We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great location, island-style property, and moderate pricing"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have stayed at Sands many times and keep returning. The location of Sands on the beach is very central, making a nice walk down the beach in either direction convenient. The beach area is not crowded and the water is calm. The property has an "island-style" feeling with low-lying structures and screened in porches. The landscape is well cared for with beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers. The staff is friendly, including the men who work down at the beach and help with the water activities. They are always great. The rooms are set up in the "condo style" like the rest of the island where you can shop for some groceries and plan on eating in the room sometimes so you don't have to leave the beach. The grocery store is a short walk away or you can have shuttle service. When planning travels to Turks and Caicos, beach location and the outdoor area is what is really important. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Oceanfront you will see the ocean. Oceanview MAY give you a great view of the ocean, but it may be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoJo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear JoJo S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. We were happy to see how beautiful you found our resort, beach and grounds to be as well as how much you enjoyed the location of the property.

It was nice to learn that you have stayed with us multiple times and we greatly appreciate you making The Sands your preferred choice for enjoying your vacation once again.

You paid a wonderful compliment about our staff; they very much appreciate receiving your considerate feedback about the service they work hard to provide. We will certainly share your comments with our entire team.

Again, thank you for your comments; we appreciate the time you took to let us know how your stay went. We look forward to seeing you return soon.

Warmest Regards,

Leonard Higgs
Housekeeping Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 830 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

Everything was great at The Sands! Our check-in was hassle free and the staff was very polite! We did have to wait a short while for our room but we did get there a little earlier than check-in time. Our room was very nice and kept very neat and clean! All the staff were very friendly and accommodating! The beach was beautiful! There were many permanent umbrellas on the beach and when they were all taken a staff person put umbrellas and lounge chairs on the beach as needed. The restaurant was very good, and we ate there several times. We walked a short distance to some shops and restaurants. We had a great dinner at the Crackpot and a very good lunch at Big Al's. We took the Sunset Glow Worm Cruise with Reef Peepers and it was very nice! We couldn't have asked for a better vacation!
The only advice we could give is to expect to pay a lot for food everywhere, but we knew this before we went by reading other reviews.

Room Tip: We were in 3027 which was a beautiful, spacious room with a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 405JeffS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I am very late sending this review, but am doing so anyway. We stayed at The Sands in November 2012 for a week. In much need of a relaxing vacation with nice weather. I originally learned of Turks & Caicos when African-American actress Lisaraye McCoy was the First Lady there and how she described the island, which was quite favorable at that time. After initially doing some vacation packages searches on the internet (via Orbitz, etc.) I was becoming weary of finding the type of luxury hotel I was seeking within my price range. Then, one day while searching a website I had not been on before, I found a vacation package for The Sands and after I took a look at their website (the resort rooms and reviews), I immediately booked the airline flight and hotel room there. The room was one of their studios with an oceanview. The room was very spacious (not small and tiny like some of the hotel rooms I saw in Turks & Caicos). It was a major plus the room came with a very nice updated kitchenette and even a separte washer & dryer in the bathroom. The bathroom was nice, too. The room was very clean and they have an around-the-clock maintenance staff on hand to tend to the upkeep of the resort. The large bed was so comfortable and the decor was really nice. There were free comfy slippers already in the closet for us. There are limited choices for cable TV but then again, we really did not watch too much TV because we wanted to enjoy the beautiful weather in our resort surroundings (and the weather was wonderful). The furniture was relaxing (sofas/chairs) and there was a separate dining table & chairs for eating. The screened-in porch was awesome with beautiful views of the ocean. The outdoor patio furniture was also comfortable. I was able to read a few books in a tranquil atmosphere while lounging outside on the screened-in portch. The room was in one of the upper level floor which was very quiet. I also requested to be away from the swimming pool, for a quieter room, and this was accommodated. The airport has cab drivers (in vans) transports passengers to hotels. Since there were several of us, in the van, the cost was only $11.00 each way ($22.00 round trip). The front desk will notify the cab, for your departure, when you notify them a day before you leave. Our US cell phone service did not work in Turks & Caicos, at that time, because Turks & Caicos utilized another cell service company. Turks had pre-paid phones (I think) to purchase if guest wanted them. The hotel had a shuttle service, to the local grocery store, a few times during the day. The front desk has the schedule (the front desk staff was very friendly and attentive). It was only around $10.00 round trip for that. We stayed on the grounds of the resort, except for the couple of grocery store runs. I did not readily see any major tourist attractions and plus, we felt more comfortable staying within the hotel resort. The beach has nice sand (not gritty) and the beautiful turquoise blue waters of the Carribean. There is a restaurant on-site and the food & service is good. The hotel had an evening of free appetizers and beverages for guests as a way to say "thank you" for choosing The Sands. This was nice. There was also a guest services room which had a few computers for free use, including free internet and free use of the printers, as well. The internet sites are somewhat limited because many of the US websites cannot be obtained. Turks & Caicos accepts US money (another plus). I did not care for the Turks & Caicos airport (it's old and not updated) & very small). One of the housekeeping staff seemed to have a little attitude, but she cleaned our room nicely, so I ignored the small personality flaw. The resort website has a detailed listing of all the other amenities it offers including activities there, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lady4Evermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

WE found the location ideal. We could walk in one direction to the Seven Stars, and the other direction down to the Coral Gardens on the beach. Also about a 5-10 minute walk into town as they call it. In town are shops, some restaurants, bank etc. About a 15 minute walk to the IGA Gourmet grocery store (very nice store albeit expensive).
The grounds were very clean, always working on the landscaping. The room itself was kept extremely clean with all the ammenities you would expect from a condo. Our unit was a one bedroom oceanview on the third floor of Building 1. We had an unobstructed view of the water about 500ft. away.
The pool area also clean and different areas you could take advantage of more privacy. The pool area always had enough chase lounges available as did the beach area in front of the property.
We found one of the biggest assets were the people both here at the Sands and everywhere we went on the Island. Laid back,courteous and just happy to share their little slice beauty with visitors.
Now the beach and water. We can't add anymore than has already been written about them. Beautiful,beautiful water and white sand. The sand is so soft and never seems to get hot. Everything you would expect and more of the water and sands of a Caribbean (although it is actually in the Atlantic) Island.
Just some added info -- airport not as bad as I had expected. Just arrive 2hrs. before departure and you should be fine.
Did not have ant bugs the 6 days we were there. Could have been the wind, it was windy everyday about 20mph or more (reminded me of Aruba).
It is expensive cabs,food, drink restaurants just about everything. Really not that much different than quality location beach resorts in the Caribbean.
We ate at a number of really good restaurants, and preferred the local ones. Lots of Grouper and Conch. I will review some restaurants when I can get time.
Take a little time out and visit their puppy rescue at the Salt Mills shopping area. I believe its called Pot Cake place. The island has a large population of feral dogs and this place tries to find homes for the puppies. They are abosutely the cutest little pups you could ever see. Pot Cakes are the name they give these Island dogs.

Room Tip: higher floors better views but there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

After a year and a half of non stop traveling with work, and living in two states, and 1 country across the Atlantic Ocean, my partner and I decided to take a moment for us and enjoy a beach.
Sands at Grace Bay came highly recommended and we were NOT disappointed.

Greeted at check in with a smile, well dressed and well spoken staff. We were provided a nice cool beverage during our check in, and escorted to our room.

The Room- We had a Garden 1 bedroom, and although we knew the sq. footage we were pleasantly surprised at the size, and space. The patio size was something we were not expecting and were very pleased! Kitchen was fully supplied, and the washer/dryer in our room came with the basics to help you get started with staying clean.

The Beach- The beach area, a quick around the garden area, and past 2 pools, our room was nicely nestled but yet so close to the beach. The beach a crystal blue water, clear down to the toes on your feet with white sand that feels like sifted flour makes you melt immediately.
As you enter the beach area there is a stand with a staff member able to help you sort any excursions you hope to do.
Pass the excursion stand and another stand that sits directly on the beach is a place you can sign in to use hotel owned equipment (free of charge). Kayak, Sail boat (Hobie cat type), and much more! Sitting area was well maintained and cleaned, when spaces under the cute little hut 'umbrella' types the staff was quick to put out extra umbrellas for the guests.
Beach area was quiet and easy to relax.

Property- clean, well maintained, friendly staff always offering a quick smile and greeting.
Bicycles you can borrow to take into town, and grocery store (conveniently close). There is a small store on site that offers the necessities so you are not forced to go into town, however if you choose to cycle up to the store - some of the bicycles have baskets to hold your shopping. The property is close to major shopping (souvenir,etc.) and several restaurants.
Hemingways on site is a lovely place that serves fantastic lobster, steak, and delicious Rum punches.

There really isnt enough room/space to tell you all the wonderful things about Sands at Grace Bay. This place gave us the 9 days of heaven and peace we needed.... we definitely plan to go back, and often!
A must try place

Room Tip: Garden room has a great view of lovely lush gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarmenDPhoenix_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

When you are reviewing a place to stay sometimes the website makes it look a little better than it is. This is not the case with The Sands at Grace Bay. We were so happy to find our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom to be decorated very nicely, comfortable beds and pillows, lots of space, nice sized full kitchen, washer dryer, (includes soap). We followed advice from others from Trip advisor and went to the Graceway IGA for groceries. We live in Canada and I did not find the prices of groceries that bad... perhaps 10% more. It is worth packing a few spices, dry goods, etc for snacking though.
Here are a few short items for you to review.

1) Fitness Center - Very clean, cool, towels provided, tv, not large but sufficient and never busy. (we visited in May)
2) Hemmingways - Nice atmosphere, good food, right on the beach, a little pricey but seems all restaurants are.
3) Maids - Thinking back .. I would have tipped as we went along vs. leaving a tip at the end of our stay.. Some were a little sassy. We understand though that being a maid all day is probably a very difficult position.
4) Front Staff - excellent, friendly.
5) Beach Staff - Always ready to help you find a chair on the beach and even umbrella if all are taken.
6) We rented a car from Grace Bay Car Rentals but you could walk to quite a few good places to eat from the Sands. Groceries would be hard to get though. Some of our favorite restaurants were: The Bay Bistro - (right beside the Sands), The Crackpot Cafe - (Half a block walk) and Mr. Grouper, (maybe 3 blocks walk)
7) The Beach is fantastic, water amazing as usual, all water toys are free to use, Hobiecat, Kayak, Paddle boards, snorkel etc. (There is not alot to see snorkeling out in front though)
8) We chose Caicos Adventures for our dive company and were very pleased with the service. Friendly, they pick you up daily for the two dives, very safety conscious, good equipment, nice large boat, excellent dive masters.

Overall - We've been to Turks and Caicos three times and this was our favorite spot.

Room Tip: Just ask for an ocean view and you won't be disappointed. Really amazing. We stayed in building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bellamiacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

An unusual review.
My wife and I stayed at the Sands of Grace Bay on Providenciales in the Turks and Caicos Islands.
The beaches are the draw and they do not disappoint.
We arrived at the Sands and were not offered a rum punch as advertised; in fact, I often saw visitors arrive who were not offered the drink. Only once did I see the punch offered at check-in.
The check-in was quick and we were assigned to a second floor room in building One, which is closest to the front desk and to parking. At first, I was disappointed as others have all recommended a room closer to the beack (for access and views, I would assume.) However it became evident that buildings One and Two were actually very well placed. The location of these two buildings insured peace and quiet where other buildings were placed along the paths to the restaurant, pool and beach. Not that it is noisy, but buildings One and Two are a bit more removed from the activities.
The rooms themselves are very "spacious" as the bedroom is separate from the combined "family room", dining room and kitchen. All rooms also have roomy balconies which enclose a table -w- four chairs and two comfortable, padded, rattan loungers.
The rooms contain:
- a desk
- a dining table -w- room for 5
- a kitchen counter -w- three stools
- sofas & chairs for four to five people
- coffee maker
- blender
- toaster
- refrigerator/freezer
- microwave
- dishwasher
- plenty of pots and pans -w- lids
- plenty of cooking utensils and knives
- silver service for 8 people
I was also disappointed in our assigned room. The main privacy drapes in the "family room" were quite torn and would not close easily or completely. On several occasions, the dishwasher leaked a small pool of water onto the kitchen floor. The light above the shower was burned out. (Like too many hotels,) the bath drain didn't. I asked someone at the main desk to have the drain fixed, but it never was. The main support leg on a large bookcase was broken (on a serious tilt) which worried me a bit. On the first night, the large bed pillows were covered with pillowcases that were way too small. Fitted sheets are not used which causes the bed sheets to pull out during the night.
And, finally, some landscape workers were beneath our window at 6:30am talking loudly one morning.

There are car rentals, groceries, shopping and restaurants within a four block walk.
While a car is not necessary, it is useful (for a day or two) to see other parts of the island and to better travel to other restaurants.
(I would also recommend getting full car rental insurance as it is not expensive and it covers ANYTHING that could happen to the rental car- no questions).
Plan for a minimum of $200 a day for meals for two people (and that is assuming you make and eat your breakfast in your room. A box of cereal in the IGA grocery is over $8 and a gallon of milk is over $6. One rouind of drinks for two runs about $22 -w- tip)

I want to be clear on one point. While I have noted several problems with our stay, this is by no means a negative review. The Sands and Grace Bay are amazing and the experience is totally worth the trip. We thoroughly enjoyed it. (Problems at the Sands probably arise from the fact that the rooms are privately owned yet rented when the owners are absent. Therefore the upkeep of the rooms may vary from room to room.) We have never experienced people who were so genuinely happy and friendly. Native islanders are a pleasure.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a poor location at the Sands. (For maximum privacy, though, try to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SpryRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#1 of 44 in Providenciales
2,539 reviews
1 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
2,000 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#7 of 44 in Providenciales
1,586 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Grace Bay

Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $227 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
The Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing