We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat, great value”
Review of The Seagate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Providenciales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Seagate
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat, great value”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed there twice, in May 2010 and again in Spring 2012. The residence is not a luxury resort, but offers many advantages especially to those traveling with kids. The units are spacious and clean, and are serviced daily. Although the structure is not brand new, nothing was broken, everything was in perfect order, the fully equipped kitchen had all the needed appliances, and there's AC everywhere. We could use the washer and dryer. Our unit was on the ground floor and was very quiet, surrounded by a tropical garden. The two-story residence is in retreat from the beach by some 60 yards. A few years ago a hotel project between the residence and the beach was left abandoned half built. Although it is an eyesore from the beach, it cannot be seen from the residence and provides an immense advantage: the beach is free from annoying sunchairs, umbrellas, and it is not crowded at all. It faces a magnificent coral reef ideal for snorkeling. The beach stretches wild for some 500 yards, where the Gansevoort Hotel stands and offers cocktails and other amenities on the beach, and restaurants inside. The Seagate has a swimming pool that can be used as an alternative to the shore for kids.
Eva and Rahul are great hosts, and are ready to help in many ways -including driving us to a supermarket for grocery shopping upon arrival. I can't believe anyone (see a 2009 review) would even suspect that they can be crooks of some sort -it is obviously so far from the truth.
To conclude go here if you're looking for relaxing in a quiet place, with a home feel but within steps from the beauties that Turks and Caycos can offer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ceh2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

My friend and myself have stayed at the Seagate for nearly 2 weeks in march and had a lovely time.
The condos were clean, comfortable and well furnished. Our hosts Eva and Rahul could not have done more for us, really looking after us.
Value for money!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank plane_cowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta037
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

My husband and I booked a week stay at the Seagate after reading the many positive reviews online. We were hoping for a quite place to stay and relax on the beach. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed. We were notified 1 day before our vacation started that the owners would be out of the country for our stay. We arrived to find that the Seagate looks nothing like the photos online. The residence is outdated and dirty. The rooms are small and cramped with no views of the water. The room surfaces were filthy and I was physically covered with dirt when starting to unpack. Lights were not working, the bathroom made an odd ringing sound intermittently. The kitchen cabinets are faux and the covers come off when opening the cabinets. The appliances are dirty and outdated. Floors and walls are stained. We were extremely fortunate that we were able to book another room at very nice hotel within a few hours (occupancy is low currently due to the US recession) and did not spend even one night here. The owners are now stating they want to keep 2 nights deposit. In addition, they charged our credit card TWICE for the length of our stay. We are concerned that we have been taken advantage of and would like to warn others.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
47 Thank Atlanta037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

Nice place, but I wish the owners had mentioned the big construction project right next door. Every morning we awoke to dump trucks and jack hammers, and it went on all day long, even on the weekends. It looks like there is another big project coming soon on the other side... make sure you ask before booking.

  • Liked — Beautiful condo and pool
  • Disliked — Surrounded by construction projects
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank billstir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluemoon369, Owner at The Seagate, responded to this review, October 22, 2007
The Windsong project is very close to completion, the Seagate is no longer affected by any construction noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2006

Last February, for our first time to Turks and Caicos, we stayed at The Seagate for seven days and had the most wonderful week of snorkeling, relaxing at the private pool and the beach. The atmosphere at The Seagate is great and our host, Eva and Rahul, were so friendly and accomodating. They were always there to help and advise on restaurants and shopping. Our condo was perfect and had a wonderful view of the ocean and each evening the fantastic sunsets. It was also so easy to get to know the other guests staying at The Seagate because the layout facilitates those possiblities. In fact, one evening we all had a cook out by the pool. The Seagate is also reasonably close to restaurants and shopping.
We were so impressed and pleased with our first visit, we are going back again for three weeks in Jan and Feb. 07.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — no comment
  • Tips/Secrets — no
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Seagate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Seagate for the second time in April 2006, and we absolutely loved it. For those of you looking for a low-key, well-priced, beautiful place in a great location on the island, this is it. The Seagate is basically a "villa" type complex with 4-5 units I believe, and a beautiful courtyard/garden area and pool. It is walking distance to one of the best stretches of Grace Bay Beach and one of the best in-shore snorkeling reefs on the whole island. We saw sea turtles on the grass flats every day, and the reef and tropical fish are breathtaking. The owners of Seagate are great hosts, very helpful and accomodating, and are a great resource of local knowledge, i.e., - car rental, good restaurants, stuff off the "beaten path". The Seagate is a short drive to the Turtle Cove marina area, and to the main "strip" of Grace Bay where most of the restaurants and shops are, which is nice, yet the Seagate is located on is quite quiet and doesn't get a lot of traffic.
I would definitely recommend the Seagate for those traveling to Providenciales who are not looking for the big resort experience.
John
Sarasota, FL

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jshamsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 31, 2006

This was our second trip to Provo, we loved it so much in July 0f 05 that we came back with friends. Found the Seagate online, Eva and Rahul were wonderful from our first contact. Very helpful with info on the Seagate and the island. Also helped us with car rental and recommendations on tours. Our condo was very clean and comfortable with plenty of room for two couples. Just a short walk to the beach, which was mostly our own private area, most people stayed up around Beaches. Ate breakfast every morning on our balcony with a limited beach view, which was ok, since it made things more private. Loved it and hope to go back again soon.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.0 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,038 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 44 in Providenciales
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#16 of 44 in Providenciales
737 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,552 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seagate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seagate

Property: The Seagate
Address: Penns Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location, one minute walk from Provo's most popular snorkeling reef. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Seagate Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing