We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I'd certainly go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal West Indies Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I'd certainly go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms were clean and self sufficient it was great having a washer and dryer. We were seconds from the beach and had a wonderful view. The food at the restaurant was great we had breakfast every morning and dinner there two nights. If I had to say one negative thing it would be that they offer room service and when my husband and I tried to take advantage of this they said they didn't have enough staff and we had to pick it up. We went to pick up our food and it was packed in ugly styrofoam containers and they had the nerve to charge a service charge. (we stayed for a week). The beach is absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    595
    107
    40
    24
See reviews for
293
965
58
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent a week here in mid-August. This was our first time vising TCI. We knew that the island was expensive, but this resort was reasonably priced. On the island, as a whole, we did not find the locals to be as friendly or laid back as everyone says.

Pros of resort: The grounds were beautiful. The room was clean and comfortable. The beach is amazing, and just a short walk from any of the rooms! Housekeeping and grounds employees very hospitable. The onsite Pelican Bay restaurant had pretty good food and service and the bar had 2 for 1 happy hour nightly from 5-7.

Cons of resort: The front desk staff was not very friendly, welcoming, or helpful, nor was the beach and pool staff. Look online if you're looking for something specific. One of the girls at the front desk sent us across town to print something and later that same day we happened to run into a place to print that was within 10 minutes walking distance to the resort. Maybe she didn't know, I never asked her about it, but, when she gave us directions she knew we were taking the complimentary resort bicycles and told us that we weren't allowed to go that far with them.

We had a few room issues that we didn't report (Things that didn't really bother us, and that maybe the housekeeper could have reported to maintenance?!). The handle on the sink kept falling off, as did the shower handle. The housekeeper just placed them off to the side of the tub.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrazyTrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent 11 days at Royal and what a wonderful experience. The locations is unbeatable, the staff are so friendly, the room was cozy and clean all the time. It is not luxurious but it is perfect. My husband went to happy hour everyday at the pelican bar and restaurant right there in the resort. Happy hour from 5 to 7 is a must to attend and say hi to Premy and Lenny for me. Wonderful experience and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32Clau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our boys loved the pools. My younger son liked going into the Quiet Zone pool that was 3 feet deep because he felt confident about being able to stand up. The restaurant food was good, just wish there were more restaurants on site.

Room Tip: Our one bedroom unit on the ground floor had a full kitchen (should have packed groceries) was spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asachdeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent 8 days on the island and stayed at the Royal West Indies Resort. The location is superb, the amenities first rate and the staff from the front desk to the grounds-keepers were all excellent. We could not have asked for a better resort. Welcomed us with water and punch on our arrival. Took time to review all of the hotel amenities and just the attention to detail was superb.Prior to our leaving we were contact and asked whether we required an taxi to the airport or any other assistance. During our stay no question was too trivial and staff helped with booking our off site activities and restaurant reservations. The staff at this hotel LOVE their jobs and it shows in the level of commitment and their friendliness and willingness to help at every turn. We will not stay anywhere else on future trips to the island.

Room Tip: We stayed in Residence 5 and occupied Room 533 and had an amazing ocean view and pool view and had b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed 8 nights at the Royal West Indies and it exceeded our expectations. Turks and Caicos has some really expensive resorts (liked more than $1000 per night per couple) so I think this hotel prices are very reasonable while still providing a "beach luxury experience" (that is, nice beds, good furniture, spacious rooms, beach chairs and umbrellas, good resort restaurant, etc) at a great location (right on the Grace Bay beach and close to a good supermarket). Maybe some people what marble floors or crystal chandeliers, but I don't see why look for that at a Caribbean beach.
We ate twice and the hotel restaurant and found the food reasonably good and priced.
Hotel staff was very nice and the room was properly cleaned daily.
One recommendation: rent a car, no matter where you stay in Turks and Caicos, so that you can go visit different beaches and try different restaurants. Otherwise you will likely see little more than your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trilobiteParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I just met up with some girlfriends for a long weekend in Providenciales and we stayed at the Royal West Indies (selected after reading other reviews on Tripadvisor). My overall impression of the resort is that the grounds are gorgeous and the rooms are bright and clean and airy--basically as advertised or maybe better. There were three of us sharing a one bedroom ocean view suite in building five. The one bedroom suites are all corner rooms with wrap-around balconies. From building five we did have a nice view of both the grounds and the adult-only swimming pool and the ocean, but I think only buildings one and two are actually "ocean front" views. As for the room, the free wireless was easy and worked well and everything was in good working order, although we didn't actually do much cooking so I can't vouch for the kitchen appliances.

Because we were just there for a long weekend we primarily ate in the restaurant--we didn't have a car and it was actually just too hot to contemplate biking to the grocery store. The breakfast options at the restaurant were not crazy expensive and were very good. Dinner was pretty overpriced for the quality, which many other reviewers have pointed out. Yes, overall, food and alcohol are all expensive. The bar has a nice two-for-one happy hour and the bartenders were great. In fact all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The bar is happy to put drinks in plastic cups so that you take them down to the beach.

The beach area itself is absolutely stunning--the resort is located toward the end of Grace Bay and next to Club Med, but it wasn't the least bit crowded. The sand is powdery white, the water is crystal clear with no waves--it's like a swimming pool. We tried out the snorkeling equipment available to guests but there wasn't too much to see in the water in front by the resort. There are very good snorkeling options further down Grace Bay, which we would have pursued if we had had more time. We had no problem getting loungers and umbrellas every day, even after lingering over a late breakfast.

I would love to come back and bring my husband and seven year old son and stay longer. I would rent a car and do more cooking for a longer stay. There weren't a lot of kids at the resort (pools were practically deserted but the beach was so spectacular I can understand why) but there were a few kids and I think my son would love it. There are plenty of activities on the island for those who like to go, go, go so I think it would work well for a family vacation.

Overall, really nice little resort that was quite affordable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in buildings 1 or 2 if you want a straight-on ocean view. Honestly though, the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selaineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#5 of 43 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 stars 2,062 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#16 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#18 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sands at Grace Bay
Sands at Grace Bay
#21 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 1,632 reviews
2.7 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#13 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#17 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Property: Royal West Indies Resort
Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, West Indies, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing