We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Better late than never - Review of Sands at Grace Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better late than never - Review of Sands at Grace Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Well, sure, this review is late, but people get busy, ya know. :)

My wife and two sons (5 years old, 9 months old) stayed for a week here in September 2011. We had originally been booked into the Beaches in Turks and Caicos, but they shut themselves down for renovations, forcing us to look for other accommodation. All I have to say is "Thank God Beaches shut themselves down", as Sands at Grace Bay was absolutely wonderful.

We had originally been booked into the Oceanview 2 bedroom unit, but after dealing with a few minor issues with the room, we were moved to a Oceanfront 2 BR unit, and all I can say is "Wow". The bonus of this resort that you don't see in all the T+C resorts is a fully-screened- in balcony. With the big-time mosquito population at night, this made a huge, huge difference. It was wonderful to sit on the balcony (which I ball-parked at being at least 600 sq ft) in the early morning or late at night and just enjoy the view and atmosphere.

The unit was spacious, with 2 full bathrooms, and two very comfortable bedrooms. They also gave us a very nice crib for our baby son. A fully-equipped kitchen and a washer/dryer also helped a lot.

The swimming pools were such a highlight that just yesterday, our 5 year old asked us if we could go back to T+C to swim in the pools. There were several of them - a large one near Hemingway's; a smaller one with a waterfall and a lazy river; and another one tucked away. This is where we spent a lot of our time. The beach was also wonderful, and when everyone says that T+C have the best sandy beaches, they are not lying. Never in my life had I seen the white sand beaches they have on T+C. The water was so clear, we could see schools of fishes swimming around our ankles!

Hemingway's, the on-site restaurant, was a treat to eat at. Our 5 year old, without any prompting from us, managed to order a different thing off of the kid's menu each day, and loved it all. I myself was partial to anything conch-related, but they did a great job with all of the food. Hemingway's also "delivers" to you pool-side, which was a big plus, when you have 2 kids and need to watch them.

I would not complain about anything from our trip, as the service and the attentiveness that the staffr showed us was quite nice.

Room Tip: Try and splurge for the oceanfront rooms. But even if you just end up with oceanview, units are tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bootsienguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    604
    121
    50
    31
See reviews for
474
736
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My husband and I visited last week for 7 days for our first trip to Provo. What a beautiful resort and the beach! Provo has the best beaches that I have been too and I have traveled all over the Caribbean. The staff was friendly. The room was nice but the walls are thin. We could hear our neighbors because there was a door between both rooms. Maid service was excellent. The pools are beautiful and clean. The sands has everything you need. Really don't need to leave.

The 2-3 waitresses that serve the drinks at pool also serve you food and drinks on beach. The drinks run about $8. 2 drinks with tip will be about $20. Hemingways is awesome. I highly recommend breakfast which kept us full till 4 pm and the lunch s excellent.

Highly recommend this resort. A+!

Room Tip: Buildings 1-3 are close to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Turks for some much needed R and R. Sands at Grace Bay was perfect! The bed was comfortable and shades made the room dark. This was perfect for catching up on sleep. We ate at Hemingways, the resturant on site everyday for at least one meal sometimes all 3. Every meal was PERFECT! When going to the beach there was always someone there to hook us up with chairs and an umbrella. We will be back again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We saw pics of the pools and stunning beaches at The Sands at Grace Bay on the weekend and found ourselves referring to the resort as our 'home away from home.' Got married there in March 2011 and couldn't wait a full year before returning so we went back in December. Love the laid-back atmosphere, the spacious rooms (admittedly dated) and balconies, the friendly staff, Hemingways and the convenience to groceries and dining -- all within walking distance. Stayed at The Somerset (bad customer service) and the stunning Regent Palms (great staff and serious luxury, but expensive), but The Sands is where we'll return to year after year. Clientele is a good balance of couples, young and old, and families. Great place to relax and work on your tan.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CButter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We just got back from a 7 day trip to The Sands. We stayed in room 3301, and loved it. The unit was very clean, housekeeping daily, it was prefect for us and our 2 young children. I expected a 2 bedroom and was surprised to have a 2 bed plus den that had a convertible sofa so we all had our own rooms. It also had 2 full baths and 1 half with a washer and dryer. The screened porch that overlooked the pool, beach (request oceanfront, its worth it) and Hemingways restaurant (great food!) was a huge plus. We loved at night when the kids went to sleep to be able to sit out there and still be able to watch what was going on. I think we were out there more than in the unit itself. The atmosphere of the hotel was really nice and welcoming, everyone was friendly and accommodating. It is a alittle more dated than other hotel rooms I have stayed in, but it was really great and we would return again. My only complaint was that the bedding was not fluffy enough, I need some weight in my blankets, and the pillows were way too full. The pool was great, but the low hedges that are scattered around it do make a blind spot and not great if you are watching someone, I think they should cut them down personally. The kiddie pool is great, my 4 and 6 year old used both pools all day, plus there is a more quiet adult pool (we never used it but looked nice). The water was not too cold, it was refreshing. The beach is by far the roomiest out of every hotel I walked by. The chairs are spread out, lots of shade if you want an umbrella. Drink service on the beach. They rake it everyday., between the sand and unbelievable water, it is just beautiful! The location of the hotel is great too, I walked to the grocery store and other shops a few times, it is a nice walk and its easy to get a taxi back if you do not want to not carry your bags. We also walked to dinner every night, good restaurants all around us. We wanted to rent a car for a day and plan a few excursions and the concierge was able to handle it all for us. All in all it was an amazing week and I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Request oceanfront and a higher floor for the best view. But I saw some families on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martha f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands_Managment, Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Sands at Grace Bay. We appreciate your kind remarks and are delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay.

We will certainly look into the bed issue you mentioned and take any corrective measures as needed.

Again, thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to Providenciales very soon.

With warm tropical regards,
Mona Beeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Great trip. Grounds were kept immaculate. Staff and other vacationers were extremely friendly and accommodating. The restaurant was affordable and tasty for breakfast and lunch. Dinner can be pricey. Did not even go to the pull given how beautiful the ocean was. There are many restaurants nearby to try out. We took advantage of the half day snorkeling trip that leaves from the hotel beach. Great way to see the other Cays. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elyse318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We just got back from a week at the Sands. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay. Our unit(1201), an ocean view room, was quite lovely. The kitchen was well equipped and everything was very clean. Our bathroom had a cracked tile which should be fixed but other than that we were satisfied with everything. As for the complex itself, the grounds are beautifully maintained. The beach was raked every morning and they provided towels. The staff at the beach were quite helpful with anything we needed. This is a family resort and there were quite a few kids running around, so if you want a kid free vacation, this isn't the place for you. The restaurant on site is alright, but we ended up walking down the beach several times to dine at Bay Bistro. It is a must! We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to our friends!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.7 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#5 of 43 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 stars 2,062 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#8 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#13 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beaches Turks and Caicos Resort Villages and Spa
1.6 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#18 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Property: Sands at Grace Bay
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing