We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ports of Call Resort
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great value for the money”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I just returned from two weeks at Ports of Call.

The rooms. We booked a Supersaver room (scheduled for renovation in August so we understand) which would have been 'ok' for a shorter stay but after a few days the poor condition of this room got tiring. We were very fortunate that we got upgraded for the last few days of our stay. I would say it's worth it to pay the extra to get the upgraded room. In that room it was really great value for the money. Our room also opened out onto the pool deck. There was a small table and two chairs outside our door that actually felt quite private even though it opened onto the larger pool area. Our room was cleaned every day but one and the front desk was happy to bring us towels when we asked. One day we even had towel swans with flowers on our bed. Nice touch. The wi-fi was great. I've been to other hotels where each time you want to use their wi-fi you have to log in. At Ports of Call each time I picked up my ipad I was good to go.

Tristan. By now if you've read any reviews you know that Tristan is the beach boy of the resort. He drives the Maserati (golf cart) back and forth to the beach if you want a ride and he'll take care of all your umbrella and beach chair needs. Tristan has a great personality and we really enjoyed joking around with him during our stay.

The resort in general. The pool area is very nice and we even got coconuts to drink that the Gardner cut down for us. The bar area is kept clean and is a friendly atmosphere. The breakfast area has had some hard hits in previous reviews. All in all we didn't have any problems in the two weeks we were there getting our breakfast. Breakfast was simple but did the trick. The reception area is clean, welcoming and modern. Guess what? There's a foot rinse to the left of the main doors to the lobby. It took us 10 days to realize it was there. Better signage for that might help save the inside drains from all the sand.

Location. This location is amazing. Across the street from the IGA (which is awesome), right at the Ports of Call shopping and about a 3 to 5 min walk from either the beach or the shops at the Regent Village and Salt Mills Plaza. The near by Jimmy's Dive Bar has happy hour from 4 -7. The $4 Margaritas are great and the famous mural is right there as well. As you are taking your picture by the mural (I think almost everyone does) notice that Salt Cay is actually painted on the sidewalk on the bottom right of the mural. We've been there 4 times and just noticed it now.

IGA. If you want to eat on a budget, I recommend IGA for lunch and/or dinner. We ate there almost all of our meals. I've heard not everyone likes the pizza, try a couple different ones. The Meat Feast has an amazing amount of toppings for the $21.99 price tag. The salad bar is $8.99/lb and has an amazing selection with anything you could imagine. The daily lunch specials were reasonable as well.

The beach. I haven't said anything about the beach. In my opinion you need not worry about being completely impressed by it. The water was a little rough this time but if you walk to the west and around the point you'll notice it gets a bit calmer. We have seen it completely calm in previous visits. There's always lots of fish in the water so keep your eyes open and your waterproof camera handy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank grayken0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    389
    117
    26
    19
See reviews for
287
412
48
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was not my first visit to the Turks & Caicos Islands but it was my first time staying in one of the resorts. (This was my husband's first experience in the TCI). My husband and I chose the Ports of Call because of it's proximity, close to everything you need and especially the beach. The rooms were clean, fresh and I truly loved the layout. I was most impressed with the continental breakfast, unlike any hotel I stayed in the States thus far that serves continental breakfast. The staff was friendly, pleasant and very helpful and we enjoyed talking with the bartender, very knowledgeable about the islands. My husband and I called him "the Historian". Anything you need, just ask. The compound was clean and I enjoyed the many different plant trees around the hotel, the coconuts, plantains, bananas, papayas, just gave the grounds a beautiful tropical layout. Don't talk about the beaches, the beaches are unlike any I've ever seen. I most certainly will stay at the Ports of Call on my next visit and it won't be too long and my husband is dying to come back.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the pool. There was a door that lead to an outside patio directly in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novelette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerports, General Manager at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
May there be many more anniversaries in the "Beautiful by Nature" Turks & Caicos Islands, thank you for choosing the Ports of Call Resort for such an important occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is not a resort, so I'm not sure why it is in the name. It is more of an upscale motel. The service was poor, and there was no room service or dining options available on site. There is no elevator, so if you are on the second or third floor you have to carry your luggage up the stairs. None of the staff offered to help do so. The equipment in the fitness center was broken, and the free wi-fi didn't even work. When I mentioned it to the staff, they just said "sorry, oh well". Although it is very close to the beach, my recommendation is to spend the little extra money to stay right on the beach, and these hotels will also offer better service as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kff324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I were in Provo for a 3 night weekend getwawy and loved every minute of it! Yes it's quite an expensive place to visit but so worth it! Ports of Call was the perfect place to retreat after a long day exploring the island or just laying on the beach. Great value considering Provo's high prices. We booked a flight/hotel only with no food and were pleasantly surprised to see the hotel still offered complimentary breakfast to all their guests. Yogurt, cereals, toast, baked goods, coffee/tea, juice, were among the choices. The rooms were lovely, modern and clean, with fridge and a living area. It's a small hotel with nice amendities, you can lay by the pool all day or lounge by the bar at night and have a great time. You have internet access for free in the lobby. The staff is really nice and helpful. The beach is at a quick walk from the hotel but you can always catch a ride. You can buy food at the gournet grocery store across the street, we actually ate there for lunch and some dinners, they serve hot foods and you can make your own salad at the salad bar at a more affordable price than restaurants in the neighborhood. The pizza was not that great though. Right off the resort are shops and restaurants and Jimmy's Dive Bar. We took a snorkeling tour ($80) and were taken on a boat to visit the coral reef and the island for 1/2 day. That was amazing, the snorkeling was unbelievable, so many beautiful fish to see, then we were taken to a conch farm, then on a deserted strip of the island with a beach you can only dream of! On the way back, we got to sip on rhum punch/beer on board and take in all the breath taking views! The weather is just perfect, sunny and warm all day long, the beach is beautiful, clean, always enough chairs, no need to rush early in the morning, you can rent an umbrella for the day ($8) and just relax. This place is so laid back, exactly what we needed to recharge our batteries... Dying to go back...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerports, General Manager at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you and we are looking forward to seeing you in the future, thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

It was a 10-15 minute cab ride from the airport ($26-one person) and 5 minute walking distance from the most beautiful beaches in the world. The staff was amazing! They were fun and helpful. Free Wi-Fi. I paid $155 plus $40 in taxes. YES. Expect to pay at least THAT in taxes. There's a great super market across the street that will help make your trip economical because at any restaurant expect to pay $25 per person. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast which was nice. The rooms were clean and everything worked fine.i would visit and stay at this hotel again ! :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackLotus801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerports, General Manager at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Sounds like another successful vacation to the "Beautiful by Nature" Turks & Caicos Islands!
Thank you for the kind review>
Travel tip to our future guests,
Hotel tax and Resort fee are set at 11% & 10%, The 10% is distributed to the employees as a service charge, 11% to the government. Standard practice for Caribbean destinations.
For this reason at the Ports of Call Resort we provide our guests with added value complimentary amenities:
Continental breakfast, Wi Fi,, Beach shuttle, chairs, towels and attendant, outside food and beverage can be consumed around our pool and licence'd areas, Manager's cocktail reception, free parking and a great time! Sing a Karaoke tune or play one of our guitars at the bar and enjoy a complimentary drink!...See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Martin was amazing and helpful when we arrived. He did everything to make us welcome and comfortable. Very happy in our room 207. We looked forward to meeting Watson our bartender from the great reviews and are now happy to say we are friends. Entire staff is wonderful. Thank you. Second day here and we are in paradise!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SchroederCle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerports, General Manager at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Welcome home. We anticipate your next stay with us at the Ports of Call Resort. Thank you for sharing your experience with our staff and the travellers who read your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We reserved a week at this hotel through Air Canada Vacation. We tend to avoid all inclusives (allergic to their bracelets) and this small resort met all our expectations. First, the location is great. It is a walking distance to everything. The Grace Bay beach where they have a reserved section with chairs and umbrellas (8$/day) is a five minutes walk from the hotel and they arrange for transportation if required with a golf cart. The nice driver calls it his Maserati :-). Second, you are close to plenty of shops, restaurants, and bars all within walking distance.. The IGA is across the street for grocery and you can find everything for your convenience. They have a salad bar and daily meals for take-out including Pizza. This was very nice.
The pool area is beautiful and they let you bring in your food and eat it there. All the rooms were very clean and the only issue is they don't have luggage racks which s not very practical. A small investment in this will be required in my opinion. The resort offers a free breakfast similar to what you find in hotels like Comfort Inn or Hampton Inn (fresh fruits, yogurt, pastries, bread and coffee).
The service in general is good but Kendra Parker is a gem. She responded to my inquiries before we arrived and after. After our first night we requested a room change (There was a rugby team there on the party) and we were close to the bar. She helped us find another room and provided us with some advice on restaurants and things to do on Provo. I will definitely consider Ports of Call if I return to Provo. It provides an excellent value.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms close to the bar or the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeFennec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerports, General Manager at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
A value added resort in the beautiful centraly located Grace Bay, Turks & Caicos Islands. Ports of Call Resort thanks you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#16 of 44 in Providenciales
738 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#13 of 44 in Providenciales
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,974 reviews
1.9 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ports of Call Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ports of Call Resort

Property: Ports of Call Resort
Address: Grace Bay Rd, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Providenciales
#12 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ports of Call Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ports of Call Resort is located within the beautiful Grace Bay area on Providenciales, an island of the Turks and Caicos, and is only a short 15-minute drive from the Providenciales airport (PLS). The property comprises of a central building featuring a welcoming reception, business center, breakfast room, fitness room, and poolside bar. Ports of Call Resort has 98 fully renovated deluxe junior suites approximately 325 sq ft offering pool view (some with balcony or terrace) and others with garden views. Rooms are located in two three-story buildings (no elevator) surrounding a tropical pool area that creates an intimate boutique setting. For your enjoyment, the tropical outdoor facilities include a poolside bar and lounge, table tennis, billiard table, pool, hot tub, comfortable chaise lounges, patio seating, shade umbrellas, towels, and a dedicated children's play area. Ports of Call Resort has a designated beach access to the awe-inspiring Grace Bay Beach complete with lounges, umbrellas, stand up paddle-boards, and kayaks, and is only 300 yards from the property. A shuttle runs each hour and beach towels are provided. The property also includes the Shops of Ports of Call. The plaza offers a variety of restaurants, bars, gift and clothing shops, as well as a spa, hair salon, ice cream parlor, dive shop, conference space, fishing charter, and auto/scooter rentals, further enhancing the Resort's array of services and amenities. Daily continental breakfast and in-room wifi included in all room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ports of Call Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Ports Of Call Hotel Providenciales
Comfort Suites Providenciales
Providenciales Comfort Suites
Ports Of Call Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing