We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal West Indies Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Caribbean Paradise Inn(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grace Bay Club(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa del Mar(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club West(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Resort(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tuscany(Grace Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ports of Call Resort(Grace Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,075)
Filter reviews
2,075 results
Traveler rating
1,159
708
128
45
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,159
708
128
45
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet poolmango reefpelican bay restaurantbotanical viewcoco bistroocean viewgrocery storequiet zonegrace bayclub medwasher and dryerfull kitchenstayed in buildingrented a carbeautiful beachthird floorfree bikes
Filter
Updating list...
886 - 891 of 2,075 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was my 4th trip to Provo and my first stay at RWI resort. I had been to the resort once at night to dine at the Mango Reef in 2010 but that was the last time.

I booked here because I knew the location and that the place was good and affordable. That turned out to be accurate. I would stay here again depending on the circumstances.

The staff were very friendly and attentive even if the resort is dated and not very high tech. The place was quiet and clean and I was not there for a big blow out vacation. I slept in often and relished the quiet. (I must comment that I am not and never will be a sun worshiper).

The restaurant and bar were good, the fellow guests very friendly at the pool and at cocktail hours. The hotel staff (maids and desk folks) were also professional and helpful.

That being said, here are some things they can improve:

Our shower diverter did not work well, causing most of the water to go on our feet. We adapted by washing hair in the sink and taking a trickle shower with a towel on our heads but given the price, we should not have to deal with that. We did call and it was not fixed during out stay. The resort is old and the spigot to the tub was about to come out of the wall if you yanked on the diverter and it was caulked, so you know this has been an issue for others. Call a plumber please.

Several things were cracked, like the counter tops etc, and given that these appeared to be new upgrades, it must be the quality of the materials. This is not a deal breaker but does not give the best to the customers.

The porches were not screened in as other ones have been. With the amount of vegetation on the property, the bugs were bad, so screens may have helped substantially. The first visit I had to the Turks was at the Sands, and those were screened in porches.

My biggest (but still relatively minor) beef was that the check in desk PC had no printer. Really? In this day and age, you should be able to print out your boarding pass. Since my phone was turned off, I did not have a boarding pass to refer to for our departure. Again, not a deal breaker but annoying.

We were at the back of the resort and had to walk to the beach just to get a towel. That's not customer centric.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria_Maraki02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed from 10/26-11/08 and this was our third trip to Provo and second to RWI. This time we spent 8 nights in an ocean-view 1 bedroom (third floor) and a botanical 1 bedroom for 5 nights (second floor). The view for each room category was spectacular. The rooms were clean and spacious. The bed is so comfortable and house-keeping does a nice job every day. Everyone is very friendly. We had a few maintenance issues throughout our stay that were fixed immediately. We didn't experience any issues with requesting additional towels from the pool/beach guys. The landscaping is incredible and this is why we keep returning to RWI. The tropical vegetation, best stretch of Grace Bay beach, and this smaller resort compared to the other concrete jungles makes for a perfect and relaxing holiday. At night you will hear the music of Club Med which might be bothersome to some but we didn't mind it at all. We are looking forward to our next trip booked for May 2014!

Room Tip: Second floor for shade and cover from the rain.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachbleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I spent a week there the end of October, beginning of November. It was our first trip to Provo. The resort grounds are beautiful and well kept. There seemed to be someone always trimming, cutting, pruning the grounds.
We arrived about 2 pm and our room was not ready. Other people came in around the same time as us and had their rooms ready so I guess it's the luck of the draw. We had about 45 minutes to kill so after we drank our complimentary rum punch drink we just wandered around the grounds and beach.
We had a studio in building 7 which overlooked the quiet pool. Oceanfront would be nice but unless you get a great deal, I'd question the extra expense. The staff was pleasant always saying hi when walking by. Our room was cleaned daily with fresh towels etc.
I did have a couple nit picks with the front desk. I asked them for change so I could get $1's for tipping but they had no change or would not make change. I believe the later as she never even looked in her drawer. Also there is no printer for the lobby computer. I found this odd as I'm so used to traveling for business and printing out my boarding pass.
We also had an issue with the tub draining, as in it wouldn't. We called and maintenance came right up and took care of it. My last nit pick is the beach staff seemed to be very protective of their towels. We had to beg to get 2 towels each.

We rented a car which I would recommend. We saw too many people walking/biking to the grocery store which is not that close especially on the way back with bags. In addition, it provided us the freedom to explore the island and eat at different restaurants.
We walked up and down the beach and it seemed RWI clearly had the most people. People in front of some of the other resorts seemed to have their beach to themselves. I could only speculate that RWI was a better value.
Must go to happy hour and cozy up with Premy. He'll take care of you. It is the best bargain on the island.
We happened to be there during an owner's meeting week so a lot of the people we met were owner's. All of them were extremely nice and welcoming.
Overall this place is beautiful. I would recommend it and we would bo back.

Room Tip: Quiet pool area is that quiet. We met a couple that was in bldg 3 that could hear music from Club Med next door. We were in bldg 7 and heard nothing. For the money studio is fine for 2. Only thing missing a stove and who's there to cook anyway? Would suggest 2nd floor as it's off the ground plus it is covered so you can enjoy the balcony if it rains.3rd floor balconies only have a trellis
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

This was our third trip to Provo, first staying at RWI. I had read in previous reviews about building 2, and it's views of the ocean from the 2nd and 3rd floors. We were lucky enough to get the 2nd floor, smack dab in the middle if the floor, for an ocean view.

The staff was very pleasant, from the front desk, to Ronald who gave us an explanation of the grounds while delivering our bags to the room, the lovely cleaning staff, the grounds keepers, beach/ pool staff, the bar tenders ( Mario and company), and the restaurant staff. Everyone was very cordial, helpful, always had a smile, and you could tell that they were proud of what the did for a daily task.

The grounds are lush, and well kept. The beach was wide, and beautiful. There was no over aggressive, saving of lounges, because there were plenty to go around.

This was by far a much needed relaxing vacation, and the RWI staff, accommodated! I would highly recommend anyone staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjsilver8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I spent a week here in a "Botanical View" studio; This is a long, narrow
property and all balconies face the pools and garden, and/or ocean with a lovely
view so you can't go wrong. If you choose this room type, ask for third floor and you
may have a little bit of ocean as well - esp for Building 8. Balconies are spacious with
table, chairs and lounger; The biggest problem with the studios is that they don't have a
stove top, so you have to get creative as a microwave/toaster gourmet to some extent if
you hope to control your food costs on Provo at all. (I believe there is a full kitchen in
the 1BR+ units); Throw some easy breakfast/lunch items into your luggage like
bagels, peanut butter, jam, canned tuna, salsa and you'll thank yourself once you see
the prices at the local grocery store. (Lucky Charms, $8/box, crackers $7, 2 liter
7-up $4, Ragu $5.50 - you'll see what I mean); The taxi from the airport to the hotel was also $40 for two, $80 round trip so compared to other islands we've been to, we found tourist life here rather expensive in general.

The pools and grounds are beautiful, as well as the beach; This is a very quiet place, even at the bar/pool area where I thought a little music during the day would be nice; Lots of older people around too, but maybe its because its low season; Beach staff is great and the free kayak, sailboat, snorkel equipment are a nice touch; Ocean itself is good swimming, but the depth drops off fairly quickly so keep an eye on your swimmers. If the wind whips up, there are very large waves at this part of the cove also; (on those days, maybe better to head south to Long Bay beach, about 2 miles away).

Location - things on Provo are very spread out and not what I'd call "cozy" at first glance. The free bikes at the hotel are handy, or you can walk about a 2/3 mile to town center (with sidewalk and lighting) for some shops, restaurants and bars; Everything is relative though, and after seeing the beach areas for other hotels like Alexandria/Coral Gardens I was happy with our proximity to things and the comparatively large expanses of beach we got to enjoy; We rented a scooter for a couple days too, and that enabled us to investigate other parts of the island as well.

Overall - a great stay and the ocean really IS that color turquoise! Beautiful to behold.

Room Tip: Botanical view studio is very nice and I'd do that again; Ask for the high floor and you may also see the ocean; There are 8 3-story buildings on the property, and those furthest from the ocean (6,7,8) are quietest.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bebrbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews