We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Sands is very well located in the Grace Bay area, within walking distance of the shops area. Nice and spacious rooms, great air conditioning. The rooms are well maintained and the staff is very nice. The restaurant - Hemingway's - could be do with some improvements, with more menu options and at least partly air conditioned. The highlights are the location and the white sands, cristal clear waters beach.

Room Tip: Ground floor, definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emrodri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    598
    119
    49
    31
See reviews for
469
732
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently returned from a wonderful stay at Sands. Upon check in we were upgraded without asking to a one bedroom unit instead of a studio. We were also treated to a rum punch which was a nice welcoming touch. All the staff that we came in contact with was very personable and accommodating.

The room was very clean and had very charming decorative touches. It had everything needed, washer, dryer, dishwasher, stove microwave ect ect..

Hemmingways is one of our all time favorite places to eat, it is always our tradition while visiting Provo to eat here both first when we arrive and also last before we leave. There is just something special about this place!

I honestly can not think of one bad thing to say about The Sands. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My family stayed here for 6 nights and we loved it. The room was clean and modern. Nothing seemed out of date or out of place. The pools and beach were excellent. The restaurant, Hemmingway's, was great too. I would say this- either go with an Ocean front view or not. Don't bother paying extra for an "Ocean View" room. We were in room 6205 and we could "view" the ocean, but only a very small part of it. It wasn't worth the extra money. Other than that we would definitely stay here again! The staff were also friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, General Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Mark O,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions.

We were delighted to know how much you and your family enjoyed your accommodations, the resort facilities and how friendly our staff is.

We can’t wait to welcome you all back to Providenciales in the future and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Mona Beeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I can't say enough good things about The Sands. My family and I stayed from August 9-14 and had booked a 2 bedroom oceanview. When we arrived I was told that we had been upgraded to a 3 bedroom oceanfront and that it was the best room on the property. I thought 'yeah right...they're just trying to butter me up because the room I booked wasn't available!' When the bellman brought us to the room and opened up the door, my jaw dropped. From the front door, you could see straight through the living room to the huge balcony, and there was Grace Bay. A completely unobstructed, panoramic view of Grace Bay. I couldn't believe it. The room was more than I could have ever imagined. Huge. Immaculately decorated. Floor to ceiling sliding glass doors that slid back to make the entire living room and master bedroom open. Huge kitchen, fully stocked with every appliance, utensil, or dish you would need to prepare a meal. Just perfect! And the staff here are very friendly and willing to help with whatever you need. Everyone from the front desk people, to the people at Hemingway's (who seated us immediately for dinner our first night even though we didn't have a reservation), to the guys at the hut to get towels and snorkel gear. They were all outstanding. The only blip we had was when we went to check out, I realized that local calls from the phone in the room cost $1 a minute. Perhaps a little sign on the phone would be nice, just to make sure everyone knows. But it only added up to about $25.00 so I just chalked it up to experience and I will know next time. When we come back there will be no question as to where we will stay. The Sands has our business for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxMama414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelter Island, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I am reluctant to share my experience of the Sands because I want to keep it my secret. My family has been staying at the Sands for over 10 years. We have come to know the staff and the island well. It is still a well kept property that has all the amenities of a hotel with the convenience of an apartment. The beach is the best. My kids love the different pools and connecting rivers. A day spent snorkeling is a must. Hemingways is reliable and the fish tacos are the best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sipatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Sands at Grace Bay is an exceptional condo hotel located directly on Grace Bay. The location is exceptional as it is mid Grace Bay allowing for easy beach walking to any of the restaurants and activities located on the water. in addition there are no large hotels or Condos on either side of the Sands leaving the beach surprisingly empty and private. There are shops, grocery stores and restaurants within easy walking distance from the Sands on the island side making its location even more attractive.

The property itself is very attractive featuring numerous palm trees and well manicured tropical grounds including two pools and a separate hot tub that are fantastic when the sun goes down and you are not ready to leave the water. One pool even features a lazy river that although shallow can be quite a lot of fun when looking for privacy under the starry Provo night sky.

The rooms at the Sands are FANTASTIC! We enjoyed a spacious one bedroom that featured many ammenities such as a washer and dryer, dishwasher, full size refrigerator, and a large kitchen table. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything from glassware to pots and pans and even a bottle opener! The condo was thoughtfully decorated with a casual elegance that quickly made you feel at home. Each condo is equipped with a spacious screened in porch that in my opinion is the finest place on the island to enjoy an ice cream cone while waiting for an afternoon rain shower to pass.

The service we experienced at The Sands was good anywhere but excellent by carribbean standards. the front desk staff ranged from excellent to slightly disinterested but for the most part was truly friendly and helpful. The house keeping staff goes above and beyond in many areas and are truly a jewel in the Sands crown. Sand brought in from the beach was swept out daily and dishes in the sink were put into the dishwasher and the dishwasher run providing clean dishes upon our return from a day on the beach. the staff on the beach are equally helpful moving chairs and planting umbrellas at your request. Check in early enough and Eddie will even take you for a cruise around Grace bay in one of the hotel's Hobie Cats.

The Sands at Grace Bay is an exceptional hotel located on one of the most beautiful beaches on this planet. The location of this property alone justifies the nightly room rate but the Sands offers so much more than just a bed and a roof and it does not take much research to discover the value this Hotel provides.

Room Tip: pay up for a one bedroom and you will get more than the nightly rate difference back by utilizing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d50kimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We've just returned from our annual family trip. Destination: Turks & Caicos! What an awesome adventure. The Sands is amazing!!!We're definetely planning to return and will definitely stay at the Sands. If you're exploring TCI hotels, the Sands is perfect! We had an ocean view, top floor 1 bedroom. Met some wonderful locals, (Bethel & Sonny from Bethel VIP & Taxi Services (son@tciway.com) who gave informative tours of Provo and also toured us to North & Middle Caicos. Mudjin Harbor is a must see!! We enjoyed the Thursday Night Fish Fry, Underwater Sub tour, Bugaloos, visited two local churches, Leeward Marina, some caves, and lots of beach time. What a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: would definitely do oceanview on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crobi79949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.7 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 43 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#13 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beaches Turks and Caicos Resort Villages and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#12 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#2 of 43 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Property: Sands at Grace Bay
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing