We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had everything we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2008

Just back from the Sands for a week's stay. Yes, there were many families with children. However, the property is large enough that you can get away from them. The service is great. In fact, I found the service at all the restaurants I went to very prompt and friendly. The on site restaurant at the Sands, Hemingways is a great casual spot. The property is very well maintained with lovely gardens, pools and units. Housekeeping was great. The beach is large and the recreation staff are great about putting up extra chairs and umbrellas when needed. The Sands is well situated, close to great restaurants but with some space around. It had a friendly feel to it.

Provo in general is a great island for relaxing. The water and beaches are gorgeous. It is also very safe. I felt comfortable the whole time.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Naveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,582 - 1,588 of 1,890 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2008

Just returned from the Sands resort ... All in all it was a nice vacation.. the weather was wonderful... you have to see to believe the water.. it was like swimming in a giant swimming pool...Had a few blips checking in.. were checking in at the same time another couple were.. they recieved rum punch right away.. It was like we didn't exsist.. no punch for us..... We stayed in a gardenview studio.. It was fine for just the two of us.. Food was wonderful at Hemmingways.. service was very good too.. really enjoyed some of the waitresses...service on the beach was excellant...we probably won't ever come back though.. the number of children was unbelievable.. lots of babies.. screaming babies... I don't recommend this resort for people 40 and over with no children... or young couples with no children...I read alot of reviews and didn't read one about too many kids... was very upset when a family moved in to the condo next to ours two days before we were to leave. They had a screaming baby that woke us at 6:30 both mornings.. I don't understand these parents today.. Kids at dinner were loud and uncontrollable.. we had to move our table a few times.. they over ran the main pool ... we didn't even attempt to swim in it..... if you want a place on the beach to relax and read a book or take a nap this might not be the place for you... Kids are taking over everywere... I guess we will only go to adult only resorts from now on....Turks & Caicos Island is a beautiful place to visit.. do your homework.....

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank patty568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

We stayed at the Sands in mid-February and enjoyed perfect weather. Always sunny and in the 70s with a constant breeze. Surrounded by palms and manicured gardens was enjoyable but there was constantly maintenance crews at work. A minor distraction.

The soft white beaches and crystal clear waters were never crowded but with the number of new resorts being built, it won't last. It was fortunate that we went when we did.

Meals at local restaurants were interesting and well prepared but service is probably as bad as you'll see anywhere. Reservations are a good idea. Conch is available in every presentation imaginable and quite tasty. There is a short tour available at the Conch Farm that is worth seeing.

Ever buy a six-pack of beer for $40? That's the convenience store price for six of the local brew, Turk's Head. The amber was my favorite. The Graceway IGA has six-packs for around $11.

Overall, it was quite an expensive stay but no regrets here.

6  Thank DT19Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We're here now and loving it!

We are on our 7th day at the Sands at Grace Bay and we already are thinking about when we can book our return trip here! The beach is unbelievably beautiful with white, soft sand, turquoise clear water and the most wonderful spot on Grace Bay. The 3 pools offer seclusion and lush flora and fauna, with waterfalls and ample lounge chairs.

Truly a place to visit and enjoy a slice of paradise!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dft220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2008

We recently spent 5 nights at the Sands at Grace Bay.


Property:
Loved it. Pretty quiet property especially when compared to the packed house/beach at Beaches' Resort. There always was room on the beach. 1/2 hour walk to Coral Gardens with some pretty fabulous snorkeling--there was even an EAGLE RAY circling around! Also have a couple computers with free internet by the fitness center, but we didn't bother touching anything that might involve work the whole time we were there... after checking my email at home, I'm glad I never looked.


Room:
We had a Gardenview Studio on the second floor of Buliding 5. The room was clean, had nice amenities like a free safe, refrigerator, microwave, utensils/plates, and a strategic view of the jacuzzi. Had a few minor complaints: 1) there was some roof work on the morning after we arrived (made sleeping late a little hard), 2) the room was located close to the stairwell where whoever did the morning sweeping would clang the railing pretty loudly. Take home point--try to get a room away from the staircases if you plan on sleeping past 8:00am.


Food:
Overall, we were pretty lazy and never strayed too far from the property. As expected, the food was a little pricey, but overall good enough.
Hemingway's (Sands) -- continuing with the lazy theme, we ate here a lot. Pretty decent food with reasonable prices. We liked the Conch Salad (essentially a ceviche-like dish with the conch being the consistency of squid ceviche if you're into that) and the Mahi Fish Tacos.
Bay Bistro (Sibonne) -- had the Bouillabaisse, Coconut-Crusted Conch, and Key Lime Pie which were good.
Simba (Turks & Caicos club) -- ate lunch here and had the Conch Fritters (good) and Fish & Chips (not so good). Notably, the chef likes using a Tempura-like batter for all of the above which is novel.
Orchid (Alexandra) -- had the buffet dinner here. I ate my fill, but it was definitely not worth the $25/head.

The local beer Turk's Head Amber is good enough--malty and light. A little weak for my tastes, but very drinkable. In the future we'll probably bring our own wine/liquor/maybe beer to same some $$$.


Caicos Adventures:
Dove 3 days with these guys and had a great time. No complaints. Enthusiastic, friendly staff. A vacationing dive instructor dove with us the last day (which is always a good sign about the quality of the dive op). We dove West Caicos all 3 days which was fantastic--as good if not arguably better than the Bloody Bay Wall in the Caymans. A pretty fantastic diversity of sea-life: lots of fish (small to huge), rays, reef sharks, coral. We came during whale season. We saw whales on the surface 4/7 dives and a handful of the quick/fortunate had a whale dive UNDER them when we swam after one in shallow waters. Another time, we just dropped anchor when a whale surfaced just 50 feet off the stern.


Heard on the Boat/in the Jacuzzi:
1) one couple was very displeased with their dive trip with Big Blue
2) lots of construction adjacent to Alexandra right now
3) Snorkeling at Smith's Reef is better than Coral Gardens
4) Da Conch Shack and Smokey's are great places to eat
5) Comfort Suites is a good property (we'll be using them in the future when we have a SCUBA-itch).


Overall, Sands and Caicos Adventures lived up to their billing and we'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank TofuNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

Beautiful beach!! Crystal clear water and perfectly calm. The sand was so fine and powdery. Just perfect!! The resort itself, although very nice, could use some improvements. The rooms were slightly outdated. This didnt bother us much though because everything else there was so beautiful. The pool was clean and the restaurant was very nice. I would recommend eating at other places outside the resort just so you have more of a variety. The menu at the resort restaurant gets kind of boring when you eat there for evey meal. Most places are either a short walk down the beach or a cab ride away. Perfect. Would absolutey go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hayleybayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

Just got back from Turks and Caicos, stayed at the Sands. Great Island, get there now, lots of development going on, but it is not a distraction. Great place for a quiet getaway, not much of a nightlife, but Calico Jacks is fun, beware of too much rum punch. The Sands was great, stayed oceanfront and I do not care what others say, it was worth it. Ate at Anacoana the last night, best restaurant on the island, expensive though. Ride bikes around the island, lots of fun, best beach and water I have ever seen.

Thank takemeaway33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,516 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
489 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,992 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#8 of 44 in Providenciales
1,574 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Grace Bay

Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $240 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
The Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing