We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good way to beat the high costs of Turks and Caicos Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ports of Call Resort
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Comfort Suites is a comfortable hotel in a convenient location. It is a five minute easy walk to a beautiful beach. A good supermarket is just across the street as are a handful of decent restaurants. The staff are very friendly. I stayed in a room in the renovated wing which was comfortable and spacious though not much of a view if that is a concern. More shade at their pool and their section of the beach would be appreciated. Otherwise, this is an affordable option at a generally overpriced destination. If returning to the Turks and Caicos I would stay at the Comfort Suites again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank packedandready2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband and I just got back from 5 fabulous nights at the Comfort Suites in Turks and Caicos and we cannot wait to go back! The hotel is in a perfect location with easy walking to numerous bars, restaurants, shops and a 3 minute walk to the beach. The Comfort Suites was the most affordable option we found on Turks and Caicos which is good because food and drinks are very expensive pretty much anywhere you eat/drink. The Comfort Suites is very clean and the grounds are very well maintained. We were in a recently updated room; the bedding was very nice and comfortable, the a/c was very powerful and the bathroom was spotless. We had a room with a little sitting area outside out room for easy access to breakfast by the pool. The breakfast is continental only but did the trick. We had wheat toast every morning wtih delicious coffee. They also had cereal, a few pastries and either apples or orange slices. To complement this breakfast we picked up some fruit and cheese at the grocery store which is located directly next to the hotel. There is a small fridge in the room so we were able to stock it with waters, snacks and beer. The grocery store is very expensive ($25 for a 24 pack of water, $9 for hummus) but it was worth it for us to have things to snack on throughout the week. Beer at the grocery store is also expensive, 6 pack of Corona for $20, but we stuck with Turks Head Amber, 6 pack $12, and great tasting beer! Turks and Caicos is a very safe island so we felt very comfortable walking from the Comfort Suites to the restaurants we tried. Our favorites included Caicos Cafe (next door), Coco Bistro (1/2 mile walk), Bella Luna (10 min walk) and Pizza Pizza (12-15 min walk). A lot of the fancier and more expensive hotels are not all inclusive so you can also walk to those for dinner. We ate at the Seven Stars and a few others. All the food on the island is expensive but worth it; delicious meals everywhere!!! The Comfort Suites staff were excellent, very accomodating and made some dinner reservations for us as well. This is not a fancy resort but we were looking to relax on the beach more than hang at the hotel so if you are looking for an affordable trip at a great, clean and comfortable hotel in a beautiful setting, then stay here!! We highly recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nicolefarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Ok, so here’s what we have to report about the Comfort Suites Ports of Call. We stayed there for 1 week from April 26, 2012 until May 3, 2012. First off, the rooms were clean, comfortable and a good size.

The Comfort Suites is an excellent value for Turks and Caicos, you’re probably not gonna find a better deal anywhere on the island for a comparable hotel. It’s not the Beaches or the Club Med, it’s a Comfort Suites. You get what you pay for, so if you want the all-inclusive with 16 restaurants on site to choose from , water sports, pool slides, free drinks, spring a few extra thousand dollars and stay at the Beaches, this is not the place for you. But if you want a comfortable room in a nice hotel that’s close to the beach, shopping, great restaurants, and more; this is a great deal! Also, the beach is much nicer near the Comfort Suites than at the Beaches (though the Beaches is closer to Coral Gardens if you’re a big fan of snorkelling).

We booked a package through Air Canada Vacations, so check in was a little chaotic with everyone arriving at once. Front desk staff got everyone into their rooms quickly and, at least in our case, without any problems.

A couple of quick notes; ask for the safe lock and a spare room key. Always a good idea to use your room safe to keep valuables and you’ll need the spare key to keep the power going in the room (especially for the refrigerator and a/c).

Breakfast is sufficient; cereal, pastries, toast, yogurt and fruit. The coffee is hit or miss. It’s nothing amazing, but hey, it’ll get you to lunch.

IGA is across the road (about a 3-5 min walk) and we found it very expensive. We quickly nixed the idea of buying groceries in favour of eating out. Do buy some 4L water jugs (about $2 each, we used 3 for a week). The fresh fruit is also a good value.

What’s nearby? Well, other than the IGA, right next door you have the Ports of Call Plaza that houses various shops, Dive Provo, Upstairs restaurant and Jimmy’s Dive Bar. Jimmy’s has good prices and happy hour from 4-7 ($3 beer and $3.50 drinks).

The Jamaican Patty Place is right next to Ports of Call Plaza and is very inexpensive; they also have great ice cream. Coco Bistro, Seaside Café, Bay Bistro, Pizza Pizza and more are all within 10 minutes walk.

For snorkelling, Coral Gardens is about a 45 minutes walk up the beach and is well worth the trek. Other than that, it’s worth renting a car for at least a day. We were able to see and do almost everything we wanted to with a one day car rental.

We were very happy with the Comfort Suites and would definitely be staying there again on our next trip to TCI.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Nic7895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Thanks to Mr. David and his wonderful staff my friend and I had a great vacation. From the front desk Evelyne always had a welcome smile and Watson in the Bar ,Charlie at breakfast and Ceaser on security duty. Pool kept very clean and always lots of towels. Beds were comfortable,quiet at night. Last of all we were so close to all the amenities and not to far from the beach! Going back in the Spring!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triphoppernovascotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have been travelling for over 45 yrs with my husband & usually go all-inclusive but this time I was travelling with my best girlfriend of 45yrs & we wanted to try something different.Great location for everything & anything you would want.They booked us for the renovated side on the 3rd floor but being older ladies we prefered the bottom floor (as there is no elevator or porter)They had no problem changing our room for us. We were put in room #168 which is an end room with a terrace overlooking the pool.It was in the older part but the room was lrg.& clean & everything worked fine.(best bed I ever slepted on) Left the maid a little something every day & she made us some of the prettiest flower arrangements.It was a very quite area.Ice machine very handy right by stairs.Pool was always clean & sometimes we had it all to our selfs.The spa is very relaxing(you set your own time)I believe by the fall this hotel will be fully renovated.The front desk staff of Evelyn & Judith made you feel special.Charlie who sets up the breakfast is a sweetheart.(he was our weatherman & always right)Watson the pool bar man is very pleasant to talk to & that's where you get & change your beach towels.We have never seen a manager so meticulous about his hotel as Dave Crofts. He never sits still but always has time to talk to you & make sure you are enjoying your stay.The night guard Ceasar was a jewel he remebered our names 4 days later we had many laughs with him.The juant to the beach is nothing you would sometimes walk that far if you were on the beach in a large resort. The beach is the most beautiful I have ever seen & the water is crystal clear you can walk for miles.You can leave your stuff by your chair on the beach & no one would touch it.The IGA is fabulous it carries everything even alcohol.Bought lunch there & took it back to the hotel & ate it on our terrace by the pool every day than went out for dinner at night. We would order one meal & 2 side orders & then split it which was enough food for both of us.It is a little pricey on this island but everything is imported in. If you are looking for a laid back relaxing vacation where you can go high end or low I would highly recommend Comfort Suites.We felt very safe in Turks & Caicos were the people are very friendly & helpful.Would go back in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wintertravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Have to agree with the previous posts on almost all points. The difference between the two sides (renovated vs non renovated) was forty dollars, after looking at the old room style it was certainly worth the difference. Bigger TV, better bedding, built in safes, new showers, etc... On check in you will get a towel card that you turn in for a beach towel and have to get back before you check out, otherwise you will get an extra $25 dollar fee. Speaking of fees, watch out for the fees that are tacked on to your bill - 4.7% Energy Tax, 11% accommodation Tax, 10% service charge (for maid service, towels etc) these added 50 dollars a night to the bill

A note about the Ports of Call area, it includes an upscale grocery market that has all sorts of deli foods, wine, beer, snacks etc, also a great French bakery, a really good deli/sandwich shop (Julie's), a couple of bars, restaurants open for breakfast, AVIS rental cars, ice cream/snack store, and a few other shops with clothes and misc stuff.

Dive Provo, (also in the Ports of Call) has two tank morning dives and one tank afternoon dives that leave from the shop. They drive you to and from the port where they depart from. Very professional group, right down to mandatory dive computers and very good safety briefs. If you aren't rated they have a morning pool dive/class and an afternoon single tank open water dive. If you are rated and you need to rent gear its about 100 dollars for a single tank dive, they also had NOX if you have that rating.

So all in all, if you are looking for a place that is a little bit less expensive than other options, and you are willing to give up Ocean views from you room, then the Comfort Suites is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ncfreqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We had originally booked this hotel for our Christmas week stay, and then unexpectedly had an offer to stay at a brand new 1 bedroom apartment for much less. When we called Comfort Suites to cancel our reservation we learned that there was a 3 night cancellation fee (that is right--THREE nights). Calling the corporate office, we learned that this is much more than the chain's regular cancellation fee. The corporate office advised us to switch our reservation to a "guaranteed room" rate so that we would only have a 1 night cancellation fee. So, we switched our reservation to "guaranteed room" and just didn't show up for that one night. This ended up being cheaper than cancelling (which would have been 3 nights accommodation cost). We felt badly that others couldn't use our already paid for night over the very busy Christmas holiday. Others were having trouble finding room at the inn! But, that is how this place operates. Doesn't make sense to us.

By the way, when we ran into folks who were staying there, they seemed fine with their choice and the location means you don't have to have a car if you want to save money. it is a short walk to the beach, restaurants, and the grocery store. We much preferred our brand new apartment and saved hundreds of dollars over the week even after paying the 1 night guaranteed room rate at Comfort Suites.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank lacontessa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
1 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Inn
Caribbean Paradise Inn
#27 of 44 in Providenciales
410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
2,033 reviews
1.9 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ports of Call Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ports of Call Resort

Address: Grace Bay Rd, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Providenciales
#12 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $229 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ports of Call Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ports of Call Resort is located within the beautiful Grace Bay area on Providenciales, an island of the Turks and Caicos, and is only a short 15-minute drive from the Providenciales airport (PLS). The property comprises of a central building featuring a welcoming reception, business center, breakfast room, fitness room, and poolside bar. Ports of Call Resort has 98 fully renovated deluxe junior suites approximately 325 sq ft offering pool view (some with balcony or terrace) and others with garden views. Rooms are located in two three-story buildings (no elevator) surrounding a tropical pool area that creates an intimate boutique setting. For your enjoyment, the tropical outdoor facilities include a poolside bar and lounge, table tennis, billiard table, pool, hot tub, comfortable chaise lounges, patio seating, shade umbrellas, towels, and a dedicated children's play area. Ports of Call Resort has a designated beach access to the awe-inspiring Grace Bay Beach complete with lounges, umbrellas, stand up paddle-boards, and kayaks, and is only 300 yards from the property. A shuttle runs each hour and beach towels are provided. The property also includes the Shops of Ports of Call. The plaza offers a variety of restaurants, bars, gift and clothing shops, as well as a spa, hair salon, ice cream parlor, dive shop, conference space, fishing charter, and auto/scooter rentals, further enhancing the Resort's array of services and amenities. Daily continental breakfast and in-room wifi included in all room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ports of Call Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Ports Of Call Hotel Providenciales
Comfort Suites Providenciales
Providenciales Comfort Suites
Ports Of Call Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing