We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

we had been walking along Grace Bay beach in jan when we were staying at another hotel, we stopped here for lunch at the bar restaurant amidst a lavishly exotic landscaped vista we had a very nice lunch. this time when we went on a last minute holiday we actually saw this hotel choice and booked it. they upgraded us from a botanical view to ocean view and the studio we had was comfortable and very pleasant. the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. the landscaping is so gorgeous you must see it for yourself. it is not a huge hotel which i also prefered. they have a couple of pools and one is actually reserved as a quiet space which we very much appreciated. Grace bay beach is one of the most beautiful if not the most beautiful beach i have ever experienced. the water was well perfect. well situated on the beach directly between club med on one side and the other the upscale Grace Bay Club (visit the infinity bar well worth it.) so in summary beautiful, excellent value, and excellent location. walk along the beach is well worth it by day and by night.

Room Tip: ocean view ask for an upgrade and just maybe you will get it. tip the maid daily as a courtesy. we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucirizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    660
    122
    42
    30
See reviews for
333
1,071
65
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I just got back from our 2 year anniversary trip and the Royal West Indies was a WONDERFUL time. We stayed in building #8 which is towards the front of the resort. The room was great and we enjoyed having our kitchen. We took the bikes to the store (which are a interesting experience...get bike 4 and 6) and made some lunches and dinners in the room. We spent most of the days on the beach which was always easy to get a beach chair, table and umbrella. The beach is BEAUTIFUL and so peaceful. While we were there it was mostly couples or adults, not a lot of kids. We ended up hanging out with many of the people at our hotel at the HAPPY HOUR, which is the best part of this hotel. We did not miss one happy hour while we were on vacation. From 5 to 7 there is a 2 for 1 deal with Mario behind the bar. He will sing along if there is live music or a DJ, he makes great drinks and he gets to know everyone. Everyone is so happy and having a great time. It is something you want to go too, even if you stay at another resort. This resort is also located near to Coco Bistro which was our favorite place that we had dinner, you can walk there and back easy! However the food at the resort is always very very good! We had an amazing trip and hope to go back again soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CarringtonB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in June and the rooms and beds were great. We were in an ocean front room in building 1, which is closest to the beach. The other ocean front rooms are in building 2 which is a further distance from the beach. If possible, when booking an ocean front room, insist on building 1.

We found the staff to be accommodating and competent but reserved and somewhat quiet....perhaps it is the British influence. In other words we did not find them to be particularly friendly but they did their jobs well so I can't complain.

The supermarket is about 1/2 of a mile away so it's walkable but not what one would consider close. Food at the supermarket and the restaurants is very expensive compared with other Caribbean Islands. There is also an 11% VAT tax on top of the expensive prices. Taxi fares are also expensive so it's not like you'll want to take a taxi to the supermarket or a restaurant that is outside of walking distance ($15 per person each way or $60 round trip for 2).

In general, lunches for the 2 of us cost about $55 and dinners about $125 and up - more if you have alcohol with your meal. A six pack of beer at the supermarket costs $16 for cheap beer and more if you want anything decent. We met a fellow tourist who returns every year and he packs two 12 packs in his suitcase when he comes down!

We had the all-you-can-eat pig roast at The Royal West Indies for $42 per person and it wasn't very good. To be fair, we showed up late (around 9 PM) so maybe the food was better earlier. The pork was fatty and the buffet food dried out.

The bar at happy hour has 2 for 1 drinks from 5- 7 PM and that was great. Happy hour was one of the highlights of the trip. The bartenders were very friendly and personable, in contrast to the rest of the staff. We also got to meet other guests there.

Every morning the staff lines up chaises and umbrellas towards the back of the beach, close to the resort and away from the water. Most of the resorts do this, presumably because it make putting them away easier at night. We typically went to the beach around 1 PM and I never saw any staff on the beach- only in the towel/activity hut you pass on the way to the beach. My wife and I like to sit close to the water so every day I had to schlep chaise lounges to the front part of the beach and then retrieve and dig in the umbrellas. In nice resorts like this one, I am used to having someone do this for me (and of course I tip for this service). I guess I could've asked the guys in the towel hut to do this for me but I wasn't certain it was their job to do this. On the last day there, our umbrella blew away and a staff member came out of nowhere and helped me put it back in the sand. Also on the last day, a staff member came onto the beach and asked me if I wanted a drink. I could've used him on day one! Then again, I would've spent a lot more money! The bottom line is that this was a good value for the money, the resort was lovely, the beach was relatively quiet and beautiful. I would stay here again without a doubt. However, I won't be returning to the island because the food and taxi's were overpriced compared to other Islands. Thats a shame too, because the island is not commercialized like most other places.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LM77WashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We loved our stay at the RWI hotel, the staff was very friendly and the hotel in great condition.
One thing we did not enjoy were the prices, $40.00 per person on breakfast?! For two pancakes the size of a dollar coin? The Bar at the Pelican Hotel had a happy hour from 5-7 for two drinks for the price of one, otherwise, drinks were $10.00 and beers $7.
In general Turks and Caicos was great and we understand it's an Island so they have to import almost everything, but I still don't think we got what we paid for. You can go to any other Caribbean Island and get more value. In addition, the hotel is pretty far way from the supermarket.

Room Tip: The studio doesn't have a stove to cook on, the prices are so high that you might save some mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nananina80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff makes this gem of a resort well worth the VERY competitive price. If you have a few extra bucks, try to get an ocean-view suite. Don't eat anywhere else but Pelican Bay on Sunday nights when their chef serves the beat freakin' jerk on the planet. We ordered 1 jerk chicken to go this time!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BChaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had the greatest time here! The staff is wonderful, and accommodating. They are lovely, friendly people who take great pride in their work and making sure that their guests are well taken care of and happy. How often will you find the matriarch of the family who owns a resort out among the flowers and fauna tending to the landscape and happy to educate her guests about what surrounds them while helping them to fresh coconut off the tree?

We stayed at the RWI the week leading up to our wedding in April, along with almost all of our guests. Although we were married and honeymooned at another resort, this was the site of our rehearsal dinner and farewell breakfast, and could've very well served as the locale for our big day.

There are several buildings that are 3 STY walk-ups, plantation style decor with varied views from gardens to the ocean. There are 2 pools, 1 with a hot-tub "quiet area" for a more relaxing experience, but with an ocean as amazing as Grace Bay we didn't stay there very much. The sand is white and powdery. "It's so beautiful it looks fake." - a common reaction to the photos that we took. Beach service is always right on the money with towels, lounge chairs, drinks, food, etc. The food is great and you can see our review on the Pelican Bay's Trip Advisor page.

Our wedding guests are already talking about booking their own vacations and parties here, and kid that we may just bump into them when we take our anniversary vacations back at this resort.

The prices to stay at the RWI are relatively inexpensive and more so when they're compared to similar resorts in the area. It's worth every penny. It's very close to a number of the better restaurants on Provo, as well as shopping and other activities. One of the supermarkets is close enough to take a bicycle which there are plenty available to borrow from the resort, and all are within walking distance should the heat and your feet be willing. Taxi vans are available throughout the island and the front desk can arrange pick ups. We were told that everything except rocks and sunshine have to be imported to the island and the tariffs on imports is why prices are a bit high for some things. It's all worth it in the end.

Can't wait to see them all again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ralph-and-Ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We paid extra for a view of the ocean. We could not see the ocean from our room. This seems like a serious case of false advertising. All rooms face the rough direction of the ocean, but other buildings, trees, and simple physics do not allow any of the buildings after probably building 3 to even make that claim. We were in building 5. Having taken this vacation to get away from a very stressful work environment, I didn't feel like fighting it when I got there, which I would normally have done. But buyer beware.

The only other negative was the laxity about maintaining the "adults only/quiet area" as such--for 5 of the days we were there, an extended family with many small children and tweens were not only housed in the "quiet" area--not their fault--but they chose to use the adults-only pools and run screaming around the quiet area. Um, so, people can be rude, especially people with loud children they no longer hear, but then it's up to the resort staff to politely ask them to move to the loud area/children's pool. This never happened, and it would have made our stay more pleasant. I'm sure we weren't alone in this feeling--in fact, a brief conversation in the hot tub with another guest revealed shared frustration at the lack of any real "adults only/quiet zone".

Everything else about the RWI is GREAT. But if we come again, we will be a little more aggressive in demanding what we paid for--we just wanted to relax, without children screaming in the adult pool, and without fighting for what we paid for. But I'd highly recommend that before you pay for your room, you get specifics on which room it is, and when you arrive, go check the room to make sure it has an ocean view if that's what you paid for.

Room Tip: Building 1 (ocean front), 2 or 3 if you want to see the ocean. And pick the top floor if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurgessMebane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.5 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 44 in Providenciales
2,401 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 44 in Providenciales
573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
813 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Property: Royal West Indies Resort
Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing