We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation at the Sands” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great vacation at the Sands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I read a lot of reviews before going to Turks and it's true. The Sands is NOT a 4 star hotel but..there is no reason not to go. It is very comfortable and clean and well cared for. My room was not in one of the front buildings but it isn't far to the beach from anywhere. The beach is beautiful and not very crowded. Much better than Beaches Resort where you can barely move between chairs.

.Hemingway's was good and very nice at night.There are many good restaurants close. Bella Luna and Parallel 23 were our favorites. The only disappointment for me was the pools. There are 3 if you count a 12ft diameter kids pool and a second one smaller than a backyard pool. So there is one large one that isn't really large. The winding river is nice but really just for kids, being 2ft deep and up to 2ft 6 in at most. The beach makes up for it.

The best part are the people. Everyone was genuinely kind and helpful un like The Dominican Republic where they are actually mean and not helpful at all.

I would definitely recommend going. The island is beautiful.

If you like to snorkel check out the Sun charters for the best trip. The owner is very knowledgeable and doesn't herd you around with a million people. You can go to private quiet places with tons of wildlife. It was amazing. The ship is called Atabeyra. The best trip out of 4 other islands, personal service, don't miss it! call 231-0624

Room Tip: buildings 3 and 4 are the best but I requested that and didn't get it. Worth a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swimmer96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    641
    130
    51
    36
See reviews for
511
791
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I just spent a beautiful 11 nights at the Sands. It is absolutely gorgeous. Especially nice, and as far as we could determine somewhat unique, the pool has many private & quiet areas. Unlike other resorts that we visited while there, the pool is not a large central location with chairs surrounding, but rather a quiet wandering pool, with hidden areas to relax. If you have never been to TCI, you are going to be amazed at the clarity of the water and how soft, powdery and white sand is. With the free snorkel and fins from the resort, we were able to explore many snorkeling areas around the island, and were not disappointed. The Staff at the Sands, bar none, was polite and helpful. Be sure to explore restaurants down the beach both left and right of the resort. Every night we had a torch-lit dinner next to the ocean in various locations. I have been to many places in the Caribbean, and would rank TCI a very good choice. My only criticism is that things are extremely expensive, which you do have to expect when traveling to an island. (gas was $6.76/gal while we were there, cash only). There are two large IGA's for groceries & once you get over sticker-shock, it really was very nice to have an American style grocery store available. We would recommend this location. And if you're interested in buying, contact Sotherby's- their signs were on about two out of every three houses we passed. Thank you to the Staff at the Sands, you've made our trip extremely enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visited the Sands for the first time for my 50th birthday (4/9-4/14/12) and brought along my daughter and her friend, both 17. The longer the we were at the Sands, the more we liked it. All of us agreed it was one our best beach vacations ever. The beach and location were spectacular. Most of the hotels clean the beaches each morning, but the Sands seemingly rakes the entire beach front every day.

Our 2 bedroom unit was perfect for the 4 of us and very spacious. We spent a lot of time on the porch, rode bikes to the local grocery store and shops, and relaxed on the beach. The staff are terrific and very helpful and even showed us some other 2 bedroom units in other buildings for a possible future trip. We also made full use of all the free watersports available on the beach (hobie cats (they will sail it for you or you can do it yourself) kayaks, paddle boards, and windsurfers). There are plenty of permanent grass umbrellas available, but if those are all occupied, the beach staff will bring out lounge chairs and put in umbrellas for you as well.

We were in building 1, unit 1103, which was ocean view and ground floor. I would recommend an ocean view a little closer to the ocean and on the second floor or higher. However, the gardens and pool are beautiful, so wherever you are will be lovely.

We brought workout gear, but never made it to the small fitness facility below ground - not the best, but since the beach was always beckoning, our workouts consisted of long walks on the beach. Walking by Beaches (very hectic and crowded) and some of the other resorts, made us appreciate the vibe at the Sands even more which was friendly and relaxed with plenty going on if you wanted it. It was just the right amount of people around for us.

Hemingway's is a nice option on site and there are numerous restaurants within walking distances on the beach, many offering live music for dinner. Our favorite was Bay Bistro which was literally a 6 min walk from the Sands on the beach.

At check out, we learned that repeat guests get a discount on future trips. Based on our experience, we will definitely be back to the Sands!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Expandyourhorizons2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

This was our second trip to Provo and our first stay at the Sands. Previously, we stayed in a rental across the road from the beach. We decided for our next trip back to the island, we wanted to be in a beachfront resort with a pool and a restaurant onsite. We found a nice deal on Jetsetter and had an amazing stay at the Sands.

We stayed in a 1-br garden view. Clean, tidy, and functional. Just a random whistling noise that would occur frequently, not coming from the A/C, and we couldn't figure out where it was coming from. The porch faced the ocean, which was great! But if you are a light sleeper, you may want to ask for a bedroom that is not off the pool/main grounds.

Pools were great! Nice option when the beach was rough. Beachfront was perfection, as is all of Grace Bay. What sets the Sands apart are their huts, their friendly staff setting up chairs and umbrellas when all the huts are taken, and the lovely Hemingway's waitresses serving lunch and drinks on the beach.

Easy walking distance to the Saltmills and local restaurants. Daily taxi service to the grocery store came in handy, as well as easy access to taxis in general if you want to go explore beyond your walking leisure. Friendly and accommodating staff, all around. We did not encounter one unfriendly Sands staff member.

All in all, I would definitely stay there again. Book it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fun-happy-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidra B, Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear fun-happy-traveller,

We are glad that you decided to give us a chance and delighted that you had such a great experience. We believe the noise you heard in the room may have been from the wind. With the screened in porch and being near the beach you may hear the wind whistling.
We will share you compliments with our team members, and know it will put a smile on their face and it also show hard work pays off. Thank you kindly for your review and we hope to see you in the near future.


Regards,
Lidra Barranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

I've been going to the sands for over a decade now, and I must say, this hotel is fantastic. The biggest plus with this hotel is in its name- the sand(s). It's located on the single best place on grace bay. I am an avid traveler and I've never found a better beach outside of a hotel. If there ever is debris that washes up on shore, the staff works quickly to remove it and restore the pristine white sand beach. I've always had the better rooms... Such as 3301 or 3305, snd the views simply don't get better. The screens are also nice to keep out all the bugs. Smart move Sands... The hotel staff are friendly, but never in the way. They seem to kind of, disappear when you just want to relax. This is a more family oriented hotel it seems, so the layout is simple, as is the food at hemingways. Maybe some of the dishes could use a little more work, but the location is prime, and service runs at a good pace. If you love the beach, and want a hotel that isn't overwhelmingly noisy and a tourist hell hole (erhm BEACHES) then look no further because sands is paradise. Ive been coming for 10 years... And I don't plan on stopping. Hats off to you, Sands.

Stayed November 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidra B, Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Car A,

Thank you for your continued and loyal patronage to The Sands.

We shared your comments with our entire team and truly appreciate your candid feedback.

You have been a retuning guest of ours for many years, we are honored to have you consider The Sands as your home away from home.

We can’t wait to have you back with us and we sincerely appreciate your support over the years.

Regards,
Lidra Barranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Grace Bay has to be one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, and The Sands is a great place to enjoy it. Pick up a towel on your way to the beach and let the guys know how many chairs you'd like set up under an umbrella. Sail out into the crystal clear water on one of their hobie cats, or head out on a sea kyak. Pools scattered through the middle of the complex w/plenty of lounge chairs in both shady and sunny areas. Condo has an incredible view and is very spacious and comfortable. Huge balcony makes it even better. Great place for couples and families.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCD-OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidra B, Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
We are please to hear that you had such an amazing time. Your review almost sounds like you are advertising for us.

We will share your comments with our staff and hope to welcome you back to Providenciales soon.

Regards,
Lidra Barranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We just returned from a family vacation at The Sands. The beach is gorgeous with complimentary use of kayaks, paddle boards, hobie cats, and snorkel gear. There are no resorts to the right and left of the Sands so the beach really seems spacious. Every member of the staff (and everyone on the island) is sincerely warm and friendly. The pools are clean and fun. (They are installing a heater but we found the pool temperature perfect even without.) Could The Sands be slightly more luxurious? Perhaps, but our oceanfront room felt like home for the week with well stocked kitchen, books, lots of towels and clean rooms. Instead of paying double or even triple for some of the more upscale resorts we were happy with our choice and spent our time and money on enjoying everything Grace Bay has to offer.

Room Tip: Buildings 3 and 4 are closest to the ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BettePow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidra B, Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Bette Pow,

Thank you so much for your review. We delighted to know you had a very nice stay with us and appreciate our friendly staff and services.

Also, we were happy to learn the pool temperature was good for you and your family and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,
Lidra Barranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#5 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#14 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#16 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Property: Sands at Grace Bay
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, West Indies and Jetsetter so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing