We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean View NOT!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ocean View NOT!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our first trip to Provo and Ocean Club looked like a good balance between price and value. The resort, the units and the staff are very nice, like the other reviews say, no complaints there. My only gripe is that we paid extra for an Ocean View room and certainly did not get it in 6201. A view of gardens on one side and the service road next to the public beach access road on the other, were the views. See the attached pictures. I inquired and was told all rooms in building 6 were Ocean View. They are not. I saw an ad for the unit next to ours, 6202, and even the real estate ad said it was a pool view. Really only building 1 and 2 have ocean views, the rest of the buildings are really mit and miss for the views, no matter what category the front desk has them in. When booking, skip all even numbered buildings to avoid the two roads..

There was wifi in our condo. Somehow they bought routers that are also on island time. "Dat page soon load mon..."

My only other warning is the new Value Added Tax. Despite the tax free claims you can read about in the tourism literature, in an effort to squelch tourism just a bit, the island has a new 10% VAT attached to almost everything. Everything is expensive, as most tropical paradises are, now just 10% more expensive.

Don't get me wrong, by and large the trip was great and the diving even better :) Ocean Club just needs to call a spade a spade and not mislead guests about room categories. With so many places on Grace Bay, I'd probably reccommend another resort, but have no qualms saying Ocena Club is just fine. Bon Voyage!

Room Tip: See above note in review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHLPLS, Manager at Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you were disappointed with the view of the suite. The ocean views sit either one or two buildings back from beachfront, including building 6, and can be on any of the three levels. You did everything correct in advising us to give an option to remedy, and that we appreciate. I regret we were not able to offer a different suite as we were sold out during the holiday week. Your perspective is most important and we have reached out to you, as well as the booking company.

I believe you are speaking of the 10% government tax. A new Value Added Tax was denied in Turks & Caicos. I am not at liberty to provide web links, but one can do a web search “Turks and Caicos VAT” to see it was in fact denied; therefore, I believe you are speaking of the 10% government tax. Tax free, we are not. I am happy to discuss this further.


On a positive note I am happy to hear you found the suites very nice, as well as the staff and diving. I need to take the opportunity to clarify that building 1 and 2 are beachfront. A limited number of One Bedrooms are beachfront, with the remaining as Two and Three Bedrooms.

I look forward to hearing from you. We hope you will return to Ocean Club, and very much appreciate the feedback.

My Best,
Julia Maximo
Ocean Club Resorts
800 457 8787
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    259
    64
    23
    14
See reviews for
216
337
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern nj
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked a vacation in T&C based on extended family reviews and getting a great package deal through Orbitz. And boy, are we glad we did! The moment you arrive on the islands, you know you're in relaxation nation. Turquoise waters abound!
Ocean Club (East) is in the less crowded part of Grace Bay in Providenciales. At first, we were slightly concerned about that as we ventured to the grocery store (via shuttle to OC West, then walking) but it turned out we made a great choice: less crazy, more room and let's face it-- we were only a mile away from the 'action' if we wanted it.
As we are a family with two young boys (ages 4 & 6), I'll review the facilities based on that:

The room: We were placed in the F building, which is two buildings back from the beach. Although we purchased an "ocean view", we were fairly far back, parking lot side, so our view was mainly out the adjacent compound and less so out the front, because of foliage and the D building blocking us. Not a huge deal though. We were given a third floor unit, great for its spacious, vaulted ceilings, but not so much if you forgot something in the room or had a tired toddler. There is no elevator.
The patio itself was huge (room for table with 4 chairs and a lounger), and thanks to sliding doors that collapse into one, extended the living/dining/kitchen area considerably. The bedroom and 1 1/2 baths were in the back of the condo and main living was closer to the ocean. Full size washer dryer in the hallway. For our kids, we set up the queen-size pullout couch and also received a roll away bed. Besides the sliders, all of the units have no 'windows' per se-- more of a screen/louvered shutters combination. There is a breeze and plenty of fans, but with tiny bugs at night, we ran the air conditioning.
The pools: There are two, one toward the back of the property which tended to be home to younger kids and infants. And the smaller, more square one, closer to the beach and cafe. During our stay, kids aged 7-15 tended to hang out there. Heads up: pools are not heated, but I'm not sure if it was just when we were there. I saw a few of the babies crying as they first entered the water, but they soon adjusted.
The beach: Grace Bay beach is perfectly kid-friendly. Soft, powdery sand-- which extends in a gradual slope into the water. With the exception of a small bit of seaweed, it was pretty pristine! The ocean itself wasn't as warm as Florida (maybe because of the tidal currants) at the time of year we went (early April). Notable to us was the amount of salt in the water: your body floats completely when on your back! There are also more than enough lounge chairs and umbrellas so you will never have to fight for or reserve a spot early. And we went during busy Easter week!
The cafe: Decent burgers, sandwiches and salads. Our kids usually split a chicken tenders, which is more than enough for two not-so-big eaters. Again, if you have a drink with lunch, each get a sandwich/salad and one kids' entree, it tends to be between $70-100 each time. Service was generally good though there were a couple of surly servers, not sure why. Jeff behind the bar was very kind and even gave our kids a trip on his golf cart once.
Tips: Pack your own dry goods/food (laundry detergent, cereal, snacks, coffee, mac & cheese, etc.) from the US if possible. Because it's an island with a heavy import tax, groceries (and everything else) are THREE TIMES the price of what you are used to. Think $8.50 for a box of Special K. Bring BUG SPRAY. Doesn't matter what time of year you go. Just bring it!
The office offers families use of a high chair, pack and play, plastic beach toys and even a stroller on request, so be sure to ask ahead of time if you think you will need them.
We liked walking down the beach to OC West, to try out the lunch scene and pool there. It was also handy that we didn't have to bring any cash and could charge it to our room. The service was much nicer there.
Extras: Heads up ladies with long hair: the units all have the wall-mounted, 70's-era hair dryers, which are totally ineffective! Bring your own or be sure you can grab an extra one from the office the first day you arrive!
Other restaurants: we highly recommend Mango Reef (in the Alexandra) and Bella Luna (Italian free-standing restaurant near Seven Stars).
Snorkeling: We liked Caicos Dreams 1/2 day tour (8:30-1).Our kids got a little freaked at the deep water on the reef so they didn't want to try snorkeling (it was choppy) but loved using their flippers on the beach at Iguana Island. My husband and I traded out staying with them on the catamaran. The company picked us up by taxi and dropped us back on OC's beach and even let us keep one of the conch shells we found. Perfect.
We didn't try: The resort bikes-- there are many and some have small baskets if you're feeling energetic and want to get groceries, about 1 1/2 miles away. There are no adult bikes with kid seats on them. We didn't see any kids bikes at OC East, but at West there were a couple. Didn't use (rental) paddle boards, but that tended to be a popular beach sport. Didn't try Opus since it didn't seem appropriate for young kids. Also didn't rent a car, but probably will the next time we come to TCI.
All in all, there is something intangible about OC East that we really loved. The grounds are imacculately kept, the staff for the most part are lovely. The other people staying there really gave us a sense of community for the week we stayed. Maybe we didn't love the wicker furniture in the condo, but so what? We had such a great time and felt like we got a great value. We even met a wonderful family from our own state and are making plans to return at the same time next year!

Room Tip: The higher in the alphabet (B, C) means the building is closer to the ocean. Corner condo units have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisaznj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Ma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked again and as always the Reservations went in without a hitch. They are so nice and helpfull at US Reservations. My kudos to all of the staff and a shoutout to Laurie. This resort the OCE is our favorite. The resort is for relaxing,eating and beach. What more can you ask for. The rooms come in all sizes and views. Once you go to the OCE you will go back. The staff treates you like family and that will make you feel good.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor romms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggjuiceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just got back from a weeks vacation on the gorgeous beaches of Grace Bay-Provo, Caicos. We stayed there from March 29 to April 5th. We traveled with one teen-ager. These are the pros of the resort:
Pros: Well maintained, clean resort with two wonderful pools
The friendly and caring staff are ready to serve you
Delicious and good variety of food to eat at the outside-poolside resturant
Priced right-excellent value for staying right on the beaches of Grace Bay
Full kitchen along with outside grills so you may cook your own food.
Shuttle service to sister resort-Ocean Club Resort West which is very close to grocery store/bakery/retail stores.

***Grace Bay ( approx 12 miles long) is the most beautiful beach I have ever seen.
Peaceful with no solicitation for sales. Safe and serene. No nudity, not popular site for college age spring breakers. I have traveled to Jamaica, Grand Cayman, Nassau-Bahamas, St Thomas, St John-Virgin Islands, Mexico, Curacao, Bonaire.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caribbean-daze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a US Airways Vacation. Staff was mostly friendly, beach is absolutely exquisite! The pools were nice and clean. We loved the open air breezes through the suite, but it was noisy at times. The management makes a point stating that noise carries, but some people were loud. The shuttle was convenient to go to the bakery, grocery and bank. It is a very special place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SStichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Turks and Caicos lured us with it’s promise of excellent scuba diving, good food and a laid back atmosphere. We were only here a couple of days, barely enough time to get on “island time”, but we will certainly return.
We stayed at Ocean Club Resort. Our room was classified as a junior suite. The room had a nice screened porch with plenty of room to hang our wet gear and enjoy the breeze and warm weather. Our room did not have a washer dryer and was rather basic. Beds were very comfortable. The property is picturesque, has well maintained grounds and a beautiful beachfront. There are two good restaurants on the property. The beachside café was very good and the Opus restaurant was excellent. Although the beach and ocean are beautiful here there is not much marine life to see when snorkeling. The hotel operates a free shuttle between its properties making it easy to get into the small town area for dining and shopping.

Dive operations pick you up at the hotel. We had two days of very nice diving. We came to compare the diving here to the diving in Grand Cayman. The water was clear and there was abundant marine life. We did not have enough time to make a good comparison, but will definitely return to T&C to explore further.
We visited during peak season and found the island relaxed and uncrowded. Do not come here if you are looking for nightlife. There is however, a casino that is open until 4 in the morning.
One note of warning. The airport is very slow processing its visitors. Be sure to get there at least 2 hours prior to departure. You will spend most of that time waiting in lines.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljohn71_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

My now-fiancé and I took our first trip to Provo in May 2012. We went through Cheap Caribbean and I went back and forth a few times about which property to pick. We were NOT disappointed! Ocean Club is a collection of mini condos that are all owned by individuals and rented out. The property is beautiful and sits right on Grace Bay.

Our unit was huge with a sitting room and separate bedroom and large bathroom and a full kitchen with screened-in balcony. Food is expensive at T&C and we chose to go to the local grocery store and buy some snacks, food and alcohol to prepare ourselves. But beware, even at the store food is expensive!

Anyhow, the units and property were well kept, the customer service staff is really nice and helpful, and they even have dvds to watch if you get bored at night. The staff is really good about recommending places to go and excursions to try. There are BBQ pits on the property for guests to use, and the pool Is nice, although the beach is much better! There is a small but nice exercise room, and you can rent snorkel equipment and bikes if you like. Ocean club is a bit further down the beach than other resorts, so there is a shuttle that will take you to the other property if you'd like (which is also close to the store). The only thing to be aware of is there are no elevators and the more formal restaurant on the Ocean Club property isn't open very late.

Aside from the resorts, the island isn't very developed, which is kind of what makes it great. Most of the good restaurants to go to are at other resorts rather than stand-alone businesses. Restaurants and Bars in Provo aren't really open that late, so if you're lookin for a wild party you'd be disappointed. But if you're looking for beautiful, relaxing, fun, this is the place to go!

I must say that Trevon at the front desk was AMAZING. He was so nice and helpful, and I'll always be thankful to him because he helped my fiancé PROPOSE to me! Somehow he arranged to have the staff set up flowers and champagne and music in our unit when we returned from our dinner. It was a total surprise and I was not expecting it at all. He went above and beyond my fiancé's requests and made it so special. So THANK YOU Trevon!!

Room Tip: Even the garden view rooms are great because the grounds are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#14 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club West
Ocean Club West
#15 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Resort

Property: Ocean Club Resort
Address: | Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Resort Providenciales
Ocean Club Turks Caicos
Ocean Club Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing