We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh, not so great.”
Review of Turtle Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turtle Cove Inn
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The room was clean. And, it was so clean we had to open the slider to air out the bleach smell. I was disappointed as the hotel didn't look like the pictures on line. Helpful service and they arranged a taxi pick up for an early flight. Not so great. good price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Turtle Cove Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 101 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed here 2 separate nights in March enroute to & from Haiti. Nice views of marina from both my rooms. First stay I was not impressed with cleanliness of room (especially bedding) but second stay was much better. Basic budget inn not far from a beach. Scuba shop nearby. Had very nice experience at tapas restaurant at inn.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freedom_Child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I just spent two weeks at Turtle Cove Inn. It was truly wonderful. The pool area is an absolute oasis. As others have said, the furnishings are a bit tired, the indoor air a little musty, and floors aren't cleaned to U.S. standards. But the people were wonderful and helpful. When I arrived in my room I noticed that the smoke detector had been removed, and the two safety locks on the door were not functional. I requested that these problems be remedied the next morning, and by the time I returned from Grace Bay, all was well.
As with every hotel and rental home I've stayed in in any Caribbean nation, there were some mosquitoes in the room. I always travel with a mosquito net, but only put it up for the last two nights. I asked some visitors who stayed at a nicer, more expensive hotel if they had mosquitoes in their room, and they said that they had the same problem.
Rooms had a small fridge, no coffee maker or microwave, and no alarm clock (Island Time?).
There are several restaurants in the immediate vicinity, and after much sampling, I ate the rest of my meals at the Tiki Hut. I dove with Turtle Cove Divers, and found them to be great, also.
Provo has excellent drinking water quality, and while imported beer is very expensive due to new duties, I think the prices are well offset by not having to buy any bottled water, which can get very expensive on most islands. Soft drink prices were similar to those in the U.S. as were the local brew prices.
In my opinion, the greatest weakness of Providenciales is the transportation available. Taxis seem to be unregulated, and prices are very high. A one-way trip from Turtle Cove to Grace Bay was $14 per person. I heard one story of a group traveling from Turtle Cove to another upscale resort, and being charged $800, which they negotiated down to $500. There are no public buses on the island, although there are bus shelters along the main roads.

With reasonable air fares, and a budget hotel, this beautiful island is definitely available to those of us on tighter budgets.

Room Tip: $99 per night rooms are pool view only.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen23669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Just returned from eight wonderful days in Providenciales. Booked a room at the Turtle Cove Inn since we are on a budget. Did not expect much based on the price, but found the property to far exceed any expectations. We were assigned a first floor room looking out over the marina that had a covered patio with two chairs. We enjoyed wine and cheese in the evenings while watching the boats in the marina, while smelling the cooking food from all of the great nearby restaurants. The room itself was a little larger than a standard motel room with two queen beds that were a little hard, but nothing unusual. Was very clean with no mildew, dirt, or anything out of place. Plenty of hot water in the shower. There was a mini fridge that we stocked from the IGA Graceway with cold drinks. Bought a styrofoam cooler to bring the drinks to the beach each day. They will give you a bucket of ice at the office, and if you are really nice maybe another for the cooler.
Did not expect any servicing, but it was cleaned spotless every day. The courtyard had a a good size pool that was cleaned daily with beautiful tall coconut trees and flowers around it. Found the staff to be generally pleasant and helpful. As a rule on the whole island, as in most places in the islands if you treat people with respect and are friendly yourself as a guest you will be treated the same. Other guests at this motel and others are always complaining of bad service or rude help, but you get what you give, so be a nice person and you will have a wonderful experience.
We rented a car so were able to drive quickly to any number of beach side restaurants for breakfast , lunch, and dinner, and enjoyed all that the guests paying four to eight times as much as us, with the exception that we had to sit on the sand. It seems no place will rent chairs and umbrellas if you are not staying at that place. There are free tiki huts at the Cultural Marketplace next to Ocean Club that we used, but no chairs ,and had great beachside food from the Flamingo Cafe. Some of the best restaurants you can walk to so could get by without a car, but to get to the good beaches you should rent one.
Unless you need constant attention and have no car, this is the place to stay in Provo. Provo on average is the second most expensive place to go after St Barths, but staying here and eating at topnotch restaurants and drinking plenty will cost only about $2500 a week for two persons in high season, plus car and airfare,compare to $7500 for over-crowded Beaches Resort , so this is a great deal on the island with the best beach in the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view room, but no guarantee, as all are run-of-house. I think we got a good room be...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbrowher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I had wanted to vacation in the Turks and Caicos for a very long time,but it seemed so unaffordable.Recently I returned from my dream vacation.I stayed comfortably at the Turtle Cove Inn for 10 days and 9 nights in a marina view room.What prompted me this year was a seat sale offering on Air Canada about half the usual fare flying from Saskatchewan via Toronto.The nine nights was sceduled to get the same return fare.I had reviwedthis small hotel for a few years and thought that was what I could afford given that there is a 11% GOV'T TAX and 10% SERVICE TAX added in this country(villas only have the gov't tax).It was a little gem with a garden and pool,an on site artist AMIEL CARTWRIGHT,and a small cultural centre.The new restaurant on site is F FUSION,other restaurants near by area are a steak house,GREEN BEAN,SHARKBITES,BACI,TIKI HUT and MAGNOLIAS all within 5 minutes.The beach walk to Smiths REEF AND GRACE BAY within 10 minutes. The hotel is an older establishment with great staff and management inpeccably clean environment.It sits on a marina boardwalk.The sister hotel is Sibonne co-managed on the beach but about doulble the costs,as is Comfort Suites Port of Call the only other affordable hotel.Others are $300 plus and upward.There is no public transport ,you walk,rent a car reasonably and drive like a Brit or take an expensive taxi.The locals get around by jitney,older cars you flag down for a cheaper ride if only a couple or single.Taxis charge by the person and vary,so ask before you get in.There are some crazy stories re prices charged to some folks transported to an upscale restaurant after the fact.I took the REEF PEEPERS boat very near, and ISLAND RHYTHEM TOURS to see the lay ofthe land in Provo,all good.Only book here if you a great and polite tourist on a budget,as our expectations are lower and we are only to be rewarded.Plan your budget well for food and drinks $80.00 to $100.00 for adults if you want some geat food.In Port of call the tourists area I ate at Jimmy's dive bar it was delicious and good value.This is the downtown for tourists with regent plaza,saltmills plaza additionally.Beer drinkers beware it is expensive,so look for the many happy hours and small outlets for offsale($20-24 for a six pack).Sunday is closed for purchase at the larger grocery stores,but avalable at restaurnts etc.They say beside every of the many churches there is a bar close by,this is true.I also ate at SAILING PARADISE in Blue Hills where you will also find the CONCH SHACK,HORSE EYED JACKS,along the water.Go there if you can you will need a rent a car or taxi from Turtle Cove..this country has the third largest coral reef at your doorstep and the clearest bluest water I have seen on 35 yrs vacations.Not to be missed,the people the "belongers"are friendly.I travel safe and solo and only had to worry about the strong sun rays.Temperatures aprox 85 degrres,if it rains abour 5-10 minutes..Travel dates feb 19-29th 2012..

Room Tip: There are 2 suites with kitchen facilities,marina side.If you are travelling with a number of childr...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awesometripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights over New Year's. It was a relatively good value since they didn't hike the prices for the holiday period. If you are just looking for a place to sleep and shower and don't plan on spending much time in the rooms, then this is a good place. The room was basic and somewhat smelly but clean. It's equipped with the essentials: a/c, a few bars of soap (bring your own shampoo!), a mini fridge, wifi (spotty in-room reception but better outside), and beach/bath towels. There's a tiny beach, cafe, and restaurants nearby, but the island is small and the larger beaches / shopping centers are only a 15 min drive away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goonergal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We found the hotel to be perfect for our needs. It is located on the marina and the staff was great. 5 restarants in walking distance. If you are looking for a 4 or 5 star resort this si not the place, but for clean, fresh budget friendly this is a fantastic spot. My husband and i were looking for a low key place and we were not disappointed. I must warn you they do have a band one a week at their restaurant and you can hear them playing until about 1 am, but it was really not a big deal. have water and snacks at the front desk for $1 was fantastic. Fridge works great in the room.

they calledus a cab for a quick visit into town and Sonny Taxi was great.

Room Tip: our room was on first floor facing the marina. if you want to band ask foora room away ffrom the res...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToolbeltDiva_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.2 mi away
La Vista Azul Resort
La Vista Azul Resort
#35 of 44 in Providenciales
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquamarine Beach Houses
Aquamarine Beach Houses
#28 of 44 in Providenciales
359 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Residences on Grace Bay
Reef Residences on Grace Bay
#34 of 44 in Providenciales
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beach Enclave North Shore
Beach Enclave North Shore
#30 of 44 in Providenciales
34 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sibonne Beach Hotel
Sibonne Beach Hotel
#31 of 44 in Providenciales
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Ocean Beach Villas
Atlantic Ocean Beach Villas
#1 of 26 in Providenciales
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Cove Inn

Address: Turtle Cove Marina | Suzie Turn Rd., TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $257 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Turtle Cove Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for the best hotel rates in Turks and Caicos, our comfortable, friendly accommodations, on Turtle Cove Marina, are perfect for you! Each unit is equipped with a mini refrigerator,microwave, coffee maker, iron and board and hairdryer. Free in room WiFi. There is so much activity just steps from your door. Yachts, bars, restaurants, car rentals, dive and fishing operators are all based at Turtle Cove Marina. Smiths Reef is only a 10 minute walk and the worlds most beautiful Grace Bay Beach is a 15 min walk. If you plan to spend your days SCUBA diving, fishing or exploring the nearby beaches, why not save money and stay at our friendly,newly renovated hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Cove Hotel Providenciales
Turtle Cove Resort
Turtle Cove Inn Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing