We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Original Condo developments”
Review of Ocean Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Cazenovia, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“One of the Original Condo developments”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Going back to Provo after being there in Dec 2012 and staying at the Royal West Indies which was great, I thought I would try the Ocean Club. I was not disappointed! The condo unit was very well appointed and serviced daily. The screened in porch is wonderful. The pool area very nice and well landscaped. Both restaurants were good and the Cabana Bar excellent for lunch or a casual dinner. All the staff were friendly and very accommodating. The gym was very nice if you like to get some exercise while vacationing. I would recommend having a car for this property is at the far end of Grace bay - although I would have a rental car with any of the properties to explore the island and try the many great restaurants on the island. Also, to get to the grocery store for the units have a full kitchen, even if it's just for breakfast and snacks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachFan711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHLPLS, Manager at Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment about your recent trip to Ocean Club. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your suite, the pools, the gym facilities and both of our restaurants. And we will pass your compliments on to our staff. We look forward to seeing you again at Ocean Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    265
    67
    23
    15
See reviews for
224
346
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have stayed at many resorts in Provo, usually down the other end near the snorkeling, however this time I thought I would try Ocean Club. Everything was a postive experience, the rooms were clean, landscaping beautiful, lots of chairs. The staff was nice. The one feature I liked about this hotel was that they offered free bike use. If I were to make one suggestion I would say that I missed getting that rum punch upon arrival. I am not a big drinker but there is something about getting out of a cab and be handed a drink that says " Let the vacation begin.." I most definitely will return, it was a good value for the price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHLPLS, Manager at Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first stay at Ocean Club and are looking forward to your return. Thank you for the kind comments about the suites, landscaping, and staff. And we’ll see what we can do about the rum punch for next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senoia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This resort was excellent, 15 minutes from the airport, at the far end of the Island, so not so crowded, plus a mile of beach pretty much untouched. Good restaurant with reasonable prices, ate most of our meals there, great service and very friendly. Rooms very nice, serviced every day. They had bikes to ride into town, not far at all, shopping, ice cream, and a grocery store, it was perfect, maybe a ten minute ride. Little convenience store on location too, used it frequently. Fun excursions, Caicos Dream Tours was the best, 1/2 day of snorkeling, conch diving (2 feet of water), private island, drinks and fresh conch salad provided, then dove for sand dollars. Parasailing a big hit too! We just got back and will definitely make it a yearly trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVW377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHLPLS, Manager at Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at Ocean Club Resort. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the beach, restaurant, and suite. And that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary bicycles for ice cream and shopping. We have many guests that return every year, some of whom have been doing so for fifteen years or more! We look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in Ocean Club Resort during the first week of April and absolutely loved it. We were in building I and had a beautiful view of the pool and the ocean beyond. The beach is beyond compare - white sand, unbelievable blue water. Everyone at the resort was helpful and friendly. We had a junior suite which included a kitchen, small living area, and balcony. This gave us much more space than just a double room. The shuttle to Ocean Club West is very easy. Cub West is within walking distance of a small plaza with shops and restaurants.

Two areas of slight disappointment. The in-room internet service was virtually non-existent. Also, the hair dryer was not efficient. Bring you own!

Other than that the resort met our every need. We will definitely be return to Turks and Caicos and to Ocean Club.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms in Building I have a good view of the pool/ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank italymare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHLPLS, Manager at Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time after your trip to comment about your stay at Ocean Club Resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed beautiful Grace Bay Beach and thank you for your kind comments about our staff. We will also pass on your comments regarding the internet service and hair dryers to the appropriate staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our first trip to Provo and Ocean Club looked like a good balance between price and value. The resort, the units and the staff are very nice, like the other reviews say, no complaints there. My only gripe is that we paid extra for an Ocean View room and certainly did not get it in 6201. A view of gardens on one side and the service road next to the public beach access road on the other, were the views. See the attached pictures. I inquired and was told all rooms in building 6 were Ocean View. They are not. I saw an ad for the unit next to ours, 6202, and even the real estate ad said it was a pool view. Really only building 1 and 2 have ocean views, the rest of the buildings are really mit and miss for the views, no matter what category the front desk has them in. When booking, skip all even numbered buildings to avoid the two roads..

There was wifi in our condo. Somehow they bought routers that are also on island time. "Dat page soon load mon..."

My only other warning is the new Value Added Tax. Despite the tax free claims you can read about in the tourism literature, in an effort to squelch tourism just a bit, the island has a new 10% VAT attached to almost everything. Everything is expensive, as most tropical paradises are, now just 10% more expensive.

Don't get me wrong, by and large the trip was great and the diving even better :) Ocean Club just needs to call a spade a spade and not mislead guests about room categories. With so many places on Grace Bay, I'd probably reccommend another resort, but have no qualms saying Ocena Club is just fine. Bon Voyage!

Room Tip: See above note in review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHLPLS, Manager at Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you were disappointed with the view of the suite. The ocean views sit either one or two buildings back from beachfront, including building 6, and can be on any of the three levels. You did everything correct in advising us to give an option to remedy, and that we appreciate. I regret we were not able to offer a different suite as we were sold out during the holiday week. Your perspective is most important and we have reached out to you, as well as the booking company.

I believe you are speaking of the 10% government tax. A new Value Added Tax was denied in Turks & Caicos. I am not at liberty to provide web links, but one can do a web search “Turks and Caicos VAT” to see it was in fact denied; therefore, I believe you are speaking of the 10% government tax. Tax free, we are not. I am happy to discuss this further.


On a positive note I am happy to hear you found the suites very nice, as well as the staff and diving. I need to take the opportunity to clarify that building 1 and 2 are beachfront. A limited number of One Bedrooms are beachfront, with the remaining as Two and Three Bedrooms.

I look forward to hearing from you. We hope you will return to Ocean Club, and very much appreciate the feedback.

My Best,
Julia Maximo
Ocean Club Resorts
800 457 8787
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern nj
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked a vacation in T&C based on extended family reviews and getting a great package deal through Orbitz. And boy, are we glad we did! The moment you arrive on the islands, you know you're in relaxation nation. Turquoise waters abound!
Ocean Club (East) is in the less crowded part of Grace Bay in Providenciales. At first, we were slightly concerned about that as we ventured to the grocery store (via shuttle to OC West, then walking) but it turned out we made a great choice: less crazy, more room and let's face it-- we were only a mile away from the 'action' if we wanted it.
As we are a family with two young boys (ages 4 & 6), I'll review the facilities based on that:

The room: We were placed in the F building, which is two buildings back from the beach. Although we purchased an "ocean view", we were fairly far back, parking lot side, so our view was mainly out the adjacent compound and less so out the front, because of foliage and the D building blocking us. Not a huge deal though. We were given a third floor unit, great for its spacious, vaulted ceilings, but not so much if you forgot something in the room or had a tired toddler. There is no elevator.
The patio itself was huge (room for table with 4 chairs and a lounger), and thanks to sliding doors that collapse into one, extended the living/dining/kitchen area considerably. The bedroom and 1 1/2 baths were in the back of the condo and main living was closer to the ocean. Full size washer dryer in the hallway. For our kids, we set up the queen-size pullout couch and also received a roll away bed. Besides the sliders, all of the units have no 'windows' per se-- more of a screen/louvered shutters combination. There is a breeze and plenty of fans, but with tiny bugs at night, we ran the air conditioning.
The pools: There are two, one toward the back of the property which tended to be home to younger kids and infants. And the smaller, more square one, closer to the beach and cafe. During our stay, kids aged 7-15 tended to hang out there. Heads up: pools are not heated, but I'm not sure if it was just when we were there. I saw a few of the babies crying as they first entered the water, but they soon adjusted.
The beach: Grace Bay beach is perfectly kid-friendly. Soft, powdery sand-- which extends in a gradual slope into the water. With the exception of a small bit of seaweed, it was pretty pristine! The ocean itself wasn't as warm as Florida (maybe because of the tidal currants) at the time of year we went (early April). Notable to us was the amount of salt in the water: your body floats completely when on your back! There are also more than enough lounge chairs and umbrellas so you will never have to fight for or reserve a spot early. And we went during busy Easter week!
The cafe: Decent burgers, sandwiches and salads. Our kids usually split a chicken tenders, which is more than enough for two not-so-big eaters. Again, if you have a drink with lunch, each get a sandwich/salad and one kids' entree, it tends to be between $70-100 each time. Service was generally good though there were a couple of surly servers, not sure why. Jeff behind the bar was very kind and even gave our kids a trip on his golf cart once.
Tips: Pack your own dry goods/food (laundry detergent, cereal, snacks, coffee, mac & cheese, etc.) from the US if possible. Because it's an island with a heavy import tax, groceries (and everything else) are THREE TIMES the price of what you are used to. Think $8.50 for a box of Special K. Bring BUG SPRAY. Doesn't matter what time of year you go. Just bring it!
The office offers families use of a high chair, pack and play, plastic beach toys and even a stroller on request, so be sure to ask ahead of time if you think you will need them.
We liked walking down the beach to OC West, to try out the lunch scene and pool there. It was also handy that we didn't have to bring any cash and could charge it to our room. The service was much nicer there.
Extras: Heads up ladies with long hair: the units all have the wall-mounted, 70's-era hair dryers, which are totally ineffective! Bring your own or be sure you can grab an extra one from the office the first day you arrive!
Other restaurants: we highly recommend Mango Reef (in the Alexandra) and Bella Luna (Italian free-standing restaurant near Seven Stars).
Snorkeling: We liked Caicos Dreams 1/2 day tour (8:30-1).Our kids got a little freaked at the deep water on the reef so they didn't want to try snorkeling (it was choppy) but loved using their flippers on the beach at Iguana Island. My husband and I traded out staying with them on the catamaran. The company picked us up by taxi and dropped us back on OC's beach and even let us keep one of the conch shells we found. Perfect.
We didn't try: The resort bikes-- there are many and some have small baskets if you're feeling energetic and want to get groceries, about 1 1/2 miles away. There are no adult bikes with kid seats on them. We didn't see any kids bikes at OC East, but at West there were a couple. Didn't use (rental) paddle boards, but that tended to be a popular beach sport. Didn't try Opus since it didn't seem appropriate for young kids. Also didn't rent a car, but probably will the next time we come to TCI.
All in all, there is something intangible about OC East that we really loved. The grounds are imacculately kept, the staff for the most part are lovely. The other people staying there really gave us a sense of community for the week we stayed. Maybe we didn't love the wicker furniture in the condo, but so what? We had such a great time and felt like we got a great value. We even met a wonderful family from our own state and are making plans to return at the same time next year!

Room Tip: The higher in the alphabet (B, C) means the building is closer to the ocean. Corner condo units have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisaznj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Ma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked again and as always the Reservations went in without a hitch. They are so nice and helpfull at US Reservations. My kudos to all of the staff and a shoutout to Laurie. This resort the OCE is our favorite. The resort is for relaxing,eating and beach. What more can you ask for. The rooms come in all sizes and views. Once you go to the OCE you will go back. The staff treates you like family and that will make you feel good.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor romms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggjuiceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.5 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#16 of 45 in Providenciales
723 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 45 in Providenciales
1,940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club West
Ocean Club West
#15 of 45 in Providenciales
839 reviews
2.8 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Resort

Property: Ocean Club Resort
Address: | Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Resort Providenciales
Ocean Club Turks Caicos
Ocean Club Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing