We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity,beauty and peacefully quiet....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal West Indies Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Brook Park
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Serenity,beauty and peacefully quiet....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough about the time we had here (2-6). My wife and I wanted to come back to grace bay since being here twice before but did not want to pay a lot like before. I kept researching different resorts for price and reviews and found this gem! If u want comfort ,good food and all around great value this is it! When I say this, I mean this in relationship to the costs of turks and cacois. By no means this island is cheap but in our eyes this beauty is like no other! Our third time and still in awe with the beach and water(been traveling exclusive in the caribbean) and this is greatest of all of them. The sand is like talcum powder and the water mesmerizing. This is our first time not picking and all inclusive resort (only 2 on the island) soo we very skeptical about service, comfort and the final bill when all said and done. Yes we gambled with hurricane season upon us but paid off in volume , the resort was empty and received a 3rd floor wrap around balcony. They have a full restaurant and bar,because of low season 2-4-1 happy hour 3-7. We ate dinner 3 nights of our trip there with total smiles on our faces eating fresh caught fish daily from the ocean ,great drinks and attentive waiters. There are other restaurants all over the island known for great food but (once again $$$$) but for price, convenience and all around great time this is the pelican bay restaurant. The view from our balcony was priceless, we would watch the sunset every evening from there and was surprised the refrigerator had a complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate my birthday. In our opinion this resort cannot improve much more! If your looking for the total package this probably is it, but it might have to come in hurricane season. My name is suntanden, and beware I got burnt and its October.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    619
    114
    41
    24
See reviews for
298
999
62
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed at The Royal West Indies in March of 2012 (the post only says Oct 2013 because March 2012 wasn't a choice). My wife and I got married there at the resort on the beach. We had hired an independent wedding planner and everything went well. The beach is amazing and clean. Very blue and clear, and when I was there the waves were quite big compared to normal, which I love. Good body surfing. I have been to several places in Mexico, Punta Cana, and other places, and this beach is better than all of them.

The Royal West Indies is more of a condo style hotel, where people own the units and rent them out most of the year, but the rooms still felt like a hotel. Very clean, well kept, and comfortable. We had a full sized fridge, small kitchen, sitting area, comfortable bed, and a nice shower. The deck was quiet and over looked the pool and gardens. No complaints there.

The bar area was fun and we met a lot of nice people from all over the U.S. and Canada. Mario and the other bartenders were great. My only compliant is that the bar closed a bit early, but some people may prefer it that way.
The food was good. It was bar food with an island twist, but we enjoyed it. Most other places are quite expensive, so having a local place to eat good food was nice.

The pool was a good size and was a fun place to lounge and have drinks. The only thing they could do better would be to skim the top a little more often. I would always see a few bugs or leaves floating in it. Made me not want to get in a few times. Don't get me wrong, the pool and was nice and it was clean water, but there shouldn't be anything floating. Otherwise the grounds were beautiful.

We did have a few problems with our door lock breaking, but they made a good effort to get it repaired and did so rather quickly.

I would recommend this resort to anybody. Great value for the money, considering Provo is generally expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tequila307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a lovely, lovely boutique resort!! The staff are warm and friendly, the grounds are beautifully maintained with gorgeous gardens, the beach is one of the best on the stretch and the rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean. I went with friends for my best friends 50th birthday. We had a two bedroom suite that had a fully equipped kitchen, dining area and large living room. Four people shared that suite. And I shared a room with a queen bed with a friend. Both had an ocean view with a nice-sized balcony. The beach had plenty of lounge chairs with umbrellas. We had to get out there early to get a choice spot, but the beach never felt too crowded. The sand was powder white and we could walk along the beach to restaurants. We ate at the poolside restaurant a few times and the food was excellent. The prices were what you would expect at a resort – not cheap but not outrageously expensive. And, we ate poolside which was wonderful. The pools were very nice, but a little crowded at times and it was hard to find a chair unless you got out very early to grab a spot. This is a great resort if you want total relaxation. And, the resort hosted a cocktail party one of the nice with plentiful appetizers, rum punch and great dancing music!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Heights, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

It is true when they say that Grace Bay is one of the best beaches in the world and Royal West Indies had a great location. From the moment I arrived the staff was great. Originally my room was far from the beach, but they were able to upgrade us to beach front. It was a great time to go because kids had just gone back to school so it wasn't crowded. Food in the restaurant was good, and the concierge helped us get set up for diving, but it was Eddy down by the beach that we really connected with. Even though he was just getting us towels, setting up our chairs and umbrellas, and reserving the Hobie cat, he took an interest in us, our lives, and who we were. He always kept an eye out for us and had something good to say. This is one place I hope to return to over and over again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

What a wonderful resort! My husband and I celebrated our second wedding anniversary at RWI. We stayed at the hotel from 9/21-9/25.
When we arrived, we were instantly greeted by Kino and the front desk staff. While checking-in, we were served the most delicious homemade fruit punch I have ever had in my life! The room, which had a small kitchenette (refrigerator, sink, microwave), was very clean. The housekeeping staff supplied us with fresh towels each day. The grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. Three amazing pools graced the resort, along with an awesome bar at the main pool. Mario was a great bartender and made the most delicious pina coladas. Happy hour is from 5PM-7PM everyday...worth the wait!
When you finally make your way to the beach, Grace Bay will take your breath away. There are no words to describe its beauty.
Other tips:
--Suitable for couples or families.
--RWI is an easy bike ride (bikes provided by the hotel) to the Graceway Gourmet-IGA (serves delicious hot food) and within walking distance to several of the nicer restaurants.
--Rent a moped
--Bugaloos (most incredible location, bring your swimsuit), Mr. Groupers (fantastic hospitality), and Hemingway's (great service) were awesome restaurants.
--Mackey (our taxi driver) was a wonderful host and most helpful.
--Smith's Reef (don't forget your snorkel gear + drops) -- AMAZING!

Thank you to all of the staff at RWI for making our vacation one for the memory books!
See you soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Betsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

All I can say is WOW. The room was immaculate, I wasn't expecting it to be that nice. Well maintained suite, I noticed felt strips on the cabinet so they don't scratch anything. The room included: a washer/dryer, microwave, mid size refrigerator, hd Samsung flat screen with a blueray player, not that we spent a lot of time in room but nice to have. The inside was very clean. The outside was well maintained, I saw the staff cleaning all the time, even if it wasn't dirty. Staff was excellent and friendly. Can't say enough about it. Close to grocery store, 6 minutes by bikes they supplied. Still here and enjoying all of it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJM12974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Recently my girlfriend and I vacationed at RWI from 8/31 to 9/6. We chose RWI based on the recommendation of a family friend who owns a unit there. We could not have been more pleased with our stay. RWI is situated on the one of the better strips of beach than many of the resorts, with ample sand before the water. Not every resort can boast the same with narrower areas.. Also, RWI is a smaller resort, so there is not the crowded feel of some of the other places. The units are well maintained, and the grounds are immaculate. The staff was excellent and Tanisha at the front desk was the answer to any taxi, restaurant reservation, car rental or general question we had. I highly recommend this property as it is an excellent value. Although there are newer and more extravagant properties, RWI will deliver so save your $$$ for the awesome restaurants on the island. Can't wait to return. If anyone has any questions I will be glad to answer via a direct message.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrfeliscatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 47 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#21 of 47 in Providenciales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 47 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sands at Grace Bay
Sands at Grace Bay
#20 of 47 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#17 of 47 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#19 of 47 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Property: Royal West Indies Resort
Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, West Indies, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing