We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sands was Just What We Needed”
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
1 review
“The Sands was Just What We Needed”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Sands was a great place to say for our family of 5 - enough kids that we felt comfortable we weren't disturbing other guests, but not at all overrun with kids. The 2 bedroom was very roomy, and very well equipped The beach and water were awesome (and not crowded at all), the pools were nice, and the watersports equipment was almost always available. It was a laid back place, which was great. The staff was always helpful, and the rooms were super clean. Although not the biggest resort out there, and not the most posh, it was very nice, we definitely got a great value (relative to other places), and would highly recommend it for those that don't want/need the giant resort experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    664
    133
    51
    38
See reviews for
528
806
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The resort and grounds are very nice . Our room was a studio courtyard and I would not recommend it. Was very small and was in desperate need of painting and updating. We asked to upgrade several different times and were told nothing was available until 2 days before our departure. We found the front desk staff to be indifferent and arrogant. The rest of the staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant (Hemingways) had good food and good service. The beach area was beautiful with friendly, helpful staff. We would not stay there again unless we were guaranteed a larger, nicer room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was our second visit to the Sands. We stayed there in 2011, but they were sold out when we tried to book in 2012. We learned our lesson, and booked early this time. We were not disappointed. This remains our favorite winter retreat. The units are well appointed, clean and quiet. Their staff is very focused on guest satisfaction. Two (Riann and Jean) responded in less than 10 seconds to my call to the front desk regarding a room problem. Also, something seldom found in resorts: throughout our stay, every member of the staff took the time to smile and make us feel welcome. We had a 1 BR garden view room, and the WiFi allowed me to stay connected with my work and family. Our unit had everything we needed and cleaned daily. The beach remains the best on Provo. Safe environment, relaxing atmosphere. We'll return.

Room Tip: Garden view units are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWChicago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, General Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear JWChicago1,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate the time you took to let us know of your experiences and appreciate your kind remarks about the staff, services and particularly of Ri-Ann and Jean. We will be certain to share your comments with them and the entire team.

Indeed, we strive for guest satisfaction through offering friendly hospitable service from caring staff along with comfortable room accommodations and amenities at an ideal location. These are just some of the many reasons why we have been able to satisfy the majority of our guests.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write to us. We all look forward to your return and the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Mona Beeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a long weekend (Friday-Monday). I booked a single room studio when we arrived we were given a single bedroom suite-nice surprise.

The room was very clean and nicely appointed, everything you would expect it to be.

I chose this location based on reviews here with terms such as "Bang for your buck" and "Best value for your traveling dollar". I have to agree, after staying here this location seemed to be a very strong value. The staff was very pleasant and helpfull, Hemmingways was good, and the location on the beach is unbeatable.

This was our first time on the Island. My wife and I have been to several other Carribean Islands and have alway enjoyed them. The difference here is that the atsmosphere is very laid back and quiet. I didn't feel as though I was competing for a space by the pool or an umbrella at the beach.

Typically, we don't return to the same location simply because we like to explore other islands. That said, we both agreed that we will return here in the fall just to unwind. Thank you Sands.

Bryan

Room Tip: Its an upcharge, but the ocean front is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidra B, Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Bryan T,
Thank you kindly for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed Hemingways, the beach and our staff. We try our best to create an atmosphere where our guests can come unwind and enjoyed a relaxing vacation. It is so nice to hear that The Sands made such an impression that you have decided to return some day with us, we are all looking forward to your return.

Sunny regards,
Lidra Barranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a perfect week at The Sands (Feb 22-Mar 1, 2013). We stayed on the second floor of building #3 which is the closest building ( of 5) to the beach. We had a partial ocean view, which was just fine. If you want a full ocean view then be sure to specify. Room #3206, 3207, 3306 and 3307 are the best apparently. Our suite had a full kitchen, spacious living area, ver private screened porch (very airy and not at all view spoiling) and smallish bathroom and good sized bedroom. The furnishings are comfortable and it was very easy to control the suite temperature. It is simply a perfect place to stay. 30 seconds walk to beach and gorgeous pools. The beach front staff were very courteous and helpful, setting us up every morning with loungers, towels and umbrella. The beach is gorgeous, powder sand and azul, calm, warm waters. The food at the beachside restaurant Hemingways was very good. Budget $60 for lunch for 2 and double that for dinner! It is an well run condo resort. The front desk staff were very professional. Can't say enough about it, if you are looking to completely relax and enjoy Grace Bay. There are many excellent restaurants in the area if you feel like venturing out, but perfect also just to be at The Sands. We took a snorkelling trip with Big Blue which was amazing as we stopped at 3 different spots and saw an amazing range of species including a Reef shark. We also rode and swam with horses on Grace Bay. The stable is Caicos Coral and Annie and Francesca are excellent with the horses. We rode Chiquita and Angel! The highlight for our week was a charter fishing/whale watching trip. We flew to Grand Turks (20 mins on a 40 sweater for $318 return for both of us. Damien Noyes the captain of "Screaming Reels Tours" met us at the airport and we were in the boat 15 minutes later. It was a fantastic day! We caught 16 fish, including a 73lb wahoo, black fin tuna and baracuda. We saw humpback whales, dolphins and porpoises. The full day charter was half the price of the ones promoted on Provo and we had the joy of seeing the all the amazing marine life as well as touring the waters off Grand Turks and Salt Cay. Damien and first mate Elto were the best. We were dropped off at the airport in time for our 5:40 pm return flight, with tuna and wahoo for our Hemingwa's chef to prepare for our supper. Does it get any better than that? Make Turks and Caicos your next vacation destination! Young or old, families or couples you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Building 3 is closest to the beach, one side is quieter the other overlooks gardens, pool and ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hermanos_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with ocean views. Suite was immaculate and spacious, with high end kitchen, large balcony, and nice sized master bed and bath. Grounds were perfectly maintained, with lovely landscaping around the pool areas, an adults only hot tub, and the beach! Beach was every bit as nice as it looks in pictures, with beautiful caribbean blue water and gentle surf.

We were there week of Feb 16th, so peak high season. During week beach chairs were "reserved" very early. I had to walk down to beach by 7AM to put towels on chairs to hold them and have an umbrella put up. There were some families who came later and there were no chairs left; that was the only shortcoming of the place. They had kayaks and paddle boards for guest use, also bikes, a small sailboat, and tennis courts. All were complimentary and easily available.

There is a tiny convenience store on the property - as you'd expect prices were very high. There is a shuttle that runs to IGA grocery store once in the AM and once in the PM, price was about $10. Totally worth doing a big grocery run at beginning of week. Prices at grocery store were higher than US but not outrageous.

Taxi rates are also very high - to take cab to dinner was about $10 per person each way - so for our family of four it was $80 before tip just to go out. Because of this we mostly had dinner at restaurants within walking distance: Mango reef is 5 minute walk down the beach and is fabulous; Grace's cottage is one resort down and has beautiful garden dining; we also walked to a little shopping center about 10 minutes away and had a casual dinner at Pizza Pizza. I highly recommend all 3 places. Hemingway's is the restaurant at Sands and I thought food was just OK, the bar though is very nice.


One last comment on atmosphere. This is a smaller property compared to some of the mega resorts along the beach, and definitely catered to families. For us it was perfect - I wasn't looking for a kids clubs and tons of scheduled activities, I wanted a nice place to relax and that's exactly what we found.

Beautiful beach, excellent accommodations, I would definitely recommend. Only reason for 4 star vs 5 is that I travel a lot and would not consider this a "luxury" hotel, but again we were totally satisfied and had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyElizabethCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear MollyElizabethCT,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Sands at Grace Bay. We appreciate the time you took to let us know of your experience and that your stay was an excellent one. Your kind words about our clean rooms, maintained grounds, and beautiful beach will be shared with our entire staff.

With regards to the beach chairs we typically have more beach chairs than required for our size resort have not had this brought to our attention of late, however we will be sure to monitor more closely. Also, we shared your comments with our property manager so that he may make any necessary corrections.

Indeed, you are correct when you say prices are a little more than what you would pay in the US as everything is imported to the island, though this is not untypical of remote islands in general.

Again thank you, for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Sands.

Sunny regards,

Adrian Archer
Duty Manager
The Sands at Grace Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was my first time (but definitely not my last!!) visiting Turks & Caicos. From the moment we stepped out of the taxi and on to the property, we were in heaven! The staff is so amazingly friendly and helpful - the concierge who helped us book our dinner reservations, all of the wait staff at Hemingways, the gentlemen who work the beach (shout out to Bertrand for making sure we had a prime spot on the beach every day!)- we felt perfectly at home. The studio was much larger than we expected and had everything we needed- an enclosed veranda so we could enjoy our morning coffee and pre-dinner glass of wine, comfy couch & chairs, top quality mattress for a restful night's sleep, plenty of closet and draw space, ample lighting options, large bathroom with space for all our toiletries, and some amenities like a small refrigerator, coffee pot, toaster, microwave, stackable washer/dryer, and hair dryer. The grounds were immaculate and well-kept. Plenty of space at the pools and on the beach. We were there during school vacation week and never once felt crowded. Central location to some great spots- check out Grace's Cottage, Opus (best dessert ever for you coconut/caramel/chocolate lovers!), Seven, Coco Bistro, Baci, Danny Buoy's and Jimmy's Hideaway. Food on the island is pricey but worth every penny! The beach is phenomenal; I couldn't stop remarking on the color of the water and the soft, powdery sand. It was a slice of paradise and I can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We had a studio in building #2, second floor, ocean view - it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, General Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sherry S,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate the time you took to let us know of your experiences and that you had an excellent stay.

We will certainly share your kind remarks about the Concierge, Hemingway’s staff, Berthold and our grounds men with them and the entire team.

Also, we are delighted to know you enjoy the studio accommodations ample room and nice amenities. You are correct, we are located close to many wonderful dining and bar establishments, including shopping and galleries though most important and the main reason most tourist come is for the amazing world renowned Grace Bay Beach, voted on Trip Advisor as the #1 world’s best beach.

Again, thank you and I along with my staff all look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Mona Beeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#18 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
1.6 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#8 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Property: Sands at Grace Bay
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#19 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, West Indies, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing