We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, great location, beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great resort, great location, beautiful”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Royal West Indies Resort from September 4-September 11. We rented privately through the owner. When we arrived at the 1 bedroom unit, we realized that the safe was not open. We had no information from the owner, whom I was in communication with via email, that the safe was broken. After sending the owner an email, we received an email from him advising us that the safe was broken. Bottom line, we were not informed of this problem and only learned of it upon our arrival when we inquired with the owner.

Other than this, the suite itself was quite lovely. I will attach a photo taken from the balcony. The unit is right beside Club Med and I only heard noise from Club Med on two nights. The only other downside to the unit, since it is on the third floor, is that there is an open ceiling on the balcony, so during rain one is not able to sit out on the balcony.

With respect to the resort itself, it is as beautiful as it was 5 years ago when we last visited the islands. We have always found the staff there to be pleasant and informative. We find the resort to be beautifully landscaped, clean, very quaint and lovely... a real gem. The two pool areas are just gorgeous. They are very charming and cozy, not big open spaces. We met some wonderful people on our vacation and enjoyed doing a whole lot of nothing......... beautiful. I highly recommend this resort. Don't forget to say hello to Mina and Mino, the two cats at the resort. They got some left over beef tenderloin from dinner.

Re: Crime. While researching our trip, I came across some posts regarding an increase in crime on the island. For the first time, this being my fourth trip to Provo since 1993, someone asked us for money. There was a definite difference to the island since our last trip. I hope things don't change too much, for the islands are just absolutely gorgeous. The Royal West Indies Resort is a true gem.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrWagnerMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    655
    122
    42
    28
See reviews for
330
1,064
65
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Just returned from our first trip to TCI and RWI. This resort was perfect for us. We had a beautiful beachfront condo. (rented from VRBO). We loved the resort all the pools and the beach was breathtaking. You could walk forever. We loved Mango Reef. We enjoyed lots of great meals here from breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel staff were all great. The people at the front desk were nice and friendly to us. The guys at the towel area were really nice guys and so hard working. We felt very comfortable at this resort and meet so many other guest that all were very happy too. Not one complaint from us or anyone we talked to. The only bad part was leaving so to fix that we will just have to book our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planningvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a four-night trip with another couple on the Turks and Caicos Island of Providenciales. While this was our first trip to the RWI resort, our travel companions had been here before; a return visit bodes well for the resort. Our expectations were high and this resort certainly delivered. The grounds are lush and well-maintained, units clean and comfortable, amenities plentiful, and service friendly and efficient. We spent most of the days either at the beautiful pools or on the beach. At night following a nice dinner, the four of us would settle in for a game of cards or simply visiting on the balcony. We highly recommend dinner at Coco Bistro which is a short walk from the resort. The atmosphere and food are amazing! The resort restaurant was also good. We also recommend the snorkeling excursion with Sail Provo utilizing a large catamaran which takes you to Iguana Island and to the reef for snorkeling with drinks and snacks included – look for a 15% off coupon in your room. While I don’t consider myself a high-maintenance traveler, I do appreciate nice accommodations and good dining. I have no negatives to report regarding the RWI resort.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We booked a trip through Expedia to Providenciales for a seven night stay at the Royal West Indies Resort to celebrate our 20th anniversary.
Unfortunately, my husband was told that he required cataract surgery 15 days before the trip and we had to cancel.
Expedia contacted Royal West Indies to ask them to waive the cancellation penalty due to extenuating circumstances of two nights plus tax and fees. They refused, even though they were told that we planned to rebook as soon as we were able probably at a higher rate in peak season.

Since this is their low season and it is unlikely they turned down any reservations due to our booking, we feel that they should have been more compationate and in the spirit of the hospitality business, waived our fee.
When we do rebook our trip, we will be seeking another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panamanorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

My husband and I travelled to Mexico, Cuba, Dominican, and many places in Europe. We LOVED the experience at Royal West Indies and will definately come back to turks and caicos!!
Room- We paid a little more to get a suite instead of a studio. This came with a full kitchen, including stove, fridge and even dishwasher. That way some nights we bought food at the grocery store and chose to eat in and cook ourselves. Other nights we went out- Coco Bisto, Hemmingways, and Mango Reef were all excellent.
The bike ride to the grocery store takes about 5 min or a 10 min walk.

Beach- Awesome! And free use of kayaks, and Hobbies. Snorkling was awesome at Coral Gardens, a short taxi ride away.

Diving- We dove with Dive Provo which is a walking distance from the resort and I would highly recommend them. We even saw sharks!

Overall- Keep in mind this resort is AWESOME for relaxation but definately not a place if you want to party and loud music. Tip- We wished we brought insulated mugs so we could bring our rums and cokes from the room to the beach!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelangel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My wife and I just returned from one week (Aug 21-28) at the RWI. If you are looking for a clean well appointed room, good service, quality food (throughout the island) and a gloriuos beach than this is your destination. This is not an all inclusive resort which for us was great - A chance to keep groceries in the room from an IGA nearby and to dine out nightly at different beach front restaurants. Turks is a clean, safe and congenial place to visit and if you are a beach first person, we encourage you to go. The RWI is a great place to go if you are looking for a well priced hotel to experience T&C.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackandJill1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We had a fabulous time in TCI, this was our first trip to Turks & Caicos and will be going back for sure.
The weather was great and the resort was very comfortable and clean.
What surprised me was the washer/dryer hidden away in a closet in our room, this came in handy for sure.
The Mango Reef Restaurant was great too, along with their friendly staff.
Most important of all, the beach was beautiful, paradise.....
There were not many teenagers, more couples and families with young children.
This was ok since we were there to relax and get away from it all.

Mimi

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YUL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.5 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#19 of 45 in Providenciales
1,007 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
2,366 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
559 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
1,532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#22 of 45 in Providenciales
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Property: Royal West Indies Resort
Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, West Indies, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing