We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal West Indies Resort is GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2006

Returned last night from a long weekend at the Royal West Indies. Provo is beautiful and it was the best long weekend my wife and I have ever taken. The room was perfect, the beach and pools were immaculate and the lunches and drinks we had at the Mango Restaurant were fine.

We ate at Hemmingway's (at the Sands), Aqua (Turtle Cove), Sharkbites(Turtle Cove), and Magnolia (Turtle Cove). All were very good, although be advised that Sharkbites is a beer and burger joint and you should know what you are getting yourself in to.

Only 1 complaint I would have about the Royal West Indies is that they have 2 Hobie Cat sailboats available for guests to sign out and use. We were planning on going for a sail on Sunday and both boats were broken on that day. A small disappointment and if it were than important we could have walked a couple hundred yards down the beach towards the Ocean Club and rented one for $50 or so.

We took the Gecko for transportation and while economical it wasn't worth the "schlepping around" necessary for that mode of travel. We ended up getting taxis ($10 a trip plus tip) by the end of the trip rather than dealing with the Gecko.

- Snorkeling at Coral Gardens was great.
- The Club Med next door didn't look to be all that great.
- The Ocean Club was up to the standard of the RWI as we had heard.
- The Sands seemed very nice but I think it is more expensive than the RWI.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank M_from_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,827 - 1,833 of 2,033 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Hoboken, NJ
118
Reviewed February 5, 2006

We went to most of the resorts just to see what they were like. The Royal West Indies is BY FAR much better than the Ocean Clubs. Overall, RWI seems to be much newer, and definitely classier in décor and vibe. It was meticulously clean, and the staff was very friendly. The grounds were incredibly lush…and the two pools and hot tub were fantastic. I had read online that the restaurant there wasn’t very good, but I totally disagree. We ate several excellent meals there.

T&C is a rather expensive place if you want to eat out. But RWI had a great fridge, coffee makers and microwaves. We were only there a few days, so it wasn’t really worth it to make a trip to the grocery store and stock up. However, we have decided the next time we’re going back to the RWI, we’ll stay for 7 days and will make a big grocery trip on the first day. Lots of money can be saved eating breakfast and lunch in the room.

Our room was oceanview. They only had rooms on the first floor, so you could actually hear the ocean better than you could see it. (There was a small hill in front of the screen doors blocking most of the view) But this wasn’t a big deal at all. It was a studio, and that’s definitely all the room we needed. Interior was very well decorated.

One night we went out on the town, but got kinda stranded (the shuttle is unpredictable) and had to walk home. No lights, sidewalks in mid construction…it was a pretty treacherous walk. We destroyed our flip flops! But having had a few cocktails, it didn’t seem so bad. The rest of the trip we gravitated towards restaurants/bars that were on the beach. Our fave restaurant/bar was called Anacana at the Grace Bay Club. Pretty pricey, but it was right on the ocean…and the décor was amazing. It was like the interior of a NYC nightclub, but outdoors in paradise. We went back twice.

The best part was THE BEACH. So incredibly gorgeous. I would actually say the beach was better than Maui. The water was clear turquoise…we could see our feet when swimming. And the sand was white and fine…

We loved that it wasn’t crowded. The whole place felt a little deserted, which was great. There were kids at the RWI, but even they seemed totally chill. (As opposed to some vacation resorts, where they turn into little terrors…)

I don’t say this often about the places I travel to, since I like to try new things…but I would definitely go back. And when we do, I think we’ll stay at the RWI again.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2006

My significant other and I just spent 1 week at RWI and thought it was very nice. We were in building 2 and had a great view of Grace Bay and the beach. The staff was good. We really used the local restaurant - Mango Reef - as the food was good, we ordered breakfast to eat on our balcony and it was always good and we ate dinner there two nights - they have a special fixed price meal for $30 Monday - Thursday and it included lobster so we had one lobster with appetizer and one with dessert and split both and felt we got a good deal. Also ate at Hemingways, Geiko Grille, and Bay Bistro and all were good. Food is expensive - about 2 x what is it in the US - but we had fresh local fish every day on the beach - so what would you pay for that? The airport is rudimentary at best and would suggest you line up transportation before you arrive. We did not rent a car as we had beach access to several restaurants and indeed that was a joy - walk on the beach to your restaurant! Beaches were clean; water pleasant. I dove three days with DiveProvo and felt they did a good job. So it was a nice, relaxed trip and RWI was everything people said it would be.

11  Thank divscu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2006

Just returned from spending 8 Days/7 Nights (Jan 14-21, 2006) at the Royal West Indies Resort on the Island of Provo in the Turks & Caicos Islands. This was indeed one of the best Caribbean destinations I have ever visited and HIGHLY recommend staying at this resort if you are a budget conscious traveler.

The following reviews various components of our trip that made this a spectacular vacation. Hope you find it useful!!

ROYAL WEST INDIES RESORT-RWI:
* Excellent Value for Destination
* Complementary Airport Shuttle
* Beautiful Grounds, Landscaping and Architecture
* Nice Pools (2 - Smaller Scale) and Jacuzzi
* Immaculate Room - Newly Refurbished w/ Very Nice Furnishings
* Garden View Studio
- Kitchenette w/ Full Fridge, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Toaster
- Washer/Dryer
* Great Staff
- Front Desk Checked in w/in 5 minutes
- Luggage Delivered to Room w/in another 5 minutes
- Housekeeping Excellent as well

GRACE BAY:
* Amazing Beach
- Powder White Sand
- Clearest Turquoise Blue Water
- Extremely Clean
- Beautiful Resorts Along the Entire Beach
- Spectacular Sunsets
* Cons:
- Surf Extremely Rough 1st Few Days – Abnormal
- Major Construction along the entire beach. However, NON directly adjacent to the RWI

RESTAURANTS:
- Had Front Desk Make all our Dinner Reservations; Never had any issues.
* Mango Reef ~ At Resort
- Excellent Surf and Turf $38.00 (Filet was Delicious/Large Lobster Tail)
- Roasted Potatoes & Sautéed Mixed Veggies as Sides
- $166.00 w/20% Tip (2 Surf & Turfs, Drinks, Appetizers, Desserts, Espresso’s)
- Lobster Ravioli - (Very Good)
- Lobster Quesadillas - (Very Good-Lunch)
- Conch Fritters - (Good)
- Cracked Conch - (O.K)

* Hemingway’s ~ The Sands Resort - (30 min walk on Beach) – (Nice)
- Great Ocean Views for Lunch
- Sirloin Burger (Very Good)
- Jerk Chicken (More Like Chicken Tenders – O.K)

* Coco Bistro ~ Grace Bay Rd. (5 min Walk on Road from RWI)
- Very Beautiful Setting Under Lighted Coconut Palm Trees
- Shrimp Bistro over Fettuccini w/Garlic Butter Sauce
- Seafood Gratin (Grouper/Shrimp/Lobster/Scallops)
- Crème Brule
- Strawberry Napoleon
- $125.00 w/15% Tip

* Caicos Café ~ Caicos Café Plaza by Ports of Call (15 min Walk on Beach – Cut Across Side Rd for Access to the Holiday Inn)
- Shrimp Caicos w/Seafood Risoto & Mixed Veggies – (Excellent)
- Lobster Pasta w/Garlic Butter Sauce
- Great Desserts
- $130.00 w/15% Tip

* Sharkbite ~ Turtle Cove - (Need Shuttle or Car)
- Had Appetizer and Drinks before Dinner at Tiki Hut
- $25.00

* Tiki Hut ~ Turtle Cove
- Best Service we had the whole week from Julia
- Wed ~ Roasted Chicken and Rib Night $12.95 - (Very Good)
- Excellent Veggies & Mashed Potatoes as Side
- $70.00 w/20% Tip

* The Grill – Grace Bay Club (Next Door)
* Anacaona – Grace Bay Club (Next Door)
* Magnolia’s – Turtle Cove

* Avg Lunch for 2 = $30-50 USD
* Avg Dinner for 2 = $150-$180 USD (w/ Drinks/Appetizers/Dessert)
* Avg Bottles of Wine = $20-40 USD

ISLAND OF PROVO:
* Grace Bay Road - Under Construction – Getting There
- Sidewalks starting to go in
- Part of Road Paved
- Very Dusty – Poor Lighting; Avoid Walking at Night
* Turtle Cove Marina
- Nice Evening for Dinner
* Extremely Friendly People
- Felt Very Safe/Comfortable
* Chalk Sound National Park – South Coast Absolutely Beautiful!!
* Conch Farm – Interesting, Eat Conch Before you visit!!

ACTIVITES:
* Silver Deep ~ Scuba Diving/Snorkeling Excursions
* Sail Provo ~ Catamaran Sail Tours
* Coral Gardens
- Snorkeling - Crowded
- Snuba $60 USD
* Golfing – Provo Golf Club
* Sea Doo Excursions
- Guide and Unguided Tours Hourly-1/2 Day and Full Day Tours - $100-250
* Parasailing - $75

TRANSPORTATION:
* If renting vehicle highly recommend an AWD 4x4
- Jeep Wrangler 4x4 - $85 USD per day
- Toured Island in 1 Day
- Leeward/Marina
- Conch Farm $6 USD
- Chalk Sound
- Spaodilla Bay
- Taylor Bay
- Northwest Point

SHOPPING:
* Food
- Ocean Club (East) Convenience Store (Bread, Milk, Cheese, Snacks, Beverages etc.)
- IGA – Full Grocery Store ~ www.gracewayiga.com
* Souvenirs:
- Ports of Call (o.k)
- Didn’t do much shopping/Last minute souvenirs at Airport
- Grate Duty Free-Alcohol Pricing at Airport when Departing

ADDITIONAL RECOMENDATIONS:
- Gecko Weekly Pass - $33 for 7 Days www.thegecko.tc
* Bring the following with you:
- Beach Towels (Never Had Issues at Resort, great rolled up as a pillow)
- Snacks/Breakfast Foods (Ex: Granola Bars/Crackers/Pringles)
- Beverages (Ex: Small Bottled Juices/Water/Capri-Sun)
- Bars of Soap
- Dryer Sheets (Place in suitcase for nice scent, can use in hotel room dryer)
- Bug Spray (No Mosquito problems when we visited but just in case)
- Soft Sided Cooler (Pack Drinks/Snacks for Beach)
- Zip Loc Bags (Store Food, Ice so you can refill trays in freezer etc..)
- Cash – US$$ Official Currency (In case ATM’s/Restaurant Communication Down when charging; Never Had any Issues Though)
- Purchased Alcohol at Duty Free prior to Departing from US (Rum, Vodka, 2 Bottles of Wine for 2 adults)
- Pick Up Following Free Magazines at Airport or Hotel:
-Where, When, How
- Provo Dinning Guide

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
84  Thank pvieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2006

Our family of 4 (2 adults & 2 children - 4 & 6 yrs of age)just returned from Turks & Caicos, and it was the most incredible vacation. We stayed at the Royal West Indies Resort (on Grace Bay) and loved absolutely everything about it. The apartment units were spacious, well furnished and very well maintained. The grounds / pools were beautiful and very well thoughtout. It was a relaxing, quiet and private resort. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. I strongly recommend this resort. The restaurant "Mango Reef" was very good and very affordable (well for Turks & Caicos). But the best part of the resort was the incredible beach. Words could never do it justice - you have to see it for yourself! White soft sand beach with the most azure blue water you could imagine. We snorkled
at Coral Gardens and swam with sea turtles (they hang out by the green buoy to the left of the boardwalk). We took the Gecko bus everyday ... it was handy but not always on time. There is sooooo much growth on the island, I hope it doesn't change too much, because as far as I'm concerned - its perfect just the way it is! Friendly people, beautiful beaches, great food - I just can't wait to take my family back!

15  Thank Kelly019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2006

My husband and our 2 teenagers were at RWI from 12/20-27 and my older daughter (age 22) flew down from NYC to join us for a few days. Can you say "flawless vacation"? The entire experience was beyond our imaginations, especially since we had a horror show last year, same time, at FDR Pebbles in Jamaica. Here, for less money and more days, we had a gorgeous 2 bedroom garden view suite, perfect flights,with an easy connection thru Charlotte, perfect weather. The beach was a knockout. The staff was helpful, friendly and kept the place immaculate. My 2 daughters and I did a 90 minute horseback ride at Provo Ponies on the beach. Best money I ever spent. I have been all over the Caribbean, and until this, loved Anguilla the most, but this is the first time I would actually return to a place and not think there might "be something better out there".

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank PattyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2006

My boyfriend and I visited the hotel in July of 2005. We had a wonderful 1st experience in Turks and Caicos. The grounds of the Royal West Indies were immaculate. The rooms were very clean and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. One of the girls at the front desk even had a local friend come and drive us around to a great local spots to get the best jerk chicken we've ever had! The beach was also fabulous. After reading other reviews, this was definitely the best hotel on that stretch of beach b/c many other hotels, like Club Med, had alot of loud activity going on. Just be prepared to go to the grocery store because food and drinks will add up and traveling around is extremely expensive, so take advantage of the shuttles. Overall, FABULOUS!!! Take advantage of this great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Melissa5517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.5 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
563 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
1,627 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#26 of 44 in Providenciales
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Providenciales
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $254 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, West Indies, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing