We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a Bargain But Greatly Needs Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Kennett, Missouri
Level Contributor
333 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Still a Bargain But Greatly Needs Improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The internet service at this resort is not usable in some of the rooms. They initially placed us in room 634 where the internet service was so bad that it was difficult for a page to load. They then moved us to room 522 where the Internet was somewhat better but still the download speed was only about 1K or so at its best. However, the speed was sufficient in 522 to use VNC in my office in the United States.By the way, there was an obvious difference in the quality of room 522 versus the quality of room 634. We spent one night in 634. The bed was terrible. It was sagging and needed to be replaced. You would think management would require that all the rooms be kept in proper condition for visitors.

Another concern is that this property does not appear to be keeping their beach chairs and beach umbrellas in an appropriate condition. It is obvious that the beach umbrellas have seen their better day, and we encountered many broken chairs. They need to upgrade their beach chairs and umbrellas.I will say it is somewhat embarrassing to stay in a resort where the chairs are of three different colors. This is not a good sign for the future.

In addition, they are apparently using very cheap coffee pots in the rooms. It's a Proctor Silex but does not make very good coffee. The one in our room died, so they had to bring us another one.

Also, we were not too impressed with the cleaning staff.They do not do a very good job of cleaning the room. In the two weeks we were there, they never once properly cleaned the patio and only mopped the room once or twice. Also, the maids do not properly wash the dishes that are left in the room, so I suggest that you wash your own dishes to be sure they are clean. Almost every day that we were there, they failed to leave enough towels and washcloths for two people. Invariably, we would have to call them.

The restaurant has a new manager who seems competent, but why can't they offer a fish sandwich for lunch? We would certainly be more willing to eat at the restaurant if they did so.This property now has three separate events during the week at the restaurant. Jerk chicken on Sunday; native food on Wednesday; and a pig roast on Friday. They even have some music throughout the week which is a nice touch. However, as one resident told me, music will not take the place of quality food. Unfortunately, the restaurant at this resort is not known for the quality of its food.

The beach crew does a fantastic job area. You want something done, such as a reservation at a restaurant or actually anything else, ask for Tanisha at the front desk. She is tops. Avoid Shawn at the front desk it can. He doesn't do anything that you ask him to do. For any maintenance problem or Internet problem for that matter, ask for Cirilo.We miss seeing Eddie on the beach this year, but he apparently took a vacation to Haiti.

This resort has a fantastic beach. It is situated to the east of other properties. It is great walking on the beach to the east since very few people are there. In addition, the resort is populated with the flowers and shrubs which are kept very tidy by the gardeners. There are also some very nice restaurants within walking distance.

Would we returned the Royal West Indies again? Probably so, but management, if you are listening, we also viewed other properties this time because if this property continues to deteriorate, we will look elsewhere

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMTurnbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    645
    121
    41
    28
See reviews for
323
1,045
63
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had a great time at the Royal West Indies Resort. Our room was clean and nice with a balcony, kitchenette and best of all washer/dryer. The grounds are beautiful with flowers, and 3 pools, with pretty pathways leading to the beach. The beach is soft, white sand you can walk on for hours. The location is good for local tours and restaurants, if you don't like long walks you may prefer a taxi. There is only 1 bar and 1 restaurant so we ate out a lot. But the area is known for is fine restaurants and does not disappoint.

Room Tip: Second floor provides a nice view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful stay in the Royal West Indies Resort (Turks & Caicos, Providenciales). This was our first time to this lovely isand and I'm so glad we went. We were looking for rest and relaxation and peace and quiet. This resort offered that and more... We stayed in a studio with a botanical view. The room was clean and well taken care of. The grounds were spotless and extremely beautiful. There is a fantastic restaurant right there called the Pelican Bay Restaurant and Bar. Our experience was fantastic food and we had loads of fun. The property is very well run and you can clearly see that the staff take pride in their work. All staff that we had contact with were wonderful, courteous, friendly, kind... I can't say enough about them. I would highly recommend this place to stay and I know we will be back.
Kathy & Dave

Room Tip: We were on the side close to Club Med but never heard the noise that some people have mentioned. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkathyknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

unbeliveable value nestled between mega condo resorts beautifully appointed rooms with everything you need great restaurant on property beautiful grounds and friendly helpful staff on a amazing beach see you next year

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark0030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our 4th visit to the TCI and 2nd to RWI. This is a gorgeous resort with wonderful staff - Calvin and Chef Nik amongst many others always greeting you with a smile. Beautifully maintained grounds and a wonderful setting on Grace Bay beach. Our beachfront "Captain's Suite" (see VRBO) was exceptional.

Room Tip: Beachfront 2nd & 3rd floor rooms have spectacular views but are a little closer to Club Med, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Meant to write this months ago, but here goes... 3 out of 3 times spent at the RWI Resort was glorious. Of course like many others, once you visit gorgeous Turks and Caicos you will never want to visit any other beach resort. The first 2 visits were just my teen daughter and myself. We stayed in a botanical studio which was perfect for 2. Clean and very comfortable. But I wanted to tell about the above and beyond service during our last trip in August. This time my husband joined us and we took the one bedroom botanical. Our room was great, but our daughter was to use the pull out sofa bed. Obviously not the same comfort level as a real bed and she was not a happy camper. I cannot thank Jeffrey Boland the general manager, Sherman and Housekeeping staff enough for seeing to it that our daughter was made comfortable. They brought in a regular mattress instead, carrying it in the heat. Another place would have just said "Sorry". The staff has a real sense of pride in where they work and that does make a difference! Alisyn Manas

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Violet294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Royal West Indies was more than we expected, This resort is a slower paced resort being on the smaller size. The suites were spacious and fully loaded with all the comforts of home. The lay out of the resort also impressed us, so much privacy with all suites hidden behind lush tropical trees and amazing flowering plants. My husband and I were so enchanted by the scent of an unknown flower that blooms at night and gives off the the most exotic scent. The quiet pool was the most relaxing space, we loved it. The staff as usual was friendly, helpful and very accommodating. Another nice aspect is the resort has bicycles for the guests to use, another nice touch. The bar at the Royal was delightful, they made the best rum punch, nice place to hang out anytime of day. The bed was the most comfortable anywhere, sheets were soft and crisp. The suites were meticulously maintained. We will always stay at the Royal West Indies when we visit again

Room Tip: Have only stayed on ground floor, and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.5 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#19 of 45 in Providenciales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#14 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#21 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Property: Royal West Indies Resort
Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, West Indies, Hotwire, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing