We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Club was perfect for us with a baby in tow”
Review of Ocean Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2011

My husband and I travelled to Ocean Club in early December with our seven-month-old son. I'm not sure we could have picked a better resort.

We wanted a quiet place where we could keep our son's nap schedule intact without creeping around him in a hotel room while he slept, so we picked a one bedroom suite. It was huge, quiet and so comfortable that we almost didn't mind spending his nap times there instead of the beach. The suite had a washer and dryer, so we were also able to continue to use his cloth diapers while we were there.

The resort was very kid-friendly and provided, on request before our arrival, a crib (a bit small and rickety, but usable), a baby monitor (if you want to be able to carry it around, bring AA batteries and a set of small screwdrivers -- the batteries in ours were dead and we couldn't replace them), and an umbrella stroller which came in handy for shuttling the baby back and forth from the beach.

The beach was absolutely gorgeous, but the water was too rough to take the baby in. Several people told us that this was very unusual; apparently the water's usually quite calm? Too bad for us!

The resort's located almost at the end of the strip of hotels along Grace Bay Beach, so it's fairly quiet and not in the centre of whatever action there is in Provo, which was perfect for us. It did make getting groceries a bit of a chore, but if you don't have a car then the free bikes available at the front desk are the best bet. The shuttle to Ocean Club West, which is a few minutes' walk to the grocery store, isn't exactly waiting for you at the front door (they have to locate the driver, which can take fifteen or twenty minutes on each end).

All in all, we loved our stay at Ocean Club. We hope to go back next year!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateMc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 826 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2010

What we like about this resort:
- clean, well maintained
- right at Grace Bay but on quiet side
- customer focused staff; front desk staff called to notify us that there was a water system repair and we were well informed ahead of time of a few hours of no running water in one evening. Water quickly resumed after an hour or so.
- good vibe, guests are considerate and not noisy
- spacious room with full kitchen facilities and washer/dryer
- mosquitos net all throughout the windows, it helps especially I'm always easy target
- BBQ grill provided to guests for free use next to the pool. We grilled our strip steaks and yellow squash and brought them back to our balcony for a nice candle lit dinner
- free bike rental to bike to the grocery store

Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AHA2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We arrived on the 21st, after leaving airport, a woman greeted us, and ask where we were going, we told her to Ocean Club, and we were put in a van with another couple, and off we went. After arriving at Ocean Club (East), we were told it was $35 for the ride. We checked in, and were given keys that looked like computer chips. Our room was nice, but you could tell it was an older hotel. My wife was getting sick before we left for vacation so she rested while I went to get some food. The Cabana Bar is located at the end of the resort, right before the beach. I got some food and drinks, and a young man walked our drinks back to the room. I didn't know till later that the OJ was sour. We relaxed in our rooms till 10:30pm and then went over to Opus to get some dinner. All the food was fresh, and the service was good. I thought the steak was a bit chewy but didn't pay it any mind. We headed off to bed.

Day 2 started by being woken up several times because we slept with the sliding glass door open, and you could hear everything going on outside. Around 10:30 or 11, we made our way to the Cabana Bar for breakfast, my wife was very happy they still served breakfast till noon. The staff was nice and we had a good meal. My wife was still feeling sick, so we headed back to the room. I made a 7pm reservation for dinner at Hemmingways, located in the Sands resort. We made our way to the lobby, and had the desk called a cab. When we arrived at Hemmingways, we were seated outside, but my wife didn't bring a jacket, so we asked to move inside because it was a bit windy. We had the Lobster Tail dinner and Grouper. Both were excellent. This resort was very calm and laid back like our resort. We headed back to our resort, and headed to bed.

Day 3. We got up around 10:30 or 11 again, and headed back to the Cabana Bar, and the service and food was good again. My wife was feeling better, but we heard from the front desk that the Grace Bay Resort had a medical person on staff (because she now had a sore throat), so we took the Hotel Shuttle over to the Ocean Club West Resort, which was next door to Grace Bay. We walked around the West Resort, and it was basically the same setup, just a bit closer to town, and you could tell some of the things were more modern. We then walked over to Grace Bay, and asked about the medical person but they said that person was working at the hospital that day. We walked around that resort for a bit and out onto the beach where we decided to walk the beach back to our hotel. The sand was very soft, and the walk was nice. After we returned we changed and headed to the pool for some sun. The pools are NOT heated, so the water was cold. I tried to go in the ocean but after about waist level the water was too cold for me. We hung out there till we started to get hungry for dinner. We changed and went to the Opus again. We ordered our food, but after a couple of minutes the waitress came and said they were out of Waahoo, which I ordered. so I just ordered the steak. After our food arrived, we were visited by a stray black/white kitten. I feed the cat a piece of my steak, and he loved it. I tried potato, but the cat wasn't interested. My wife tried shrimp, but no interest either. My steak wasn't that good, so I didn't mind feeding the cat bits and pieces. After it was full, it left. Part way through our meal. a female singer started to play her guitar and sang. Overall a good evening. We headed back to our room.

Day 4. It rained most of the morning and flooded some areas. It stopped raining right before we got up to have breakfast. We decided after our usual breakfast at the Cabana Bar to rent a car and check out the island. We called Tropical Car Rental, a local place, and they came to pick us up. I am 6'3" and the Kia Picanto which was our rental car made me look like I should have been wearing clown makeup. We drove around for a couple of hours, and didn't see much of anything. We decided to go back to Hemmingways for lunch and another good meal there. We took our hot rod back to our hotel, and hung out by the pool a bit more. We decided for dinner to go to "Jimmy's Dive Bar" , when we entered there were probably 9-10 other people there, so we decided to head further down the road where we found Yoshis sushi bar. Locals and tourists were eating there. The food was good, and it was the cheapest dinner we had on vacation at $80. We headed back to the room. Each night we got a DVD from the lobby area to watch. I assume every room had a DVD player.

Day 5 We ate at the Cabana Bar again, and the service was a little off, but the food was still good. We checked out which seemed slow, and then we took our toy car back to the rental place. The Rental place gave us a ride to the airport. We arrived, and after checking in and "random" security bag search, we headed to the gate. The gate area is 4 doors for American, US Airways, and Delta, and everyone is stuck in what felt like a 20 by 20 foot box.

What's important
- This is not a "cheap" vacation
- Feed the Opus kitten steak
- Picanto is not made for people taller than 5'6"
- Don't eat Steak at Opus
- There is a general store beside Opus
- The pools aren't heated
- There were no swim up bar's at any of the pools, only 1 we saw was at Grace Bay.
- Jimmy's Dive Bar is a DIVE
- Don't lose a DVD because they charge $50
- The casino seemed to be their only night life in the area, closed at 5am
- You drive on the opposite side of the road
- Nice golf course right across the street from Ocean Club

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaintedCanvas1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

The condo was beautiful and each one had a view of the ocean (perhaps a peek sometimes), There is a full kitchen and plenty of room to eat, sleep and there were 2 porches- screened in- that added to the spacious feeling. The beach was immaculate and you can walk around to visit other resorts. The resaturant provided one of the best meals I've ever had. A great experience all around

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

This was our second family trip to Ocean Club and my spouse's 4th time there. We had stayed there in november of 2009. It was a wonderful relaxing trip and we are glad we returned. The resort is in a quiet, uncrowded area of Grace Bay. We stayed in a one bedroom oceanfront suite which had an amazing view of the beach and ocean. Our 2 year old daughter really enjoyed herself on the beach and had fun with the ocean waves.

The staff was polite and accommodating. We had requested a small container of milk be available upon our arrival in the suite since we were arriving a little later in the evening and it would appease our cranky 2 year old. The resort kindly provided same at no charge.

The suite itself was spacious, clean and well maintained. The housekeeping staff, "Nina" in particular, always did a wonderful job cleaning our suite and picking up our daughter's toys. Having the washer and dryer was great, since we did not need to pack as much. The beach was awesome -- better than I remembered.

We had a very enjoyable relaxing week and we will definitely consider making Ocean Club our regular holiday getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skycamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Absolutely on the best part of beautiful Grace Bay beach, walking distance to wilderness (nearly) and chic restaurants, just turn left or right on the beach respectively!
Really lovely staff at casual beachfront Cabana Bar who serve killer cocktails, decent wine and damn good pizza from a proper pizza oven.
The apartments are individually decorated by their owners with minimum spec defined by resort management e.g flatscreen tv. This means you're guaranteed a high level of quality for fittings plus distinctive, personalised decor rather than bland wishy-washy hotel chain blah. Try Appt 5204 for real 'wow' impact - huge lounge and verandah overlooking pools, garden and beach bar with very high level of interior design.
We stayed there for our honeymoon 3 years ago and came back again this year. It's an incredibly romantic place to be.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsTricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We have stayed here multiple times over the years. Having tired of the sketchiness of most resorts in the Bahama Out Islands, we were more than surprised at this condo resort. Very lovely. Very laid back But the management has a keen eye for landscaping,cleanliness and all the little things that make a resort " barefoot" and " classy". Without the pretension of some of the newer resorts.
Rooms have been lovingly updated. The location is still the best - away from the busy areas, but close enough, especially with the free transport to its sister property, Ocean Club West. Gorgeous golf course right across the street. 2 fine restaurants.
The Cabana Grill is directly on the ocean and is wonderful for lunch or dinner.

It is quite evident that the management aims to please, and, having more experience,does so without all the lip service I am reading from some of the other resorts on island.
We have tried several other resorts but have come to realize that Ocean Club is still the gem of the island.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waterb0y55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#21 of 44 in Providenciales
746 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
489 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#16 of 44 in Providenciales
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 44 in Providenciales
590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,992 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Resort

Address: | Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $249 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Resort Providenciales
Ocean Club Turks Caicos
Ocean Club Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing