We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older property, but nice....with some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Older property, but nice....with some issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Check in went smoothly. Got an upgrade to one bedroom without asking. The staff (with some exceptions to be discussed later) were great...Sherman (bellman/concierge/jack of all trades) was great. Housekeeping was great. The grounds were immaculate and the suite was clean. The bad -- the Pelican restaurant. A relatively new manager who is trying hard but the staff of the restaurant don't seem to be all that interested in service...food was generally not hot ( my guess is that's due to lack of movement by servers)...variety of food was limited and the sides never varied. Although this property appears to be reasonably priced for TCI, the value (assuming all Caribbean locations) is below average. Bed was hard and mattress was worn out (deep depression on alarm side of bed).

Room Tip: all rooms appear to have their own pros and cons. The 1 bdrm gives you a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    645
    121
    41
    28
See reviews for
323
1,045
63
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We just returned from a 10 day trip to TCI split between The Royal West Indies and The Sands. Both resorts are very nice and great family vacation spots.

Royal West Indies resort is very private with trees and lush gardens throughout the resort creating a very relaxing and private feel. The restaurant is very good and has a great 2-1 happy hour every night from 5-7 which is great for keeping costs in control as the island can get pricey. The beach is amazing, this is one of the best stretches of Grace Bay and I walked the beach many times and there is no better spot on the beach. The rooms are very clean and functional, we stayed in a ground fllor 1bdrm suite and it was perfect for the 2 of us and our 15 month old daughter. The maid service was very good as well. The staff of the resort is the only aspect of this resort I was not blown away by. As other reviewers state they are average but not exceptional. Depending on which person you work with at the front desk you may or may not get the help you need. This will not deter us from coming back but I will take it on myself to book a few dinner reservations (especuially if I want to go to COCO bistro) prior to my trip.

The major difference between the Sands and the Royal West Indies is the Staff at the front Desk of the Sands is perfect, all over everything you need at the moment you need it while RWI felt a little overwhelmed. The other Major difference is the Sands is very wide open with few trees and privacy while RWI is much more private. Rooms were about the same, restaurants are about the same (no Happy Hour at Sands) and the pool was better at The Sands (RWI was too cold to swim much) but the Beach/Ocean was slightly better at RWI

Great Island, Great Resort Choice for privacy & children

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Returned today from 2 week stay, lovely chilled out resort, great location and the most stunning beach .We had a botanical view studio ....(worth noting we had no cooker in kitchenette ) but really a wonderful place to stay on these beautiful islands and we would definitely go back to The Royal West Indies. Turks and Caicos as a destination ticked every box apart from the treatment of their local pot cake dogs which was very upsetting, the island needs to do much more to help these creatures. Such a small island and yet they seem unable to care for their island dogs ... some are left dead by the road, half starved and dying of heart worm and other diseases or injuries.... As tourism is the main industry on the island I believe all tourists have a duty to complain to their hotels or the TCI government about the welfare of these animals in the hope that more will be done!

Room Tip: We stayed in 712, great room walks straight out to pool area, very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tapanga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there with my 2 friends in a 2 bedroom suite and we found it to be beautiful and quiet. The beach is fantastic and the pelican bay restaurant had good food although the drinks were somewhat expensive. The only problem that travelling with friends makes the evenings a little too quiet. There is no nightlife to speak of except for the rather sketchy and smoky casino next door. When we arrived at RWI Sherman greeted us and was always friendly. Calvin and chef nick were also great. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Suze2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just returned from 4 days at RWI in a 1 bedroom. I think my expectations were appropriately set before going - this is a basic resort on a beautiful beach. Don't expect anyone to go above and beyond for you from a service perspective. The people at the front desk were nice but you always felt like you were asking for the world when you needed a taxi called or had a question about a restaurant or directions. The guys at the beach were also nice but don't ask for anything extra. We wanted to take the kayaks out and were told that the reef was too high which made no sense, especially because all of the other resorts had theirs out. I think the guy working was just too lazy to bring them down to the beach. If you generally stay at full-service resorts and plan to stay at RWI, set your expectations accordingly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lrg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hello, my husband and I have just returned from a week long stay at RWI! We were there the last week in January. We had the top floor of building number 3 which is in front of the pool and restaurant. Our one bedroom ocean view was equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay including a wonderful king size bed! The bed was firm and did not jiggle when we moved around on it. The internet service was a bit moody, but manageable.
This is our sixth stay on T and C. We love going there because we hop on the direct flight from Boston and are on the AMAZING beach in five hours max.!! This is our first stay at RWI. The hotel is lovely, the grounds are beautiful with lots of blooming bushes and other native plants. The staff was excellent. The front desk ladies were polite, the cleaning lady a true pleasure and the beach staff were fine! We were thrilled to have someone clean the kitchen and dishes every day!
We had dinner, one night, at the on site restaurant. The food was VERY good and the service was up to American standards. Prompt and pleasant!
Of course, the Grace Bay beach is the worlds number one best. I have been to many beaches in America and the Caribbean and NOTHING compares to the beauty of Grace Bay. It has firm, but soft sand for long walks and the blues in the water are amazing! We have walked from end to end many times. It is 6 miles one way, measured by a GPS contraption my husband has. Those 12 miles are the most pleasant one can walk!
So, the only "issue" we had was the loud, live music played near the bar most evenings. Being in building number 3 meant we had front row seats. Take it or leave it! Perhaps we would request a quieter building next time.
All in all a great vacation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett, Missouri
Level Contributor
333 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The internet service at this resort is not usable in some of the rooms. They initially placed us in room 634 where the internet service was so bad that it was difficult for a page to load. They then moved us to room 522 where the Internet was somewhat better but still the download speed was only about 1K or so at its best. However, the speed was sufficient in 522 to use VNC in my office in the United States.By the way, there was an obvious difference in the quality of room 522 versus the quality of room 634. We spent one night in 634. The bed was terrible. It was sagging and needed to be replaced. You would think management would require that all the rooms be kept in proper condition for visitors.

Another concern is that this property does not appear to be keeping their beach chairs and beach umbrellas in an appropriate condition. It is obvious that the beach umbrellas have seen their better day, and we encountered many broken chairs. They need to upgrade their beach chairs and umbrellas.I will say it is somewhat embarrassing to stay in a resort where the chairs are of three different colors. This is not a good sign for the future.

In addition, they are apparently using very cheap coffee pots in the rooms. It's a Proctor Silex but does not make very good coffee. The one in our room died, so they had to bring us another one.

Also, we were not too impressed with the cleaning staff.They do not do a very good job of cleaning the room. In the two weeks we were there, they never once properly cleaned the patio and only mopped the room once or twice. Also, the maids do not properly wash the dishes that are left in the room, so I suggest that you wash your own dishes to be sure they are clean. Almost every day that we were there, they failed to leave enough towels and washcloths for two people. Invariably, we would have to call them.

The restaurant has a new manager who seems competent, but why can't they offer a fish sandwich for lunch? We would certainly be more willing to eat at the restaurant if they did so.This property now has three separate events during the week at the restaurant. Jerk chicken on Sunday; native food on Wednesday; and a pig roast on Friday. They even have some music throughout the week which is a nice touch. However, as one resident told me, music will not take the place of quality food. Unfortunately, the restaurant at this resort is not known for the quality of its food.

The beach crew does a fantastic job area. You want something done, such as a reservation at a restaurant or actually anything else, ask for Tanisha at the front desk. She is tops. Avoid Shawn at the front desk it can. He doesn't do anything that you ask him to do. For any maintenance problem or Internet problem for that matter, ask for Cirilo.We miss seeing Eddie on the beach this year, but he apparently took a vacation to Haiti.

This resort has a fantastic beach. It is situated to the east of other properties. It is great walking on the beach to the east since very few people are there. In addition, the resort is populated with the flowers and shrubs which are kept very tidy by the gardeners. There are also some very nice restaurants within walking distance.

Would we returned the Royal West Indies again? Probably so, but management, if you are listening, we also viewed other properties this time because if this property continues to deteriorate, we will look elsewhere

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMTurnbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.5 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#19 of 45 in Providenciales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#14 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#21 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Property: Royal West Indies Resort
Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, West Indies, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing