We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful By Nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2008

The perfect place to go for a relaxing vacation or destination wedding. Rooms were spacious and comfortable, pools were perfect, beach and huts were perfect. We enjoyed the free kayaks and snorkel gear. Hemingway's food was great for every meal. Jason, the concierge was helpful and made sure everything was perfect for our wedding on the beach. Terry at Hemingway's took care of our reception dinner and made sure we had the best table in the place at the end of the pier for our group. Only issues we had were our safe didn't work and after 3 days of trying to get batteries for our remote I finally bought some of my own. But for an 8 night stay that wasn't bad. Provo is beautiful and the weather was perfect. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank curtmac34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,575 - 1,581 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2008

I just returned from a Girls' trip to Turks and Caicos and we stayed at the Sands. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. The Sands is perfectly located smack dab in the middle of the Grace Bay Beach. The beach is big and beautiful, yet uncrowded. We stayed the first week in June and there seemed to be just enough people so we didn't feel secluded, but certainly not crowded or packed at all. We had a Garden View one-bedroom suite which offered a great view of the well manicured Gardens and pools and from our balcony (covered with screens which was LOVELY for morning coffee and evening nightcaps) we could see the beautiful blue/turqoise ocean. Simply gorgeous.

There is a full kitchen and dining room in the one-bedroom suite as well as a pull out coach. It was very spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Having said that, you don't feel a sense of stuffiness at all in the resort. It provides everything you need in a laid back atmosphere. We walked the entire beach and observed many of the other hotels, but none of them provided the tranquility, amenities and perfect placement on the beach as compared to the Sands.

The outdoor/beachfront restaurant on the property, Hemingway's, is a great spot. You can go from playing in the ocean to being seated at Hemingway's in 60 seconds. Very convenient.

The staff was friendly. Folks are definitely on an island speed so if you need assistance, like a bellcap, do order in advance. Whether traveling as a couple, group of friends or a family with kids, the Sands will not disappoint. A very lovely property with an AMAZING beach. The Tiki Huts and cabanas for the guest are great. They also have katamaran, various flotation devices, kayaks, snorkel equipment and hobie cats gratis for the hotel guests. The towel hut is right on the beach and always well stocked. You will find plenty of additional water sports (parasailing, banana boats, etc.) availabe for additional costs right at the tour desk located in the towel hut.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlissfulTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

My best friend & I recently took a girlfriends vacation for a weeks stay at The Sands. It was the first time for either of us at Turks & Caicos. This is definitely not an area for anyone who is a partier. Luckily neither of us are. We had a very nice relaxing vacation.

I would highly recommend The Sands for your stay. We had a 2 bedroom, ocean view suite. It was a small apartment with full kitchen & washer/dryer. It was nicely appointed & the maid service was great. It was wonderful that the balcony was screened. That area is known for being very buggy late afternoon & evening. If the balcony was not screened, there would be no way to sit out there & enjoy the view & weather. The restaurant at The Sands, Hemmingways, was very good. We ate there every day, breakfast & dinner. We tried various dishes & had nothing that was not delicious. Prior to going we read reviews that were good & bad about the resort & restaurant. We encountered nothing bad at all. The staff was friendly. They seemed to be on "island time"...meaning they don't move the fastest, but who is in a hurry on vacation anyway. They offered free use of rafts, wind sails, kayaks, snorkel gear & hobie cats. We used rafts daily in the beautiful calm waters. One day we went on one of the Hobie cats. Neither of us had ever been on one before, so one of the experienced attendents took us out. It was very enjoyable. They also offer shuttles to the local IGA twice daily at $8 per person. We needed to go only once to get the provisions we needed. Prices aren't as low as in the states, but then most things are imported to them.

The Sands is about in the middle of the stretch of Grace Bay. This made it ver convenient. We walked to both ends of the beach. From our walk we both agreed that the best stretch was in front of the Sands. Nicer sand & a wider beach area. We snorkeled down at Coral Gardens. It was ok, but compared to snorkeling in St Johns or Cozumel, there was no comparison.
We were also within walking distance of the larger plazas. Saltmills & Port of Calls. There were interesting shops & restaurants in both.

All in all it was a nice relaxing vacation. If you want to visit Grace Bay, I would recommend staying at The Sands.

Think my next visit to Turks & Caicos I will see what Grand Turk is like.

Stayed: May 2008
3  Thank Sunsuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We just got back from Providenciales. The Sands is a condo complex on the beach. We had a two bedroom ocean view and the ocean view was wonderful. There were glass doors from the living room and master bedroom onto the screened in juliet balcony. We spent half of our time in the room on the balcony.

The employees were very friendly and the room cleaning service was great. We had a washer/dryer and they supplied the soap for that and for the dishwasher. Every evening someone brought us bottled water.

I've been to a lot of beaches but this is the best one I've ever been to. Better than Paradise Island, Antigua, St Lucia, Barbados, Mazatlan, St Martin and the French Riviera.

You will not regret staying at the Sands they have free beach chairs and towels, beach umbrellas, hobie cat, wind surfboards and kayaks. There is also parasailing and banana boat rides for a fee.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katykaytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at The Sands. The location was perfect situated on a beautiful white sand beach with empty space on either side of the hotel. This was unusual since most of the other hotels were crammed in next to each other. The grounds were magnificent with three swimming pools, a jucuzzi, tennis courts and a restaurant (Hemingways). The restaurant was great for breakfast, lunch and bar drinks. The dinner food was average. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious with a sleeping area with a comfortable firm bed and soft feather pillows, a large sitting area with a sofa, chairs and flat screen TV, a bathroom (unfortunately the water pressure in the shower was terrible and I would have appreciated a make-up mirror), and we especially enjoyed the large screened-in patio. We reserved a studio with a graden view and were delighted to discover that we had a fabulous unobstructed view of the ocean. The views were best from the third floor but there is no elevator so be prepared to walk up three flights of stairs. The hotel included free water sports and we spent a day sailing on a hobbie craft and another day snorkeling at coral gardens (a thrity minute walk down the beach) The room had a cofee maker with complimentary coffee, a refrigerator, complimentary bottled water, a microwave and even a clothes washer and dryer (which we never used).. Unfortunately, our front door faced the east and the sun came in at 6:00 a.m. and woke us up. The staff brought us a black out shade which we hung over the door which helped eliminate the glare. We rented a car for a day but there is very lttle to see on the island. There is virtually no night life except for two small casinos. We had two gourmet meals at Coco Bistro and at Grace Cottage. The other restaurants were disappointing at best. My husband enjoyed eating at the Conch Shack but I'm not a fan of fried food. We loved our week at Turks and Caicos and hope to return to The Sands for another vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shuuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

We were looking for a laid back island with a great beach to renew our vows for our 10 year anniversary. Travelled with 5 yr old boy and almost 9 yr girl from Boston. FIrst time to T & C -

Had a horrible blotched vow renewal on the beach on Friday night which compromised the rest of the trip. The concierge, Jason, is TERRIBLE and basically incompetent. Started planning this ceremony with him in Jan. Can you say no cake, no flowers, no beach set up, no champagne, not the correct names, AND no inclusion of our requested poem AND a pastor who was clueless about who we are. Enough said - if you want the really gory details of incompetence PM me.

Suite - Oceanview 1 bedroom - building 6 - the rooms are quite lovely and come fully equiped, great screened porches. However I would not recommend building 6 - we had a constant stream of employees talking and the dumpster being emptied, not a great location.

After our not so nice ceremony, we were moved to 3206, a premium oceanfront room... it was amazing though a little too late. The room had a screen porch appr. 3 times larger than our last one and overlooked the pool area and ocean. If you could spring for this room - it is well worth the extra $.

Car - I would highly recommend renting a car - we used Grace Bay Rentals and while pleasant enough we had our share of problems... Paul was 40 minutes late at the airport to meet us, because of a broken down car - wonder if it was ours since our then broke down the next night. Island is easy to get around and driving was not as hard as we expected.

The Beach - Color is AMAZING, it exceeded our expectations!The first few days the water was rough and had an undertow. Day 4 we woke up to a big bathtub of a sea. Calm, warm and beautiful.

Staff - With the exception of Jason, we found the staff to be very, very friendly, always a hello and smile, the front desk was especially good ...Roselaurie wonderful! Went out of their way to help!

Pool and extras - Loved the pool area - 1st day we were the only family at the resort...kids loved doing the canal tour ( following the canals around. Plenty of floats, good snorkling equipment, always gota chair whether it was beach or pool side. Great service from bar.

Hemmingways - Thought the restaurant was very good, had a breakfast, lunch, dinner and many take-out from here to eat on our porch - this way we did not have to deal with kids having to sit and behave all the time, also saved $ because we had drinks at the room. The grilled caesar and fish and chips were very good.

Other restaurants -
Dinner at Tiki Hut - Wed. chicken and rib night - Fun place, but the food was dry and not very good. Kid's pizza was very good.

Dinner at Bay Bistro - average food though nice setting, kids meals outrageous! $12 a plate of spaghetti and $4.50 for milk

Breakfast at Saltmills Cafe - very fun and great wait staff, slow

Dinner at Caicos Cafe - Fabulous! By far our best meal, sad we didn't get back there for another meal

Lunch at Da Conch Shack - Great staff ( at least our guy was the others looked pretty sullen) great location, good food, missed the live music night our car broke down - would have been a fun night out.

Dinner at Coco Bistro - Loved the setting, food okay

Trip Highlights -

Booked a half day sail trip with Capt Tim and the Beluga - what a wonderful day!! Highly recommend

Photo session with Tropical Imaging on the beach at sunset - great photos, highly professional and fun.

Semi-Submarine Tour - out of turtle bay - kind of expensive but a great way to see the reef - enjoyable

Nissi House - had contacted the island's only orphanage and brought a suticase full of donations. Nice visit.

Snorkling - fun, easy and highly recommend.

All and all it is a beautiful island and while the Sands had a lot going for it, the front desk concierge services was so bad that it basically ruined the trip for us. We were not the only ones complaining about his lack of service. We will be back to the island though probably not to the Sands.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank musicmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

We chose to visit Turks and Caicos because of the direct flight available from New York. We brought our 2 year old son with us and wanted to visit an island with calm waters so that he could enjoy the ocean. Our vacation was perfect. We stayed in a Studio Garden View suite. The only annoying thing was that some of the rooms are still being renovated so you heard all the workers arriving early in the morning, sometimes talking right outside your door, playing music, or whatever. Other than that, the resort was great. Our rooms were clean and nicely updated. We had a small kitchen sink, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, and refrigerator. I was able to make my son breakfast every morning in the room which made things a lot easier. The restaurant "Hemingways" was good......nothing extraordinary, pretty basic menu items. We didn't travel to any other restaurants because food was pretty expensive and we didn't want to add to our bill with a $30 cab ride each way. Depending on how far you go, it's about $10 per person to take a taxi. We stayed a week and ended up spending about $1000 on food for the 3 of us. We didn't order anything crazy and even split our meals with our son to save money and still ended up spending that much. It would have been a good idea to take a taxi to the supermarket just a few minutes away to get basics for breakfast and lunch. The staff at The Sands and also at Hemingways were all very friendly and eager to please. The beach was incredible. Soft white sand and blue blue water with barely any waves at all. We floated on rafts in the ocean for hours at a time. The beach was never crowded and we were always able to secure an umbrella and table. They had plenty of sand toys for the kids, rafts, scuba gear, all kinds of things for the beach and pool. We plan to visit Turks and Caicos again, it was a great family vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MMarotta99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,541 reviews
1 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
2,000 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
1,586 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Grace Bay

Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $227 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, West Indies, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
The Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing