We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the RWI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2006

We stayed at the Royal West Indies for a week and loved it! The beach is quiet, peaceful and just plain gorgeous. The staff were all super friendly and the grounds were beautiful. There were not many people there when we went, so it was very relaxing. It was a great value compared to other upscale hotels and we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Provo. WE LOVED IT!

Stayed: June 2006
5  Thank jsmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,769 - 1,775 of 2,032 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2006

We were very excited upon arrival to the Royal West Indies, it was our honeymoon, and the pictures and reviews we had seen had looked great! But I would definitly think twice about considering the Royal West Indies as your vacation destination.
Much to our dismay, we awoke every morning with itchy red bumps all over our bodies, after being ate alive by bed bugs. The bites occured only at night while we were in bed. We reported this to the front desk, they seemed to be aware of the problem, but offered no help or solution. So we desperately tried everything we could think of to get rid of them. We requested new sheets, we put the sheets in the dryer right before bed, we did everything. But it was no use. Every night we would dread getting into bed, but what could we do? By the end of the week we were considering sleeping on the floor, just to avoid the itchy bites! It really creeped us out!
On top of that, the staff at the Mango Reef Restaurant and Bar were incrediably and blatantly rude. It got to the point where we swore off ever returning to the restaurant because of the manner in which we were treated. But being as the Mango Reef was the ONLY restaurant at this resort, it made it difficult to find other convienent places to dine.
To top it all off, I got a parasite. I can only assume I contracted it from brushing my teeth in the hotel bathroom since we drank bottled water the entire time. This caused me to be ill for a week and a half. I could not leave the hotel room for the last 2 days of our honeymoon, and the trip home was extremely unpleasant. Only after visiting my doctor and being perscribed medication was I able to recover.
I would not recommend the Royal West Indies, to anyone. If for nothing else, the fact of the bed bugs, which really disturbed us the most. Not only at the time, but we worried that we might bring them home with us in our luggage. This experience really put a damper on what we hoped would be a romantic honeymoon! We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
86  Thank sweetcheekx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2006

An island paradise! The gardens surrounding the small pools, the restaurant, and the rooms were fantastic. It is quiet, peaceful and very relaxing. All of the staff was wonderful and they were very knowledgeable about the island and very willing to help. Free access to the internet via a computer in the lobby, a small library of books/DVDs for guests, great service. RWI is a GREAT place for the money!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nicole212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2006

We just returned from a 5 night stay at RWI. Our children are 10, 15, and 17 and we all had such a great time, that we know we will return one day.

We stayed in unit 114 + 115, oceanfront. These units are the closest to the beach in the complex. This is billed as a two bedroom suite….it actually is two units connecting (one bedroom suite + one bedroom studio). There was a sofa bed in each unit, so we had enough beds for all. The view from the 1st floor is not as nice as the upper floors, but you can still see the ocean and sailboats. The sand dune blocks the view of the sand. On the plus side, is easy access out the back sliding doors to the beach, making it easy to come and go as needed. We found it convenient as our kids were come and go. You really did not spend much time sitting inside the units during the daytime. The units were nicely furnished and everything was still in fairly “new” condition. The air conditioners worked fine, keeping the units cool.

Grace Bay Beach is the most beautiful beach we have seen. Soft white sand, and clear turquoise blue water. This is the reason you go to a Caribbean beach resort. RWI is not a big resort….so, the beach was NOT crowded (unlike some of the other big resorts we saw further down). There were times when we were the only ones in the water…..we did find some nice conch shells on the beach but you have to walk away from the resort to find them.

Snorkeling was not productive in front of the resort. But we went on a snorkeling/catamaran sailboat excursion (Sail Provo) which took us to a nearby reef where lots of colorful fish were. (This excursion was one of the highlights of the trip).

My son and I went on a fishing trip (1/2 day bottom fishing with Silver Deep) which was successful. He caught a nice size grouper and snapper. They even filet the fish for you at the docks so you can take it back and cook it, if you wish.

The restaurant on site, Mango Reef, was excellent. There were plenty of selections, and the prices were not too high…..we ate there most evenings, and the bill for our family of five averaged $185 including tip. One option on the menu is the $30 special, which included appetizer (the goat cheese salad was excellent), entrée (several choices), and dessert (several choices). The grouper and snapper dishes were quite good, as were the shrimp and scallops. The T bone steak was also excellent.

We also ate at Calico Jacks, located at Ports of Call (15 minute walk). Fairly good food at a reasonable price ($95 incl. Tip). Ports of Call had other shops, including an ice cream shop and a souvenir store. On the way to POC, you will pass Gourmet Goods, a sandwhich shop and convenience store. We picked up some milk there.

The computer in the lobby was nice to check emails. There is a small selection of DVD’s to choose from (free), and a nice collection of paperback books.

Free amenities also includes bicycles, hobie cat sailboats, Ocean Kayaks, snorkeling equipment.

On Monday evenings, they have a free drinks (rum punch) & hors d’oeuvres (fried conch fingers, chicken wings, chips and salsa) on the deck entrance to the beach. I did not read about this in any of the prior tripadvisor reviews.

We found most of the employees to be friendly and helpful, with a smile. Very few were not. The grounds were immaculate. Someone was always pruning or sweeping, keeping things spotless.

The two pools looked nice, but we never even swam in them. It seemed silly to do so, when the beautiful beach with clear blue water was there.

We did not use the Gekko bus, nor taxis....we walked to Ports of Call, and otherwise stayed at the resort (except for excursions, where they picked you up at the lobby).

Overall, we found it to be a great place for a family beach vacation. Not crowded. Beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank lovethebahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2006

Stayed 6/21-6/25 in an ocean front studio...# 122. The view was incredible. I can tell you that if we had stayed in any one of the other rooms (garden vew, ocean view) we wouldn't have enjoyed it as much. The studio was of good size and very clean. The AC broke one day and they fixed it in a couple of hours.
Mongo reef is a great restaurant, we had lunch and a couple of dinners there...also tried the gecko grille over at OCW which had good food but the ambience wasn't good...must try the conch fritters at mango reef. Everything we ordered there was delicious.
The beach is incredible. VERY calm and clear with vivid colors when the sun is shining...great for swimming. When we left the beach to go to our room( 2 min walk) it pretty much felt like we were still practically on the beach! We did kayak one day but didn't get a chance to take one of the hobby cats out...the water activities desk was helpful.. If all the chairs/umbrellas are taken, they will get and put one for you when asked. The front desk staff was good but didn't use them much...the lady at the activities desk was good and we had booked the 1/2 day trip to little waster cay(iguana island/snorkeling/conch etc) but it got rained out 2 days in a row so can't comment on the trip ifself but it did sound like fun. However, we did get a chance to go snorkeling at coral gardens ( atleast 45 mins walk from RWI) and that was quite good. All in all we would stay at RWI again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank morinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2006

I learned a lot from this site before we travelled so I want to share some info with others. We visited from June 12-16.
Hotel: RWI was a great spot. Lovely gardens and pools, exquisite beach like you see in the Caribbean ads. We booked an ocean front room-at first the clerk tried to put us in a garden view but I insisted (pleasantly) and the head clerk changed us to #223 which turned out to be pretty much an ocean front room with fabulous view. Rooms were comfortable (the lanai could have used a fan but no big deal) and the staff was friendly and helpful. No problems with towels or beach equipment use (snorkel fins). Probably being there off-season helped.
Restaurants: Other reviews have emphasized the expense but we found that food and drink were quite comparable to other islands we have visited. We did pack a few breakfast items (small meal for us), a small cooler and some drinks for the beach (bring or buy a couple bottles of water and use crystal lite "on the go" packets-you can refill water from your room). We ate lunch several times at the hotel's Mango Reef bar. The fish sandwich was a good buy at $6. We had dinner here one night when we couldn't get into Hemingway's (make reservations!) and the Gecko restaurant at Ocean Club was closed for a wedding party. Why do you never take advantage of a spot close by?! The food at Mango Reef was excellent (creme brulee heavenly), tropical ambience with outstanding service. Our most expensive dinner, with wine and beer, was around $100. Turtle Cove has several good spots: Tiki Hut was good ($55 for light dinner), Shark Bites excellent with wide view of the cove/boats/swimming turtles (almond grouper and snapper tropicale recommended, with 4 beers $75). Banana Boat looked interesting but was empty so we shied away. The Aqua Bar and Terrace was highlighted by Jimmy Buffett but we couldn't get anyone to serve us so we left. On the road, Da Conch Shack in Blue Hills was a pretty spot overlooking the water and we gamely tried the conch dishes which were much better than the conch served in the Florida Keys (but still not my favorite seafood!). We never went to the IGA but did buy a 6-pack of the local Turks Head beer for $10 at the liquor store in Saltmills Flat. (Oh, See the Turks Head cactus on the hotel property). Barefoot Cafe in Ports of Call was OK ($63) but next time we'll try Calico Jack's upstairs. It looked like a fun place and Ports of Call is walkable from RWI.
Cars: We rented from Avis for one day to do some exploring. Cost was $60 for the day with tax and insurance for a clean but squeaky little car (not 4-wheel drive) that did just fine on the roads although we did have to proceed slowly several times. The interior road by Blue Hills was pretty rough and not very scenic as this was apparently the trash dump area. Driving was no hassle. We tried the Gecko bus one day but, as I feared since my husband hates waiting for anything, it was a frustrating choice. The other few times we needed a ride we used Bradley's taxi service, through the hotel.
Diving: Scheduled a 2 tank morning dive in Grace Bay with Dive Provo ($268 for 2 with equipment). My husband and I have been recreational divers for many years and Dive Provo was the most professional group we have ever gone with. The reefs are beautiful and unspoiled; this was our first wall dive (only to about 100') and we saw incredible diversity in the plants and fish there. We also snorkeled at Smith's Reef which was a nice spot. Take the road by Shark Bites to the end and you'll see beach access. There's a sign on the dunes and on the beach for the snorkel area (this has underwater signs but most too weathered to read). Not exceptional but a fun way to enjoy the water. By the way, you better enjoy water/beach activites because that is about all there is to do in Provo! I'm not complaining--this was a great, relaxing start to my retirement! I hate to admit it but we had trouble finding the Coral Gardens hotel and snorkel area so we did not experience that.
Conch Farm--saw this the day we rented the car and we found it quite interesting but we are science people! We were impressed with the wise decision of the government to allow the farm to use a section of the beach and water to raise the conch which the farm exports/sells. In exchange for this, the farm releases several million conch back into the ocean.
Shopping: Various souvenir/clothing places in Saltmills and Ports of Call as well as the dive shops. There are local crafts sold at 2 shops--one at Ocean Club and one in Blue Hills.
Summary: See it now. Cruise ship lines are building terminals there and it won't be pristine much longer.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank chemlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2006

We stayed in a botannical suite at RWI and it was fantastic. The room itself was very spacious, clean and well appointed. The appliances and amenities were good and worked as they should. The beds were, however, very uncomfortable. It may have been just our room, or it may be that I'm used to sleeping on memory foam, but my back hurt after a week. This should not dissuade you from visiting them! The pool area was great. Clean and almost always quiet. I can't count the number of times we had one of the pools or the jacuzzi all to ourselves. The beach is fantastic. Clear blue water on a nice strech of sand.

Mango Reef restaurant is not so great. In fact, most of the restuarants on Provo are terrible. Bad service and equally bad food. We found Bangkok Express, a tiny two table restaurant on Leeward Hwy. to be one of our favorites. Coco Bistro is a bit more pricey, but they did well too. There was a place in a more "local" area of the island that we found to be great. I don't remember the name, but they are situated in a very coloful building next to a souvenir shop.

Provo is not a particularly pretty island, but RWI is a great value. With a bit more ammenities and better restaurant quality of food and service they could be a 4 star resort. For now, I highly recommend this RESORT. The island as a whole for a tourist? I'm still not convinced. If you are simply looking to getaway, as me and my girlfriend were doing, then go here. You will be happy.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetrotter023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.5 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
1,623 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,930 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#26 of 44 in Providenciales
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Providenciales
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $252 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, West Indies, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing