We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Vista Azul Resort
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Since you agree that it's not on the beach, there are a lot of stairs and there is no breakfast, the rest will be more than attractive.

Minutes walk to wonderful beach and really good restaurants at Turtle Cove. Quiet pool and fully equipped kitchen. A small convenience shop with bread/cookies, beer/liquers, snacks/juices, sunblocks/medicines...

Just two things you need to know: room service is slow, they're finishing making the room up somewhere at 1.30 pm. If you'll return to your room earlier you could find it with no towels/liniens, since they wash/dry all the stuff right in your room's washing mashine. Another "bug" - ambrellas that you could get at the reception will not work: ambrellas are old enough, and the winds are strong enough...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for La Vista Azul Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 239 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

We recently stayed for a week at La Vista Azul. Having done our homework before booking, we knew that the resort is not on the beach and that it does not have an on-site restaurant. These things were not an issue with us as they have been with other reviewers. We, however, left with mixed feelings about the resort.

This is definitely not a place for anyone who can not walk up and down stairs. It is built into a hillside and you have stairs to get to your room no matter what building you are in. If you're in bldgs 4 or 5, it's a toss-up as to whether you park on the street level, where the retail shops are, and walk up or park up top and walk down more stairs (which means more stairs going back to your car) . For Bldgs 1-3 , parking up top is best. After a switch from building 4 to 3 (water heater issue in original room), the bell boy drove with us to make sure we found the upper parking lot, which is reached from a different street than where the main entrance is.

We had the largest 1 BR, which was nice. It was and end unit and had and additional half bath, which the other 1 BR's don't. It also had a tub if that's important to you. Others just have showers. Unit was modern with granite counter tops and stainless appliances. However, we found some of the furnishings a little odd. The bed is lower than a standard bed, which could make it difficult for some to get in and out of. There was no dresser/chest in the bedroom, so the only place to put clothes was in the two small nightstands. The shelf in the double closet was taken up with beach towels and additional linens. There was plenty of hanging space in the closet but not a lot of hangers. In the combination LR/DR/kitchen there were overhead recessed lights in the kitchen, but nothing in the LR or DR. The only light for these areas was the light kit on the ceiling fan in the LR area. There were two circular end tables in the LR but no lamps (gotten broken perhaps?). No chandelier or similar over the dining table. Made for some difficult lighting, especially to read. Finally moved one of the lamps from the BR nightstands into the LR.

Most of the unit are privately owned (although there are a number that are still unsold or up for resale) so furnishings will vary, especially when it comes to kitchen items. It appears the units started out with a dinnerware service for 6, but things have either disappeared of gotten broken. Replacements have not been made, which I would guess is up to the owners if the unit is privately owned, which our unit is. We had a 2-slice toaster, electric kettle and coffee pot, but don't count on making blender drinks as there was no blender. There was no "starter pack" of kitchen items that you find in so many places now - no coffee, no paper towels or napkins, no salt & pepper, and no sponge/dish cloths, or liquid detergent for doing dishes in the sink. There was detergent for the d/w but this doesn't work well for doing dishes by hand, which we had to do due to the odd number or plates & silverware (we didn't want to run the d/w with only a few dishes in it ). You can buy the above items at the convenience store located at street level or the IGA. It would have also been helpful to have some plastic glasses for use at the pool and hot tub, since no glass is allowed in those areas.

The units have an in-unit washer/dryer which is nice but again, not even one starter pack of detergent. We also found out that housekeeping uses the w/d to do the linens for the unit. Some days the housekeeper came back and replaced the linens when they were finished being laundered, but other days we needed to retrieve them from the dryer ourselves. Just an FYI if you return to you room and it looks like you don't have any towels in your bathroom.

There are no phones in the rooms. Apparently they have cell phones the give you with an initial credit for calls, but this was never mentioned to us. We found we didn't need it. Also note that there are no clocks in the BR's either so if you have an early morning flight, you'd best bring some sort of alarm as there'll be no wake-up calls or alarm clocks to set.

The location of the resort was within a 5-minute walk to a half-dozen restaurants in Turtle Cove. Beach access was about 5-minutes walk away, 1 minute drive. There is parking available. About a 15-20 minute walk or 5-minute drive takes you to Bight Park, which has facilities (rest rooms, boat rentals, playground, soda vending machine, picnic tables, and a small garden area.). The resort has beach chairs, small umbrellas, and snorkeling gear available free of charge.

There's two small pools, one strictly for adults, although some people tried to ignore that since the adult pool was closer to their room. Generally it was pretty quiet at the pools.

For what we paid, the place was a bargain but we did feel it was missing some of the small details. Perhaps this is a reflection that a number of the units that remain unsold and that little of the retail space at the street level is rented (right now it seems to consist of a convenience store, beauty/nail salon, small bar, and a realtor or two). Maybe if things stabilize on those fronts, there will be more attention to detail. If you don't require beachfront and the full amenities of a resort or hotel, it's a place to consider. We weren't unhappy with our stay but thought there is definitely room for improvement in some areas. We still would consider returning here but it would depend on pricing and current reviews at the time we would be booking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BarbP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you are looking for a nice place to stay besides all the over priced resorts this is it. We like to fix our own meals in the mornings and maybe lunch. The room had a nice sized kitchen with all the appliances you could need.We wanted to have a place with some space and this was it. Nice big balcony with all the furniture for lounging. Good TV selection and the internet worked pretty well too.All in all a very pleasant expeirence. We would stay here again.The diving is why we came and the marina is just across the street . easily walking distance. Good places to eat within walking distance too. There is a shuttle that will pick you up if the dives are leaving out of the south side.Word of qadvice, no elevators,escalators. Park up top if you have a bunch of luggage or dive gear and carry it DOWN.

Room Tip: I tok the larger one bedroom and was glad I did, we stayed for almost two weeks and the extra space...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwrenlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We planned on a last minute trip Turks & Caicos this past October and were so happy to have found La Vista Azul! Brittany at the front desk was a tremendous help in making our trip a success! We greatly enjoyed the studio condo with full kitchen overlooking Turtle Cove and Grace Bay beaches, with a pool right outside our patio. We found the amenitiest to be very clean, comfortable and modern. Just the right amount luxury with practicality.

Turtle Cove Beach is a quick 5 minute walk away and is amazingly beautiful with perfect turquoise blue water and quiet surroundings. Most days we had it all to ourselves. The more famous Grace Bay Beach is about 1/2 hour walk along the beach.

We enjoyed nearby Greenbean Cafe for veggie burger wraps and smoothies. Sharkbite restaurant has nice views of the yacht club and sunsets. Both are in walking distance from La Vista Azul.

A very clean supermarket (IGA) and lots of other restaurants are all a quickand easy cab ride away. La Vist Azul also has its own bar, gym and convenience store on site.

We enjoyed a fabulous dinner at Lemon Cafe celebrate our anniversary. Chef John was wonderful and made our night extra special!

Overall, La Vista Azul is a great choice for a very reasonably priced vacation in a gorgeous setting. It is true that we felt we were the only ones there, but enjoyed the privacy and the convenient setting and the friendly and helpful staff.

We hope to return again next year!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustineW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

The roof-top pools are small but pack an amazing view over the bay. Rooms are large and have everything you need for a self-catering business trip. The general cleanliness of the hotel and rooms is good but I found several flies in the room each night & a roach. One call to reception ad it was delt with immediately. There is very little at the actuall hotel but there is so much to do an see within 5mins drive.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpikeUK82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I chose a studio in La Vista Azul as it had full cooking facilities so I could cater for myself. The studio I stayed in was an upgrade on what I'd paid for so I was happy with that. it was a good size, kept clean, quality finish, good facilities, lovely pool (I was the only one there when I used it). It's just across the road from the bars and restaurants of Turtle Cove, so there's no need to drive in the evening.
They have a system in place for you to elect NOT to have your towels and sheets changed every day which I was grateful for - water is expensive and scarce at times on the island so I was happy to be able to help reduce usage.
Nadine cleaned my room for most of the week and was just lovely.
Finally, as the rooms don't have phones I was given a local cellphone to use which was incredibly useful. I was able to top this up during the week as required for personal use (neither of my UK phones worked on the island this time around).
I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I really enjoy my stays at the Vista Azul. This was my second time. September 2012. It fits my needs perfectly....Which are: A clean, comfortable,nicely decorated room with a kitchen. Nothing fancy. But, nothing basic either. A well attended property, nicely landscaped, clean, and very quiet. A staff that is friendly and helpful. Please, please, please no arrogant, insulting,insecure types...Which there is not one to be found here. I found some of the staff going out of the way to help, they seem to be very pleasant people, a plus as far as im concerned. The place has very nice views. Its not right on the water but the views of the ocean are nice. We had a studio courtyard view and still had a nice view of the ocean. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the beach in the turtle cove area. Not the best beach on Provo. But a beach that has some snorkling within 25 feet of shore. Very few people, and that water. Get your snorkling gear for free at the front desk. A car is a plus here or at least a bike. About a 10 - 15 minute drive...going island speed...about 15 miles and hour? About. You really slow down here. This is a review of the hotel i will review the islands later. I love it here by the way. To sum up my feelings i would say this is a great value. A place to be considered on your stay on TCI if you dont need a fancy resort. And the fancy resorts are a short hop away anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaulDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
3.2 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#16 of 44 in Providenciales
1,055 reviews
3.5 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Inn
Caribbean Paradise Inn
#24 of 44 in Providenciales
396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aquamarine Beach Houses
Aquamarine Beach Houses
#28 of 44 in Providenciales
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Grace Bay Suites
Grace Bay Suites
#38 of 44 in Providenciales
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turtle Cove Inn
Turtle Cove Inn
#41 of 44 in Providenciales
101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coral Gardens on Grace Bay
Coral Gardens on Grace Bay
#2 of 26 in Providenciales
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vista Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vista Azul Resort

Address: Turtle Cove, BWI, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Providenciales
#23 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $228 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Vista Azul Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled seventy feet above sea level with spectacular views of the sparkling turquoise Caribbean sea, La Vista Azul Resort is the Turks and Caicos Islands newest four plus star resort. La Vista Azul overlooks the north coast of Providenciales, also affectionately known as Provo:an island destination that features some of the world's best beaches, fishing, restaurants, spas, water sports activities, and home of the world's third largest reef system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Vista Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vista Azul Hotel Providenciales
La Vista Azul Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing