We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, Comfortable and Convenient”
Review of Inn at Grace Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Grace Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Trade Winds in room #131 (3rd floor, ocean view). It was a very quiet stay; I couldn't believe it when we were told the hotel was fully booked. Our stay was very serene and relaxing.

Condo Interior: AC was great and very quick to cool things down, bed was comfy, kitchen had enough of what we needed to cook on a daily basis, TV w/ cable in bedroom and living room, balcony with table/chairs and ocean view, even a few niceties like candles, books and dish soap. We brought our own frozen and dry food, actually enough to last for the week and it really saved us a lot of money as we only went out a few times. For frozen we brought steaks, bacon, pork roast, hamburger, dogs, veggies, loaf of bread and kept it frozen with frozen water bottles. We also brought cheese, instant tators, rice mixes, ice-tea, lemonade, coffee, granola bars, pancake mix, EVOO, mayo,mustard, chocolate and some spices. Saving so much on food we were able to dive more, which was our priority! We also enjoy cooking together so everything worked out perfectly.

Condo Exterior: The ground keeping was simple, but tasteful. There was a lot of fauna that is indigenous to the area. The pool was almost always empty and refreshing. There were umbrellas and chairs all around. There was a hose/shower by the pool for rinsing after the beach. There was a grill near the pool area and it was great to cook and eat outside at the picnic table. The beach was a very short walk (a few minutes) and Trade Winds had chairs there (bring the umbrella provided in the room for more shade). No elevator, but this didn’t really bother us.

Condo Staff: I can't say enough great things about Michael. He was a wonderful host and was able to provide us with not only a few items that we needed, but with some great advice and conversation. He was great for all of my pre-travel questions and very responsive. Thanks Mike!

Getting Around: It was great not renting a car, Caicos Adventures (CA) picked us up every morning that we were diving and then dropped us off in the afternoon, Matt from CA even dropped us at the super market and picked us up after his last drop-off, more than once. The Islanders make extra money providing informal car services. When we needed transportation, we just went outside and didn't need to wait long for someone to toot their horn, probably not the best idea for families, but it worked great for us. We just made sure to only get in cars with one driver and felt pretty safe between the two of us. Just agree to a price and off you go! It was also nice to take a break from driving and not need to navigate driving on the other side of the road. We only needed to use the informal taxis once for the airport and another day when we wanted to go to Coral Gardens to snorkel.

Diving: We went diving with Caicos Adventures (CA). After reading a lot of reviews, they seemed to be the best (even if they were a bit pricier). I believe Trade Winds has a deal with Dive Provo, which also got good reviews. CA would pick us up each morning in a bus and take us to the dock. The staff signs you in and assigns you a cup for the day. It was a nice, eco touch. They set up your gear, if you like, and then you just relax on the boat until you get to the first site. Between dives, sandwiches are provided for lunch (there is even packets of mustard/mayo). The boat was very comfortable, even when a bit crowded. It was great leaving the gear on the boat overnight and having it rinsed, dried and set up for the next day. No need to lug it back and forth every day. You could dive with your divemaster or buddy dive, whichever your preference. We mainly went to W. Caicos, but never to the same site. On every dive we saw at least one grey reef shark (4-7 feet), most dives we saw turtles, we also saw scorpion fish, tons of lion fish (pretty, but sad since they are so invasive) and we even saw a pod of dolphins when we were topside...they raced the boat.

Other Activities: The snorkeling is really limited. We did see a few sting rays in front of the hotel, but in front of Coral Gardens hotel was the only real spot for snorkeling. There is another reef a bit further, but we stuck with Coral Gardens. We walked back from Coral Gardens along the beach and stopped in a restaurant for a snack/drink before arriving back at Trade Winds. The condo is in walking distance to shops, restaurants and a super market with a good selection (as expected everything is at least double, if not triple the US price). We went on a pirate cruise with Captain Bill as well. It was very scripted, but nice to take a break from diving and have a few drinks (about $100pp and only offered on Wednesdays). There was unlimited beer, rum punch, lemonade, 151 and sodas/water. We were able to see some pirate carvings, pirate cove, snorkel at a few stops and have a nice lunch with bbq chicken and hotdogs (tube steaks).

All in all, a very relaxing vacation! Please email with any questions :)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alphillyswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 136 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2010

reserved last minute in Grace Bay Turks and Caicos, unit 233. Owner Michael is a living doll and very courteous. Met only 1 of his staff and they were very nice as well. This is not beach front but a 3 minute walk puts you on an amazing stretch of beach then head to the right. Best of the beach is towards that way. Very quaint ,clean, and well kept property which I am pretty particular about. Walking distance to grocery store which was helpful. Groceries are very expensive and limited but I found my Starbucks vanilla frapp and so I was happy. Was able to cook some meals with their equipped kitchens which was nice option. The pool area is nice, we didn't use it because of the close proximity to the gorgeous beach. There are chairs belonging to hotel on beach but they are cheap plastic loungers. Grace Bay is amazing and the place to stay on TCI. This is an island that I am glad to have seen but would not go back. This is not a place for nightlife, shopping, etc. It is a place to plant yourself down on a beach and not move for the week. They are experiencing a loss of government, their treasurer alledgedly stole all the islands money, stories of corrupt police were in their local paper, and there are empty buildings and storefronts everywhere. The prices that they are asking for properties out there really astounds me. Not many choices for adventure but we did take the ferry ($30.00pp) over to North Caicos and rented a car to drive to Middle Caicos. The cars are junk and about $70.00. Try to negotiate because they tend to break down and again they are junky. To see the bay on Middle Caicos was worth the drive alone. This is not an all day excursion and definitely eat and bring beverages and snacks prior. Also, I got about 30 bugbites on my legs etc and so did alot of other people vacationing. Gas was $5.20 a gallon. On Grace Bay loved the restaurant Lemon and the newly opened wine bar. Hemingways was ok. Wine and beer is expensive but the hard liquor is cheap. We used taxis to the airport and back.. The driver will look you over and then decide what to charge you so ask up front always. The prices kept changing. A car rental really isn't necessary and again Trade Winds is in a really great location so driving was minimal. This isn't a place to hook up with alot of people socializing, dancing, music playing, etc. so you better like your travel companion. It is a place to lie around, catch up on your sleep, and swim in the most beautifully colored water I have ever laid eyes on. I am extremely confident in recommending this hotel for an enjoyable stay on Grace Bay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank czfam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2006

My husband and I recently spent our second vacation on beautiful Provo at the Tradewinds Condotel in the Grace Bay area. The one-bedroom condo was spacious, well-equipped and very clean. The grounds are well-maintained and private. Although not located directly on the beach, it is only a couple of minutes walk away. The Tradewinds is centrally located near the Salt Mills Plaza and Ports of Call shopping area, and is close to several excellent restaurants. Mike Bailey and his staff were conscientious and very helpful. I would highly recommend Tradewinds for anyone looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday away from the hustle and bustle of the big resorts.

8  Thank turkslover225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Charlotte, NC
110
Reviewed November 24, 2005

We would highly recommend this hotel – extremely good value for this type of accommodation. The one bedroom apartment was very spacious for the two of us and it was great having our own kitchen and washing machine. The apartment was very clean and nicely decorated. We had everything we needed and everyone was so friendly and helpful. We felt at home from the moment we arrived. Although it is not right on the beach, it was so close that it took only a couple of minutes to walk there. We will definitely stay at Trade Winds again next year as we had such a lovely time.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boise, Idaho
110
Reviewed November 20, 2005

Stayed there while on business in Provo - excellent service, clean, quiet and peaceful! Sure better than the big resort yelling, screaming and "white noise" all day / night... If you want to really relax, Trade Winds is for you. Thumbs up all the way, will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ирина М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: gli appartamenti sono praticamente tutti uguali, sicuramente quelli ai piani alti sono più luminosi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dudanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.3 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,069 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
750 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Inn
Caribbean Paradise Inn
#27 of 44 in Providenciales
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Grace Bay Suites
Grace Bay Suites
#38 of 44 in Providenciales
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
1,903 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Grace Bay

Address: 382 Grace Bay Road, BWI, Providenciales (Formerly Trade Winds Condotel)
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Providenciales
Price Range: $225 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Grace Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Grace Bay is situated in prestigious Grace Bay, Providenciales (or Provo), on a spectacular twelve mile white sand beach. Featuring 12 freshly renovated, self-catering condominiums,The Inn at Grace Bay offers an affordable Caribbean holiday with plenty of relaxation and personalized service. Get the luxury you deserve at a price you can afford and book your next Caribbean vacation at The Inn at Grace Bay - Turks and Caicos best kept secret! Please note that the management photos are the most up to date photos - there are photos on the TA page which pre date renovations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trade Winds Condotel Hotel Providenciales
Inn At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing