We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Elberton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I consider this resort to be exceptial and well maintained. I have stayed at Sands for over 3 times. The manager met all of my requests. The restaurant is most plesurable and fun and friendly. The help for the beach is superior in doing things for you and stting up beach items. If you do not have a car you can rent one four blocks away and leave it at hotel. The small town two blocks away has several smart shops and about five different eating places. If you desire, the market is about four short blocks away and has all the items in the states. My biggest problem is leaving the airport and 4 planes are to depart. It is a mad house with too many people in one small area of about 80 X 40 ft.

Room Tip: Get a room on the inside facing the pool. t can be in any of the units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jwylie1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    604
    121
    50
    31
See reviews for
473
735
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heath, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our first time to T&C, and we were amazed at the wonderful beach. We got a partial beach view, and bear in mind, partial means only 10% of your view is beach, generally to the side. The hotel was nice, pretty well kept, having a full kitchen as well as washer and dryer were a huge plus. The supermarket is within walking distance, as well as several restaurants. You can get to the coral reefs by walking on the beach for about a mile, take your own snorkeling equipment or loan the one from the hotel, is worth it! Would love to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
244 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I booked the stay with Expedia travel port for a one bedroom ocean view three months in advance. I then wanted to change to a two bedroom and called the hotel- you get an answer machine and have to leave a message. that I did and no one called me back. Called again- left message- same result. Now getting three weeks from the trip and called again since it showed they had rooms available through their website. Finally got someone to answer the phone and was told there were not two bedroom rooms available, nor upgrade to ocean front from ocean view. Website still shows you can book that. They said to keep calling back to see if there was a cancelation. I tried calling again -two more times- and go the answer machine again. No one calls back. So- i arrived at the hotel a little leery since I did not like the lack of response from the hotel.

The rest of my stay was great- love the location and overall friendly staff. Easy walk down the sidewalk to shopping and restaurants or down the sand for a shorter walk. Pools and beach are great- loved the screened in porch and is very spacious. Great plus to have the washer and dryer in the room too.

Front desk issues: The day before my stay ended (9 days) I went to the front desk to review my bill. One guy working and three guests waiting to be helped. Phone rang constantly and went unanswered- AH HA. After 20 minutes, the door behind the desk opened and a woman came out to get something and I saw another male in the office room. They never tried to help the guests waiting - which had now grown to four waiting guests. We do not want to spend our vacation time waiting to be helped. So, my only issue with the hotel is the front desk staffing. Figure out how to return phone calls and add more people on. Other than that, it is a great hotel and I would return to stay here.

Hemingway's Restaurant is right there and I wrote a separate review- it is excellent. The snorkel gear, paddle boards, kayaks are all provided- as is rum punch from the front desk.

Room Tip: We were in the back building- building 6 and I really think it may be related to booking through Exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank swimdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Loved the Sands! What a great hotel. Rooms were fantastic, spacious, and relaxing. It is a great property on the beach with turquoise water and white sands. Excellent restaurant with Hemmingway’s both for food and entertainment. Service is outstanding with a great event coordinator in Lidra Barranco.
The atmosphere is fun and relaxing without skimping on service. It’s a must stay for a great time in the TCI!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillies F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Sands at Grace Bay is an awesome four-star resort. The rooms are very spacious. The staff is very accommodating and welcoming. It’s a great place for families. The Hemingway’s Restaurant serves superb food. You won’t want or need to go anywhere else. The Sands is a great place to sit back and relax the beautiful Turks and Caicos Islands.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buena park
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our family spend 9 days at the Sand and we really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in building 4, so close to the beach and our room facing the ocean, our room located on the first floor so the view that we paid wasn't worth it. Besides, the beach only 2 mins to get there( if you walk that slow) so the ocean view is complete wastes due to we stayed outside to enjoy the beach. The beach is absolutely gorgeous with soft white sand and blue turquoise. The water is calm and warm. The resort has chairs and umbrella outside for you to be lazy in the sun. Our room was clean daily and the housekeeping left laundry detergent and dishwasher soap for us daily. The Sands is in great location , you can walk down town for shopping, food or head to supermarket or you can borrow bicycle to get there. The staffs are great and helpful. If you like to book any excursion for your stays, big Johnny is so great to help you with all the details. You can borrow snorkel gears at the pool. They also have paddle board and kayaking to use for free. Note that if you have never on paddle board, the best time to try is in the morning and don't wander too far. The afternoon waves a bit stronger for first time try our paddle board. The restaurant is ok. They don't have much choices for you to choose.
After all, we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lovehonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Just got back from the Sands at Grace Bay and it was a great vacation! The rooms are pretty plain: bed, updated bathroom and our room had some stainless steel appliances. We had a small Veranda that was screened-in and it was lovely. What I really loved about the hotel was its size. It is a small hotel with a pretty large beach in comparison to other hotels on the island. We got to the beach early and secured our palapa early and stayed there all day. I never felt cramped or crowded despite the large groups that vacation there. They offer sail boat tours, paddleboats and snorkeling equipment and it was great. Staff was friendly and Ri-Ann our concierge, was wonderful. We also went to Spa Tropique where I got one of the best massages ever. I gave the hotel 4 stars because it is not a 'luxury' hotel dripping with amenities. The spa is really just a room--no shower, jacuzzi, sauna, etc.but nevertheless it was a great massage. If you are looking for a clean, decent hotel in a great location with a large beach, this is the place! I will return.

Room Tip: We had a room with an ocean view (partial) and it wasn't really necessary. Do Beachfront (full o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, Front Office Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Kristen P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and that you had a “great vacation”! We appreciate your kind words regarding our friendly staff especially Ri-Ann. Your comments will be shared with our entire team.

We were delighted to read how much you loved the rooms, resort facilities, grounds, beach, amenities and your treatment at Spa Tropique. Indeed, Spa Tropique has 2 treatment rooms and although not a full service spa site, the spa menu has so much to offer including in-room treatments.


Again, thank you your feedback we strive to provide the best in both services and product and are happy to see that you will be back.

With warm regards,

Barbara Rigby
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.7 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#5 of 43 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 stars 2,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#13 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beaches Turks and Caicos Resort Villages and Spa
1.6 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#18 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Property: Sands at Grace Bay
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing