We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low cost resort - excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ports of Call Resort
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were there March 4 - 18 2013. The European -style breakfast was sufficient. The upscale IGA across the street does breakfast as well as local restaurants. The pizza at the IGA was pretty good - veggie was $20. As well as take-out chicken and salads etc. The best value foe restaurants was Ms Moonie's restaurant. This restaurant was back up to the highway and left turn at the traffic circle.. on the right side of the road. About a 10 minute walk. Food is excellent and not expensive - place looks like a mini-mart.. - but tables in back around swimming pool. Lobster, jerk chicken,,, locals eat there!!

Back to hotel.. nice and clean,, gardens flowers are nice.. watch out for Bahamian hummingbirds!

3 minute walk to beach. 45 minute on beach left, to Coral reef gardens where just off beach there is great snorkeling.. ie lotsa fish.

Mango reef restaurant great for dinner - right on beach - great views.. Caicos Bistro very expensive for not much food.

Room Tip: Choose gardenview east side.. west side is noisy towards iga.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
There are newer reviews for Ports of Call Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Firstly, the good thing: the staff is friendly, polite, competent and even fun. The pool in the court yard is fine, although there were stains on the chaise cushions that defied identification. Second, the rest of the story. If you are doing research on mold and mildew cultivation, ask for our room. I know the room was cleaned daily, it just didn't look that way. When there are multiple shades of black and brown between the floor tiles, one can't help but wonder what had been there before and what might still be growing there now. There was a surprise with the a/c - an energy surcharge of $8/night, but the simulation sounds of a 747 on take-off was free. The a/c controls were very sophisticated: "very cold" and "off". The room safe was unusable. The metal trim in the bathroom all matched perfectly - corroded, rusted, pitted, yucky. I was never able to determine what the green stuff was on the shower head. By Provo standards, this place is a bargain - if you can stand it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Old_Map_Keeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerports, General Manager at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

While we appreciate the fact that you acknowledge our rates are a bargain and the positive comments you made about our daily cleaning and the staff, we are sorry that you were not impressed with your room. Our lowest priced Supersaver rooms that you opted for are the only rooms in the resort that have not been totally renovated and refurbished in the past year. While these economy rooms were all freshly painted and had new window shutters installed this fall they are scheduled to receive the same new bathrooms, upgrades and new furniture this summer as our other rooms. The energy surcharge is standard at all hotels on the island due to the fact that electricity costs on the island are more than five times what they are in North America. We always take this surcharge into consideration when determining our rates to ensure we still provide great value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been to Turks many times and stayed at various places. We spent 8 nights and 9 days at Ports of Call and thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!!! It was clean and well maintained. The resort staff were both helpful and professional. Our room was always ready for us and the coffee maker and fridge in the room were great. There is a supermarket across the street and the resort is located centrally. We spent everyday at the beach and every night in the hot tub. Daniel, the bartender, is a hoot ... I don't think he ever frowns. We will definitely be back to Turks and Caicos and probably stay here again. It was affordable which made up for the price of food which is triple the price it is in Canada ... but we enjoyed our stay. It was a wonderful vacation in the sun! The beach is literally across the street, there are always chairs available and it is never crowded. Peace and privacy go hand in hand on this island.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FortVince R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerports, General Manager at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

"Great Vacation" we love your title and our team is delighted to see your vacation was a success!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Provo is by far the most enjoyable trip we've been on! It's also the most expensive :) Even opting for the POrts of Call, and finding a very cheap flight ($280 all in), once you get there, everything is very expensive. That is really the only "bad" I have to say....And to be honest, every penny we spent was well worth!

We loved hopping across the street and enjoying the incredible beach. We never got a beach chair because there are only a handful of them for the resort, but we didn't care. We found tons of great beach restaurants - I can't remember the names of them all but the one where "JoJo the Dolphin" visits is one of my favs.

We also LOVED Hey Jose's cantina! It was just around the corner from the hotel and had amazing food and service at low prices...it's owned by a Canadian :)

we found EVERYONE to be so friendly....everywhere. Such a nice vibe.

The #1 best seller - the beaches - they aren't kidding when they say they are #2 in the world. we rented a car and drove to several other other beaches, sapodilla, long bay beach and they were quiet, undeveloped beaches.

The Turkshead beer is good - it\s the only reasonably priced beer there - you'll pat $72 for a case of Corona! The local Bambarra rum is also very good.

We ate in town at a few restaurants as well as at the Seven Stars restaurant on the beach a few hotels down. High prices but good food and a lovely setting. We went to Danny Bhouys (sp?) for dinner and to watch a hockey game one night.

The resort - has a decent sized pool that families used a lot, as well as a small hot tub. It wasn't always "hot"but if we asked for the temp to be turned up, it eventually happened. Our room was very nice, newly remodelled with a bar fridge. We were very happy with it.

We went snorkelling in Coral Gardens - we saw sea turtles, baracudas, and all kinds of really cool neon fish.

All in all, it's our favourite trip so far. Expensive, but worth every penny - and still cheap compared to spending $1000-$5000/night at the beach hotels.

I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashallala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerports, General Manager at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

"Best value for your money in Provo" is what we like to hear, we offer the most affordable vacation in the Turks & Caicos. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just came back from 11 days trip with my family.
First of all, I wish to clarify that I would give it 3.7* but there is no such option on overall rating.
I gave it 4* star for lots of potential and great customer service. And, don’t get me wrong, I DO recommend this hotel. It just all depends on your expectations and budget.
This hotel offers perfect location, right in the heart of Grace Bay where all fancy resorts are.
Hotel is very clean, reasonably priced and superior customer service. Hotel is fully non-smoking property. There is only one small area behind the pool for smokers. One of the biggest problem is mosquitoes. My 3 year old son had bites all over his little body. Take some spray to protect yourself.
POC is not water front. But it is a very short walk to the beach. About 3 minutes. As an alternative you may want to use hotel’s shuttle. It runs every hour.
Hotel is still working on renovations which are about to complete in mid-summer.
What you need to know is there is no restaurant on the site. However, many places to eat within short walking distance. No room service and nothing fancy and luxury. Most of the rooms do not offer balconies or patios, which was a big disadvantage for me but could be not a big deal for others. So lower your expectations.
Hotel offers complimentary light continental breakfast every morning which is very nice especially knowing that TC is one of the most expensive islands in the Caribbean. Be prepared to spend a lot of money on food, drinks and transportation. There is no public transport on the island whatsoever. Basically, you have only two choices: either you rent a car or use taxi.
If you do rent a car, I strongly recommend to get GPS. No road / street signs and no clear indications toward any point of interest. If you are first time on Provo, you can easily get lost when driving on your own. You also should be aware of fuel cost appr. $6.25 per gallon. To rent a car is about $70-$80 per day. Taxies are even more expensive. 15-20 minute ride will cost you between $30 to $40.
I also would like to add a few words about the area. Grace Bay is not for little kids. Waves are often big and strong. Nights are pretty cold so pack some long-sleeved clothing. If you want your child to get fun in the water, go to Sapodillla Bay. It’s truly amazing and stunning! But, note, that all beaches besides Grace Bay do not offer any facilities. Take everything with you – towels, umbrella, water, food, sunscreen, etc.
Visit Sailing Paradise local restaurant. Beautiful sea view setting and delicious food. They offer free shuttle from and back to the hotel. Just ask front desk to arrange your pick up.
Overall, very nice clean and safe island, pleasant stay and very good hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gutya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerports, General Manager at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

" I DO recommend this hotel."
"This hotel offers perfect location, right in the heart of Grace Bay where all fancy resorts are."
"Hotel is very clean, reasonably priced and superior customer service."

We at the Ports of Call are elated that your experienced all that we strive for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

As you've probably heard, Turks and Caicos is a very expensive place for vacation. On the plus side, the Ports of Call was a good find to keep in budget The property was nicely maintained and the rooms were clean and nicely appointed. We found the staff to be very friendly.
The shortcomings: During our stay, one morning when going to take a shower there was no hot water. No shower that day (luckily it was pouring rain out). When mentioned to the front desk, they said that they knew about it and were working on it. The next day we had "no water at all". Once again, we mentioned this to the front desk and we were told that it would be out until 2:00 p.m. It would have been nice to know this, since THEY were already aware of the extended outage (how about sharing the knowledge with your guests). Once again LUCK was on our side... It was pouring out.
The continental breakfast is simple but adequate, however PREPARE FOR BATTLE !!! The inconvenient serving area made for a morning clash just to get a slice of toast. And for as much as I enjoy toast, attending this each morning didn't start off the day too well. After a few days we skipped it altogether and went somewhere else for breakfast.
Inclement weather prevented guests from relaxing poolside for three days. On the forth day when the sun finally came out, the hotel maintainence crew chose This Time...? (DUDE, It's been raining for 3 DAYS, I think it's clean) to power wash the poolside lounge area for SEVERAL HOURS when I'm sure many guests were anticipating getting to lay out. Oh well, maybe tomorrow! I appreciate the cleanliness but, they definitely could have chosen a better time to do this.
Make sure you are aware of the resort fee (RESORT??? This is a "hotel" any way you look at it) Plus the 8 dollar a day fee for electricity...WHAT!!! Had I known that, I would have brought my own.

Room Tip: Poolside balcony rooms are good choice.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank room42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerports, General Manager at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Three days of rain brings a lot of run off and dirt to our poolside deck. A perfect time to powerwash in the a.m. when it is overcast. The noon day sun which finally broke through was most welcome.
There is no perfect time to do this maintenance.
We have installed solar panels that are heating the hot water for the rooms, this is one step closer to our "Green Global" certification which we will achieve by years end.
The interruption of service was due to this installation process.
A tough week of weather for our guests,we understand your frustration. The lattter part of the week the sun did shine and all was well.Water is hot, we apologise for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Ports of Call is the best hotel in Provo if you are want your vacation freedom and do not want the confines of an all-inclusive or a meal-plan hotel. The staff are great. The rooms have been upgraded. The rates are starting to get steep but they are a bargain if you compare with the big hotels across the street.

The location is perfect - within walking distance of the supermarket, restaurants, beach, shopping.

Room Tip: Splurge a little and get a balcony room with the pool view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beach30Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerports, General Manager at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Affordable boutique hotels are the new wave, glad you could catch it,
from all of us at the Ports of Call Resort, thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#16 of 44 in Providenciales
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,467 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,984 reviews
1.9 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,561 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#21 of 44 in Providenciales
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ports of Call Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ports of Call Resort

Address: Grace Bay Rd, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $191 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ports of Call Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ports of Call Resort is located within the beautiful Grace Bay area on Providenciales, an island of the Turks and Caicos, and is only a short 15-minute drive from the Providenciales airport (PLS). The property comprises of a central building featuring a welcoming reception, business center, breakfast room, fitness room, and poolside bar. Ports of Call Resort has 98 fully renovated deluxe junior suites approximately 325 sq ft offering pool view (some with balcony or terrace) and others with garden views. Rooms are located in two three-story buildings (no elevator) surrounding a tropical pool area that creates an intimate boutique setting. For your enjoyment, the tropical outdoor facilities include a poolside bar and lounge, table tennis, billiard table, pool, hot tub, comfortable chaise lounges, patio seating, shade umbrellas, towels, and a dedicated children's play area. Ports of Call Resort has a designated beach access to the awe-inspiring Grace Bay Beach complete with lounges, umbrellas, stand up paddle-boards, and kayaks, and is only 300 yards from the property. A shuttle runs each hour and beach towels are provided. The property also includes the Shops of Ports of Call. The plaza offers a variety of restaurants, bars, gift and clothing shops, as well as a spa, hair salon, ice cream parlor, dive shop, conference space, fishing charter, and auto/scooter rentals, further enhancing the Resort's array of services and amenities. Daily continental breakfast and in-room wifi included in all room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ports of Call Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Ports Of Call Hotel Providenciales
Comfort Suites Providenciales
Providenciales Comfort Suites
Ports Of Call Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing