We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, clean hotel in Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean hotel in Paradise”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago. It was our first time to Turks and Caicos and it was absolutely beautiful. The sand was powdery white and the water a beautiful turquoise. We had a studio with garden view. It seemed like it was half of a suite with the door locked in between. We could hear almost every word of the people on the other side. I think in any other room you wouldn't hear your neighbors as loud, only if it's a closed-off suite. The hotel is a 10 minute walk/ 5 minute bike ride to a supermarket, which worked out perfectly because the food is a little pricier than what we're used to, even in NYC. That supermarket had anything you would need. The surrounding area seemed very safe and we walked to dinner every night at nearby restaurants. I would definitely recommend it, make sure you're not in a suite with strangers.

Room Tip: Don't get the garden studio- is actually half of a suite with the door locked in between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    657
    131
    51
    38
See reviews for
521
801
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

First time to T&C. Our 2 BR suite was very large with a wonderful kitchen and screened porch. Our oceanview had a great view of pool and ocean. We liked the low key atmosphere and easy to get around layout of the resort. The only negative was the extremely cold temperature of the pools. Even the hot tub was lukewarm two nights. We would come back again. Most of the staff was friendy and helpful with the exception of the hostess at Hemingways. She was quite rude but fortunately the food was excellent.

Room Tip: We were really glad we rented a car and had the freedom to visits other parts of the island, go the...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank cjdoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This was our first visit to Turks and Caicos. We found Sands via a good deal on Jetsetter. We stayed in a Studio Courtyard unit. It had a kitchenette/living room area with a pullout sofa and a separate bedroom so it seemed more like a one bedroom than a studio. The room size was adequate but I would suggest upgrading to an Oceanview so you get the screened porch (would have been great for those December nights). The two room complaints I had were: 1) The furnace/air unit is in a closet right next to the bed. So if you are a light sleeper it may wake you up when it kicks on in the middle of the night; 2) our unit had a connecting door to the suite next to us. That, in conjunction with the thin walls, allowed us to hear our neighbors conversations pretty clearly. At a minimum I'd ask for a unit without a connecting door unless you need it.

The resort itself is fantastic. We spent some days by the pool in the courtyard. They have a bunch of individual grottos set up so you felt like you had your own space by the pool. Though the best part is the beach. The tiki huts were great and one day they were all taken. A resort worker then set up an umbrella for us closer to the water. The sand is soft as could be and it is great for walking. There was a little seaweed in the water. It was a bit windy in the middle of our trip so the water was a little choppy then, but earlier in the week it was really calm.

We ate a few times at Hemmingway's (restaurant on the property) and it was great. I suggest the conch chowder with a Turks Head Amber! And as with any island the food is very expensive as it is all imported. I suggest you pack things such as cereal, granola bars, snacks, etc. Box of Cheerios was $7, Oreos $6, Yoplait yogurt $2, etc. We were able to walk to the local Graceway supermarket to pick up some things as it is still way cheaper to eat breakfast/lunch in your unit and go out for a nice dinner. For restaurants I'd suggest Grace's Cottage (next door at Grace Point) for upscale and Bella Luna and Danny Buoy's in town for slightly less expensive meals.

Room Tip: If you get a studio make sure it has a screened porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hammylinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This was our first time to T&C and loved every minute of it. Sands at Grace Bay had nice,, clean rooms. We had a stay 3 nights get the 4th night free which broke down to $155 a night. We had a studio with a garden view and we could also see a bit of the gorgeous ocean. I liked how the outdoor patio was screened in so we didn't have to worry about bugs getting in to bite us. Everyone on staff were all so friendly and helpful. We also had a washer and dryer in our room, and the dryer was broken. When i informed the staff of this, they immediately got someone up to fix it. Other amenities that we had access for free that we enjoyed included bikes that we took down to the shops, kayaks, catamarans and snorkeling equipment. My only complaint is that the walls are a bit thin so the one night the 2 girls next door had a fight and we could hear them arguing and crying. When our new neighbors came in th next day, we could hear their baby crying and waking us up early in the morning. However, if asked if i would stay here again, i would def. say Yes!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NJpancakeeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Great suite but we asked for ocean view and if we really tried we see the ocean. The suite is great. The beach is fine...lots of crap...sea weed washing up and at times like walking on burrs . Hemingways is very good restaurant. I would come back

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChazDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I've been to many beaches around the World, but Grace Bay is the best and most beautiful beach I ever saw.
The Sands: hotel facilities and services are excellent, well maintained and very clean. Just what we need for a relaxing time.
I will be back next February!

Room Tip: I recommend rooms with oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tavares100446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This was my 5th time to the turks and caicos and 2nd time at The Sands. Our 2 bedroom/2bath suite was great with full kitchen, livingroom and screened in patio with 4 lounge chairs and a table with 4 chairs.(also a table and 4 chairs inside). 72 degrees in the morning and 82 @ 2pm. Washer/dryer in the room and the dryer needed to be repaired. Three TV's in the suite and one was replaced after 3 calls to the desk. Volume did not work. Reserved a 2 BR gardenview and we received a free upgrade to a 2BR oceanview on request at check in. The beach waitress circulated frequently and we signed the drink charge to the room. Bertholde from the watersports desk took us out for free on the hobey cat sailboat ~ we tipped him. He readied the boat and we wore life jackets. Beautiful landscaping with a large pool and interconnecting rivers/bridges. The outdoor hot tub was repaired since the water was cool. In the suitcase we packed crackers, peanut butter, coffee cake, nuts and microwave popcorn. (and favorite coffee/tea.) Had omelettes for breakfast at Hemingways and fish tacos for lunch. Dinner menu prices are much higher but you can order from the lunch menu until 6pm. Lovely outdoor seating under umbrellas.

Room Tip: The studio courtyard rooms are too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pan-am-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
2,311 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#15 of 45 in Providenciales
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
1,501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#17 of 45 in Providenciales
1,608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Property: Sands at Grace Bay
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, West Indies, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing