We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach is great but the people are better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I brought my entire family with me on this vacation and it was the best vacation we ever had - Every year we go to either Hawaii or Mexico but the beach here is by far the best we have ever been to. However it wasn't the beach that made the vacation it was the people. We spent 10 days at the hotel and the staff quickly became our friends - Special shout outs For Barbara and Monica who made sure we were very comfortable - there were three or four other women at the front desk that went out of there way for us as well ( i wished I could spell their names properly but the concierge and the women who ran the front desk were phenomenal) - The on site spa offered a great massage and Hemmingways did a great breakfast - Though the Tikki Hut gets our endorsement for the best dinner value and tastiest food - Scuba diving was incredible - we felt that Ocean Vibes had the best guides but the equipment was poor whereas Dive Provo had the best equipment but the guides weren't as good - Provo Ponies is a good stable and snorkeling the bite is a good day trip but none of it would have been as enjoyable if it weren't for the ladies at the front desk. From movie to restaurant reviews - need towels or want to know the best places to shop? The staff was only too ready to help. This is one of the few places that I will go back again - I just hope they remember the tall guy - I rate this place as a 10 out of 10 and hope to be back next summer - Way to go ladies!!!!! Thanks for making the trip so enjoyable!!!!

Room Tip: Go for either Ocean Front or Garden View - Some of the Ocean View rooms don't have a great view...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
There are newer reviews for The Sands at Grace Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 1,867 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

We adored the Sands and hope to return again and again! It offers the perfect balance of so many things. While the Sands is on spectacular Grace Bay Beach it is positioned so that it is quiet and not crowded in between other resorts. Great attention is given to overall aesthetics - lovely white cushions on pool lounge chairs, white umbrellas, thatched huts on the beach, hammocks in a palm grove and plenty of chairs for everyone. There are many places for people to settle if what they want is quiet! No piped in music...just wonderful peaceful natural beauty. Top quality amenities without being stuffy - exceptionally beautiful and relaxed. The food and drinks were terrific. The Hobie Cat was rigged and ready for some of the best sailing ever, and sailing, masks and snorkels were free of charge. Very easy to schedule snorkeling adventures through the hotel (We recommend Island Vibes - with Captain Moe and Dandre!) Everyone working at the resort is so nice - they treat you like returning friends. Adrian the front desk manager sensed we were a bit frazzled from our travels, and promptly offered us all rum punches. The entire resort is so clean and well cared for. Cociana our housekeeper was very kind and took exceptional care of our condo. While we where at the Sands, there were two weddings and a family reunion, and it never felt too busy or hectic. The water and the beach are absolutely gorgeous! What a special vacation :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mstr0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was our second visit to The Sands. We visited first 5 years ago as a couple for our 1st anniversary and returned 4 years later with 5 additional family members in tow. It was an even better experience. It was our first family trip abroad and my 3 year old is begging to bring him back already.

Here's why I would recommend The Sands to anyone visiting Turks & Caicos:

- You can't beat the price. It is the most reasonably-priced resort that is located on Grace Bay that still comes with amenities. Nearby resorts charge 3-4x more. You would think that you are sacrificing a lot by staying at a place so much cheaper or that it is really scuzzy, but The Sands is NOT!
- The pool areas are excellent. There are multiple semi-private sitting areas all curved around the different pool areas, surrounded by lush landscaping. My toddler had so much fun walking the "lazy river" (it is only 2.5 ft deep) and going under the little bridges, as well as the kiddy pool.
- The rooms are spacious and our 1-bedroom had a full-sized kitchen which came in handy to make breakfast and snacks. We also loved our enclosed deck, to overlook the property & see the ocean.
- The concierge desk was super helpful. We were traveling with 6 adults & 1 child, and was incredibly patient in helping us plan dinners & activities.
- Elaine from SpaTropique gives a fantastic massage and was super sweet. My mother-in-law agreed and appreciated how comfortable she made her feel for her first body wrap.
- You can walk into town from The Sands (last time we visited, there weren't even sidewalks, but there are now and it is an easy 5 minute straight walk to shops & restaurants.)
- Kayaks, hobie cats, sand toys, towels are available for guests
- You are right on Grace Bay, a beautiful, clean beach that you can walk up and down with ease, enjoying the turquoise water
- Coconut Grove Hammocks is a great hidden, shaded spot to lay in a hammock and read or just relax
- The kitchens are all getting upgraded to stainless steel appliances, so that's nice. In general, it seems like they make sure to keep the property up-to-date.

We rented a car for the entirety of our stay because we like to explore the island and visit different beaches. We used it to go to the grocery store, the Conch Farm, Taylor Bay (2x), Bugaloo's for lunch, out for a paddle-boarding trip with Big Blue Unlimited, etc. So, it was totally worth it rather than relying on taxis.

So, what does The Sands not have?

Room service & indoor restaurants (there is 1 restaurant on the property, Hemingways). So, you really aren't missing much. Sure, there are more luxurious hotels on Provo, but be prepared to pay significantly more for that. For a big ol' family trip, this fit the bill.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Messin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

My wife and I just returned from the Turks & Caicos Islands after having spent 5 nights at the Sands at Grace Bay. We had our 10 year old son and my parents with us on the trip.

The beach at the hotel was a perfect 10! The crystal clear water and white sands made it a great and relaxing beach vacation. If you want to visit one of the top 5 beaches in the entire world while staying at a great hotel, I would highly recommend the Sands at Grace Bay.

We stayed in room #3212 which was overlooking one of the swimming pools. We had our own kitchen, pull out bed in the living area, and a side bedroom with a king sized bed and bathroom. The room also had dishes, a full sized refrigerator/freezer, washer/dryer, and dishwasher. Outside we had an ocean view balcony with a nice table and several lounge chairs enclosed by a screen so we could enjoy being outside without the bother of insects.

The food at Hemingways (hotel restaraunt) was excellent! I had the chicken penne pasta and my wife enjoyed chips/salsa two different days. My son enjoyed the french fries as a snack as well as the kid's pasta with alfredo sauce. Because we rented a car on our stay, we also decided to eat at various local restaurants. ("Somewhere" at Coral Gardens, Pattie's Place, Chinsen Grill, and Bella Luna across from the Seven Star Resort were all places we visited for lunch or dinner during our stay.)

If you are looking for the perfect beach getaway, this is the place to go! I would highly recommend the Sands at Grace Bay to any traveler looking for a great beach vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view. We had both an ocean view and a pool view on each end of our room. We never u...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RGeertsen43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The ocean is amazing! Beach was great! Plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The staff at the beach was very helpful. It is a great location. Not right on top of other resorts so it was like our own private beach yet you could walk to other restaurants and resorts.
We took a cab to the Graceway gourmet supermarket ($24) and then rode our bikes another time. We also biked to Bight reef which would have been great except on the way back I got a flat tire. Luckily a nice woman at Coral Gardens pumped it up (it wasn't busted) and we rode home quickly. Check your tires before you leave...and take the newer bikes because when we got back to the Sands I told the front desk that had a flat and they just put the bike back into circulation.
Check in was fine...we had a ground level room with a "garden view". The room was very clean and had everything that we needed.
We asked someone at the front desk to call for a reservation for dinner but the concierge was not there. They left a message for her but when we returned hours later there still was no one there to help.
We also wanted to play basketball. We tried everyday to get a basketball from the front desk but each time they told us it was undergoing maintenance and was flat. The court looked nice :/
Fitness center was clean and had the usual ..a few bikes, 3 treadmills, a good set of dumbells, and medicine balls and mats. We had a later flight so it was great that they let you check out and then use the showers in the spa/fitness center.
Hemingways was a great restaurant! We had several meals there and liked all of them.
My few complaints are overlooked by a great resort! great beach! and very nice people!
I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor but couldnt really hear ANY of our neighbors. There were a few ants in...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nik346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Upon arrival we were treated to an upgrade to Ocean Front room #3106, and man was it amazing! Corner room, huge rooms with enormous screened in porch with access to beach, pool and Hemingways just yards away. Staff was over the top friendly, and our housekeeper was as sweet as could be. Spent very little time in the pool or hot tub (super hot!), but did at the beach. Tip: beach loungers are mostly spoken for by 9, so get there early. Also I found an easy way to make new acquaintances on the beach each morning is with a full carafe of coffee from the room. Beach staff was great, especially Ainsley with teaching us how to sail a hobiecat. The beach at the Sands is very relaxing and quiet, not a lot of kids running around. The manager's reception was awesome, with rum punch and appetizers, and a great setting for finding karaoke buddies! Thanks to hometown friends an TA contributors for the great recommendation, and we would definitely stay here again. Very good price and great location for walking/biking into town for dinner, shopping and groceries. You can walk to most in town attractions (we only drove to Coco Bistro) and to Bight Reef easily. We rented a car one day to go to da Conch Shack, Turtle Cove to snorkel and Chalk Sound.

Room Tip: 3106 is fantastic, get an ocean front if possible
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, General Manager at The Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear MoHog,

Thank you for your comments about your stay recent stay in May 2014.

How wonderful to learn how much you enjoyed your vacation and that our staff was “Over the Top Friendly”. We will be certain to share your kind remarks with our entire team especially with Ainsley. Our staff works very hard to provide warm and genuine hospitality and I am pleased to know your experience was “everything you could ask for”.

Also, I am glad to know how much you enjoyed your room, the manager cocktail party and also got around town on our bicycles moreover, that you rented a car to see the other parts of our remarkable island. So many places to explore when you rent a car. Let us know the next time you are back and we’ll make sure to share some of our favorite spots.

Again, thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mona Beeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed 6 nights. Sands is older, but well kept inside and out, We had 1 Br with huge lanai and ocean view. Good location on beach to get to other areas. They furnish bikes to get to town (supermarket) and ride around. Pool area and beach nice. Would agree with comment about staff- hit or miss. It's either really good or really bad. Regarding service, everywhere on island we went it was really good or you felt you were just a tourist annoying them. We visited some other resorts areas and for price and size - all buildings only 3 story- we thought it was, quaint and a good value. If I went back to Turks and Caicos would stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, Front Office Manager at The Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Roberta C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We have shared your feedback with our entire team.

We were happy to note that you made good use of the bicycles and had found the pool area and beach to be nice. Also, you are correct when you say “The Sands at Grace Bay has a good location on a beautiful beach”, we have a great location with easy access to a number of areas for dining and shopping.

I am sorry you were disappointed in our service and found it inconsistent. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest satisfaction to ensure each guest feels welcome and would want to return back. Your remarks will help us greatly in all of our continued efforts and commitment to strive to provide every guest with genuine warm TCI Hospitality.

Again thank you, it is because of caring guest such as yourself that we have a concrete basis for improvement, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Sands.


With warm tropical regards,

Barbara Rigby
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,467 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#16 of 44 in Providenciales
742 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,561 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,984 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Grace Bay

Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#19 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $215 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, West Indies, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
The Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing