We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Conroe, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wedding in Paradise”
Reviewed April 27, 2005

We just returned from a wonderful week at Royal West Indies. The resort is beautiful and the rooms are great. We had a one bedroom suite overlooking the pool with a wrap-around balcony (#731). The room was beautifully furnished, with tile floors, granite countertops, and top of the line appliances. The full kitchen was nice to have for eating breakfast in and saving a few dollars. The room also had an iron, blow-dryer, washer and dryer. The landscaping is incredible and everything was blooming while we were there. Also, everything is kept impeccably clean, inside and out. Although it was windy a couple of days, Grace Bay is still unbelievable with its white beach and turquoise water. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful for us. We really didn't experience "island time" anywhere. This resort is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cajundiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    660
    122
    42
    30
See reviews for
333
1,071
65
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 27, 2005

RWI is a beautiful resort with amazing landscaping and a very peaceful feel. The employees are courteous but not particularly friendly, with the exception of the housekeepers, who were very friendly and did an excellent job. The rooms have everything you could need, but be prepared for a very firm bed. The Mango Reef Restaurant was O.K. for food, good for drinks. Our favorite restaurants were Hemingway's (very romantic) and The Seaside Cafe. The worst meal we had was at SharkBite. The Sail Provo tour was a blast. The Conch Farm tour was also worth doing. If you're planning to try conch for the first time, we recommend you try it before you see what they look like alive! Our trip to Turtle Cove was disturbing because of the poverty stricken neighborhoods and many emaciated dogs. The ride was hairy because the roads are terrible, and we didn't think it was worth the ride or the view once we got there. Stick to the resorts and the beach/water activities and you'll have a blast!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 24, 2005

This place is awesome. The landscaping, service, and rooms are top notch. My new wife and I spent five nights here on our honeymoon. The environment and surroundings within the resort and adjacent beach were enough to keep us (who are normally very active) sitting on the beach and pool-side the whole time soaking up rays and sipping beach drinks. The restaurant is under new management and despite previous negatvie reviews - it has changed. We eat out a lot and would certainly put the Mango Reef in our top ten places. I highly suggest avoiding all-inclusives, for the simple fact we spent less eating out at different places than we would if we stayed at an all-inclusive where we'd feel obligated to eat evey night. We saved at least $2000 staying at RWI while eating like royalty around the island. We will return one-day. It is definitely well-worth every dime we spent and a true bargain. I suggest it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2005

We rented from a private owner and had one of the best locations in the resort. No problem with towels or getting a place on the beach. You can't go wrong with any type of room accommodation you choose. The gardens are beautiful as well as the pools and beach.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love_to_travel_NYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 21, 2005

I was tempted to give this hotel an average review but I went with above average because although we seemed to encounter SEVERAL ISSUES, the staff responded quickly to try to make things right.
When we booked our vacation, we were told that we would have a king bed and a full ocean view. When we arrived we were sent to a room with two double beds and a pool view. We complained and were told that all the rooms were sold out. My husband and discussed moving to another hotel and another room was suddenly found for us. The new room was also categorized as "ocean view" but we couldn't see the ocean and we have 20/20 vision. We were told that it used to be ocean view before the trees grew so tall and they still call it ocean view. Someone needs to upgrade those classifications because by the looks of the shrubs this room hasn't been ocean view for a VERY LONG TIME.
The hotel is set on a beautiful stretch of beach and that is the beauty of this resort. Get to the beach by 7am to score towels and an umbrella because by 9am these are gone. We complained to the man at the towel shack when we couldn't get towels the first 3 days there and he said "tell the front desk...I have been telling them for months that we need towels." After 3 days we started waking up at 7am to go and get towels...kind of annoying when you are on vacation to have to do this. I did hear however that the hotel did finally break down and buy some towels half way through our vacation.
Some other issues- We had a major ant problem in our room (hundreds of ants on counters, in microwave etc.) To the hotels credit, when we reported the ants...housekeeping arrived very quickly to clean. Our in room safe didn't work (wasn't able to be fixed) Our toaster didn't work either (front desk swapped out with another but had to call 3 times and didn't finally get done until 24 hours later) We had the front desk make reservations at 3 other restaurants on the island during our stay and all 3 times there was no reservation made for us when we arrived at the restaurant. The Royal West Indies called us and told us that we were all set but no reservation existed. Very Strange.
We did eat at the Mango Reef (on site restaurant) a few times and the food was mediocre at best. Hemingways at the Sands Hotel was delicious both times we went! We wanted to eat at Anacoana at the Grace Bay hotel but they didn't allow children- Just FYI
The staff were all very kind to us and that was certainly the best aspect of this hotel. We have a special spot for Cleomi at the front desk. She is just an absolute joy!
All in all, the RWI is great for those on a budget. Rooms are about 200-250 a night and that is a lot of money but still cheap for this island. Don't have high expectations and hope that more luck is in your corner than was in ours.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Royal West Indies in mid March 05'. We chose the resort based on reviews on Trip Advisor, which, by the way, were basically right on.

The Resort is very well maintained and appears well run. Beautiful, lush gardens, clean rooms, friendly staff. We were told the property is only three years old. Apparently, many of the beautiful palm trees and exotic plants surrounding the property are brought in as they are not found on the island. We were able to walk the beach, and check out many of the other resorts along Grace Bay, and were very happy with our choice of Royal West. For the money, the property overall just seemed better maintained, with a nice beach front. Many of the other properties like the Club Med (right next to Royal) and the Ocean Club which are listed as comparable properties in some of the travel magazines, did not come close to the Royal West. These properties seemed run down and just did not have the beautiful landscaping or maintenance of the Royal West.

Dining out is VERY EXPENSIVE - for two we ranged between $100 to $170 per night. You can save some by shoping at the IGA with the $20 shuttle from the resort to the IGA. We ate breakfast and lunches in.

The restaurants we visited, were: Coyoba in Turtle Cove, Grace's Cottage at Grace Point, Coco Bistro within walking distance of the Royal West, Tiki Hut in Turtle Cove, Hemmingways walking distance from the condo, and an italian restaurant (I can't remember the name) which was within walking distance to the Royal West Indies. We loved all of them but would highly recommend Coyoba (very expensive), Grace's Cottage (expensive), Tiki Hut (inexpensive) and Hemmingways (moderate). Hemmingways was good to walk to and one night we went before 6 and were able to order off of the lunch menu to save some money. We loved the conch fritters there... Mango Reef was not that good. We only had a lunch there. It is not owned by Royal West.

I recommend walking the beach to many of the restaurants as the road does not have a shoulder and is very dusty and the cars travel very fast and close to the edge of the road so you're taking your life into your hands. However, I got bit up terribly by sand flies at night when walking the beach to some of these restaurants. I did not know about these pesky flies, which by the way, really hurt -- worse than a horse fly and leave huge welts on your legs! So not to side track, but please be sure to bring bug spray with you and spray your legs good if you go out at dusk or sunset and you should be all set.

The beach is beautiful -- powdery white, cool sand, with turquise blue ocean. The water was warm - about 75 degrees. The ocean was particularly beautiful at night during sunset when we walked the beach.

The island is definitely tettering on the edge of becoming a well known tourist destination. Construction of large, multi-million dollar condominium units are being built all along Grace Bay. We understand that a Four Seasons Hotel chain has signed on and is to be built at the island. This would be the first hotel chain on the island and according to some of the local property managers, will propel the island into full scale tourism, leading many other hotel chains to sign onto the island. That is the beauty of the island now -- it is mainly all privately owned condominiums which are rented out which appears to minimize the tourist industry so that it is a quiet island.

There is almost nil for shopping. There is the Salt Mills and only another small little shopping plaza close to the condo. They sell typical tourist trinkets. Nothing at all commercialized.

My husband scuba dived through Dive Provo. He thought that the diving was pretty good. Not a ton of fish, but definitely some, with lots of walls. He was overall happy with the diving.

Sorry this is so long but we would highly recommend the Royal West and the Turks/Grace Bay. We hope to return to the island some day when we have saved our pennies. It is expensive but well worth it for a once in awhile getaway!

Helpful?
16 Thank bellaitalia0880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 16, 2005

My wife and I just got back from the Turks and Caicos (stayed there from 4/7-4/12/05)-We had a romantic, awesome time!
The beached and water at the Turks and Caicos lived up to its billing as one of the prettiest beaches in the world

We stayed at the Royal West Indies and just want to thank the previous reviewers for guiding us there. (We met other couples that stayed at Club Med and Beaches Resort - they were disappointed)
The RWI is a beautiful place to stay and the staff there was super - Front Desk Staff was very cool, nice, knowledgeable, and terrific especially Stacy, Patrina, Indira, and Cleomi.
Grounds were immaculate, safe-peaceful, Ocean Front Property (so you're only a step away from the powdery beach and Turquoise shore) and beautiful swimming pools.
Complementary use of their bicycles, ocean kayak, beach equipment - you can't ask for more.
We had some of our best meals at the Mango Reef Restaurant at RWI. Tanya was our waitress (both visits) and she was great. Be sure to try the Conch Fritters at Mango Reef - my wife both agreed that it was just as good as Bugaloos (local Conch Shack that everyone loves).
Whatever you do, DO NOT go to the Anacaona Restaurant at Grace Bay, 5 mins from RWI- (Wannabe Exclusive, Fine Dining) Pricey, bad service, and terrible food.
One night Patrina at the front desk even gave us a menu from a delivery service for us to order out because we snorkeled all day and were tired-tried some island food from Hole in the Wall Resturant - Great Food and delivered to us!
Overall, if you are looking for a peaceful, paradise getaway - the Royal West Indies is the place to go (as other reviewers said - don't go there for the nightlife, there isn't any).
I will miss the long romantic walks with my wife over the powdery white sand while feeling the cool turqoise splash over our feet.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.5 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 44 in Providenciales
2,400 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 44 in Providenciales
573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
813 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Property: Royal West Indies Resort
Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing