We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great visit to Provo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great visit to Provo”
Reviewed February 5, 2006

My significant other and I just spent 1 week at RWI and thought it was very nice. We were in building 2 and had a great view of Grace Bay and the beach. The staff was good. We really used the local restaurant - Mango Reef - as the food was good, we ordered breakfast to eat on our balcony and it was always good and we ate dinner there two nights - they have a special fixed price meal for $30 Monday - Thursday and it included lobster so we had one lobster with appetizer and one with dessert and split both and felt we got a good deal. Also ate at Hemingways, Geiko Grille, and Bay Bistro and all were good. Food is expensive - about 2 x what is it in the US - but we had fresh local fish every day on the beach - so what would you pay for that? The airport is rudimentary at best and would suggest you line up transportation before you arrive. We did not rent a car as we had beach access to several restaurants and indeed that was a joy - walk on the beach to your restaurant! Beaches were clean; water pleasant. I dove three days with DiveProvo and felt they did a good job. So it was a nice, relaxed trip and RWI was everything people said it would be.

Helpful?
11 Thank divscu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    650
    121
    42
    29
See reviews for
328
1,058
64
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2006

Just returned from spending 8 Days/7 Nights (Jan 14-21, 2006) at the Royal West Indies Resort on the Island of Provo in the Turks & Caicos Islands. This was indeed one of the best Caribbean destinations I have ever visited and HIGHLY recommend staying at this resort if you are a budget conscious traveler.

The following reviews various components of our trip that made this a spectacular vacation. Hope you find it useful!!

ROYAL WEST INDIES RESORT-RWI:
* Excellent Value for Destination
* Complementary Airport Shuttle
* Beautiful Grounds, Landscaping and Architecture
* Nice Pools (2 - Smaller Scale) and Jacuzzi
* Immaculate Room - Newly Refurbished w/ Very Nice Furnishings
* Garden View Studio
- Kitchenette w/ Full Fridge, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Toaster
- Washer/Dryer
* Great Staff
- Front Desk Checked in w/in 5 minutes
- Luggage Delivered to Room w/in another 5 minutes
- Housekeeping Excellent as well

GRACE BAY:
* Amazing Beach
- Powder White Sand
- Clearest Turquoise Blue Water
- Extremely Clean
- Beautiful Resorts Along the Entire Beach
- Spectacular Sunsets
* Cons:
- Surf Extremely Rough 1st Few Days – Abnormal
- Major Construction along the entire beach. However, NON directly adjacent to the RWI

RESTAURANTS:
- Had Front Desk Make all our Dinner Reservations; Never had any issues.
* Mango Reef ~ At Resort
- Excellent Surf and Turf $38.00 (Filet was Delicious/Large Lobster Tail)
- Roasted Potatoes & Sautéed Mixed Veggies as Sides
- $166.00 w/20% Tip (2 Surf & Turfs, Drinks, Appetizers, Desserts, Espresso’s)
- Lobster Ravioli - (Very Good)
- Lobster Quesadillas - (Very Good-Lunch)
- Conch Fritters - (Good)
- Cracked Conch - (O.K)

* Hemingway’s ~ The Sands Resort - (30 min walk on Beach) – (Nice)
- Great Ocean Views for Lunch
- Sirloin Burger (Very Good)
- Jerk Chicken (More Like Chicken Tenders – O.K)

* Coco Bistro ~ Grace Bay Rd. (5 min Walk on Road from RWI)
- Very Beautiful Setting Under Lighted Coconut Palm Trees
- Shrimp Bistro over Fettuccini w/Garlic Butter Sauce
- Seafood Gratin (Grouper/Shrimp/Lobster/Scallops)
- Crème Brule
- Strawberry Napoleon
- $125.00 w/15% Tip

* Caicos Café ~ Caicos Café Plaza by Ports of Call (15 min Walk on Beach – Cut Across Side Rd for Access to the Holiday Inn)
- Shrimp Caicos w/Seafood Risoto & Mixed Veggies – (Excellent)
- Lobster Pasta w/Garlic Butter Sauce
- Great Desserts
- $130.00 w/15% Tip

* Sharkbite ~ Turtle Cove - (Need Shuttle or Car)
- Had Appetizer and Drinks before Dinner at Tiki Hut
- $25.00

* Tiki Hut ~ Turtle Cove
- Best Service we had the whole week from Julia
- Wed ~ Roasted Chicken and Rib Night $12.95 - (Very Good)
- Excellent Veggies & Mashed Potatoes as Side
- $70.00 w/20% Tip

* The Grill – Grace Bay Club (Next Door)
* Anacaona – Grace Bay Club (Next Door)
* Magnolia’s – Turtle Cove

* Avg Lunch for 2 = $30-50 USD
* Avg Dinner for 2 = $150-$180 USD (w/ Drinks/Appetizers/Dessert)
* Avg Bottles of Wine = $20-40 USD

ISLAND OF PROVO:
* Grace Bay Road - Under Construction – Getting There
- Sidewalks starting to go in
- Part of Road Paved
- Very Dusty – Poor Lighting; Avoid Walking at Night
* Turtle Cove Marina
- Nice Evening for Dinner
* Extremely Friendly People
- Felt Very Safe/Comfortable
* Chalk Sound National Park – South Coast Absolutely Beautiful!!
* Conch Farm – Interesting, Eat Conch Before you visit!!

ACTIVITES:
* Silver Deep ~ Scuba Diving/Snorkeling Excursions
* Sail Provo ~ Catamaran Sail Tours
* Coral Gardens
- Snorkeling - Crowded
- Snuba $60 USD
* Golfing – Provo Golf Club
* Sea Doo Excursions
- Guide and Unguided Tours Hourly-1/2 Day and Full Day Tours - $100-250
* Parasailing - $75

TRANSPORTATION:
* If renting vehicle highly recommend an AWD 4x4
- Jeep Wrangler 4x4 - $85 USD per day
- Toured Island in 1 Day
- Leeward/Marina
- Conch Farm $6 USD
- Chalk Sound
- Spaodilla Bay
- Taylor Bay
- Northwest Point

SHOPPING:
* Food
- Ocean Club (East) Convenience Store (Bread, Milk, Cheese, Snacks, Beverages etc.)
- IGA – Full Grocery Store ~ www.gracewayiga.com
* Souvenirs:
- Ports of Call (o.k)
- Didn’t do much shopping/Last minute souvenirs at Airport
- Grate Duty Free-Alcohol Pricing at Airport when Departing

ADDITIONAL RECOMENDATIONS:
- Gecko Weekly Pass - $33 for 7 Days www.thegecko.tc
* Bring the following with you:
- Beach Towels (Never Had Issues at Resort, great rolled up as a pillow)
- Snacks/Breakfast Foods (Ex: Granola Bars/Crackers/Pringles)
- Beverages (Ex: Small Bottled Juices/Water/Capri-Sun)
- Bars of Soap
- Dryer Sheets (Place in suitcase for nice scent, can use in hotel room dryer)
- Bug Spray (No Mosquito problems when we visited but just in case)
- Soft Sided Cooler (Pack Drinks/Snacks for Beach)
- Zip Loc Bags (Store Food, Ice so you can refill trays in freezer etc..)
- Cash – US$$ Official Currency (In case ATM’s/Restaurant Communication Down when charging; Never Had any Issues Though)
- Purchased Alcohol at Duty Free prior to Departing from US (Rum, Vodka, 2 Bottles of Wine for 2 adults)
- Pick Up Following Free Magazines at Airport or Hotel:
-Where, When, How
- Provo Dinning Guide

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
84 Thank pvieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2006

Our family of 4 (2 adults & 2 children - 4 & 6 yrs of age)just returned from Turks & Caicos, and it was the most incredible vacation. We stayed at the Royal West Indies Resort (on Grace Bay) and loved absolutely everything about it. The apartment units were spacious, well furnished and very well maintained. The grounds / pools were beautiful and very well thoughtout. It was a relaxing, quiet and private resort. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. I strongly recommend this resort. The restaurant "Mango Reef" was very good and very affordable (well for Turks & Caicos). But the best part of the resort was the incredible beach. Words could never do it justice - you have to see it for yourself! White soft sand beach with the most azure blue water you could imagine. We snorkled
at Coral Gardens and swam with sea turtles (they hang out by the green buoy to the left of the boardwalk). We took the Gecko bus everyday ... it was handy but not always on time. There is sooooo much growth on the island, I hope it doesn't change too much, because as far as I'm concerned - its perfect just the way it is! Friendly people, beautiful beaches, great food - I just can't wait to take my family back!

Helpful?
15 Thank Kelly019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2006

My husband and our 2 teenagers were at RWI from 12/20-27 and my older daughter (age 22) flew down from NYC to join us for a few days. Can you say "flawless vacation"? The entire experience was beyond our imaginations, especially since we had a horror show last year, same time, at FDR Pebbles in Jamaica. Here, for less money and more days, we had a gorgeous 2 bedroom garden view suite, perfect flights,with an easy connection thru Charlotte, perfect weather. The beach was a knockout. The staff was helpful, friendly and kept the place immaculate. My 2 daughters and I did a 90 minute horseback ride at Provo Ponies on the beach. Best money I ever spent. I have been all over the Caribbean, and until this, loved Anguilla the most, but this is the first time I would actually return to a place and not think there might "be something better out there".

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank PattyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix,AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2006

My boyfriend and I visited the hotel in July of 2005. We had a wonderful 1st experience in Turks and Caicos. The grounds of the Royal West Indies were immaculate. The rooms were very clean and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. One of the girls at the front desk even had a local friend come and drive us around to a great local spots to get the best jerk chicken we've ever had! The beach was also fabulous. After reading other reviews, this was definitely the best hotel on that stretch of beach b/c many other hotels, like Club Med, had alot of loud activity going on. Just be prepared to go to the grocery store because food and drinks will add up and traveling around is extremely expensive, so take advantage of the shuttles. Overall, FABULOUS!!! Take advantage of this great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Melissa5517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 19, 2006

We had originally booked a studio room from Expedia, but decided that we would need the kitchen space of a 1 bedroom (since restaurants are sparse on the island and we didn't have a car). The front desk was very accomodating and charged us the difference between the two room sizes.
The difference between a studio and 1 bedroom is immense and I would definitely recommend paying the extra money for the upgrade even if you don't intend on using the kitchen. The space is much nicer and so much larger! You get a nice comfy bedroom + kitchen with nook + living (with sleeper sofa) + dining area + balcony (with table and chairs) and a washer/dryer!
The Royal West Indies is rated a 3.5 star on Expedia, and it totally exceeded my expectations!

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 18, 2006

If you are looking for a vacation spot to relax on a beautiful beach, this is the place to go. RWI was great as usual. We stayed here a couple of summers ago with our teenage daughters. This time it was just my wife and I. It can get kind of boring for teens, but what a wonderful place to just do nothing.
The staff were really nice. Cleomie took great care of us, making sure everything was just as she promised in our numerous emails back and forth prior to arrival.
Lots of construction going on, so be careful on the roads if you plan to walk anywhere. You would be better off renting a car or taking the gecko shuttle.
Alcohol is expensive at the IGA. Example, a six pack of Heineken was $15. Be prepared for the sticker shock.
RWI is the best value on Provo. There are other newer resorts that charge lots more and seemed kind of sterile to me. The staff at RWI make you feel very welcome.
Remember though that things do move a little slower, so be patient, relax and have another rum punch.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.5 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#20 of 45 in Providenciales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#15 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Property: Royal West Indies Resort
Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, West Indies, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing