We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, peaceful, gorgeous, relaxing etc...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing, peaceful, gorgeous, relaxing etc...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our one year anniversary. It was our first time to Turk and Caicos and we loved every minute of it. We were so sad to leave. It is the place you want to go if you just want to get away and just relax sip a cool drink and sit in crystal clear aqua waters. The hotel was so nice and it was clean so clean. The grounds are well kept and the staff we have nothing bad to say about them. They were all so wonderful!! Victor the night security guard heart of gold, Ann-Leslie front desk girl she helped me get ready for our professional pictures we took on the beach. Both Lidra and Miguel the two managers we met were so great. They kept their beach very nice and clean and they combed it every morning. There are just so many good things about this place. It is over all a great place for couples, families, babymoons, honeymoons or a wedding. We plan to go back and we would only stay here at The Sands.

Yes the food is expensive but everything is fresh and very good we enjoyed every meal we ate. Go to super-market when you get there get stuff for your kitchenette it will save you some money. Also if you can rent a room with a full kitchen. Its better bc Dinners are expensive there more so then breakfast or lunch.

Room Tip: Advice go to the Market when you get there and buy stuff. All rooms have a toaster oven and microwav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Cristina C,

Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words. We were thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay . We will be certain to pass on your comments to our entire team as well as those who were especially mentioned.

You are correct many of our guests come to The Sands at Grace Bay with their families to celebrate birthdays, weddings, babymoons, honeymoon etc.

We hope to see you back very soon and our staff will be happy to see your familiar faces.

Kind regards,
Lidra Barranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    642
    130
    51
    36
See reviews for
511
792
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I went to the Sands without kids for a week of relaxing and peace and quiet. The resort was the perfect destination for us. The grounds are beautiful and the beach is spectacular. There is plenty to do on the beach - kayaks, sailboats, paddleboards, floats - lots of quiet spots by the pools, great food at Hemingway's, nice spa services, and general feeling of unpretentiousness that suits us perfectly. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor with an updated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LauraNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at The Sands on Grace Bay. We enjoyed our stay very well. The Sands is located at the quieter end of the beach, making it seem less crowded. The beach is very wide and there are plenty of huts and umbrellas as well.

We especially enjoyed the very clear, calm waters of Grace Bay. We saw starfish, conch, sand dollars, barracuda and seargant fish in the ocean at the hotel, but for the best snorkeling head down the beach to Coral Gardens.

The food at Hemingways was good and so was the pizza from Pizza Pizza. We took a carry on bag full of snacks for eating between meals and on the beach, so we felt the prices for food were fair for what one expects to pay on vacation. One tip regarding water or drinks: the tap water at the hotel has an after-taste, so I suggest purchasing a couple gallons of water at the gift shop or the IGA and refill your bottles for taking down to the beach. Some of the guests brought hot/cold bags or small collapsable coolers and purchased ice and drinks (I assume at IGA).

Our accomodations were in a 1-bedroom studio garden view (although, from what we could tell, most of the views are generally the same with the exception of "courtyard") and we were content with our location. Our room had a small kitchen with mini-fridge, microwave and plenty of dinnerware. The biggest surprise was the luxury of a washer/dryer! It's so nice to be able to wash and dry your swim clothes to have them fresh for re-use during your trip!

In summary, I highly recommend The Sands for a relaxing, quiet time in a beautiful place. We took the trip in early celebration of our 20th wedding anniversary and would definitely consider this location again for our 25th.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WethreeKnoxvilleTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear WethreeKnoxvilleTN,



Thank you for your recent posting regarding your stay at The Sands at Grace Bay and congratulations on your 20th wedding anniversary! We were delighted to know that you and your husband enjoyed yours stay and that you both had a relaxing and quiet time in our little paradise of the world.

We appreciate your remarks about our product and services and have shared them with the entire team. Indeed, having a washer and dryer is just one of the many amenities offered at The Sands.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We are all look forward to welcoming you back for your 25th wedding anniversary next year. Please let us know when we you are ready rebook your stay for your very special occasion.



With warm tropical regards,



Mona Beeson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodlettsville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were at the Sands for a week. It was clean, beautiful grounds, friendly staff, and beautiful beach. No complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a screened in porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Just a bit of background: My husband and I are huge beach people we've been to Turks before and last time stayed at Ocean Club West which isn't super fancy but is low key and nice, which seemed like the Sands would be comparable to. The Sands was okay, but personally I don't think I'd stay at this resort again. Details below.

Originally, we wanted a 3 bedroom room for the 3 couples but we found out one room has a murphy bed, and nobody wanted that, so we all booked separated studio courtyard rooms. Normally I would splurge and go for the ocean view but our friends weren't and we figured we'll all be out together anyway. Based on other reviews here, it did seem everyone got a screened in porch so we figured who cares. Upon check-in, the other two couples both got room upgrades randomly - one to a one bedroom suite, and the other to an ocean view studio. My husband and I (who were staying longer) did not receive anything. I would recommend NOT getting a courtyard studio by any means. It did not have a screened porch, or washer dryer. Both of our friends rooms did. It was disappointing because it is very bugg-y at night and we had no where to escape the bugs but get the breeze. We inquired with the front desk about getting a room with porch since our friends did, and we all booked the same thing but they did nothing, and were actually a bit rude. We figured ok, they got lucky, we didn't. We had some other issues with our room, TV and and phone did not work, and went to tell the front desk. After asking if it could be fixed while we went to dinner, they just walked away, with NO resoponse! We were very annoyed and thought it was pretty poor customer service, but the items were fixed.

Other Sands note:
- most of front desk staff not very friendly
- rooms are pretty dated
- there are shrimp-like/cock-roach like bugs.
- do not get the studio courtyard room, the extra money will be worth it
- i've never complained about sheets on beds, but these are fairly uncomfortable especially if you have a sunburn
- bring bug-spray for dusk/nighttime
- not tons to walk to nearby

Other things to note:
- Hemingways is great. The lunch is pretty fairly priced. The bar staff are super nice. A zillion times nicer then the front desk staff.
- Grocery you can ride a bike to is nearby. Basket doesn't carry tons, we brought a backpack too
- Island Vibes did great snorkel tour. Didn't see the best fish/coral of my life, but crew was great and it was fun. The boat wasn't super huge if that matters to you but there was some shade.
- Sibonne, hotel next door's restaurant very good, but pricey, as most places are
- Danny Bouy's is the worst food ever. Do not go there.
- Sushi place nearby is so-so. Lots of rice on sushi which to me isn't great, but not the worst.
- Pizza Pizza - cheap and okay

Other notes:
I've been to many of the other fancier restaurants on the island before (Coyoba, Mango Reef, etc.) They are all good, just very expensive. You just need a car or cab to get to.

Hope this helps you out in some way, happy travels.

Room Tip: splurge to have a screened in porch and washer dryer. it would be well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrooklynGirlie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear BrooklynGirlie22,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to know you enjoyed the many apsects of the resort including Hemingway’s, the bar staff and the use of our complimentary bicycles.

We would like to respond to your comment regarding upgrades. Unfortunately, upgrades rarely occur due to our resort model as well as limited availability. Often times, we receive many requests for upgrades but alas we cannot fulfill them all. Our rooms are reserved in the category purchased and when available can be upgraded based on an upgrade fee. Also, reservations team may not always be privy to who is traveling together therefore it would be helpful to contact us directly for more information and assistance particularly if your reservations are coming from a third party.

We were sorry to learn that you found our front desk staff unfriendly. We usually receive so many complimentary remarks on our service and regret that your experience was not exceptional. Additionally, we are sorry you had experience pests in your room. We have monthly on-going pest control in all our rooms and resort wide to combat pests however these things may happen from time to time. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

Again, thank you for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Providenciales.


Kind regards,
Lidra Barranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed 9 nights, so are a pretty good judge of Sand.

Net...we had a very good stay on the island. Will go through pros and cons.

Pros
- Bikes. They have 12 bikes you can check out. This was fun memories. We would check them out to go to the Gourmet Grocery IGA just about 5 minutes away and then bike back with cokes, snacks for breakfast/lunch, and such. We would also check them out and bike to dinner most nights here and there.
- Watersports. During the day, we would grab beach chairs with umbrellas, read by the pool all day also with a view of the ocean. To take breaks, we would go down and check out the Hobi Cats, Wind Surfboards, Kayaks, and Paddle Boards. All very fun, and the watersports staff was very nice.
- Chairs/Umbrellas. There were always plenty of chairs and umbrellas, both by the pools and by the beach. This was nice and a little unexpected. No need to go down and reserve your chair early in the day.
- They had plenty of pool space, with some of thm snaking around and inter-connecting. Lots of areas to hang out. Very fun.
- AC made rooms cool. We'd crank down to 65 and sleep great!
- Microwave/Refrigerator. This was great. We woud have popcorn in the afternoons, plenty of cold cokes and all our refrigerator stuff. Again, Gourmey IGA only 5 minutes away, and the bikes have baskets!

Cons
- Towels (minor). The towels by the pool were a bit small and often stained up a bit.
- Watersports closed at 4pm, and sometimes they woudl start pulling up equipment at 3:40. The other resorts didn't close up shop unitl 5pm, so this was a bit dissapointing to go down there at 3:45 and to be rejected.
- pool cleanliness. We were there 9 days, and there was often debree and some film in the pools. they cleaned them everyday, just not throughout the day. Not a huge issue at all.
- room noisyness. We stayed in a standard studio with refridgerator/microwave, and basically these rooms have a simple adjoining door that is locked to separate 2 of them. We had neighbors that came in when the bar closed every night at 1:00am or whenever, and woke us up. They were not being crazy loud, but it is paper thin, so we would hear them for hours. We called security one night, who came up, but still frustrating as it happened numerous nights. We turned ont he bathroom fan and shut our bedroom door to help drown it out.
- Rooms a bit dated - we are not super picky. Our room only had a full bed (no king/queen), and old school TV in living room but not in bedroom, but overall still ok. AC worked great and made rooms cool, so we were fine.

Restaurants
- Hemingways serves lunch until 6pm, so you could order off their lunch menu if you went early at 5:30, and it was really good food.
- You have to try "Somewhere" about a mile down on Grace Bay Beach. This was by far our favorite spot. For a very good dinner price, you could have an amazing upstairs view right on the beach. "Somewhere" is down near Coral Gardens on Grace Bay. Awesome huge nachos for $11, and awesome food all-around, service is so friendly, and the view and sunsets is great. We went back to "somewhere" 3 different times.

ISLAND SPOTS
- Providenciales - Great reef that made the water flat and protected.
- Alternatives - at Turks, you look off into TEAL and then deep blue water. Really nice, but not looking off to other islands in the horizon. I think our favorite spots are such as St. John, St. Thomas, etc., where you are looking off to a pluthera of other islands, so you get more color variation in the water as it is changing depths, etc. Turks is great, though.

NET...very happy we stayed at Sands at Grace Bay. Such a value for the dollar compared to similar resorts.

Everything is pretty new on the island as their building book is probobly only 25 years old, so there are probably a lot of other nice options as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eastern_Caribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just returned from Sands at Grace Bay. I agree with others who reviewed this resort. The grounds are beautiful, well maintained and it is located on a beautiful stretch of beach. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. It was clean and maid service was wonderful. However, the bathroom was just about big enough for one person to stand and no place to store your toiletries. It needs an update and unfortunately their nothing that can be done about the size. The bedroom was also small, furniture needs updating, pillows were the worst I ever slept on. Again, not much place to put your clothing. The headboard constantly banged on the wall when you turned in bed. The sliding doors in the bedroom were off the track. We had maintenance there 3 times and it was still not fixed right. They needed new rollers and after the third time they were there they finally admitted it, said they would return to fix it, we never saw them. The hair dryer broke and when I called to have it replaced they talked to me like I was an idiot and did nit know how to work a hair dryer. They came to look at it after at least 45 minutes, then had to leave to get a new one to replace it. The whole ordeal took at least 1 1/2 hours. To replace a hair dryer? Whenever I needed to call for service for the room I was treated like I was annoying them. I understand that to some people I might sound picky but when I pay good money and go on a vacation I expect things to work right and if something arises I expect them to be fixed without attitude. The beach and ocean were spectacular. I would return to Turks and Caicos but not to this resort.

Room Tip: High floors have a better ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 03lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear 03lady,

We would like to thank you for your review and kind remarks about our grounds, beach and maid services.

Indeed, we are updating all our guest room bathrooms having already completed one building and the remainder will be completed December 03rd, 2012.

We are sorry to learn of our response to the maintenance issue and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Your comments have been shared with our entire team.

Again, thank you for your feedback. It is because of caring guests such as yourself that we have a concrete basis for improvement. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Providenciales.

Kind regards,
Lidra Barranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#15 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#8 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#16 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Property: Sands at Grace Bay
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing