We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Hotel outside: Beautiful with impeccably clean grounds. The hotel main office has tasteful colonial decor and is easy to get to. Guest units are in separate 3 story blocks. This is not a huge property so getting around it is relatively easy and the beautiful landscaping with all the birds, butterflies and small lizards scampering about makes for an enjoyable stroll.

Rooms: We stayed in the most basic level of room, the garden-view studio and couldn't be more happier with it. When we travel we don't spend a lot of time in our room but for a basic level room we were very impressed. The studio rooms are open, comfortable, well-lit, and kept very clean. The maid service was exceptional and leaving several extra dollars in the room each day for cleaning staff goes a long way and was appreciated. Beds are surprisingly comfortable and among the best we've stayed at anywhere in the Caribbean. The large screen TV carries a very good selection of English-language programming including a UO Ducks football game we decided to stay in late for one night! The balcony is large and private with table and chairs. There is a compact clothes washer/dryer combo in each room that comes in handy and lets the traveler pack less for a stay. Cleaning staff leave single use boxes of powdered laundry detergent that's replenished when used. The kitchenette comes with a microwave, refrigerator and sink with diningware. An oven or stove top would of been ideal additions to cut down of food costs. The AC was great and kept the room very cool and dry. Smoking is not allowed in the rooms so no foul smoking odors to deal with. There's also a variety of local what-to-do and where-to-eat magazines in each room that were helpful. The only complaint I would have is the guest units don't have elevators and carrying heavy luggage up three stories after a screwed-up exhausting late night flight (thank you once again US Airways for a terrible travel experience) can be a chore I'd rather do without but the front desk does offer help with your bags if desired.

Beaches: It's easy to see why Grace Bay beaches are rated among the best in the world. Crystal clear warm water and white sands. We were visiting in the off-season and there were very few people on the beaches so getting a couple loungers on the beach with an umbrella was never a problem. And there were almost no beach vendors (Mexico, take a cue here and start making laws to get rid of these annoying vultures!). Literally, only one guy every other day would walk by on the beach near the water and maybe ask a few people on his way for paragliding services. He even had the class not to seek out and harass folks that are obviously just there on their loungers enjoying the beach. People that wanted to go paragliding would get up and catch him walking by the next time. Hobie cats and kayaks are available for guests at no charge and you can check them out where you pick up your beach towels.

Pools: There are 2 pools. One by the beach and the quiet-pool about 100 feet away. It was low season so we usually wouldn't see more than one or two couples at each pool with plenty of chairs and umbrellas available. No rushing out at 7 a.m. to toss a towel to 'reserve' your spot. The quiet pool actually has another very small pool attached to it and a large hot tub that was, like the pools, very clean and relaxing. This area is also well shaded with palm trees so if you are nursing a bad sun burn this is an ideal place to limit sun exposure and enjoy a relaxing pool. As a bonus we did not see a single vendor at the pools! Pool towels are next to the beach. The hotel Restaurant bar next to the main pool goes into Happy Hour mode from 5 to 7 each evening so a few more people would show up but it still is very low-keyed and not crowded at all. We didn't know about the happy hour until towards the end of our stay unfortunately but the bar serves some great drinks and we met some very friendly guests at the pool that were a real pleasure to know.

Restaurant: The Pelican prepared an awesome curried conch that was probably the best meal we had during our stay. It's not the highest TripAdvisor rated restaurant in the area but the food was very good and staff are very friendly and attentive. It was also one of the latest-open restaurants around and being the town starts to close at about 8 p.m. each night, if you're into starting your evening late like we do finding a place to eat past 8 limits your options. Renting a car to get about is a good idea and unlike what you pay on the island for everything, the cost is reasonable during off-season (about $35 day). Taxi rides, from what we were told by guests, usually run about $10 each person each way in the local area.

Tip on restaurants: You often will see a "service charge" on your bill along with the local tax. This service charge is usually 10% of your food purchase. You see this a lot (not everywhere though) and it's basically a partial gratuity built into your bill. We did run across one place that added a full 18% gratuity into the bill so of course service suffers when you run into that, but the 'service charge' let's you decide for yourself what the rest of the tip based on the food purchase should be. This was explained to us by a server at one restaurant and an owner at another that didn't have this service charge. Just watch out for this when tipping so yo don't overtip because food is so incredibly expensive here.

This was our first trip to TCI and with all the price researching I did before making reservations and the end result with our great experience at the RWI, this resort is a very good value and probably one of the best values on the island if you're looking to get the most out our your travel dollar. Sure, it is not one of the bigger resorts in the area that has more bars on the grounds and added amenities like a fitness room, which we did miss having but our primary goal was to relax and we did. Some people might have an issue with Club Med next door which does have nightly entertainment and you will hear loud music being played. It personally didn't bother us and we didn't think it overly loud or anything outside the ordinary of a resort zone area but if you are a light sleeper, early to bed type that wants absolute peace and quiet, I can see their point.

Buying anything on The Turks & Caicos islands is very expensive. More expensive comparitively than even Hawaii. Seeing a 6-pack of Corona for $16 or milk for close to $6 a gallon at a local IGA store are examples of the sticker shock you will run into here. Eating out, expect to pay at a minimum of $50 for 2 people for a basic meal NOT including drinks. It's easy to run over $100 a meal a couple if you toss in appetizers and drinks. We were warned before making the trip and found ways to minimize our food costs like bringing a large bag of cereal, protein and snack bars,hitting the duty free store for booze before departing the US (up to one liter per arriving passenger is OK), and taking tips to do some grocery shopping and using the limited kitchenette in the rooms are all ways to help reduce your costs and the make the trip more affordable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BeachNBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,984)
There are newer reviews for Royal West Indies Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

Royal West Indies is one of the smaller and cozier resorts in Providenciales.
The rooms are more like Studio Apartments with a decent size kitchen, huge bed, plenty of seating, nice patio, great bathroom.
Several pools in the resort are beautiful and inviting, decent restaurant, easy access to the beach with beach chairs, towels, water equipment rental - the crystal clear blue water is just fantastic.
Very friendly staff at the reception, which is an exception at Turks and Caicos. The resort offers free bike rental, which is very convenient since the resort is just a short bike ride from a little shopping village (with supermarket, dive shop, souvenirs, cafes).
Loved it! Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxikmoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just returned from RWI, as was our first time to Turks and Caicos, and we can't wait to return! Grace Bay beach is THE best beach we have encountered to date, the best part of it all was simply being able to enjoy the beach - only solicited one time in our five days there! The property was exactly as advertised, and was perfect for our getaway. The studio units have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and toaster, so after a quick 5 minute bike ride to the IGA market took care of our refreshments for our trip - a six pack of Turks Head beer was $12 or Domestic Beer $18, versus $6 per bottle at the property. Food eaten anywhere on the island is going to be on the expensive side, as our lunches were $68 and $90 at the property, and we enjoyed dinner at Coco Bistro one night (be sure there is no chance of rain, as you are outside), and Mango Reef (inside the Alexandra Resort). Not bad meal served anywhere during our stay - now, some complain about wait times - it's called ISLAND TIME people! If you want fast food, stay home... This is a definitely an island we will return to in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the Royal West Indies this last July. Second time we have been there. Be rest assured that this will be a return place for you too. The resort is a quiet and relaxing place with a very relaxing atmosphere. We never rented a car as everything you will want to do is a walk, bike ride or taxi away. Plenty of places to eat nearby, on site. Not to mention the great dinners we had in our 1 bedroom suite. The store is a bike ride away and they have bikes to use on site. The beaches are the touquoise blue with a sandy bottom. All kinds of sea life can be seen snorkling off the beach. The staff was great and always happy to help with any needs. Have no regrets and will be returning back as soon as I can. I recommend the parasailing and eating at the coconut grove.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZinkFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the RWI this past August.. We were looking for a fast and easy trip out of NY, and the RWI came up on several different sites. We ended up booking it through JetBlue Getaways, as they had the best rates overall, and far better than the supposed summer rates on RWI's own site.

The room itself was clean and everything worked well. The grounds are very nice as others have mentioned, and they are definitely more beautiful than other hotels we saw on the island. Between going to different beaches and restaurants, we saw several, including some of which cost far more per night. In fact, the rates for similar types of rooms at other hotels were at least $200 more a night even during the off season.

However, the old adage you pay for what you get holds true here, as we encountered a few of the things that other posters have rightfully criticized.

The worst was the noise from Club Med. It seems to be hit or miss as to when and how loud you hear it, but we heard it our first four nights (out of eight). We arrived on a Sunday night, and the noise started somewhere @ 10-10:30 PM as it did every night and went usually to at least 2 AM. It was partially true that you couldn't hear it in your room, but it also meant we couldn't sit out on our deck. However, by Tueday night, the noise was unbearable and it shook our room until it stopped. Wednesday was quieter and we were concerned that it would be really loud again on the weekend, but Thursday night there was no music at all and we didn't hear it again. We don't know if it was due to the vagaries of the Club Med schedule or maybe that we were there in the middle of August and things just petered out as we hit a time when it was totally off season. Whatever it was, we were glad it stopped.

The irony of this is that we had actually upgraded to a one bedroom suite, which in terms of layout was quite comfortable. However, the one bedroom units (and also the two bedrooms, as they make them by combining a studio with a one bedroom) are at the very ends of each building, and since five of their buildings are right next to the Club Med, it means that if you pay for a better room, the odds are greater that you will hear the Club Med! (These would include rooms 111, 121, 131, 211, 221, 231, 311, 321, 331, 511, 521, 531, 711, 721, 731.) We would have asked to switch to the other end of the building but, even though some people have said the grounds are quiet, the other end of all of these buildings, except for the 100 building which is right on the water, are next to the restaurant area. There was a very small but loud group of people drinking until about midnght or so for each of the first three nights which was really no better than the noise from the Club Med so we decided not to switch. The noise seems to depend upon where your room is as we had met a couple that were staying in a ground floor studio in the middle of a building and they said they never heard the Club Med any of the nights we did. Also, if you like to hang out on the beach late in the day, there is another facility somewhere on the Club Med beach where they have truly terrible acoustic performances that are clearly heard on RWI beach every afternoon at 6 PM.

We found the front desk personnel to be pleasant, but not very helpful as some others have pointed out. We had the same issues with late checkout that others had, not being able to get a clear answer as to whether we could stay later in the room, even though we were quite willing to pay the $55 charge, until just an hour before checkout. They must have some idea the night before of what their occupancy is going to be for the next day, particularly in off season. And you do think that there is a concierge in the office like some other hotels might have, but it is in fact someone who is basically selling the trips for one tour company, although when we there that person was actually quite nice and just trying to do their job.

The RWI is conveniently located on one end of Grace Bay Beach, and you can walk or bike to many restaurants and the IGA market. However, unless you are staying for only for a few days, you should rent a car. If you don't, you will probably feel confined and stranded unless all you want to do is hang out on the beach all day. While the driving is on the left, it was pretty easy and a lot safer and slower than the driving on a lot of other Caribbean islands.

The RWI does not have a gym, which is probably another factor in their lower rates, and they sent everyone to a gym in the Salt Mill Shopping area about a half mile up Grace Bay Road. The gym had a waiver sheet you had to sign if you were using it for the day, and about two thirds of the people listed the RWI, so apparently it is one of the few hotels in the area without gym facilities. When I went back for a second time, there was a notice on the door saying it had been closed for non-payment of rent! There is another gym behind the Graceway mall on the main highway, about 10-15 minutes away, and the day rate was $10 instead of the $20 charged by the one that closed.

Also, in terms of restaurants, the supposed best restaurant on the island is the Coco Bistro, which is a 5 minute walk away. However, we found it to be highly overrated and not worth the $180 we ended up spending for two people. The service was pleasant but not very professional and the food, while fresh and properly cooked, not particularly memorable. If you want a fine dining experience, it would be better to either drive or take a cab (about 15 minutes away) to the Magnolia Wine Bar and Restauarant. The service is outstanding, the food delicious (and less $ than the Coco Bistro) and you should make your reservation for before sundown, so you can see the sun set over the harbor. That alone is priceless.

Overall, we felt like our stay was okay and we got what we paid for, but we would have preferred that if we had to compromise in some aspect of our stay to get these rates, that it would have been something else besides having the noise from Club Med.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SaoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent last week at the Royal West Indies Resort and it was also our first time visiting provo. It was a very quiet and relaxing week on a most beautiful beach. Grace Bay has got to be one of the best beaches we have been too. The water is a beautiful tourquoise blue with an all sandy bottom and you can walk for miles and miles and swim in a very warm ocean..
We enjoyed the resort with it's lovely gardens that were well kept. We never went in the pools as it was very hot sitting there even with beach umbrells they were mostly in the sun all day.
The rooms were very comfortable but we had a problem when we arrived the first night and went to take a shower and there was only cold water so we reported it to the front desk who said they would send someone up to the room but they never did. That night when we went to take a shower it was still cold. My husband found the electrical panel in the room and found out they had shut off the water heater. Once he turned it on we were all set. I can't blame them for shutting off the water heater if the condo is empty but they should have turned it back on. We had one more problem with the front desk when we went down and asked them to call a cab for us for a dinner reservation they wrote it down but a caab was never called. Check and double check with the front desk straff if you have a request or problem and follow up with them or things may not happen.
The food was good at the restaurant but we found that the service was better if you went to the bar area and ordered your food it came quicker and you were sometimes ignored in the restaurant and left sitting there .
We didn'tt realize that many restautrants on the island were closed last week because it was off season. It seemed that the month of September and part of October some restaurants and tours were shut down so check before you plan your trip. Also the weather was extremely hot last week so if we return to the island it woukldn't be in either August or September which we were told were the hotest months.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the West Indies Resort just last week, after a week spent in a villa on another part of Grace Bay. It was good to experience both. We met some fun and very nice people at the resort, versus more privacy and seclusion at the villa.

The resort grounds were very clean and nice, although the pool...not super clean, but this isn't a 5 star resort or anything. Front desk was very helpful and accommodating as well. We had a good room with a good view and even though the resort was obviously at low capacity, the bar was always open serving up good drives for good prices.

I found the restaurant "The Pelican" to be better then expected, and the Sunday night BBQ'ed jerked chicken was better then any I've had on Jamaica. Spectacular. Service there is island speed.

This is a good basic resort with a competitive price. They have 2 pools, both good sizes, and it was very quiet when we were there. No beach drink service but the bar is a short walk away and there were always towels.

For what it is, we found it to be great and would recommend it if you aren't looking for luxury.

The rooms can range quite a bit as they are all individually owned and only operated by the resort. Some are more updated then others. We had a nice TV and a mini kitchenette. The resort is at the upper end of Grace Bay but still walking distance to shops and a grocery store.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend Building 2 for Ocean View and Building 1 for Beach Front, although the...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.5 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,055 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,467 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
826 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#21 of 44 in Providenciales
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $201 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing