We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful! A fantastic value for the price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful! A fantastic value for the price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We arrived on Saturday, 10/27/2012 and won't depart until 11/4/12. So far, our stay has been nothing short of perfect. The beaches (though rough seas d/t the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy) are STUNNING. Our veranda has an approximate 90* view of the sea, the grounds, and the pool.

Reading previous reviews, we were a bit apprehensive, specifically about the unfriendliness of the staff, the shabby rooms, the renovation noise...we have found none of that. The staff IS friendly...and professional. We Americans are used to all of our requests being met with a huge, fake smile and "AWESOME! OF COURSE, THAT WOULD BE AWESOME! I'D BE DELIGHTED TO FULFILL YOUR AWESOME REQUEST!" The staff here are both friendly and professional. The renovation noise is minimal, and the rooms are Key-West style charming. Our bed is so comfortable...we both agree we're having the best sleep of our lives.

We'll write a more comprehensive review later...just wanted to give a shout-out to The Sands at Grace Bay. We plan on bringing our five grown children + son-in-law next year!

Rob & Michelle Garver

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobMichelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    659
    132
    51
    38
See reviews for
523
802
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Quebec
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a week at The Sands at Grace Bay. This was our first visit to the Turks, we will definitively be back. Upon arriving we were treated to a rum punch and shortly after taken to our room. The staff was very friendly and the resort was very clean. Their restaurant Hemingway's served great food. Their fish and chips so fresh and not greasy plus you have a great view. The hotel's location was great and you could walk to many restaurants and shops. My only complaint was their bikes, many had flats and were not fixed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Despite hurricane Sandy's impact on the weather, we were able to enjoy our stay largely because of the well-equipped 2 bedroom suite with full kitchen, laundry, den and wrap-around balcony porch. Everyday there is a shuttle to the grocery store and back which we used three times during the week we were there. Most often, we cooked for the kids then went down to the restaurant Hemmingway's which was excellent. I do not advise you to take cabs as they are expensive and you can get to great restaurants like Mango Reef simply by walking a short distance down the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeff k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a week at The Sands at Grace Bay. We had a one bedroom garden view. It is a lovely, well appointed resort that is ideal for families looking for a quiet place on amazing beaches. There are many other newer properties with a more upscale feel all around The Sands. The hotel is very clean and the condos are all very spacious. The hotel staff were very laid back to the point it seems they are not really concnerned about your needs or desires. They all seemed either super bored or just lazy. This is a management issue that should be addresses. Having said that - I wish we had gotten an ocean view room but realized when we got there that not that many are truly ocean view rather ocean front. The views are truly breathtaking. These are some of the most beautiful beaches in the world (and yes, I have seen alot of them). Provo is worth a visit. The Sands is great for families who do not need or want daycare programs. It is not ideal for people looking for alot of action or nightlife. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: If you can spend the $ for an Ocean Front Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kikilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed in a two bedroom ocean view renovated suite for 5 days during a girls trip. The rooms were comfortable and fit the 5 of us fine.

Pros:
-The welcome rum punch was a nice touch
-The rooms were comfy and clean and they were quick to replenish things we were low on
-The grounds were pretty and clean
-The beach was gorgous and they had a server from Hemmingways come out and take drink orders

Cons:
-The smaller room did not have a mirror so we were fighting for the full length one in the master, the bathroom mirrors and the one hanging high over the sofa.
-The front desk wasn't very helpful. When the pool towel service didn't have anyone there or any towels available, the front desk and concierge which had 3 people working and no guests to serve told me to go to the gym to find some. Also, they had bikes, but all of them had flat tires and didn't want to fill them. When they realized we were going to wait for them to fill them they did so reluctantly and one of them went flat pretty soon after leaving the hotel

Room Tip: Ask for building 3 or 4 if you want a decent ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hokiegirl112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from The Sands yesterday. I couldn't resist writing a review because; I'm not going to lie, after reading other reviews, I was nervous about our decision to stay here. Immediately upon arrival, I knew that we made the right decision! I also realized from this vacation that there are plenty of people out there that are just way too hard to please. I understand when you go on vacation, you expect the best, but come on people, there are worse things in life! So here are some things people had issues with and my experience with them:

1) “The staff was rude/unfriendly.” - In NO way whatsoever did I come across a mean person in the hotel, nonetheless the entire island! By the end of the trip, a few staff members were even calling us by our first names. The concierge was also great, helping us plan our activities and dinner plans. The beach staff sets up umbrellas and chairs for you if there are no palapas available.
2) “The TV is out of date.” – Well apparently I wasn’t aware that people go to Turks to stay in the room and watch TV. We did watch TV while we were in the room in the mornings and at night and was perfectly fine with the quality of the TV. I didn’t realize people are so spoiled by HD and flat screens now a days, and this is coming from someone in their 20s!
3) “Grounds are nothing great.” “Pools are too small.” – The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. As for the pools, there are 2 pools, very nice. I can’t understand people’s issues here at all, because the pools are great. If you are looking for some lavish pool (infinity pool, lazy river, waterfalls, or whatever else it may be,) go to a resort that has that!
4) “Loud staff/noise from construction.” – Yes, we did hear construction going on, but it was nothing you could hear with your room door closed. Come on people, it’s not that bad! We were also there during off season so I can understand why they’d be doing construction at that time.
5) “To say our room is oceanview is a stretch.” – If you want to be directly in front of the water, request oceanfront. We had oceanview and no, it’s not directly in front of the water, but we still had a great view of the water.
6) "Rooms are dirty and there were bugs." - Have nothing to say but, this is not true!

All in all, The Sands was a great choice for us. We don’t have one complaint. We met other people over our vacation that had the same positive thoughts about The Sands. During our time there, we couldn’t believe we had even questioned our choice of hotel. If you are looking for a good time and a relaxed atmosphere, this place is for you. If you are difficult to please, I’d suggest going to the Gansevoort with all the other stuffy/pretentious people out there!!

Room Tip: Building 3 is the closest to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kdh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We just spent a week here with our two young kids. It was a fantastic week. We had a renovated 2 bedroom ocean view. I had some concerns about our stay after reading the reviews on here, but honestly we had a great week and can't wait to return to the Sands. Here are some quick thoughts on our stay:

The grounds:
- I very much liked the grounds. There is one main pool and a second small pool that has a meandering river that the kids loved swimming around. There were plenty of chairs around both pools, although given it was the off season I can't comment on what this is like when the hotel is full. The beach is amazing. The softest whitest sand you can imagine. It's a lot wider in front of the Sands than at other properties. The water was 84 degrees and calm (most of the days). There were plenty of palapas on the beach. Given we had two little ones, they didn't exactly let us sit in one place long enough to enjoy them but they looked great.

The staff:
- I read some reviews on here about mixed experiences with the staff. We found everyone incredibly nice and friendly. The staff constantly asked about the kids. Everyone smiled and said hello when we walked past. The check-in / check-out process could have been a little faster but the welcome drink made you quickly forget about that.

The room:
- Our room had been renovated so we had the new bathrooms and upgraded kitchens. While the Sands is definitely not as upscale as some of the other resorts, it was still very nice and felt like a bargain given what we paid. Both bathrooms were nice but small. The kitchen had granite countertops but somewhat outdated appliances. As one of the other reviewers said, there was an interesting mix of pots, pans and utensils but we were able to get bye. We brought coffee, dishwashing fluid, detergent, etc but ended up not using any of it as the hotel provided everything we needed.

Food:
- We had lunch at Hemingways a few times. I highly recommend the fish tacos! Overall the food was good pool bar food and very moderately priced. We didn't do dinner here but it looked relatively (for the off season) crowded every night.

Overall we had a great week and look forward to returning to the Sands again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DukeFlyer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#17 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
1.6 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Property: Sands at Grace Bay
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, West Indies, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing