango Reef bar, which was reasonably priced and delicious and served with a smile. We had one dinner here, and it was excellent. The spicy cracked conch might have been the best we had on the island, and we tried a lot of it! The fish was very fresh. In fact, we saw the fishermen bring in their catch from a tiny skiff that pulled up on the beach. I actually went over and talked to them and learned that it was grouper and told them I’d be very excited to see that on my plate that night! The fish looked fresh and gorgeous when they were bringing it in. The live music was very pleasant, and it was a nice touch that we could hear it up on our balcony, too.

Location:
I’d say the location is good, but we had a car so everything was easy to get to for us. You certainly can’t walk to the supermarket or the area with all of the shops. You can walk to Coral Gardens easily if you are interested in snorkeling. I know that everyone says you can just walk the beach at night, but we watched from our balcony and there weren’t many people doing it after dark. The Alexandra has spotlights so it’s the brightest part of the beach, but it gets pretty dark as you move away from it.

Overall:
We really loved the Alexandra. It was just quiet enough, peaceful, not over run with kids, well kept, on a perfect stretch of Grace Bay, and friendly. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CookingGirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.1 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#6 of 43 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 stars 2,062 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaches Turks and Caicos Resort Villages and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#13 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sands at Grace Bay
Sands at Grace Bay
#21 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 1,632 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Property: Alexandra Resort
Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, and amazing oceanfront dining. Guest can also take our complimentary dining shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their restaurants facilities. The Alexandra provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including complimentary non motorized water sports, tennis courts, free use of pedal bikes, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, West Indies, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing