We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't count on a king bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ports of Call Resort
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Despite reserving a king bed, which was done by reserving directly with hotel, we were given two full size beds. I immediately called the front desk and was told the manager was unavailable and nobody else could help us. This is not the type of thing you want to deal with after spending $2k to fly to Turks and Caicos for a long weekend.

A couple of hours after checking in, we finally found the manager. He told us he wished he knew we wanted a king bed, as someone just complained about having a king that wanted two gulls. Seriously, are they really that disorganized or incompetent? Hadn't I just asked to change rooms?

The first thing the manger said was it wasn't a bait and switch. That was exactly what I was going to call it, but he beat me to the punch. I explained to him that I wouldn't have come to Provo if I knew I wasn't getting a king bed. He must get a lot of that.

We were showed a room in the non-upgraded potion of the resort that had a king bed. What a dumpy room. Worse than the Bates Motel. Do NOT book a room that is not a "premium one", as the old ones are dark, ugly, and depressing. I wasn't impressed with the manger's handling of the situation, as he refused to take any responsibility for their unclear (deceptive) booking policies.

On our second day, they moved us to the room we reserved, which was a hassle. The bedroom area only had one light and didn't have bedside lamps. They need to out lights next to the bed.

The rooms were pretty clean, but in need of maintenance. Ours had a sharp screw sticking out of the floor and a broken screen.

Overall, the hotel was clean and met expectations, except for the fact they are deceptive about their booking policies. This must be changed - we overheard others who had the same problem.

The beach isn't far away, but you walk down a long alley that is a service entrance to the adjacent Seven Stars Resort - not nearly as nice as the pictures. That wooden walkway they depict on the website had broken/worn out rope railings - it looks pretty bad.

There were plenty of beach chairs and they also rent umbrellas on the beach.

The IGA grocery store is 100 yards away. Surprisingly, the liquor was cheaper there than at the US airport duty free store.

We stayed over New Years, so the hotel was pretty full. They really need to improve their booking process to clearly state that if you reserve a king you may be sleeping in a full bed.

Overall, it was fine. Room clean, good location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Phillylaw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerports, General Manager at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Perhaps we should make our availability by bed types on a "request only" basis due to the variables that cause inventory shortages of bed types.
Thank you for sharing your input in this regard.we are currently addressing this.
We at the Ports of Call Resort view ourselves as "only as good as the guest perceives us" this fuels our "continuous improvement" philosophy, we apologize.
Our Super Saver rooms have been renovated with exception of the stand-up showers and raised sinks the remainder of the rooms have. Please refer to our web-site photo's.
Public Beach access is simply that. We have provided as an added value a Beach Attendant that drives you to and from the beach in an eight person golf cart, or a 6 minute walk in the sunny Caribbean by yourselves. Beach chairs, towels and a selection of cold drinks from our bar if ordered. In reference to the "alley" to the beach access, A paved 30 ft. wide straight access route that lies between "millionaires only" condominiums that enjoy the same turquoise waters, beach and lounge chair location you do and well maintained.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

838 - 844 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good value for what you pay! Nice reception area, staff very kind and accomodating, from front desk to housekeeping. Pool area also very well kept, although lounge pillows need sprucing up...Rooms are very simple, clean and bed was quite comfortable. very close to the beach less than a 5 min. walk. Overall, pleased with hotel and would stay there again!

Room Tip: new section only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at Ports of Call with my husband and friends the week of January 12-19, 2013. It was a very quiet week compared with typical traffic in December and February. As soon as we pulled up at front, my first impression was that hotel is very welcoming. Entrance lobby is spacious and airy, you can also see the central court and pool from the entrance. There is a small internet nook near the reception and a kitchen, where breakfast is served every morning. It is very basic, but there are a LOT of places to eat near Ports of Call. Thanks to the location, you are near a gourmet supermarket (expensive, but well stocked i.e. Ciobani yogurt is $4 is US, here is it almost $10). Water is desalinated on the island, so you will want to stock on that. Although safe to drink, it takes a while to get used to (I never did). There are numerous cheap places to eat (Upstairs and Jimmy's). Also a small shopping plaza with ice cream parlor, jamaican patties, bakery where you can get decent coffee (finding good coffee on the island is like finding gold). Good restaurants on the beach are plenty, we liked Grace Bay Club and tried Hemingway's (10 min walk) and Seven Stars (sunday and wednesday they have a fantastic surf-turf buffet and band and bonfire). It's a must, you will not be dissappointed. Overall this place is great because of price, the sense of community, friendliness and location on the strip. Definitely worth giving a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. If you want a quiet one, ask to not face Jimmy's. Noise is not terribl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agnieszka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a one night stay in Provos while waiting for our connecting flight back to NY so I thought I'd just go with a budget friendly option. It's definitely one of the more affordable hotels on Provos but next time I think I'll just hand over the credit card...

The room made an amazing total of 6 different noises between lights, aircon, fridge and something else we couldn't identify (7 if you count the couple next door) so we didn't get much sleep. It's also got a very 'motel' sort of vibe.

We didn't try the food but the pool was nice enough (though very cold) and it wasn't to far from the beach. The staff at the front desk were also quite polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheresaJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We just stayed there from Friday to Wednesday. It's a great location with good staff. The room we stayed in was old and rundown. The rest of the hotel was very nice. They are suppose to be renovating the older rooms too. If you stay there I would ask for a renovated room. Provo itself is only beautiful for it's beaches. The island has garbage from one end to the other and stray dogs everywhere......they are hungry and sick......it's very sad. Seems like the locals have no respect for Their island or any animal! I wish I had read this somewhere as I would have never went there, and I well never return!

Room Tip: Ask form a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Ports of Call resort is great little place; nice rooms, located around a large amount of action and a 3 minute walk to Grace Bay Beach. At the front desk, Martin and Kendra are extremely helpful and great sources of advice and at the pool bar, the bartender Daniel is world class and keeps the customers happy and smiling.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TonyPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Upon arrival at Ports Of Call the first thing that came to mind was how welcoming and amazing the staff were! They truly made me feel like I was right at home. Ports Of Call is not too big of a Resort, and so by day 3 I was able to personally interact with most of the staff, which made their service that much better. This hotel is very clean, comfortable and affordable. Most importantly, it provides a safe environment which is ideal for any young travellers or families. The pool and spa set up is wonderful, and the resort incorporates other activities such a ping pong and billiards. The front desk are very helpful so no matter what your interest is (snorkelling, boat trips, dives etc.) they are knowledgeable and will certainly be able to assist you in finding an adventure. The beach is just a a quick walk from the resort, but for those that prefer transportation they do offer shuttles. Finally, there is a grocery store beside the resort which is perfect for any necessary items. This past trip to Turks and Caicos was definitely one of the best I have been on, and much of the amazing experience is thanks to Ports of Call.

Thanks Port Of Call! See you next time!
-Megan

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,515 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Inn
Caribbean Paradise Inn
#26 of 44 in Providenciales
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,992 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ports of Call Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ports of Call Resort

Address: Grace Bay Rd, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Providenciales
#12 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $247 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ports of Call Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ports of Call Resort is located within the beautiful Grace Bay area on Providenciales, an island of the Turks and Caicos, and is only a short 15-minute drive from the Providenciales airport (PLS). The property comprises of a central building featuring a welcoming reception, business center, breakfast room, fitness room, and poolside bar. Ports of Call Resort has 98 fully renovated deluxe junior suites approximately 325 sq ft offering pool view (some with balcony or terrace) and others with garden views. Rooms are located in two three-story buildings (no elevator) surrounding a tropical pool area that creates an intimate boutique setting. For your enjoyment, the tropical outdoor facilities include a poolside bar and lounge, table tennis, billiard table, pool, hot tub, comfortable chaise lounges, patio seating, shade umbrellas, towels, and a dedicated children's play area. Ports of Call Resort has a designated beach access to the awe-inspiring Grace Bay Beach complete with lounges, umbrellas, stand up paddle-boards, and kayaks, and is only 300 yards from the property. A shuttle runs each hour and beach towels are provided. The property also includes the Shops of Ports of Call. The plaza offers a variety of restaurants, bars, gift and clothing shops, as well as a spa, hair salon, ice cream parlor, dive shop, conference space, fishing charter, and auto/scooter rentals, further enhancing the Resort's array of services and amenities. Daily continental breakfast and in-room wifi included in all room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ports of Call Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Ports Of Call Hotel Providenciales
Comfort Suites Providenciales
Providenciales Comfort Suites
Ports Of Call Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing