We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin Square, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great resort”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was our fifth visit to RWI. It's an ocean front resort, located at Grace Bay, one of the most beautifully beaches in the Caribbean. If your are looking for wide white sand beach and turquoise calm water, this is the place to be. The beach is never crowded. In addition, there are two nice swimming pools and a very nice restaurant. We've stayed in one bedroom apartment with full kitchen. The resort is located in the walking distance from the supermarket, French bakery and many restaurants. Our favorites restaurants Coco Bistro, Coyaba, Da Conch Shack (need transportation), Vix, Mango Reef (need transportation). Most of the time we relaxed on the beach. During our 5 visits we have done many outdoor activities, snorkeling trips, fishing trips, para-sailing. We usually rent a car from Grace Bay Car Rental, and enjoy trips to many other beaches and snorkeling places on Provo. We highly recommend this resort and the Island.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomaszekR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    660
    122
    42
    30
See reviews for
333
1,071
65
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We booked a last minute trip to Turks and Caicos, and lucked out when we moved over to Royal West Indies. I found the staff to be extremely friendly, courteous, and willing to do anything to help make the stay work.
Lopez, the bell captain was fantastic. As were the rest of the staff. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, and location was beautiful.
I'd recommend, and plan on going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommacmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed at the RWI again for a week earlier this month. Last time I was there was two years ago. I had a studio in Building 7 and it was well furnished and clean as usual. I booked through Travelocity and got a great price of $149 a night before taxes. Wifi worked well, washer and dryer and full size refrigerator are always handy. I highly recommend this place which I first stayed at in 2002 (when all of the buildings had not yet been completed). I always recommend renting a car (mine was $250 all in for seven days from Avis) as there are lots of great restaurants on Provo and cabs are expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbench400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel in July 2014, having booked it through hotels.com. Hotel appears to be quite new construction, and villa units were very clean. Resort is beachfront and has hobie cat and stand up paddleboard available for sign-out. Plenty of beach lounge chairs. Didn't find the restaurant staff friendly at all, but food was okay (high prices like all of Turks and Caicos but big portions soften the blow). Bar service was good. Pools and hot tub were clean. One annoyance was that front desk put a surcharge on my hotel bill for an extra child, but promptly removed the charge once I pointed out that we had booked on hotels.com and properly identified the number of guests and ages in our party, so just always review your bill before checkout. One potential improvement would be for RWI to have its own airport transfer vehicle, and pass along savings to resort guests, rather than having to book taxis at their high "statutory" prices. Our taxi for 1 adult, 1 fourteen year old and 1 thirteen year old was $60 to airport only 12 minutes away.

Room Tip: We stayed on 1st floor in building 5 (so room "515"), which is 2 minutes from beach and ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

One of the most beautiful beaches for swimming, snorkeling, etc. Water color is amazing. See additional comments below. The island is easily accessible from US and Canada (Toronto). We arrived in daylight hours and the approach to the island was stunning. English is the predominant language spoken but there are a number of other languages spoken as well, French, Spanish and of course the local native language of the Belongers. I would strongly recommend at least one trip to Turks and Caicos and myself we will be going back soon.

Room Tip: The Royal West Indies is a quiet place to enjoy the beach, the pools, the marvelous sand and the exq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaSenators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

A wonderful resort. The beach is beautiful with plenty of chairs and umbrellas and true clear turquoise water. No trouble or issues getting beach towels. Some folks did "reserve" their chairs early but it was not a problem. We were there in mid June for nine nights. The flowers around the resort are beautiful. It is on the quieter end of Grace Bay which is perfect but still only 10 minutes plus walking to the supermarket. Recommend a taxi ride back if you buy a lot of items. Mario and Markesson at the bar were wonderful as was Myla. There is only one restaurant but you can also eat at the bar. Caicos café 10 minutes away and Coco Bistro are superb restaurants. I would be careful on deciding to use the meal plan. Although good value, be warned it is not the same menu as if you were not on the plan. The meal plan has a set menu. Check it out. If you like it ... purchase a plan option. We dove with Provo Turtle divers. They are absolutely tremendous and provide incredible service. Note, you can save money by booking your diving in advance of arrival!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ngbtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaque, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at RWI from July 11th through the 17th. The grounds were beautifully maintained and the room was spacious and comfortable. We spent most of our time on the beautiful beach, but there were two pools that offered a nice alternative option. One of the pools was in a designated quiet area (denoting not a kiddie pool), but both pools were quiet. We had an ocean view studio suite with a large balcony. The resort had a luxurious, but not ostentatious feel. Towels and shaded beach and pool spots were plentiful. The overall convenience was a major plus for us. We were within walking distance to many restaurants and a couple of miles from a large grocery store. Our suite had a full refrigerator and a mini-kitchen (microwave and sink). This made is easy to balance small meals and snacks at 'home' with nice dining experiences when we wanted that option.

The only negative thing that we experienced was the non-existence of acceptable drinking water. After checking in, we bought water and kept it in our room, but it would have been nice for there to have been water available without our having to travel off the property to get it. Filtered water fountains on the grounds or even just a couple bottles of water in the room per day should have been provided. The hotel restaurant charges $7.00 for a bottle of Evian water, which seems abusive and opportunistic. In a luxury resort, potable water should not be considered an extra.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoudWritr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.5 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 44 in Providenciales
2,401 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 44 in Providenciales
573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
813 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Property: Royal West Indies Resort
Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, West Indies, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing