We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed in The Sands for 6 nights between Feb. 2 and Feb. 7. I would define the hotel as a very good one for the money you are paying, but don´t expect luxury or nothing like that. The rooms are OK but a little bit old. In any event, as we spent most of the time outdoors it didn’t matter that the room and facilities were not top notch.
The hotel’s restaurant (Hemingway’s) is fine as well.
The best thing the Sands has, by far, is the beach. Unlike other hotels in Grace Bay, the Sand’s beach is somehow more secluded as there are no resorts besides The Sands in that part of the beach. The result? A less populated beach which is always great. Also, the beach is quite wide (as compared, for example, to the beach at other resorts –i.e. Beaches). Just one piece of advice, umbrellas run out quite quickly during the morning, if you arrive to the beach after 8:30 you might find yourself without any umbrella left. Even though they hotel claims that any unattended umbrella will be vacated after 30 minutes, it does not enforce such policy…
All in all I believe The Sands is a very good option for those relaxed travelers willing to enjoy a very nice beach and not much worried about the hotel’s facilities per se.
The Sands is child friendly, something we did not matter at all, but some people might find this not so comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    659
    132
    51
    38
See reviews for
523
802
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We spent a wonderful week at the Sands in February 2014. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and cared for. The rooms and bathrooms were a little tired, but fine. The food was very good and the manager, Terry, was always available and helpful. The waitresses were accommodating and extremely nice. The pools were clean and fairly empty with plenty of lounges, however more umbrellas were needed. There are no words to adequately describe the magnificent beach. It is exquisite! I look forward to returning to this lush island and beautiful hotel. Great experience!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We just returned from a 5 day stay at the Sands. 3 women stayed in an oceanview studio & it was plenty large. The sofa bed was actually quite comfortable and we could easily move around it to get acces to the patio. We loved the screened in patio and had a pretty good view of the ocean from our room. The staff was magnificent and really aimed to please. After a long flight, we were happy to be offered a cold rum punch at the reception desk. We enjoyed the restaurant, the pools, the beach chairs and tiki huts as well as the Ocean Vibes tour desk. The only downside was that our mini-kitchen was a tad under stocked. We had no knives other than butter knives, no blender, a leaky coffee pot and an uneven microwave.

Room Tip: All seemed to have good views - even garden views were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Perfect location, amazing beach, well kept property, very nice rooms, helpful staff, and easy to get to! We had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom suite which was very nice. The resort felt luxurious without being over-the-top and expensive. Compared to the other resorts we walked past along the beach the Sands feels quaint and unobtrusive, while some of the others feel very large, in your face, and have too many people.

A few very minor complaints:
- The mattresses are not the most comfortable in the world. They are not awful by any means but they are due for an upgrade.
- There seems to be limited beach umbrellas/seating and by 9 am most spots are already taken. The resort seemed about half full so I can't imagine what it would be like if it was full occupancy. Maybe they bring out more chairs and umbrellas.
- The lounge chairs at the beach seem a little cheap and are not the most comfortable. The chairs by the pool are better because they have mattresses.

In all, we would definitely return to the Sands if and when we return to Turks & Caicos. We found it very nice and relatively affordable.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which has a walkout screen porch making it very convenient to leave the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JTmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Awesome location; absolutely beautiful beach, perfect for walking, jogging and lounging, clean and wonderfully kept property! The most beautiful, blissful beach we have ever seen!!! We had a one-bedroom oceanfront suite and it was very large with an oversized screened-in patio that had enough space for a party of 25. We did get one night free with four but the total seemed affordable for what we got and don't think we would have done any better somewhere else. The service is extreme island time; the staff isn't rude but not friendly either. Big John is the best staff member; great personality compared to everyone else. Front desk not very helpful & seemed to take for granted (when giving people directions) that we were visitors not natives; not a lot of attention to detail.

Room Tip: Buck up and go for the oceanview/front--it's worth the extra $. Rooms on second floor offer a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We wanted a beautiful clean beach with soft white sand, a great hotel pool where you don't have to fight for a spot, a super clean, comfortable room with kitchenette, and friendly staff who don't bother you unless you need something. We got all of that and more! We showed up and were immediately given an upgrade (having reserved a studio) to a wonderful room with a full kitchen with granite countertops and dishwasher, separate bedroom, well equipped living room with pull out sofa and flat screened TV, and a simply amazing screened in porch with a spectacular view. One thing to mention here - this resort is peaceful and quiet - there is NOTHING next to it on one side, but for an empty field. That makes for better views and such a feeling of privacy I've never had at a seaside resort. There were a number of families there, but I never felt the kids underfoot... tended to stay at the pool with a waterfall (!!) And lazy river, while the families stayed at the more traditional pool closer to the beach. There are benches in the pool near the waterfall, perfect for sitting and reading in the cool water while soaking up the sun. All you need is a waterproof case for your Kindle and you're in business. We alternated going to the pool and the beach, never really deciding which was better. Hemmingway's restaurant is on site, has wonderful food and drinks and a friendly staff that will bring you refreshments anywhere you are (beach, pool, etc.) We also went to dinner a few nights....once walking down the beach to Mango Reef (terrific!), walking to Crackpot Kitchen (tasty!), and taking a very short cab ride to Coyoba (amazing!) And Bella Luna (very good!). On our last day, we used the free bikes the Sands provides and rode for about two hours straight, around all sorts of neighborhoods, concluding our ride at Somewhere Cafe - - what a treat that was. Just a glorious day. I can't recommend this resort more highly. It's perfect for those who want to relax and not be bothered with feeling like you have to partake in activities to be cool. You can easily do so if you want, but it's really meant for pure relaxation. We have traveled to many islands over the years and I think we have finally found the right place to return year after year. It just has all the right criteria - and it doesn't hurt that it is a direct flight from NYC and easily accessed by taxi once you get there. Can't say enough good things about this place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Jlg110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I would give this property a "4.5" but that is not an option on trip advisor We paid $425 per night, plus the $42.50 accommodation tax, plus $35.42 service charge(to pay the maids I was told) we did get the firth night free, so it cost $432 per night all told for (6) nights which is on the lower end in Providenciales. This was for a 1 bdr studio ocean view. The beach is in a great location and they never run out of chairs or umbrellas. We never went to the pools, but they looked nice, we preferred the beach. The pool closest to the beach is almost like being on the beach. The have a hot tub which we went to each night and it was well maintained although not all the jets worked. Overall the property is very clean but the rooms are a little dated, but who comes to the Turks to stay in their room?

We came with another couple for our 30th anniversaries and they gave us a complimentary bottle of bubbly and a balloon in the room which was a nice touch. We were complimentary upgraded to a 1 bdr suite in building #1(room #1301) the other couple started out in #3105 and were moved to #1202 which was also ocean view with a larger king bed. The 1 bdr studios have queen beds, but they look more like full size beds. We are in good shape, but there are no elevators, so we got a good workout going to the 3rd floor everyday.

The workout gym is in building #1 as well as two computers you can surf the net on. The property has complimentary Wi-Fi and it worked pretty well. The cable was spotty, especially ESPN2, for you sports fans they only have soccer on the other ESPN channel. Again, you don't come to the Turks to watch TV, but I am just passing this along. The ice machine is also in the basement of building #1 which worked very well. In our suite there was a small kitchen, blender, toaster, coffee machine (coffee packets are supplied), oven and full size frig. The balcony had a table for 4 and two nice chairs with ottomans to rest your feet on and is screened in. I was never bothered by bugs anywhere on the island as I have read in other reviews.

Suggestions: Bring collapsible coolers, plastic cups and your own hard alcohol. buy the 3 ounce plastic bottles at Walmart and put the booze in them in your checked luggage. (4) rum punches will cost you $44 before tip on the beach from Hemminways. Hemmingways is the restaurant/bar at the Sands. They never have a happy hour at Hemmingways. You can get your ice from building one and have cocktails economically if you do it this way. Go to the IGA supermarket and get you mixes and bottled water when you arrive. $10 for 32 Aquafinas at the IGA. You can also get your beer there as well, but beware of sticker shock. Turks Head (the local brew and is not bad) is $43 per case, Coors light is about $65 for a case. I'll explain more in the negatives about how expensive things are and why.


Positives: Location, value (for the Turks that is), clean property, service by the guys is very good. See below about the service from the women.

Negatives: The women there(at the front desk) seemed indifferent at times. They weren't rude, but were more interested in texting and BS'ing with their co-workers I asked one day who had a "Happy Hour" on Monday and she said no one has a happy hour except on Wednesdays. Not true as Jimmy's dive bar (10 minute walk) has one every night, plus the beach bar at the Regent Palms(allegedly owned by the same company that operates the Sands). This was the Concierge who had very limited knowledge about the island which is puzzling and didn't seem to care much to do any research or ask anyone else. Everything is very expensive because the tourists pay "ALL" THE TAXES on this island with their 35% value added TAX ("VAT"). This is why a (6) pack of coors light is $17 at the supermarket. They also do not have a deep water port so it is more expensive to get things there before the VAT.

Having said all that, this is our 2nd time in Provo and we would come back to the Sands because of the positives. Provo is an awesome island, so in the end the juice is worth the squeeze.

The Sands is also a good place for families with young or older kids. We did not do the kayaks, paddle boards or the Hobbie Cat sail boat, but they were options. We rented a car the whole time and explored every inch of the Island.

Room Tip: I think building #1 is as good as #3 because of the3 gym, computers and ice machines being in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Huskerfan8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#17 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
1.6 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Property: Sands at Grace Bay
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, BookIt.com, West Indies, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing