We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calming Oasis”
Review of Ocean Club West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Club West
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We just returned from a quick 4 day trip, and loved this time of year in Providenciales.... No one else is there in September! It feels so cozy and private, we practically had OCW all to ourselves. We were very pleased with the attentive staff on the property and their attention to keeping the property clean and beautiful. I love the Seaside cafe, and the casual atmosphere to relax, dine and enjoy refreshment so close to the beach. One of my favorite perks about OCW is its close proximity to several great places to eat, or rent scooters, etc. Walking is so enjoyable around this area, and with some other properties, you are close to nothing.
We will go again and again to OCW. The price is right, it's not over-pretentious, but comfortable. My favorite part of their Building design is the very large screened-in verandas!! Perfect for private relaxation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 889 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

No complaints.....I had a wonderfully relaxing time. I traveled alone, and OCW was a great choice for me. I will plan differently next time as my lay over in Miami was much too long therefore I lost a full day. Everything was perfect and the surroundings were fabulous. Couldn't have asked for more! I will stay at OCW again and again.....and can't wait to go back....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed with my adult son for our annual scuba trip. We both agreed the condo was great & diving with Provo Turtle dive may have been the best diving we have experienced. Grocery shopping was very expensive, about double costs in Ohio. Be sure to stop at duty free shop before you arrive.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judgepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We just got back from 5 days at OCW and were delighted with the resort. It's set on a gorgeous stretch of beach, has a lovely, winding pool, has spacious rooms, and is very clean and well kept. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Our AC broke during our second night at the resort and the maintenance crew fixed it promptly the next morning. The rooms were immaculate, with lots of towels, etc.

Remember: this is not a traditional hotel, so there aren't the usual amenities like room service, concierge, kids' programs, fancy lounges, etc. It also has no elevators. These are individual condos (with individual decorating choices.) The reception area is pretty modest and our room was a little kitchy --- but then I'm happy to put up with amateurish design choices rather than pay more for a high end hotel decorating team.

There's a little beach side restaurant, which is great for breakfast or lunch. The resort is also near a gourmet grocery store, so you can shop for meals that you'd rather make yourself. It's also next to two other, fancier resorts that have more significant restaurants if you're up for less casual dining.

Overall, this is a high value choice if what you want is a quiet, relaxing place, with a perfect beach, nice pool, and no competition for beach chairs, etc.

Room Tip: Only a few of these rooms actually have ocean views. Most overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R0adW0rrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The resort is very nice. The pool was maintained daily. The Seaside cafe is convenient, and you can't beat the view from the restaurant of the beach. Our room was cleaned daily. We enjoyed both the air conditioning and the louvered windows. One thing that separated OCW from other places we had stayed in the Caribbean was that the windows all had screens. The porch was also screened. Very little on the mosquitoes because of this. Staff was friendly and helpful. We also made full use of the kitchen. All around, it was fantastic. I even did a video about it: http://youtu.be/Owfl3qijpfQ

Room Tip: See if you can get a beach view instead of a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheScottman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at the Ocean Club West based on a friend's recommendation and he certainly did not disappoint!

From the minute we checked in, the staff was wonderful and that did not stop from the front desk to the wait staff to the pool people to virtually everyone at the resort! Everyone was nice, helpful and really a pleasure to deal with.

We booked this resort and were there within a week so while we did not have time to compare it to others prior to getting there, after we arrived we did drive around quite a bit (in a rented dune buggy which was a blast!) and we were quite happy with our choice. It is not the flashy, drive up and say "ahhh" resort but it was very clean and perfect for our needs. We had an ocean facing 2nd floor suite (try to stay 2nd or 3rd floors for best views) and maybe it's because this is the low season but it was quiet and relaxed.

You can't say enough about the beach - it was, other than possibly St. John, the best beach I have seen in my Caribbean island travels (covering 8 islands).

I will certainly go back to Turks and Caicos and without a doubt, this is where I will stay every time!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you get there - if they have it, they will provide it! Stay on one of the up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank doc3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We just returned from nine days at Ocean Club West (OCW). During our stay we found that OCW was by far nicer than OCE. So if you are trying to decide between the two, I suggest going with OCW. We took the complimentary shuttle to OCE for dinner twice and I was amazed at the nicer feel, grounds, and pool of OCW and felt we made the right choice. In fact, we often saw the shuttle dropping people off at our property from OCE to spend the day at our pool. The cafe on sight at both hotels was good, but I have to say the dinners at OCW were delicious, a bit more gourmet in nature, and it was a nice spot to sit and enjoy the sunset.

When staying at OCW, you are within walking distance to Caicos Cafe (very good for dinner), Coco Bistro (pricey but worth the dinner), the French Bakery (great for snacks or a light breakfast), the IGA Grocery Store, and even the Avis Rental center. My family and I even walked the 1-2 or so miles along the beach to Hemingway's Restaurant at the Sands Hotel one night. From that walk I realized that OCW really does have one of the nicest spots on Grace Bay Beach. Once you round "the point" on the beach south of Ocean Club West, the area between hotel and sea becomes smaller and beach chairs are more crowded together. Not the case at the beach near OCW, which is wide with plenty of room for people, chairs, walking, etc. Even though we were there during part of the July 4th holiday, there was never an issue finding a spot on the beach or at the pool. In fact, many times we had our "section" of the pool to ourselves. The pool has an island set in the middle of it with barbecue grills, a gazebo, and some chairs. So it really has an intimate feel when you are in a part of the pool where no one else is hanging out.

Since we rented our unit from VRBO I cannot say much about the hotel experience itself. There were several water outages while we were there. The first two times it was only for an hour and not much of a nuisance. The third time it began at 10 p.m. and carried through to 6 p.m. the next day. This was a nuisance because we couldn't flush the toilet or wash up. In fact, while we sat at the pool for an hour the day of the water outage, we witnessed more than 15 individual people come off the beach and rinse themselves or their feet off in the pool, since the beach side showers had no water. While this is not a direct fault of the hotel, I felt the hotel should have provided a water system down by the beach for rinsing. This caused the pool to become very cloudy and unappealing. The next day I saw several men working hard to rectify the gross pool situation, but it was dissapointing and I was glad to be leaving.

Overall though, OCW is a nice, quiet and friendly place to stay. I've read in other reviews where people claim the women who work at the resort are not friendly. This is the complete opposite of what we found. Offering someone a smile and a hello, we always received one in return. Many of the people who work on TCI aren't even from TCI. We found the majority of people orginated from the Domincan Republic, Haiti or Jamaica.

Dining is expensive overall, and so is grocery shopping, particularly since a 10% tax is added to everything consumable. But we alleviated some of that by bringing a carry on with snacks, cereal and other goodies we didn't want to have to buy on arrival. It was nice to have a simple breakfast or light lunch on our front porch each day and then splurge a bit for dinner.
We were pleased with our experience and would recommend OCW to friends and other people with small children. Our 3 year old daughter enjoyed the pool and beach very much. There were many families there with kids 12 and under and yet it never was loud or crowded.

We did rent a car for two days which allowed us some exploration. We found Sapodilla Bay which was absolutely beautiful and perfect for a toddler because of the shallow water. We also went to eat at the Turtle Cover Marina, which wasn't impressive. We could have had just as good, if not a better meal at the Seaside Cafe or another restaurant near OCW.

Bottom line, we will return and just hope for no water outages this time. It was worth the money and way better than staying at a "cattle call" type of all-inclusive place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MJsmomNYCMetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
2,033 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#26 of 44 in Providenciales
853 reviews
2.1 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club West

Address: 54 Bonaventure Crescent | Grace Bay Beach, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#11 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $312 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Club West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, West Indies, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Club West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club West Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel West
Ocean Club West Turks Caicos
Ocean Club West Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing